David Swinson - Crime Song - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473618206
    • Publication date:04 May 2017
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473618213
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019

Crime Song

A gritty crime thriller by an ex-detective

By David Swinson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The second in a terrific new series featuring troubled PI Frank Marr. For fans of Mark Billingham and Jeffery Deaver.

David Swinson returns with a thrillingly dark novel, featuring Frank Marr, 'a masterly piece of characterisation.' (Tana French)

Frank Marr was a good cop with a bad habit. Now forced to retire from the Washington D.C police, he scrapes a living as a private investigator.

His latest case is personal - Frank's cousin Jeffrey is involved with a drugs operation. But when Jeffery's body is turns up in Frank's house, it's clear he was in deeper than anyone realized.

Stolen from the scene are Frank's revolver - the murder weapon - and his cherished music collection. With his reputation on the line, Frank is as determined to uncover the truth as he is to feed his habit, and both pursuits could prove deadly.

Biographical Notes

David Swinson is a retired police detective, having served 16 years with the Washington DC Metropolitan Police Department. Before joining the DC police Swinson was a record store owner in Seal Beach, California, a punk rock/alternative concert promoter in Long Beach, California, and a music video producer and independent filmmaker in Los Angeles, California. Swinson currently lives in Northern Virginia with his wife, daughter, bull mastiff, and bearded dragon.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473618190
  • Publication date: 04 May 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
David Swinson is one of the most exciting new voices to come along in crime fiction in this decade, and CRIME SONG is Exhibit A of his remarkable talent. Swinson's writing is heartfelt, powerful, and authentic, and Frank Marr is as fully rendered as any detective in recent memory. — Michael Koryta, bestselling author of RISE THE DARK
A non-stop drive through American crime, punishment and even an alley or two of justice. — James Grady, author of Six Days of the Condor
Praise for The Second Girl — -
A down-and-dirty thriller with real heart from an author who knows what he's talking about. This is firmly in George Pelecanos territory and it doesn't get much better than that. — Mark Billingham
David Swinson pulls off a masterly piece of characterization...The writing throws sparks, and the ferocious plot peels back layer after layer of Frank's character as we - and he - find out how much of his humanity is still left. — Tana French
A gripping, authentic tale (the author is an ex-cop) of a man's journey into the heart of darkness that will appeal to fans of The Wire — Shortlist
Marr is one of the most compelling and complex protagonists to come along in years. And, not content with just creating a memorable hero, author Swinson also offers up a breakneck plot...Reminiscent of The Wire and the writing of George Pelecanos and Dennis Lehane, The Second Girl is a winner. — Jeffery Deaver
Imagine Philip Marlowe upped and transplanted to contemporary Washington with a mountain of stolen coke hidden in a secret safe rather than a bottle of bourbon in his desk drawer, and you're close to Frank Marr, the winningly debauched private investigator hero of this gritty thriller...A complex, vulnerable but brilliant creation, with a unique personal morality, his spare narration is laced with wry humour but entirely lacking in self-pity. — Crime Scene Magazine
Coronet

Black Ops

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

A series of gruesome killings take place in Dubai, Ghana and America. The victims are all connected with the SAS. In Hereford Danny Black realises they have something more specific in common - they were all involved in training a young Muslim soldier, Ibrahim Khan.Khan has been working under cover in Islamic State in a mission organised by MI6. Danny Black sets out to track him down with the help of Khan's MI6 handler on a trail that leads him to a library of ancient manuscripts in Damascus, the Syrian desert and finally back in the Brecon Beacons. There Danny discovers that he has finally met his match, his deadliest enemy - and it is the last person he ever expected.

Hodder & Stoughton

Many Rivers to Cross

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Missing Person

Sarah Lotz
Authors:
Sarah Lotz
Hodder & Stoughton

The Absolution

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fourth Bear

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde
Mulholland Books

On My Life

Angela Clarke
Authors:
Angela Clarke

Framed. Imprisoned. Pregnant. Jenna thought she had the perfect life: a loving fiancé, a great job, a beautiful home. Then she finds her stepdaughter murdered; her partner missing. And the police think she did it...Locked up to await trial, surrounded by prisoners who'd hurt her if they knew what she's accused of, certain someone close to her has framed her, Jenna knows what she needs to do: Clear her name Save her baby Find the killer But can she do it in time? 'An angry, powerful read - one of those rare crime novels with more to deliver than routine thrills.' Mick Herron, author of London Rules 'A compelling, vividly realised prison drama with a mystery at its heart. Hugely enjoyed it.' Steve Cavanagh, author of Thirteen'This is an eye-opening, jaw-dropping read that will keep you up to the wee small hours.' Liz Nugent, author of Skin Deep'Intelligent, pacy thriller... Taut, claustrophobic, fast-paced, moving. An incredibly gripping read.'Will Dean, author of Dark Pines

Mulholland Books

Last Night

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Mulholland Books

Trigger

David Swinson
Authors:
David Swinson
Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant
Mulholland Books

The Banker's Wife

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger
Mulholland Books

Friends Like These

Sarah Alderson
Authors:
Sarah Alderson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Step So Grave

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Hodder Paperbacks

Iron Gold

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald
Hodder & Stoughton

Flight or Fright

Stephen King, Bev Vincent, Michael Lewis, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Richard Matheson, Ambrose Bierce, E.C. Tubb, Tom Bissell, Dan Simmons, Cody Goodfellow, John Varley, Joe Hill, David J. Schow, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Peter Treemayne, James L. Dickey
Authors:
Stephen King, Bev Vincent, Michael Lewis, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Richard Matheson, Ambrose Bierce, E.C. Tubb, Tom Bissell, Dan Simmons, Cody Goodfellow, John Varley, Joe Hill, David J. Schow, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Peter Treemayne, James L. Dickey

Fasten your seatbelts for an anthology of turbulent tales curated by Stephen King and Bev Vincent. This exciting new collection, perfect for airport or aeroplane reading, includes an original introduction and story notes for each story by Stephen King, and brand new stories from Stephen King and Joe Hill.Stephen King hates to fly.Now he and co-editor Bev Vincent would like to share this fear of flying with you.Welcome to Flight or Fright, an anthology about all the things that can go horribly wrong when you're suspended six miles in the air, hurtling through space at more than 500 mph and sealed up in a metal tube (like - gulp! - a coffin) with hundreds of strangers. All the ways your trip into the friendly skies can turn into a nightmare, including some we'll bet you've never thought of before... but now you will the next time you walk down the jetway and place your fate in the hands of a total stranger.Featuring brand new stories by Joe Hill and Stephen King, as well as fourteen classic tales and one poem from the likes of Richard Matheson, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Dan Simmons, and many others, Flight or Fright is, as King says, "ideal airplane reading, especially on stormy descents... Even if you are safe on the ground, you might want to buckle up nice and tight."Book a flight for this terrifying new anthology that will have you thinking twice about how you want to reach your final destination.Table of Contents:Introduction by Stephen KingCargo by E. Michael LewisThe Horror of the Heights by Sir Arthur Conan DoyleNightmare at 20,000 Feet by Richard MathesonThe Flying Machine by Ambrose BierceLucifer! by E.C. TubbThe Fifth Category by Tom BissellTwo Minutes Forty-Five Seconds by Dan SimmonsDiablitos by Cody GoodfellowAir Raid by John VarleyYou Are Released by Joe HillWarbirds by David J. SchowThe Flying Machine by Ray BradburyZombies on a Plane by Bev VincentThey Shall Not Grow Old by Roald DahlMurder in the Air by Peter TremayneThe Turbulence Expert by Stephen KingFalling by James L. DickeyAfterword by Bev Vincent

Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper

'Chilling, intelligent, and highly addictive. Superb.' Will Dean, author of Dark PinesThree women have been found dead in East Anglia. The police deny a connection. TV news reporter Frankie smells a story...Ava knows that the threat is real. She's been kidnapped by someone claiming to be the killer: a stranger who seems to know everything about her.As Frankie follows the case, she enters a terrifying online world where men's rage against women may be turning murderous - and where her persistence might just make her a target. And Ava must struggle not only to stay alive... but to stay sane.From journalist Elodie Harper, The Death Knock is a compelling story of the worst that man can do and the hunt for the truth - at all costs.See what everyone is saying about this brilliant read:'I was enjoying the reading of it so much, I slowed down the number of chapters I read at a time, in order to savour it for longer!' Amazon reviewer'A great read, both thought provoking and chilling.' Goodreads reviewer'A story that pulls you in immediately.' Amazon reviewer'Easy 5* here... a tense atmospheric mystery that is highly addictive.' Goodreads reviewer'A fast paced and intelligent thriller.' Amazon reviewer'Cleverly plotted. Highly recommended.' Goodreads reviewer

Hodder & Stoughton

The Outsider

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Cutting Edge

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Number one bestselling author and ultimate thriller writer Jeffery Deaver returns with a new Lincoln Rhyme investigation.Rhyme and Amelia Sachs' latest case: catching a terrifying killer targeting couples...The happiest time of their lives - will be their last. William and Anna went to collect her engagement ring. 1.5 carat, almost flawless. But the Promisor had other ideas for their future...Their murder - and that of the diamond cutter they were visiting - is only the first of a series of macabre attacks. Someone is targeting couples just as they start their lives together. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs, newly married themselves, are on the hunt. But the killer is hunting down any witnesses who can help them. He has promised one thing: to destroy. Rhyme and Sachs will have to use all their own skills and determination to break his vow.'It is really top-drawer writing' SHOTS

Hodder & Stoughton

The Big Over Easy

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde