Robyn Young - Brethren - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444714975
    • Publication date:21 Jul 2011
  • CD-Audio £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781844564811
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2007
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781844564828
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2007
Books in this series

Brethren

Brethren Trilogy Book 1

By Robyn Young

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The epic first novel in the million-selling Brethren trilogy.

The epic first novel in the million-selling Brethren trilogy. In the tradition of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Manda Scott, Brethren brilliantly evokes that extraordinary clash of civilizations known in the West as the Crusades.

From the burning plains of Syria to the filthy backstreets of Paris and London, Brethren is the story of Will Campbell, coming of age in a time of conspiracy, passion, politics and war.

Will longs to become a Knight Templar, but first he must serve as an apprentice to the foul-tempered scholar Everard, a man of dangerous secrets.

Meanwhile, a new star is rising in the east. Amir Baybars has fought his way from slavery to become a fearsome commander, driven by an unquenchable desire to free the Holy Land from the European invaders.

A stunning, epic novel of war, savagery and heroism.

Biographical Notes

Robyn Young was born in Oxford and grew up in the Midlands and Devon. She has a Masters in Creative Writing from the University of Sussex and lives and writes in Brighton full-time. Her first novel, BRETHREN, was the bestselling hardback debut novel of 2006, with the paperback also going straight into the top ten bestseller list. Two more bestsellers followed, CRUSADE and REQUIEM, completing the Brethren trilogy, which has now sold over a million copies and been translated into nineteen languages.

To find out more about Robyn Young and her historical novels, visit her website at www.robynyoung.com and her Facebook page at www.facebook.com/RobynYoungAuthor and follow her on Twitter @RobynYoung36

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444767803
  • Publication date: 25 Apr 2013
  • Page count: 672
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
BRETHREN is one of the best historical debuts in recent memory. Exciting and enthralling, it gripped me from the first page and left me waiting anxiously for the next instalment — John Connolly
Pacy and well-written, with vivid, convincing characters, BRETHREN captures your interest until the last page. I eagerly anticipate the sequel, knowing I will not be disappointed — Alison Weir
Engaging and enjoyable - Robyn Young brings the tumultuous medieval world to life with pace and flair — Tom Harper, author, Knights Of The Cross
El Cid meets The Da Vinci Code! Exciting, page-turning fiction — Simon Mayo's Book Panel, BBC Radio Five Live
Rich historical detail, clever plotting and engaging characters . . . a historical thriller that will have readers turning pages and envisioning the sequel — Publishers Weekly
BRETHREN is one of the best historical debuts in recent memory. Exciting and enthralling, it gripped me from the first page and left me waiting anxiously for the next instalment — John Connolly, author of THE BLACK ANGEL and THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS
Pacy and well-written, with vivid, convincing characters, BRETHREN captures your interest until the last page. I eagerly anticipate the sequel, knowing I will not be disappointed — Alison Weir
'Engaging and enjoyable - Robyn Young brings the tumultuous medieval world to life with pace and flair' — Tom Harper, author, Knights Of The Cross
If you love the Templars, the Crusades, and the Middle Ages, this is the book for you. Robyn Young is an exciting new voice that speaks loudly — Sharon Penman, author
A sweeping historical adventure with strong characters and serious verve...hits all the big emotional points...Can't wait for the next two volumes! — Sarah Weinman (Baltimore Sun, Shots Magazine, Galleycat blog)
Wonderful... loaded with atmosphere, action, and intrigue. The Crusades come alive — Steve Berry, author of THE TEMPLAR LEGACY
Rich historical detail, clever plotting and engaging characters . . . a historical thriller that will have readers turning pages and envisioning the sequel — Publishers Weekly
Intricate, compelling, captivating and, above all, believable ... a brilliant piece of sustained imagination — David Boyle, author of BLONDEL'S SONG
Robyn Young's BRETHREN is a truly excellent novel. The thirteenth century is vividly and excitingly evoked ... I can't wait for the sequel! — Mark Philpott, Centre for Medieval & Renaissance Studies, Oxford
'Stirring...carefully researched' — Publishing News
Richly worked and captivating...an epic story of war, intrigue and heroism — Good Book Guide
Tipped to be the next Da Vinci Code — Elle
El Cid meets The Da Vinci Code! Exciting, page-turning fiction — Simon Mayo's Book Panel, BBC Radio Five Live