Pam Rhodes - The Trespassers - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Trespassers

By Pam Rhodes

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A classic saga from Pam Rhodes, now available in eBook.

Philip Barnes, the popular vicar of St John's church in a small West Country town, is very happily married: he and his wife Ruth have a solid relationship based on deep love and a shared commitment to family and to faith. So when he finds himself strongly attracted to his daughter's piano teacher, Louise, his feelings are both stimulating and shocking. Their brief affair has tragic consequences for everyone involved, but once Philip realises Ruth has forgiven him, he can begin to forgive himself.

Biographical Notes

In addition to presenting BBC Television's Songs of Praise for more than twenty years, Pam Rhodes has authored five novels and six non-fiction books. She lives with her husband in Bedfordshire.

www.pamrhodes.co.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444787429
  • Publication date: 17 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Road to Birch End

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Hodder & Stoughton

Thornyhold

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

Thunder on the Right

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

From the original queen of the page-turner, Mary Stewart, comes a thrilling tale set in a France as beautiful as it is deadly, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times 'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent'There are few to equal Mary Stewart' Daily TelegraphHigh in the rugged Pyrenees lies the Valley of the Storms, where a tiny convent clings to the beautiful but lonely mountainside. Jenny Silver arrives seeking her missing cousin, and is devastated when she learns of Gillian's death following a terrible car accident. But Jenny's suspicions are aroused when she's told the blue flowers ornamenting her cousin's grave were Gillian's favourite. Jenny knows Gillian was colour-blind - and so starts her mission to uncover what really happened to her.The growl and roar of thunder rolled an re-echoed from the mountains and the sword of the lightning stabbed down, and stabbed again, as if searching through the depths of the cringing woods for whatever sheltered there.'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald''One of the most stupendously successful authors ever' Sunday Express

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled 2

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

The last gorgeously festive instalment of the WINTER STREET series, from the New York Times bestselling author. Raise one last glass with the Quinn Family at the Winter Street Inn. It's been too long since the entire Quinn family has been able to celebrate the holidays under the same roof, but that's about to change. With Bart back safe and sound from Afghanistan, the Quinns are preparing for a holiday more joyous than any they've experienced in years.And Bart's safe return isn't the family's only good news: Kevin is enjoying married life with Isabelle; Patrick is getting back on his feet after paying his debt to society; Ava thinks she's finally found the love of her life; and Kelly is thrilled to see his family reunited at last. But it just wouldn't be a Quinn family gathering if things went smoothly.A celebration of everything we love - and some of the things we endure - about the holidays, WINTER SOLSTICE is Elin Hilderbrand at her festive best.

Mulholland Books

Paranoid

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

One Perfect Family

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets of the Homefront Girls

Kate Thompson
Authors:
Kate Thompson

A new series from bestselling author Kate Thompson. During World War Two, Churchill declared that 'beauty was duty'. But for the women working at the Yardley cosmetics factory in London's East End, it's friendship and family. Nineteen-year-old Lily Gunn runs the conveyor belt in the factory's Lipstick Room with tight reins, though of all the women working there it's her sixteen-year-old sister who gives her the most trouble. Especially when Rene's new boyfriend Ronnie gets called up to fight, leaving Rene alone and with a big problem . . .Meanwhile, Lily and Rene's mother Nell is the matriarch of Angel Lane, and the community childminder. But she's hiding a dark secret that if exposed could cost her everything. Against the backdrop of the London Blitz, the women of the factory must find a way to rally together if they want to survive.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

Where There's a Will

Beth Corby
Authors:
Beth Corby
Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Two Roads

Queenie Malone's Paradise Hotel

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

'absorbing, tender and heartfelt' Mike Gayle, author of The Man I Think I Know'Hogan's best novel yet' Hannah Beckerman, author of If Only I Could Tell YouFrom the bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes - an uplifting novel of mothers and daughters, families and secrets and the astonishing power of friendship.Tilly was a bright, outgoing little girl who liked playing with ghosts and matches. She loved fizzy drinks, swear words, fish fingers and Catholic churches, but most of all she loved living in Brighton in Queenie Malone's magnificent Paradise Hotel with its endearing and loving family of misfits - staff and guests alike. But Tilly's childhood was shattered when her mother sent her away from the only home she'd ever loved to boarding school with little explanation and no warning.Now, Tilda has grown into an independent woman still damaged by her mother's unaccountable cruelty. Wary of people, her only friend is her dog, Eli. But when her mother dies, Tilda goes back to Brighton and with the help of her beloved Queenie sets about unravelling the mystery of her exile from The Paradise Hotel, only to discover that her mother was not the woman she thought she knew at all ...Mothers and daughters ... their story can be complicated ... but it can also turn out to have a happy ending.

