- The Trespassers - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Trespassers

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A classic saga from Pam Rhodes, now available in eBook.

Philip Barnes, the popular vicar of St John's church in a small West Country town, is very happily married: he and his wife Ruth have a solid relationship based on deep love and a shared commitment to family and to faith. So when he finds himself strongly attracted to his daughter's piano teacher, Louise, his feelings are both stimulating and shocking. Their brief affair has tragic consequences for everyone involved, but once Philip realises Ruth has forgiven him, he can begin to forgive himself.

Biographical Notes

In addition to presenting BBC Television's Songs of Praise for more than twenty years, Pam Rhodes has authored five novels and six non-fiction books. She lives with her husband in Bedfordshire.

www.pamrhodes.co.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444787429
  • Publication date: 17 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

A Farewell to France

Noel Barber
Authors:
Noel Barber
Hodder Paperbacks

Gentian Hill

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Unable to bear the prospect of a life at sea, young Anthony O'Connell deserts his ship at Torquay and escapes into the Devonshire countryside under a new name. When Stella Sprigg, adopted daughter of a local farmer, encounters 'Zachary', the pair instantly know they are destined to be together. Intertwined with the local legend of St. Michael's Chapel, Stella and Zachary's story takes them from the secluded Devonshire valley to the perilous Mediterranean seas and finally to the poverty and squalor of eighteenth-century London.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Heart of the Family

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

Fortune's Hand

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Secrecy

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

First came the sin. Then the lies.He was handsome, charming, irresistable, and an eighteen-year-old lady-killer, her uncle Cliff's stepson, Ted. But in one terrible night he would shatter the life of fourteen-year-old Charlotte Dawes and nearly destroy her family. Years afterward, Charlotte would remember that night with fear and loathing, with pain that could be banished only by her work as a gifted architect, building a new world for others as she conceals her own.For Charlotte's family, prime employers in New England mill town, what happened to Charlotte was the beginning of the end. Her father is left shattered by his daughter's pain. Her troubled mother is unable to cope. And her distinguished family has fallen from grace, plunged into debt. The only rock that sustains them in their darkest hours is a woman whose own guilty secret has given her the power to ruin--or resurrect--the family to whom she owes her life.Belva Plain's searing novel cuts to the heart of a family ravaged by secrecy. But it is ultimately a story of redemption, the kind that grows when one person dares to tell the truth.

Hodder & Stoughton

Evergreen

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Daybreak

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Scene Stealers

Siobhan Curham
Authors:
Siobhan Curham
Hodder & Stoughton

Her Last Whisper

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

The last time criminal psychology expert Dr Charlotte 'Charlie' Stone helped capture a serial killer, it was nearly the last thing she ever did. Now she's determined to stick to research - and leave risk-taking to the law. But when dangerous duty calls, she can't refuse. And there's no greater danger than the 'Cinderella Killer', a charming predator who lures beautiful, single women to their deaths.FBI agent Lena Kaminsky fears her missing sister has fallen prey to the seductive psychopath, and desperately needs Charlie's unique skills before it's too late. Joined by Special Agents Tony Bartoli, Buzz Crane - and her ghostly bad-boy lover, Michael Garland - Charlie heads to Vegas to track down Lena's sister before the Cinderella Killer seals her fate.But it's Charlie who ends up gambling with her life, when the lethal lothario decides she's just his type . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Constant Star

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling
Hodder & Stoughton

Connie's Daughter

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Silver Link

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Until her father died, Adela Carstairs had lived in a secure and loving home. Then happiness was shattered when her mother remarries a cruel, hard-drinking man. With her younger brother and sister, Adela is forced to flee his drunken rages and they escape to London where they seek refuge in the squalor of the back streets. Addie's desperate hope is that her childhood companions, the Mallory twins, will find and rescue them. When all three find themselves caught up in the danger and terror of revolutionary France, the twins prove invaluable. It was to be an experience which would test their friendship, and love, to the limit.

Hodder & Stoughton

Bring Me Home

Alan Titchmarsh
Authors:
Alan Titchmarsh
Two Roads

The Legacy of Elizabeth Pringle

Kirsty Wark
Authors:
Kirsty Wark

'ORIGINAL AND ENTHRALLING' Guardian'COMPLETELY ENCHANTING' Penny Vincenzi Longlisted for the IMPAC AwardElizabeth Pringle lived all her long life on the Scottish island of Arran. But did anyone really know her? In her will she leaves her beloved house, Holmlea, to a stranger - a young mother she'd seen pushing a pram down the road over thirty years ago. It now falls to Martha, once the baby in that pram, to answer the question: why? Martha is coping with her mother's dementia and the possibility of a new life on Arran could be a new start.A captivating story for fans of Rosamund Pilcher, Maeve Binchy and Rachel Joyce of the richness behind the so-called ordinary lives of women and the secrets and threads that hold them together.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Welcome Light

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling

The fourth, and concluding, title in The Nicholson Quartet sees Kirsty and Craig Nicholson struggling to hold their lives together. What started with love could soon find itself ending in tragedy...Only love for their son holds Kirsty and Craig's stormy marriage together. But when a crippling disease strikes the child, Craig's adamant male pride turns to tenderness and concern, and Kirsty, drained by worry and overwork, seeks comfort in the arms of her new business partner.However, after a series of near-tragic events, Kirsty is forced into a final, unexpected confrontation and a decision as to where her heart really lies...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Spoiled Earth

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling

This captivating first novel by the author who has been called Scotland's answer to Catherine Cookson tells a story of love and ambition set in Lanarkshire in the 19th century. The Lanarkshire colliery village of Blacklaw is a harsh and unforgiving place, but it is home to the ambitious, hard-working Stalker family. Until one morning in March 1875, when a mining disaster takes a hundred lives and changes their life forever...The underground explosion kills their menfolk, but not their ambitions, their pride or their love for one another. Drew Stalker is the young man on whom their hopes rest. But it is on his sisters Kate and Mirren that the burden of saving their family will fall.A bestseller since it was first published, the compelling story of the Stalker family continues in The Hiring Fair and concludes in The Dark Pasture.

Hodder & Stoughton

Promises to Keep

Alexandra Raife
Authors:
Alexandra Raife

Miranda and Ian marry in haste - when she falls pregnant - and repent at leisure: what was a joyful student romance turns into an embittered marriage, which Ian abandons after two years. Left in Edinburgh to bring up her daughter, Alexy, alone, Miranda has to face the fact that while she loves her daughter, she often doesn't like her very much. When Alexy's grandfather offers them the chance to move to Kilgarth, Miranda feels that a new start might be best for everyone. She's right - and eventually a new start also means the return of an old love.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Question Of Trust

Alexandra Raife
Authors:
Alexandra Raife

Philippa has returned to Glen Maraich and put together a 'portfolio career' - working in the local hotel, catering and house-sitting. She has her little cottage and her friends, and is perfectly content. The last thing on her mind is a new romance, but when a stranger comes to the glen, she finds herself strongly attracted to him. Jon is a prickly character, a mercenary soldier (though he keeps that a secret), and causes suspicion in the close-knit Highland community. They are protective of Philippa, and anxious that she not be hurt. But the unlikely couple find they have more in common than it would appear, and liking progresses cautiously towards love. Though not before a series of misunderstandings threatens to ruin the relationship - unless these two wounded people can learn to trust each other.

Hodder Paperbacks

Shogun

James Clavell
Authors:
James Clavell

This is James Clavell's tour-de-force; an epic saga of one Pilot-Major John Blackthorne, and his integration into the struggles and strife of feudal Japan. Both entertaining and incisive, SHOGUN is a stunningly dramatic re-creation of a very different world.Starting with his shipwreck on this most alien of shores, the novel charts Blackthorne's rise from the status of reviled foreigner up to the heights of trusted advisor and eventually, Samurai. All as civil war looms over the fragile country.