Charlotte Lamb - Angel of Death - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Angel of Death

By Charlotte Lamb

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

What do you do when you overhear a murder taking place? You call the police. But what happens if the police cannot find the body, and the murderer decides to silence you?

Still mourning the death of her husband, Miranda remains haunted by Alex Manoussi, the enigmatic Greek who rescued her from the cruel sea that had claimed Tom. And when Alex turns up at her boss's party, she fears the appearance of 'the Angel of Death' heralds another disaster.

Then Miranda witnesses a murder and is forced into hiding for her own protection. The job in a luxury hotel on the idyllic Greek island of Delephores seems heaven sent. But this Eden contains a serpent. Can it be mere coincidence that Alex is there, too? Has the Angel of Death come to make her his own?

Biographical Notes

Charlotte Lamb was Mills & Boon's top-selling author. Her novels have been translated in many languages and are bestsellers around the world. She died in October 2000.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444770315
  • Publication date: 28 Mar 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
A potent mixture of murder, mystery and intrigue . . . you simply won't be able to put the book down — Woman's Realm
A thoroughly good read. — Woman's Weekly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David

Major George Hart returns to England with a wife, a VC and very little money. Hoping for a new posting abroad, he is surprised to be asked to exchange into the 10th Hussars, based in London, so that he can keep an eye on one of its officers - Prince Albert Victor, second in line to the throne. Not only is the Prince a possible target for assassins, his friendships are in danger of dragging the royal family into a scandal. And when a series of murders erupts in Whitechapel, with the killer soon known as 'Jack the Ripper', the Prince's habit of making nocturnal visits to the East End give rise to an even more alarming suspicion...

Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping?And how far would someone go to get revenge?The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

FBI Agent Elsa Myers specialises in missing children... perhaps because she was once a lost child herself. Her ability to work the hardest cases has drawn her plaudits, but there's a hidden cost.Her latest case may be the hardest one. Ruby has vanished without a trace; the other detective on the case is getting under Elsa's skin; and her father's declining health is forcing her to confront her long-buried past...

Hodder & Stoughton

Farewell to France

Noel Barber
Authors:
Noel Barber
Mulholland Books

The Cleaner

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

The Killing Hour

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Blood Men

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

The Laughterhouse

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Joe Victim

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Five Minutes Alone

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'Breaking Bad reworked by the Coen Brothers.' Kirkus ReviewsCarl Schroder and Theodore Tate, labeled 'The Coma Cops' by the media, are finally getting their lives back into shape. Tate has returned to the police force and is grateful to be back at home with his wife, Bridget. For Schroder, things are neither good nor bad. The bullet lodged in his head from a shooting six months ago hasn't killed him, but - almost as deadly - it's switched off his emotions.When the body of a convicted rapist is found, obliterated by an oncoming train, Tate works the case, trying to determine if this is murder or suicide. The following night, two more rapists go missing. It's hard to investigate when everyone on the police force seems to be rooting for the killer.There's a common plea detectives get from the loved ones of victims: When you find the man who did this, give me five minutes alone with him. And that's exactly what someone is doing. Someone is helping these victims get their five minutes alone. But when innocent people start to die, Tate and Schroder find themselves with different objectives, and soon they're battling something they never would've expected - each other.

Coronet

Warlord

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

The fifth book in the Danny Black series. On the border of the United States and Mexico, a war is raging that can never be won by conventional means.The drug cartels are rampant. Their victims number in the tens of thousands. Men, women and children are butchered in the most obscene ways imaginable. Of all the cartels, the most violent is Los Zetas. Originally made up of former Mexican special forces turned bad, they are perhaps the most ruthless and highly trained criminals in the world.Which is why only the most ruthless and highly trained operatives can ever hope to be a match for them.Enter the Regiment.When the CIA reaches out to the British military for help, SAS legend Danny Black and his team are despatched to give the Zetas a taste of their own medicine. Working deniably and under the radar, their mission is to sow death and mayhem among the cartel, and to coax out from hiding their elusive leader, the iconic Z1.But as Danny is about to find out, the arm of the cartel is long, their sickening strategies underhand and brutal. And in the dog eat dog world of this clandestine, bloodthirsty war, nothing is ever quite as it seems.It will take all the SAS team's skill to break through to the heart of the cartel. And even that might not be enough...

Mulholland Books

The Binding Song

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, THE BINDING SONG takes you on a trip to Halvergate Prison. If you're lucky, you'll get to leave...Dr Janet Palmer is the new lead psychologist at HMP Halvergate in a remote, bleak area of Norfolk. At first, she was excited by the promotion. Then she starts to see how many secrets are hiding behind the high walls.A string of inmates have committed suicide, leaving no reasons why, and her predecessor has disappeared - along with his notes. The staff are hostile, the threat of violence is ever-present, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, punishing the inmates for their sins. Janet is determined to find out what is really going on. But the longer she stays and the deeper she digs, the more uncertain she feels. Halvergate is haunted by something. But it may be a terror worse than ghosts...

Hodder Paperbacks

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Coronet

Bad Soldier

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Burial Hour

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dead Zone

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

Stephen King's fan-favourite thriller available in audio for the first time read by Academy Award nominee James Franco.The two things that conjured up that horrible night, were his run of luck at the Wheel of Fortune, and the mask . . .Meet Johnny Smith. A young man whose streak of luck ends dramatically in a major car crash. Followed by blackness. A long, long time in cold limbo.When he wakes up life has been turned upside down. His fiancée has met someone else. And Johnny is cursed with the power to perceive evil in men's souls. He's had these hunches since he had an ice-skating accident as a child. Now he has an ability to see into the future. An ability which will bring him into a terrifying confrontation with a charismatic, power-hungry and dangerous man . . .JAMES FRANCO is an actor, director, artist and writer. His film appearances include Milk, Pineapple Express, Spring Breakers, Howl, and 127 Hours, which earned him an Academy Award nomination. He is the author of the novel Actors Anonymous, the collection Palo Alto, and the memoir A California Childhood. His writing has been published in Esquire, Vanity Fair, N+1, The Wall Street Journal,and McSweeney's; and his art has been exhibited throughout the world including at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles and MoMA PS1 in New York.(P)2016 Simon & Schuster

Hodder & Stoughton

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

You don't want to be left in the dark. Twisty, gripping and thought-provoking, HE SAID/SHE SAID is the suspense novel everyone is lining up to read and rave about. 'Deliciously tense and twisty' - Sharon Bolton, author of Daisy in Chains'A tour de force - a gripping, twisting, furiously clever read that asks all the right questions and keeps you guessing until the very end.' Ruth Ware, author of The Woman in Cabin 10 'I'm calling it: THIS is the book I wish I'd written' Clare Mackintosh, author of I See You In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack. She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, four lives change forever. Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear. And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, she also knows that you can never see the whole picture: something is always hidden... something she never could have guessed. 'Superbly twisty and readable' Jenny Colgan, author of The Summer Seaside Kitchen'Keeps you guessing to the very last page' Adele Parks, author of The Stranger in My Home'Twisted, atmospheric and perfectly plotted. Her best yet.' Jenny Blackhurst, author of How I Lost You

Hodder & Stoughton

Gentian Hill

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trespasser

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

'Contains the most tense and serpentine interrogation scenes outside of John Le Carré' - GuardianThis is the case she imagined. Precision-cut and savage, lithe and momentous.Antoinette Conway, the tough, abrasive detective from The Secret Place, is still on the Murder squad, but only just. She's partnered up with Stephen Moran now, and that's going well - but the rest of her working life isn't. Antoinette doesn't play well with others, and there's a vicious running campaign in the squad to get rid of her. She and Stephen pull a case that at first looks like a slam-dunk lovers' tiff. All she and her partner have to do is track down Lover Boy and bring him in. Then it'll be back to business as usual, watching from a distance as the real detectives go up against the psychopaths. Except when Antoinette takes a good look at the victim's face, she realises she's seen her somewhere before. And suddenly the conviction that there's a different answer takes her breath away.