Sara Paretsky - Tunnel Vision - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444761511
    • Publication date:31 Jan 2013

Tunnel Vision

V.I. Warshawski 8

By Sara Paretsky

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The eighth V.I. Warshawski thriller from one of America's greatest female crime writers, combining contemporary issues, social injustice and fast-paced suspense.

The discovery of a destitute family in her office basement leads V.I. Warshawski to homeless charity Home Free. But the organisation's frosty reception gives V.I. cause for concern, especially when one of its board members is then found murdered, sprawled across her desk . . .

Taking on the case, V.I. uncovers a framework of domestic abuse and fraud which spreads across the whole of Chicago, as well as into the abandoned tunnels beneath the city streets - where more dark secrets have been buried . . .

Biographical Notes

Sara Paretsky was named 2011 Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America. She is the winner of many awards, including the Cartier Diamond Dagger Award for lifetime achievement from the British Crime Writers' Association and the CWA Gold Dagger for Blacklist. Visit Sara's website, www.saraparetsky.com, find her on Facebook, www.facebook.com/SaraParetsky, and follow her on Twitter at twitter.com/Sara1982P.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444761504
  • Publication date: 31 Jan 2013
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
As prickly and principled as ever, Chicago's preeminent female PI, V I Warshawski, forcefully unravels several knotted mysteries in Paretsky's latest complex, satisfying novel . . . Paretsky's V I is a rare literary entity, a woman quick to anger and action, yet sympathetic and credible. — Publishers Weekly
With the creation of V.I. Warshawski, Sara Paretsky did more than anyone to change the face of contemporary women's fiction. — Express on Sunday
It's hard not to get caught up in her passion . . . Snappy dialogue, tight plotting and realistic situations make Paretsky's unapologetically politicised thrillers a pleasure to read, whatever your viewpoint. — Daily Mail
The thing about Sara Paretsky is, she's tough . . . she doesn't flinch from examining old social injustices others might find too shameful (and too painful) to dig up — New York Times
Some crime series grow stale over time, but there's no sign of fatigue here. This is partly because the recurring characters continue to develop and engage the reader, and partly because of the moral intelligence that informs the writing. — Spectator
Paretsky has been putting her private investigator through her paces since 1982, changing perceptions of women in crime fiction through the creation of a fiercely independent female detective. She keeps her brand of politicised noir fresh by responding to issues - social, cultural and political as well as gender - in contemporary life . . . Paretsky is firing on all cylinders — Metro
Sceptre

Memories of the Future

Siri Hustvedt
Authors:
Siri Hustvedt
Coronet

On The Up

Alice O'Keeffe
Authors:
Alice O'Keeffe

Hodder & Stoughton

The Vanished Bride

Bella Ellis
Authors:
Bella Ellis

The year is 1845, and Emily, Charlotte and Anne Bronte are sat around the dining room table, laughing merrily as the rain of their Yorkshire summer falls outside. When their brother, Branwell, returns from The Bull Inn, he brings with him the most shocking revelation: that Elizabeth Chester, wife of Robert Chester and mistress of Chester Grange has gone missing - but the bloody scene found in her bedroom suggests she may have been murdered.The governess at Chester Grange is Matilda French, a close friend of Charlotte's, who resolves to pay her a visit the following day. At Chester Grange, the sisters make the acquaintance of Robert, a rumoured cruel man, who is suspected of having driven his first wife to suicide. Determined that he should be brought to justice, the sisters throw themselves into solving the case. As everyone knows, solving a murder requires sense, morals and a very good imagination - qualities which these sisters have more than enough of...

Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Silver Dale

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

What Happens in Paradise

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Secret lives and new loves emerge in the bright Caribbean sunlight . . .A year ago, Irene Steele had the shock of her life: her loving husband, father to their grown sons and successful businessman, was killed in a plane crash. But that wasn't Irene's only shattering news: he'd also been leading a double life on the island of St. John, where another woman loved him, too. Now Irene and her sons are back on St. John, determined to learn the truth about the mysterious life - and death - of a man they thought they knew. Along the way, they're about to learn some surprising truths about their own lives, and their futures. Lush with the tropical details, romance and drama, What Happens in Paradise is another immensely satisfying page-turner from one of the world's most beloved and engaging storytellers.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker

Joanna Nell
Authors:
Joanna Nell
Hodder & Stoughton

Witchfinder

Andrew Williams
Authors:
Andrew Williams
Hodder & Stoughton

The Institute

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

A Gift in December

Jenny Gladwell
Authors:
Jenny Gladwell
Hodder & Stoughton

Outfox

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

Weston Graham is a chameleon. He has gone by many names, worn many faces, and assumed many personalities. These incarnations have enabled him to bilk wealthy women of their fortunes...and then to disappear along with the women, only to resurface with a new identity and his sights set on another victim. FBI Special Agent Drex Easton's mother was the first of eight known victims, whom Drex believes all died at their seducer's hand, although none of their bodies has ever been discovered. Drex has made it his mission in life to bring this serial predator to justice. The book opens with Drex learning of a likely suspect, a man living in suburbia with a new guise and a new alias: Jasper Ford. His probably next target is Talia Shafer, a successful businesswoman who made a fortune in the travel industry. She is also Jasper Ford's much younger wife. In order to get close to the couple and ascertain if Jasper Ford is, in fact, Weston Graham, Drex must assume a false identity of his own and moves in next door to the couple. His goal is fixed on Jasper; his eyes are fixed on Talia.In a high stakes game of wits, Jasper and Drex play each other, each trying to outfox the other. It's a game which Drex must win before Jasper eludes him yet again...and Talia becomes victim number nine.Praise for Sandra Brown'Suspense that has teeth'Stephen King'Lust, jealousy, and murder suffuse Brown's crisp thriller'Publishers Weekly'An edge-of-the-seat thriller that's full of twists . . . Top stuff!'Star

Hodder & Stoughton

Miracle Creek

Angie Kim
Authors:
Angie Kim

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families?and our deepest secretsMy husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine?a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic "dives" with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community.Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night?trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges?as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

John Murray

The Aunt Who Wouldn't Die

Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay
Authors:
Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay

At eighteen, Somlata married into the Mitras: a once noble Bengali household whose descendants have taken to pawning off the family gold to keep up appearances. When Pishima, the embittered matriarch, dies, Somlata is the first to discover her aunt-in-law's body - and her sharp-tongued ghost. First demanding that Somlata hide her gold from the family's prying hands, Pishima's ghost continues to wreak havoc on the Mitras. Secrets spilt, cooking spoilt, Somlata finds herself at the centre of the chaos. And as the family teeter on the brink of bankruptcy, it looks like it's up to her to fix it. The Aunt Who Wouldn't Die is a frenetic, funny and fresh novel about three generations of Mitra women, a jewellery box, and the rickety family they hold together.

Sceptre

Starling Days

Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Authors:
Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Hodder & Stoughton

Girl at Midnight

Katarzyna Bonda
Authors:
Katarzyna Bonda
Hodder & Stoughton

Sweet Sorrow

David Nicholls
Authors:
David Nicholls

One life-changing summerSixteen-year-old Charlie meets Fran...8 million copies since STARTER FOR TEN first introduced us to hisincomparable talent for making us laugh, cry and wince with recognition in the space of a single sentence; ten years after ONE DAY became the iconic love story for a generation; five years since the journey of US took him to the Man Booker Prize long-list;DAVID NICHOLLS has written a major new novel, SWEET SORROW:a hymn to the tragicomedy of ordinary lives, a celebration of the reviving power of friendship and that brief, blinding explosion of first love that perhaps can only be looked at directly once it has burned out.'Nicholls writes with such tender precision about love'The Times'There is a sharp empathetic intelligence to his writing that makes his characters real . . . the clear writing often dazzles with truth . . . sad funny, soulful' Observer'A sublime talent for illuminating the murky causeway that most of us have to navigate between darkness and light' Donal Ryan'Nicholls' ability to create and then subvert the traditional plot for comedy is the secret of his success. It makes us confront the gap between what we expect from storytelling and what happens in real life'Spectator

Mulholland Books

The Starter Wife

Nina Laurin
Authors:
Nina Laurin
Mulholland Books

Girls Like Us

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger
Hodder & Stoughton

Three Days in Florence

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Coronet

A Keeper

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton