Pam Rhodes - Letting Go - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Letting Go

By Pam Rhodes

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

When the past is betrayed, can a woman trust the future?

After eighteen years together, Meg and Alan Barratt have a marriage that works and a settled, orderly and companionable life. On the eve of their wedding anniversary, Alan presents Meg with an eternity ring, inscribed with the date of their wedding and just one word: FOREVER. Then, just before Christmas, an act of betrayal makes Meg question the basis of her entire life. Without the trust on which she's always believed their love was based, is their marriage, family and home all an illusion?

For Meg, the holiday season is far from festive. But as the new year dawns, she realises that she owes it to her son and daughter to take up the reins again. And when Alan reminds her of that anniversary promise, Meg must decide just what FOREVER means.

Biographical Notes

In addition to presenting BBC Television's Songs of Praise for more than twenty years, Pam Rhodes has authored five novels and six non-fiction books. She lives with her husband in Bedfordshire.

www.pamrhodes.co.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444787405
  • Publication date: 17 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

Winter In Paradise

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village

Joanna Nell
Authors:
Joanna Nell

A moving, funny, heartwarming tale of love and friendship, for anyone who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, The Keeper of Lost Things and Three Things about Elsie.It's never too late to grow old disgracefully...The life of 79-year-old pensioner Peggy Smart is as beige as the décor in her retirement village. Her week revolves around aqua aerobics and appointments with her doctor. The highlight of Peggy's day is watching her neighbour Brian head out for his morning swim. Peggy dreams of inviting the handsome widower - treasurer of the Residents' Committee and one of the few eligible men in the village - to an intimate dinner. But why would an educated man like Brian, a chartered accountant no less, look twice at Peggy? As a woman of a certain age, she fears she has become invisible, even to men in their eighties. But a chance encounter with an old school friend she hasn't seen in five decades - the glamorous fashionista Angie Valentine - sets Peggy on an unexpected journey of self-discovery. Can she channel her 'inner Helen Mirren' and find love and friendship in her twilight years?(P)2018 Hachette Australia

Hodder Paperbacks

Once in a Lifetime

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

The new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine, the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft. On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together...In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a new country, struggling to save her baby after her husband dies. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery. When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.

Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Hodder Paperbacks

One Kind Man

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

1931, Lancashire:When Finn Carlisle loses his wife and unborn child, he spends a few years travelling to keep the sad memories at bay. Just as he's ready to settle down again, his great-uncle dies and leaves everything to him. This includes Heythorpe House in Ellindale just down the road from Leah Willcox and her little fizzy drink factory.Finn finds a village of people in dire need of jobs, a house that hasn't been cleaned or lived in for thirty years and Reggie, an eleven-year-old who's run away from the nearby orphanage and its brutal Director Buddle. When Finn sees the marks left by regular beatings, he decides Reggie will never go back there.But Buddle has other plans for the child, and will stop at nothing to get Reggie back in his cruel grasp. Finn's new neighbours help him save Reggie but other surprises throw his new plans into turmoil.***********Praise for the Ellindale series'One of the most lovely and heartwarming books I have ever read!' - 5 STARS - Between the Pages 'A book of family, love, friendship and loyalty' - 5 STARS - Stardust Book Reviews'I was gripped from the very first word on the very first page and I wasn't released until the last word on the last page . . . When I finished I felt like I had been through an emotional wringer' - 5 STARS - Ginger Book Geek***********What readers are saying about ONE KIND MAN'Brilliant' - 5-STARS'Loved it, can't wait for the next one' - 5-STARS'Another excellent read from Anna Jacobs' - 5-STARS

Two Roads

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

Loved Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things? Keep on reading...'Warm and wise' Guardian 'A book to really love ... makes reading a joy' Stylist 'Will soften even the hardest of hearts' Red 'Subtle and poignant' Good Housekeeping 'Plenty of spirit and heart' Daily Mail 'An adorable heartfelt story' Prima 'Filled with hope and the power of friendship' Evening Standard 'A whimsical, wistful affair' Sunday Express 'A wrenching story of recovery' MetroMasha's life has stopped. Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, her life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Unable to let go of her grief, she finds solace in the silent company of the souls of her local Victorian cemetery and at the town's lido, where she seeks refuge underwater - safe from the noise and the pain.But a chance encounter with two extraordinary women - the fabulous and wise Kitty Muriel, a convent girl-turned-magician's wife-turned-seventy-something-roller-disco-fanatic, and the mysterious Sally Red Shoes, a bag lady with a prodigious voice - opens up a new world of possibilities, and the chance to start living again. But just as Masha dares to imagine the future, the past comes roaring back ...Like her bestselling debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, Ruth Hogan's second novel introduces a cast of wonderful characters, both ordinary and charmingly eccentric, who guide us through a moving exploration of the simple human connections that make life worth living.Praise for The Keeper of Lost Things, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick 2017Winner of the Richard & Judy Readers' Award 2017'A gem' Huffington Post'Exquisite' The Lady'Delightful' Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

Flame in the Mist

Renée Ahdieh
Authors:
Renée Ahdieh
Hodder Paperbacks

The Wrath and the Dawn

Renée Ahdieh
Authors:
Renée Ahdieh

A #1 New York Times bestseller and a sumptuous, epic tale inspired by A Thousand and One Nights.'A riveting Game of Thrones meets Arabian Nights love story' - US WeeklyEvery dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a terrible surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi's wit and will get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she may be falling in love with a murderer.Shazi discovers that the villainous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. It's up to her to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all."So you would have me throw Shazi to the wolves?""Shazi? Honestly, I pity the wolves."

Hodder & Stoughton

Winter Storms

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

Sting

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

Number One New York Times bestselling author Sandra Brown returns with another suspenseful thrillerWhen Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something definitely sparks. Shaw gives off a dangerous vibe that makes men wary and inspires women to sit up and take notice. None feel that undercurrent more strongly than savvy businesswoman Jordie, who doesn't belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou. But here she is . . . and Shaw Kinnard is here to kill her. As Shaw and his partner take aim, Jordie is certain her time has come. But Shaw has other plans and abducts Jordie, hoping to get his hands on the $30 million her brother has stolen and, presumably, hidden. However, Shaw is not the only one looking for the fortune. Her brother's ruthless boss and the FBI are after it as well. Now on the run from the feds and a notorious criminal, Jordie and Shaw must rely on their wits - and each other - to stay alive. Miles away from civilization and surrounded by swampland, the two play each other against their common enemies. Jordie's only chance of survival is to outwit Shaw, but it soon becomes clear to Shaw that Jordie isn't entirely trustworthy, either. Was she in on her brother's scam, or is she an innocent pawn in a deadly vendetta? And just how valuable is her life to Shaw, her remorseless and manipulative captor? Burning for answers-and for each other-this unlikely pair ultimately make a desperate move that could be their last.With nonstop plot twists and the tantalizing sexual tension that has made Sandra Brown one of the world's best-loved authors, STING will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final pages. Praise for Sandra Brown 'Suspense that has teeth' Stephen King 'Lust, jealousy, and murder suffuse Brown's crisp thriller' Publishers Weekly 'An edge-of-the-seat thriller that's full of twists . . . Top stuff!' Star

Hodder Paperbacks

A Time for Renewal

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Meaning of Marriage

Timothy Keller
Authors:
Timothy Keller
Hodder & Stoughton

Tidings of Comfort and Joy

Pam Rhodes
Authors:
Pam Rhodes

Pam Rhodes is best known as the familiar face of the BBC's Songs of Praise, and here she brings together her personal selection of carols, poems, Bible readings and other inspirational passages from a wide range of sources.As well as the usual old favourites - from Hark the Herald Angels Sing to the stories of the shepherds and the wise men visiting the baby Jesus - there are plenty of lighter moments, with excerpts from Gervase Phinn's memoirs and funny poems by modern writers. Alongside the items themselves Pam shares some of her own Christmas reminiscences and explores the resonance of the Christmas story for all our lives in her trademark inviting and heartwarming style.There is something here for everyone, from those wanting to enjoy dipping in for a taste of Christmas to those needing a sourcebook to inspire selections for Christmas services. Enjoy!

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Time I Saw Her

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

Kit

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato