Rebecca Mascull - The Visitors - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £17.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444765205
    • Publication date:02 Jan 2014
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444765236
    • Publication date:17 Jul 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444765229
    • Publication date:02 Jan 2014

The Visitors

By Rebecca Mascull

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

Rebecca Mascull's first novel is the tale of a wonderful friendship, but it is also a thrilling adventure, a heartbreaking love story and a compelling ghost story.

Imagine if you couldn't see
couldn't hear
couldn't speak...
Then one day somebody took your hand and opened up the world to you.

Adeliza Golding is a deaf-blind girl, born in late Victorian England on her father's hop farm. Unable to interact with her loving family, she exists in a world of darkness and confusion; her only communication is with the ghosts she speaks to in her head, who she has christened the Visitors. One day she runs out into the fields and a young hop-picker, Lottie, grabs her hand and starts drawing shapes in it. Finally Liza can communicate.

Her friendship with her teacher and with Lottie's beloved brother Caleb leads her from the hop gardens and oyster beds of Kent to the dusty veldt of South Africa and the Boer War, and ultimately to the truth about the Visitors.

Biographical Notes

Rebecca Mascull is the author of THE VISITORS and SONG OF THE SEA MAID. She has previously worked in education, has a Masters in Writing and lives by the sea in the east of England. Visit her website rebeccamascull.tumblr.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444765212
  • Publication date: 02 Jan 2014
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Phoebe

Paula Gooder
Authors:
Paula Gooder
Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David

Major George Hart returns to England with a wife, a VC and very little money. Hoping for a new posting abroad, he is surprised to be asked to exchange into the 10th Hussars, based in London, so that he can keep an eye on one of its officers - Prince Albert Victor, second in line to the throne. Not only is the Prince a possible target for assassins, his friendships are in danger of dragging the royal family into a scandal. And when a series of murders erupts in Whitechapel, with the killer soon known as 'Jack the Ripper', the Prince's habit of making nocturnal visits to the East End give rise to an even more alarming suspicion...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin

Two Roads

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Baltic Prize

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder Paperbacks

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull

In Edwardian England, aeroplanes are a new, magical invention, while female pilots are rare indeed. When shy Della Dobbs meets her mother's aunt, her life changes forever. Great Auntie Betty has come home from Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, across whose windswept dunes the Wright Brothers tested their historic flying machines. Della develops a burning ambition to fly and Betty is determined to help her. But the Great War is coming and it threatens to destroy everything - and everyone - Della loves.Uplifting and page-turning, THE WILD AIR is a story about love, loss and following your dreams against all odds.

Hodder Paperbacks

A Death at Fountains Abbey

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reluctant Contact

Stephen Burke
Authors:
Stephen Burke

Svalbard, Norway, 1977. Engineer Yuri takes the last boat to the Soviet outpost of Pyramiden, just as the sun sinks for three long months. When his ambitious assistant Semyon is found dead in a mine, the circumstances seem strange. Yuri still plays by Stalin-era rules: Don't trust anyone; Keep your head down; Look after number one. Yet is his tempestuous love affair with the fickle, brooding Anya blinding him? On an island where the vodka follows freely and anyone could be a secret agent, even the people closest to you are not always what they seem.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Morse Code Set

Frank White
Authors:
Frank White

Hodder & Stoughton

There Was a Time

Frank White
Authors:
Frank White

From an author who lived through - and served in - the conflict, a brilliant novel set in an English village at a turning point of the Second World War.A Lincolnshire village on a glorious summer's morning in 1940, the countryside as still as a painting. In the blue sky above, the fate of the whole war will soon rest with the RAF and their desperate effort to win the Battle of Britain. If they fail, Hitler's next step will be invasion.And as the scene comes to life before us over the next six months, this shadow of war will not disappear - the conflict will take husbands and sons away, bring in evacuees from the city and soldiers to defend the coast. There will be more money from war work, but less to spend it on - legitimately at least. Everywhere, the feeling of change is in the air.From the pub to the church, the humblest cottage to the biggest farm, from a struggling single mother to the lady of the manor, the paper boy to a traumatised bomb disposal volunteer, this superb jewel of a novel portrays a community of people and weaves together their stories with passion, betrayal, intrigue and suspense.There Was a Time is a triumph of the storyteller's art.

Hodder & Stoughton

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato

A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for - she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted from her home and pregnant. On the night she plans to cast herself from Waterloo Bridge into the icy waters of the Thames, her life is saved by Francis Maybrick Gill, a talented pre-Raphaelite painter - and her world is changed forever.Francis takes Annie as his artist's muse, elevating her from fallen woman to society's darling. With her otherworldly beauty now the toast of London, her dark past is left far behind. But Annie's lavish new life is not all is seems - and there are some who won't let her forget where she came from...

Hodder & Stoughton

Persephone

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

The Emperor's Silver

Nick Brown
Authors:
Nick Brown

Still recovering from his previous assignment in Arabia, imperial agent Cassius Corbulo has been spending most of his time and money on women and wine. Unfortunately for him, word of his achievements has reached the emperor Aurelian's deputy and he is sent north, tasked with smashing a counterfeiting gang. Cassius tracks the criminals to the city of Berytus, where his investigations are hampered by civil unrest and uncooperative officials, not to mention the personal problems of his servant Simo and bodyguard Indavara. Despite this - and intense pressure from his superiors - the young officer eventually closes in on the gang. But his enemies will do anything to protect their profits, and Cassius and Indavara soon find themselves fighting not only for the emperor, but for their very survival.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

The Dean's Watch

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Two Roads

The Words In My Hand

Guinevere Glasfurd
Authors:
Guinevere Glasfurd
Two Roads

Love & Friendship

Whit Stillman
Authors:
Whit Stillman

*THE NOVEL OF THE HIT INDIE FILM*With a pitch-perfect Austenian sensibility and wry social commentary, filmmaker and writer Whit Stillman cleverly re-imagines and completes one of our greatest writers' unfinished works. Love & Friendship is a sharp comedy of manners, and a fiendishly funny treat for Austen and Stillman fans alike.'IF, LIKE ME, YOU LIKE YOUR AUSTEN SUBVERSIVE, CRUEL, FUNNY AND OUTRAGEOUS, THEN YOU WILL LOVE STILLMAN'S LOVE & FRIENDSHIP' The Times'LADY SUSAN IS FINALLY GETTING SOME LONG OVERDUE RESPECT' New York Times'LADY SUSAN REMAINS DELICIOUSLY WICKED' VoguePRAISE FOR LOVE & FRIENDSHIP - THE FILM'A RACY DELIGHT' Guardian *****'FIND ME A FUNNIER SCREEN STAB AT AUSTEN, AND I'M TEMPTED TO OFFER YOUR MONEY BACK PERSONALLY' Telegraph *****'TREMENDOUSLY WITTY' Independent *****'MAY JUST BE THE BEST JANE AUSTEN FILM EVER MADE' London Evening Standard *****JANE AUSTEN'S FUNNIEST NOVEL IS ALSO HER LEAST KNOWN - UNTIL NOW.Impossibly beautiful, disarmingly witty, and completely self-absorbed: meet Lady Susan Vernon, both the heart and the thorn of Love & Friendship. Recently widowed with a daughter who's coming of age as quickly as their funds are dwindling, Lady Susan makes it her mission to find them wealthy husbands - and fast. But when her attempts to secure their futures result only in the wrath of a prominent conquest's wife and the title of 'most accomplished coquette in England', Lady Susan must rethink her strategy. Unannounced, she arrives at her brother-in-law's country estate. Here she intends to take refuge - in no less than luxury, of course - from the colorful rumors trailing her, while finding another avenue to 'I do'. Before the scandalizing gossip can run its course, though, romantic triangles ensue. A SPECIAL EDITION FEATURING JANE AUSTEN'S ORIGINAL NOVELLA AS ANNOTATED BY THE NARRATOR.

Sceptre

The Fortunes

Peter Ho Davies
Authors:
Peter Ho Davies
Hodder & Stoughton

Song of the Sea Maid

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull