Charlotte Lamb - Treasons of the Heart - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Treasons of the Heart

By Charlotte Lamb

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A novel of secret history, sexual tension and intrigue from the queen of dark romance

When Claudia and Ben first meet on the banks of the Seine, the sexual frisson between them is powerful, instantaneous - and mutual. But Claudia quickly begins to suspect that Ben is less interested in her than in her honorary godfather Hugh, the enigmatic Englishman who had been her father's best friend. Then Claudia's apartment is ransacked, and she herself threatened by a pair of sinister thugs. As she flees in terror to Hugh's exquisite villa on the beautiful Cap d'Antibes, Claudia is followed by Ben - and one of her attackers.

The solution to the puzzle lies in the dark days of World War II, when Edward, exiled in the South of France with Wallis Simpson, plots deadly treason against his native land.

As Claudia struggles to understand the complexities of the past, she must also grapple with her own turbulent feelings: lover or deadly enemy, Ben has caught tight hold of her heart.

Biographical Notes

Charlotte Lamb was Mills & Boon's top-selling author. Her novels have been translated in many languages and are bestsellers around the world. She died in October 2000.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444770346
  • Publication date: 28 Mar 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
[Her novels] are rip-roaringly, mind-bogglingly . . . heart-poundingly successful — Radio Times
An intriguing romantic mystery — Family Circle
Lose yourself in this irresistible mystery — Woman's Realm
Hodder & Stoughton

Duty of Care

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dark Tower

Daniel Wallace
Authors:
Daniel Wallace
Coronet

Bad Soldier

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

'first rate set operational pieces' - Sunday TimesA migrant boat battles through the rough Mediterranean. Its passengers are desperate, starving and scared.They are also being ruthlessly targeted by the SAS.Islamic State militants are smuggling themselves into Europe using these boats. Only by locating such men before they make it into the UK can the Regiment stop them committing their acts of terror on British soil.When one of these migrants reveals plans for a sickening Christmas Day atrocity in London, SAS operative Danny Black is tasked with infiltrating the most dangerous theatre of war in the world: Islamic State heartland. There, he and his team must lift a brutal IS commander - the only man who knows all the details of the London attack. The commander surrounds himself with vicious militants and a harem of sex slaves whom he treats in the most sadistic ways imaginable. And his jihadi wife is, if possible, even more abominable than him.As Danny pits himself against the violent thugs of the Islamic State, he learns that it is not just the UK that is under threat. His very presence on the mission has put at risk the safety of those closest to him. And he discovers that there are greater forces at work here, who do not care if the innocent live or die.Now there is nothing Danny will not do, no line he will not cross, to protect his family. Whether that makes him a good soldier or a bad soldier he neither knows nor cares. Because as he is fast learning, it is sometimes impossible to tell the difference between the two.And as every SAS soldier is trained to understand, the worst threats often come from the most unexpected places...

Mulholland Books

What Goes Around

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy Book Club thriller 2017

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trespasser

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French
Hodder & Stoughton

Sting

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Why Did You Lie?

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The Sunday Times top crime read of the year. A journalist on the track of an old case attempts suicide. An ordinary couple return from a house swap in the states to find their home in disarray and their guests seemingly missing. Four strangers struggle to find shelter on a windswept spike of rock in the middle of a raging sea. They have one thing in common: they all lied.And someone is determined to punish them...WHY DID YOU LIE is a terrifying tale of long-delayed retribution from Iceland's Queen of Suspense.

John Murray

Slow Horses

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

Shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on SundayYou don't stop being a spook just because you're no longer in the game.Banished to Slough House from the ranks of achievers at Regent's Park for various crimes of drugs and drunkenness, lechery and failure, politics and betrayal, Jackson Lamb's misfit crew of highly trained joes don't run ops, they push paper.But not one of them joined the Intelligence Service to be a 'slow horse'.A boy is kidnapped and held hostage. His beheading is scheduled for live broadcast on the net.And whatever the instructions of the Service, the slow horses aren't going to just sit quiet and watch . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLERIn a remote countryside lane in North Yorkshire, the body of a young girl is found, bruised and beaten, having apparently been thrown from a moving vehicle.While DI Annie Cabbot investigates the circumstances in which a 14-year-old could possibly fall victim to such a crime, newly promoted Detective Superintendent Alan Banks is faced with a similar task - but the case Banks must investigate is as cold as they come. Fifty years ago Linda Palmer was attacked by celebrity entertainer Danny Caxton, yet no investigation ever took place. Now Caxton stands accused at the centre of a historical abuse investigation and it's Banks's first task as superintendent to find out the truth.While Annie struggles with a controversial case threatening to cause uproar in the local community, Banks must piece together decades-old evidence, and as each steps closer to uncovering the truth, they'll unearth secrets much darker than they ever could have guessed . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

A Time to Rejoice

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

The Hunter's Kind

Rebecca Levene
Authors:
Rebecca Levene

Born in tragedy and raised in poverty, Krishanjit never aspired to be anything greater than what he was: a humble goatherd, tending his flock on the slopes of his isolated mountain home.But Krish has learned that he's the son of the king of Ashanesland - and the moon god reborn. Now, with the aid of his allies, Krish is determined to fight his murderous father and seize control of Ashanesland. But his allies Dae Hyo, Eric and Olufemi, are dangerously unreliable and hiding secrets of their own. To take Ashanesland, Krish must travel to the forbidden Mirror Town and unlock the secrets of its powerful magic. But the price of his victory may be much greater than the consequences of his defeat... For, deep in the distant Moon Forest lives a girl called Cwen - a disciple of the god known only as the Hunter. She believes that Krish represents all that is evil in the world. And she has made it her life's mission to seek Krish and destroy all who fight by his side.

Hodder & Stoughton

Friction

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sandra Brown comes a gripping story of family ties and forbidden attraction. A Texas Ranger with a tarnished badge... An enemy hell-bent on revenge... And the female judge caught in the middle.Texas Ranger Crawford Hunt has turned his life around, and now he wants his daughter back. Judge Holly Spencer is presiding over the custody case, and she's not sure about Crawford's chequered past. Before she can render her decision, fate intervenes when a masked gunman bursts into the courtroom. Crawford saves Holly from a bullet - but his instinctive heroism only serves to underline his reckless nature. Crawford is determined to protect the judge and catch the culprit. But if he doesn't toe the line, will he ever get his daughter back? And Holly must decide between staying professional... or giving in to the forbidden attraction between them.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Silence of the Sea

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

WINNER OF THE 2015 PETRONA AWARDThe most chilling novel yet from the Queen of Nordic Noir, not to be missed for fans of Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson.'Mummy dead.' The child's pure treble was uncomfortably clear. It was the last thing Brynjar - and doubtless the others - wanted to hear at that moment. 'Daddy dead.' It got worse. 'Adda dead. Bygga dead.' The child sighed and clutched her grandmother's leg. 'All dead.' A luxury yacht arrives in Reykjavik harbour with nobody on board. What has happened to the crew, and to the family who were on board when it left Lisbon?Thora Gudmundsdottir is hired by the young father's parents to investigate, and is soon drawn deeper into the mystery. What should she make of the rumours saying that the vessel was cursed, especially given that when she boards the yacht she thinks she sees one of the missing twins? Where is Karitas, the glamorous young wife of the yacht's former owner? And whose is the body that has washed up further along the shore?

Mulholland Books

Remember Me This Way

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

She thought losing him was the worst thing that could happen. She was wrong. They tell her not to worry. Her sister, the police. They say it's only natural, when someone close to you dies, to see him everywhere, sense him still nearby.But they don't know Zach like she does. How much he loved her. How he liked things just his way. How far he would go to get revenge...

Hodder & Stoughton

Mr Mercedes

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Violent Century

Lavie Tidhar
Authors:
Lavie Tidhar
Hodder & Stoughton

Deadline

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder Paperbacks

The Girl Behind the Fan

Stella Knightley
Authors:
Stella Knightley

Hurt and confused by the sudden end of her strange love affair with Venetian millionaire Marco Donato, Sarah Thomson takes her bruised heart to Paris, where she tries to forget her yearning for Marco by throwing herself into a new project: a study of the life of notorious nineteenth-century courtesan, Augustine Levert, whose sensual charms parted many a man from his fortune.It is while she is in France that Sarah meets her ex-boyfriend Steven, who is hoping for a reconciliation. They rekindle their psychologically and sexually tortured relationship, but when her life begins to parallel Augustine's story, Sarah realises she will never erase Marco from her heart.Faced with a choice between safety and overwhelming passion, will both women make the right decision?