Hodder & Stoughton

Girls of Paper and Fire

Natasha Ngan
Authors:
Natasha Ngan
Hodder & Stoughton

Winter In Paradise

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

'I just LOVE [Elin Hilderbrand's] books, they are such compulsive reads' -Marian KeyesWarm up for winter on a Caribbean beach with New York Times Bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand.Irene Steele's life is idyllic, until it is rocked by a late-night phone call that brings news of her husband's sudden death. Even in the midst of her crippling grief, Irene cannot get one question out of her head: why was his body found on St. John, a tropical Caribbean paradise far removed from their suburban life?Leaving the cold Nantucket winter behind, Irene flies hundreds of miles to get to the island - only to learn that her husband had a secret second family. As she delves deeper into the mysterious circumstances surrounding the death of the man she loved, she is plunged into a web of intrigue and deceit belied by the pristine white sandy beaches of St. John's. ************** Praise for Elin Hilderbrand: 'Oozes plenty of drama' - Heat 'A page turner' - Coastal Living 'Her imagination is endless' - Book Reporter

Hodder & Stoughton

Our Lizzie

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

One Special Village

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

One Special Village . . . can make the world a better placeLancashire, 1932 Widower Harry Makepeace lives in Manchester with his sickly daughter Cathie, scrimping and saving to get by. But after she suffers a violent asthma attack, the doctors say she must move to the clean, fresh air of the countryside to have any hope of survival. When Harry chances upon a patch of land for sale in Ellindale, and an advert for a disused railway carriage that can be made into a home, he snaps both up quickly. Harry swiftly becomes part of the community in Ellindale, making friends with the locals, and soon finds himself attracted to Nina, another newcomer to the village. Finally, he's found somewhere he and Cathie can build a new home. But their problems are far from over. Times are hard in Ellindale - Harry is not the only one struggling to find work. Then there's his old boss, who will stop at nothing to punish him for daring to leave. And Harry's already made an enemy in Ellindale - someone who could make his life very difficult indeed . . .Praise for the Ellindale series'One of the most lovely and heartwarming books I have ever read! *****' - Between the Pages 'A book of family, love, friendship and loyalty. *****' - Stardust Book Reviews 'I was gripped from the very first word on the very first page and I wasn't released until the last word on the last page . . . When I finished I felt like I had been through an emotional wringer. *****' - Ginger Book Geek

Two Roads

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

Loved Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things? Keep on reading...'Warm and wise' Guardian 'A book to really love ... makes reading a joy' Stylist 'Will soften even the hardest of hearts' Red 'Subtle and poignant' Good Housekeeping 'Plenty of spirit and heart' Daily Mail 'An adorable heartfelt story' Prima 'Filled with hope and the power of friendship' Evening Standard 'A whimsical, wistful affair' Sunday Express 'A wrenching story of recovery' MetroOnce a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, Masha's life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Unable to let go of her grief, she seeks solace in the company of the souls of her local Victorian cemetery and finds peace in the ice-cold depths of her town's lido.Then a chance encounter with two extraordinary women - the fabulous and wise Kitty Muriel, a convent girl turned magician's wife turned seventy-something roller disco fanatic, and the mysterious Sally Red Shoes, a bag lady with a prodigious voice - opens up a new world of possibilities, and the chance to start living again. But just as Masha dares to imagine the future, her past comes roaring back ...Like her bestselling debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, Ruth Hogan's second novel introduces a cast of wonderful characters, both ordinary and charmingly eccentric, who lead us through a moving exploration of the joy of friendship and the simple human connections that make life worth living.Praise for The Keeper of Lost Things, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick 2017Winner of the Richard & Judy Readers' Award 2017'A gem' Huffington Post'Exquisite' The Lady'Delightful' Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

Hodder & Stoughton

One Kind Man

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

A Farewell to France

Noel Barber
Authors:
Noel Barber
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ultimatum

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder Paperbacks

Rose Cottage

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart