- Letting Go - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Letting Go

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

When the past is betrayed, can a woman trust the future?

After eighteen years together, Meg and Alan Barratt have a marriage that works and a settled, orderly and companionable life. On the eve of their wedding anniversary, Alan presents Meg with an eternity ring, inscribed with the date of their wedding and just one word: FOREVER. Then, just before Christmas, an act of betrayal makes Meg question the basis of her entire life. Without the trust on which she's always believed their love was based, is their marriage, family and home all an illusion?

For Meg, the holiday season is far from festive. But as the new year dawns, she realises that she owes it to her son and daughter to take up the reins again. And when Alan reminds her of that anniversary promise, Meg must decide just what FOREVER means.

Biographical Notes

In addition to presenting BBC Television's Songs of Praise for more than twenty years, Pam Rhodes has authored five novels and six non-fiction books. She lives with her husband in Bedfordshire.

www.pamrhodes.co.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444787405
  • Publication date: 17 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

A Farewell to France

Noel Barber
Authors:
Noel Barber
Hodder Paperbacks

Gentian Hill

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Unable to bear the prospect of a life at sea, young Anthony O'Connell deserts his ship at Torquay and escapes into the Devonshire countryside under a new name. When Stella Sprigg, adopted daughter of a local farmer, encounters 'Zachary', the pair instantly know they are destined to be together. Intertwined with the local legend of St. Michael's Chapel, Stella and Zachary's story takes them from the secluded Devonshire valley to the perilous Mediterranean seas and finally to the poverty and squalor of eighteenth-century London.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Heart of the Family

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

Fortune's Hand

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

Rob McDaniels, a schoolteacher with noble intentions, comes into a little money, enabling him to go to law school. Upon graduation he goes to work for a fine honourable firm and marries the daughter of the senior partner, leaving behind the hometown girl he had planned to marry. From then on his career brings him enormous successes but then takes a shocking turn that changes his life and the life of his family, and reverberates into the next generation.With the magic of a born storyteller, bestselling author Belva Plain unfolds the devastating tale of a man whose dreams come true. Fortune's Hand is a novel of temptation, betrayal and greed - and of the redeeming power of love.

Hodder & Stoughton

Secrecy

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

First came the sin. Then the lies.He was handsome, charming, irresistable, and an eighteen-year-old lady-killer, her uncle Cliff's stepson, Ted. But in one terrible night he would shatter the life of fourteen-year-old Charlotte Dawes and nearly destroy her family. Years afterward, Charlotte would remember that night with fear and loathing, with pain that could be banished only by her work as a gifted architect, building a new world for others as she conceals her own.For Charlotte's family, prime employers in New England mill town, what happened to Charlotte was the beginning of the end. Her father is left shattered by his daughter's pain. Her troubled mother is unable to cope. And her distinguished family has fallen from grace, plunged into debt. The only rock that sustains them in their darkest hours is a woman whose own guilty secret has given her the power to ruin--or resurrect--the family to whom she owes her life.Belva Plain's searing novel cuts to the heart of a family ravaged by secrecy. But it is ultimately a story of redemption, the kind that grows when one person dares to tell the truth.

Hodder & Stoughton

Evergreen

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

A magnificent story of courage and ambition. Born into poverty and fear, Anna Friedman is desperate to leave her native Poland. Determined to make something of herself, Anna takes a journey that will change her life forever. Crossing the ocean, she moves to into a cramped New York slum and finds a job in a sweatshop. When two very different men fall in love with her, Anna is torn in love and loyalty.

Hodder & Stoughton

Daybreak

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Scene Stealers

Siobhan Curham
Authors:
Siobhan Curham

'If you could recreate any movie scene and cast yourself in the lead role, which would you choose?' This chance remark made late one night over the counter of a North London video store brings together four very different characters with hilarious and dramatic consequences.United only by their love of film, Sadie, Lana, Liam and Tel join forces to recreate cinematic history, discovering along the way that friendship, trust and even love can spring from the most unlikely of sources.Once again, Siobhan Curham has mixed the elements of comedy with heart-wrenching tragedy, creating a warm and poignant tale that will cause laughter and tears with every turn of the page.

Hodder & Stoughton

Her Last Whisper

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

The Constant Star

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling
Hodder & Stoughton

Connie's Daughter

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Mysterious and attractive, Clare is a wartime VAD nurse, and is engaged to Robin Claye, an army officer. On the surface Clare appears to be happy. However, will the scandalous past of her parents continue to haunt her?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Silver Link

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Until her father died, Adela Carstairs had lived in a secure and loving home. Then happiness was shattered when her mother remarries a cruel, hard-drinking man. With her younger brother and sister, Adela is forced to flee his drunken rages and they escape to London where they seek refuge in the squalor of the back streets. Addie's desperate hope is that her childhood companions, the Mallory twins, will find and rescue them. When all three find themselves caught up in the danger and terror of revolutionary France, the twins prove invaluable. It was to be an experience which would test their friendship, and love, to the limit.

Hodder & Stoughton

Bring Me Home

Alan Titchmarsh
Authors:
Alan Titchmarsh
Two Roads

The Legacy of Elizabeth Pringle

Kirsty Wark
Authors:
Kirsty Wark

'ORIGINAL AND ENTHRALLING' Guardian'COMPLETELY ENCHANTING' Penny Vincenzi Longlisted for the IMPAC AwardElizabeth Pringle lived all her long life on the Scottish island of Arran. But did anyone really know her? In her will she leaves her beloved house, Holmlea, to a stranger - a young mother she'd seen pushing a pram down the road over thirty years ago. It now falls to Martha, once the baby in that pram, to answer the question: why? Martha is coping with her mother's dementia and the possibility of a new life on Arran could be a new start.A captivating story for fans of Rosamund Pilcher, Maeve Binchy and Rachel Joyce of the richness behind the so-called ordinary lives of women and the secrets and threads that hold them together.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Welcome Light

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling
Hodder & Stoughton

The Spoiled Earth

Jessica Stirling
Authors:
Jessica Stirling
Hodder & Stoughton

Promises to Keep

Alexandra Raife
Authors:
Alexandra Raife

Miranda and Ian marry in haste - when she falls pregnant - and repent at leisure: what was a joyful student romance turns into an embittered marriage, which Ian abandons after two years. Left in Edinburgh to bring up her daughter, Alexy, alone, Miranda has to face the fact that while she loves her daughter, she often doesn't like her very much. When Alexy's grandfather offers them the chance to move to Kilgarth, Miranda feels that a new start might be best for everyone. She's right - and eventually a new start also means the return of an old love.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Question Of Trust

Alexandra Raife
Authors:
Alexandra Raife
Hodder Paperbacks

Shogun

James Clavell
Authors:
James Clavell

This is James Clavell's tour-de-force; an epic saga of one Pilot-Major John Blackthorne, and his integration into the struggles and strife of feudal Japan. Both entertaining and incisive, SHOGUN is a stunningly dramatic re-creation of a very different world.Starting with his shipwreck on this most alien of shores, the novel charts Blackthorne's rise from the status of reviled foreigner up to the heights of trusted advisor and eventually, Samurai. All as civil war looms over the fragile country.