Pam Rhodes - Letting Go - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Letting Go

By Pam Rhodes

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

When the past is betrayed, can a woman trust the future?

After eighteen years together, Meg and Alan Barratt have a marriage that works and a settled, orderly and companionable life. On the eve of their wedding anniversary, Alan presents Meg with an eternity ring, inscribed with the date of their wedding and just one word: FOREVER. Then, just before Christmas, an act of betrayal makes Meg question the basis of her entire life. Without the trust on which she's always believed their love was based, is their marriage, family and home all an illusion?

For Meg, the holiday season is far from festive. But as the new year dawns, she realises that she owes it to her son and daughter to take up the reins again. And when Alan reminds her of that anniversary promise, Meg must decide just what FOREVER means.

Biographical Notes

In addition to presenting BBC Television's Songs of Praise for more than twenty years, Pam Rhodes has authored five novels and six non-fiction books. She lives with her husband in Bedfordshire.

www.pamrhodes.co.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444787405
  • Publication date: 17 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Cold Feet: The Lost Years

Carmel Harrington
Authors:
Carmel Harrington

All the love. All the drama. All you missed. HILARIOUS AND HEARTBREAKING OFFICIAL COLD FEET NOVEL FROM THE HIT TV SERIES.Reeling from the sudden death of Rachel, his beloved wife, Adam has no time to grieve. He has to keep going, for the sake of their baby son. Jenny moves back in with ex-husband Pete, eight and a half months pregnant with another man's child. Can their relationship overcome past jealousies? Karen and David agree to an amicable divorce - but that's before he sleeps with the divorce lawyer . . .THE LOST YEARS reveals what happened to your favourite characters between series five and six of the award-winning TV series written by Mike Bullen. It's an irresistible chance to catch up on all the laughter, the tears, the life lessons we missed while they were gone.*************PRAISE FOR 'COLD FEET: THE LOST YEARS''I loved it. The characters have been captured so well and it just feels so like Mike Bullen's creation . . . Harrington should be very proud - it really is fabulous! Margaret Conway, Line Producer COLD FEET

Hodder Paperbacks

The Rosemary Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Michael Stone was once a famous author. That was before he went to prison. Now, recently released, Michael needs a new beginning. Weighed down by failure and despair, the town of Silverbridge seems too offer him a quiet, rural escape from the past. Kind, gentle vicar John Wentworth takes Michael under his wing, and introduces him to his family and friends. At the vicarage, John's inexplicably discontented wife Daphne brings up their daughters. Bedridden Harriet, John's former nanny, deals impatiently with a world to which she cannot actively participate. At the family home, Belmaray, Aunt Maria is burdened by the worry of a failing estate. And at the grim little town school is fiery teacher Mary O'Hara, determined to foster change. A story of courage and community, set in the beautiful Devonshire countryside.

Hodder Paperbacks

Red Sequins

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes

A gripping saga evoking the spirit of the 1970s East End, from the author of Room for a Lodger and Banished from Bow.Sandy Brent's life is blown apart the day her husband offers to drive her to work. On the way he tells her that their marriage is over and that he's seeing someone else. Sandy's refusal to believe that it's finished sends Roy into a frenzy - and the car into a head-on collision. When she wakes in hospital, Sandy is alone, and must start her life over from scratch. She decides to head back to her roots in the colourful East End and set up her own boutique. But someone is set on bringing her down: her own sister, Ruth. Deeply angry towards Sandy because of a childhood secret, Ruth is determined to see her sister run aground. Gathering her new friends and neighbours around to combat Ruth's warped machinations, Sandy needs to draw on strength she never knew she had. Then disaster strikes again...

Hodder Paperbacks

Keep on Dancing

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder Paperbacks

The Dinner Lady

Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
Hodder & Stoughton

The Way Back to Us

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ultimatum

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Sceptre

The Valentine House

Emma Henderson
Authors:
Emma Henderson

'Henderson's Grace Williams Says It Loud was shortlisted for the Orange Prize and this more than matches it.'Elizabeth Buchan, Daily MailIn June 1914, Sir Anthony Valentine, a keen mountaineer, arrives with his family to spend the summer in their chalet, high in the French Alps. There, for the first time, fourteen-year-old foundling Mathilde starts work as one of the 'uglies' - village girls employed as servants and picked, it is believed, to ensure they don't catch Sir Anthony's roving eye. For Mathilde it is the start of a life-long entanglement with les anglais - strange, exciting people, far removed from the hard grind of farming. Except she soon finds the Valentines are less carefree than they appear, with a curiously absent daughter no one talks about. It will be decades - disrupted by war, accidents and a cruel betrayal - before Mathilde discovers the key to the mystery. And in 1976, the year Sir Anthony's great-great grandson comes to visit, she must decide whether to use it. Vividly evoking the dramatic landscape that so enthrals the Valentines, this deeply involving, intriguing novel tells the story of an English family through the generations and a memorable French woman, whose lives seem worlds apart yet which become inextricably connected.

Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale

A Foyles best book of 2017'Langdale is excellent . . . The Brittle Star is a great beginning to what I hope is a long and productive career' GuardianPerfect for fans of Cormac McCarthy and True Grit, The Brittle Star is the epic story of a young man's unquenchable spirit.When his mother's ranch is attacked, sixteen-year-old John Evert is wounded and left to die. But John Evert is no ordinary young man. He's a frontiersman's son, a rancher who's lived his whole life in the untamed Southern California wilderness of 1860. In a journey that will take him from the bustling young city of Los Angeles to Texas to Missouri and back, to the front lines of the American Civil War and home again, John Evert will learn the cost of vengeance and the price of forgiveness.'Pacy, thrilling, well-plotted . . . an extraordinary debut novel' Andrew Roberts, author of A History of the English-Speaking Peoples Since 1900

Hodder Paperbacks

All I Ever Wanted

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon
Hodder Paperbacks

The Cat of Yule Cottage

Lili Hayward
Authors:
Lili Hayward
Hodder Paperbacks

First Comes Love

Emily Giffin
Authors:
Emily Giffin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Comfort of Others

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale
Hodder & Stoughton

The Graveyard of the Hesperides

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder Paperbacks

Dragon Soul (Dragon Fall Book Three)

Katie MacAlister
Authors:
Katie MacAlister

The funny, sexy and thrilling third novel in New York Times bestselling author Katie MacAlister's steamy Dragon Fall series.NOTHING BURNS HOTTER . . .Sophea Long knows that escorting her octogenarian client to Europe will be an adventure. Mrs. P has a habit of stealing anything shiny, and the former "hoochikoo dancer" is a lot faster than she looks. But Sophea hadn't counted on Mrs. P leading her right into the arms of a smoldering, dark-haired stranger who kisses like a dream. If only he'd give up all this nonsense about Sophea being some kind of dragon...THAN THE FIRE INSIDEThere's a reason Rowan Dakar is known as the Dragon Breaker. The last thing he needs is to fall for a woman who literally sets him aflame every time they kiss. After all, he has a mission-one that will finally free him of dragonkin for good. He can't afford to be distracted by the funniest, most desirable woman he's ever set eyes on. But no prophecy in the world can ever stop true love . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Dragon Storm (Dragon Fall Book Two)

Katie MacAlister
Authors:
Katie MacAlister
Hodder & Stoughton

Tidings of Comfort and Joy

Pam Rhodes
Authors:
Pam Rhodes

Pam Rhodes is best known as the familiar face of the BBC's Songs of Praise, and for this special audio CD she has selected the very best of the carols, poems, Bible readings and other inspirational passages from the book Tidings of Comfort and Joy.As well as the usual old favourites - from The Holly and the Ivy and the Hallelujah Chorus to the stories of the shepherds and the wise men visiting the baby Jesus - there are plenty of lighter moments, with poems like 'Twas the Month After Christmas' and Pam's own Christmas reminiscences. This lovely audio journey is the perfect opportunity to explore the resonance of the Christmas story for all our lives in Pam Rhodes' trademark inviting and heartwarming style.There is something here for everyone, from those wanting to enjoy dipping in for a taste of Christmas to those needing a sourcebook to inspire selections for Christmas services. Enjoy!

Hodder Paperbacks

Winter Street

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder Paperbacks

The Book of Ivy

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel

What would you kill for?After a brutal nuclear war, our country was decimated. A new nation of survivors lives within a fenced community. No one knows what lies beyond the fence; only that to be cast outside it is a fate worse than death. Two families fought to govern our new society. Now, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing faction to the sons of the winning side in a yearly ceremony. This year, it's my turn. My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill Bishop Lattimer, the president's son and my soon-to-be husband, and return the Westfall family to power.I never expected that my new husband would be the one person in the world to truly understand me. But I can't falter now - I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy. Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him...The Book of Ivy is the first novel in a thrilling dystopian young adult duology from the author of The Roanoke Girls, perfect for fans of the Delirium series.