Elizabeth George - The Punishment She Deserves - Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

An Inspector Lynley Novel: 17

By Elizabeth George

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Award-winning author Elizabeth George delivers another masterpiece of suspense in her Inspector Lynley series.

Award-winning author Elizabeth George delivers another masterpiece of suspense in her Inspector Lynley series.

When a Member of Parliament shows up at New Scotland Yard requesting an investigation into the suicide of the son of one of his constituents in the beautiful town of Ludlow, the Assistant Commissioner sees two opportunities in this request: the first is to have an MP owing him a favour, and the second is to get rid of Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, whose career at the Met has been hanging by a thread for quite some time. So he assigns Havers to the case and for good measure partners her with the one person who shares his wish to see the back of her, Detective Chief Superintendent Isabelle Ardery.

But Ardery has her own difficulties. She is not happy to be sent away from London and as a result is in a rush to return. This causes her to overlook certain uncomfortable facts. Soon, the case is opened again and this time, it is Lynley who must accompany Havers to Ludlow, with little more than a week to save the Met's reputation and Barbara's job. And the more they investigate, the more it looks as if the suicide was part of a much more sinister pattern of events.

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth George is the author of highly acclaimed novels of psychological suspense. She won the Anthony and Agatha Best First Novel awards in America and received the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière in France. In 1990 she was awarded the prestigious German prize for international mystery fiction, the MIMI. Her novels have now been adapted for television by the BBC. An Edgar and Macavity Nominee as well as a New York Times and international bestselling author, Elizabeth George lives on Whidbey Island in the state of Washington.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444786644
  • Publication date: 07 Mar 2019
  • Page count: 768
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Rich with descriptive detail and emotional nuance. Several alternating plot threads unspool at length, all of which weave tightly together with pleasing inevitability . . . What has been said before deserves repeating: From suspense to social commentary, from violence to pathos, from villainy to possible redemption, Ms. George can do it all, with style. — Wall Street Journal
Bolstered by George's polished prose, the twentieth Lynley mystery moves briskly along, showing the author at the peak of her powers. — Booklist (starred review)
She's a designer of fastidious mosaics that never fail to intrigue — Guardian
Presses all the buttons to make us hoover her stuff up — Daily Telegraph
She writes extremely well, plots brilliantly and reaches an emotional level deeper than most — The Times
The best plotter in the mystery game, [her] elegant literate flow puts many Brits to shame — Time Out
Hodder Paperbacks

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris.It's 1361 and Plague has returned to England. In an attempt to flee the approaching danger, Oswald de Lacy escorts his family from their estate of Somershill in Kent, to a remote island castle situated in the tidal mud flats of Romney Marsh. It seems the de Lacys have kept one step ahead of the contagion, but soon they discover that this castle is no safe haven from death.As a murderer strikes, they find themselves trapped in this lonely outpost with a killer - somebody who must be one of their fellow guests. But who? Each of the other guests is a fugitive from the Plague. But each has a secret to hide, and each has a reason to kill. The body count rises, but nobody can leave. Plague has now reached the marsh and is surrounding the castle.Cut off from the mainland and encircled by the horrors of the pestilence, Oswald is in the fight of his life. Protect his family and find the killer in the midst of this small and poisonous community, or leave and risk falling prey to the Plague.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Absolution

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Mulholland Books

Untitled Julie Corbin 2

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Kill

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Vanished Bride

Bella Ellis
Authors:
Bella Ellis
Hodder & Stoughton

What You Pay For

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

Thirteen years ago, DI Helen Birch's little brother Charlie disappeared. Two days ago, Birch was part of a raid on one of Scotland's most feared criminal organisations. Yesterday, Charlie came back... Now Birch has a choice: save her career, or save her brother? As she interrogates her brother, we see his story, in a brilliantly tense and clever novel about what people do to survive and the lines they cross to protect those they love.

Hodder & Stoughton

Haven't They Grown

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

Do Something

Kajal Odedra
Authors:
Kajal Odedra

People power works and is changing the world around us. This is a user's guide to activism by one of the UK's biggest names in grass-roots campaigning. Illustrated with lessons from the real world, it is a guide to creating change for anyone who has ever asked themselves 'why hasn't anyone done something about that?'We are taught to believe that only a small group of people in society have the ability to change laws and company policies. That's simply not true any longer - each of is capable of using our experiences to change the world. We just need to use that thing that makes us different, and learn how to channel it. Having worked as a campaigner for the last 11 years, Kajal Odedra of change.org - which is used by 15 million people in the UK - has learned the tricks of the trade that have traditionally been held in circles of power, and believes that everyone should know how to speak up and be heard. Her mission is to show people how to use their voice to make their community, politicians and CEOs take notice.

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Sandra Brown 2019

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Mulholland Books

Bad Day at the Vulture Club

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan
Mulholland Books

City of Windows

Robert Pobi
Authors:
Robert Pobi
Hodder & Stoughton

She Lies in the Vines

Benjamin Stevenson
Authors:
Benjamin Stevenson

PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE DRY AND MAKING A MURDER'Outstanding . . . an absorbing thriller told with heart and wit. Morality and ambition clash on a journey full of twists as [this] takes readers from the cut-throat media landscape to a sleepy town full of secrets'Jane Harper, bestselling author of The Dry and Force of NatureFour years ago Eliza Dacey was brutally murdered.Within hours, her killer was caught.Wasn't he?So reads the opening titles of Jack Quick's new true-crime documentary.A skilled producer, Jack knows that the bigger the conspiracy, the higher the ratings. Curtis Wade, convicted of Eliza's murder on circumstantial evidence and victim of a biased police force, is the perfect subject. Millions of viewers agree.Just before the finale, Jack uncovers a minor detail that may prove Curtis guilty after all. Convinced it will ruin his show, Jack disposes of the evidence and delivers the finale unedited: proposing that Curtis is innocent.But when Curtis is released, and a new victim is found bearing horrifying similarities to the original murder, Jack realizes that he may have helped a guilty man out of jail. And, as the only one who knows the real evidence of the case, he is the only one who can send him back...'A hugely-original premise, a guilt-ridden protagonist, a plot that won't lie down. A great debut'Chris Hammer, author of Scrublands

Hodder & Stoughton

A Book of Bones

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Coronet

Red Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

Healing the Soul of a Woman

Joyce Meyer
Authors:
Joyce Meyer

Can a woman who has been deeply hurt by life's circumstances be healed, heart and soul? If she has been wounded by a man she loved and trusted, can she love and trust again? As a woman who endured years of abuse, abandonment, and betrayal by those closest to her, Joyce Meyer can answer with a resounding "yes!"Meyer's positivity comes from living her own journey, and from seeing so many women who don't believe they can fully overcome their pain-or even know where to begin-find the guidance they need in the life-changing wisdom of the Bible.Meyer's bestseller Beauty for Ashes told of her personal story of healing. Now, with the passage of more time, HEALING THE SOUL OF A WOMAN delves deeper into Joyce's story and the journey of healing for all women. Each chapter guides you through whatever obstacles may be holding you back to find your true destiny as God's beloved. God can heal all pain, and He wants to do this in you. Let HEALING THE SOUL OF A WOMAN be the first step toward the wonderful, joyful future God intends for you.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Hodder & Stoughton

Tall Order

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper
Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

He saved your son's life.Now he wants yours...Tessa and Marcus went on holiday to save their marriage.Instead they nearly lost their son.In that fatal moment of inattention a stranger stepped in. And now Dave Jepsom is in their lives.They owe him - they know that - but he seems to want everything. He's on the streets they walk down. He's at the office where they work. He's knocking at their front door...And he's exposing secrets they would do anything to hide. If they could just go back. Not make that one terrible mistake.But it's never how it starts that matters. It's always how it ends.***What readers are saying about this gripping book:'This is definitely one of the best books I've read this year.' 'This is a brilliant read. From the first page you don't want to put down.' 'I was completely taken in with this book and cannot get the characters out of my head!' 'I thoroughly recommend this book.' 'A fast paced, exciting and dark thriller, Sabine has done it again, keeping me reading into the night.'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

'Such [a] compulsive read' - Marian KeyesEvery couple has their secrets . . .It's wedding season, and tensions are brewing.When one lavish wedding ends in disaster before it can even begin - with the maid of honour discovered dead in Nantucket Harbor just hours before the ceremony - everyone in the wedding party is suddenly a suspect.As Chief of Police Ed Kapenash digs into the best man, the bride, the groom's famous mystery novelist mother, and even a member of his own family, the chief discovers that every wedding is a minefield - and that no couple is perfect.************Praise for The Perfect Couple'Sink into this book like a hot, scented bath . . . a delicious, relaxing pleasure. And a clever whodunit at the same time' - Kirkus'Hilderbrand throws enough curveballs to keep readers guessing, but not too many, maintaining the breezy pace her novels are known for' - Booklist'A sizzling summer read fans won't want to miss' - Bustle 'Hilderbrand's books keep getting better and better' - Bookreporter************Praise for Elin Hilderbrand'Queen of the summer novel' - People'[Elin Hilderbrand] signifies the start of summer to readers' - The Book Reporter'Perfect holiday reading' - Candis'The queen regent of the easy-breezy summer novel' - New York Post