Gerald Seymour - The Contract - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444760101
    • Publication date:23 Oct 2014

The Contract

By Gerald Seymour

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A classic thriller from a master of the genre.

Discharged from the British Army in disgrace, Johnny Donoghue is eager to redeem himself. His task is to slip undercover into East Germany and persuade a prominent scientist working on Soviet missile systems to defect.But no one warns Johnny of the dangers involved in crossing the border, nor can he ever imagine the effect the actions of fickle politicians will have on his task.

Nothing can prepare Johnny for the impact of the momentous decision the scientist will be forced to make, and no one could have predicted the involvement of the scientist's headstrong daughter . . .

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444760095
  • Publication date: 23 Oct 2014
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Very good... This novel outclasses the thriller genre — Financial Times
Hyper-suspenseful... Not to be missed' — Guardian
Superior quality... Taps more than just adrenalin — Observer
Tension alone would make The Contract an unusually satisfying thriller. In addition it has characters simply but deftly drawn... The writing is crisp and confident — Sunday Independent
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

THE BRAND NEW ACTION-PACKED, FAST-PACED THRILLER FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR KAREN ROBARDS. PERFECT FOR FANS OF KAREN ROSE OR FILM RED SPARROW With her back against the wall, everything's on the line for Bianca St. Ives. She's either going to save the world-or die tryingIt took one hell of an effort for the authorities to finally get the jump on master manipulator Bianca St. Ives, but now that they have, it's far from the capture she expected. Instead of taking her in, there's an offer on the table, a one-shot deal that would allow Bianca to walk away scot-free as if they'd never found her. And all she has to do is run one last mission-the kind she might never return from. But if Bianca wants to go back to her normal life in Savannah, it's not like she has a choice . . . OR ORDER THE FIRST IN THE SERIES - THE ULTIMATUM - NOW

Mulholland Books

Last Night

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Hodder & Stoughton

Battle Sight Zero

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

'As scarily plausible as it is utterly captivating, this is an absorbing and unforgettable debut.' Heat'Raw, powerful, compassionate and deeply moving, with page-turning tension to the end. A stunning debut.' Karen Robinson, Sunday Times Crime Club'You'll be gripped by the unexpected truths that emerge. Compelling.' Marie ClaireThis is a fact: Ryan Summers walked into Three Rivers College and killed thirteen women, then himself. But no one can say why. The question is one that cries out to be answered - by Ryan's mother, Moira; by Ishbel, the mother of Abigail, the first victim; and by DI Helen Birch, put in charge of the case on her first day at her new job. But as the tabloids and the media swarm, as the families' secrets come out, as the world searches for someone to blame... the truth seems to vanish.A stunningly moving novel from an exciting new voice in crime, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS will cause you to question your assumptions about the people you love, and reconsider how the world reacts to tragedy.

Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

The sensational new thriller from the author of the Richard & Judy bestseller Lie With Me.He saved your son's life.Does that mean you have to give him yours?It starts with a holiday.A three-year-old boy on a beach,and the hero who saves his life.But nothing is ever that simple.Tessa and Marcus know they owe Dave Jepsom more than they can ever repay.Yet even as he is walking from the sea with their son in his arms, there is something about him that makes them uneasy.He is not like other people that they know.Being with him makes them confront truths about themselves they would rather not see.The shock of that moment will change everything.And it's not how things start that matter.But how they end . . .(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser
Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
Hodder & Stoughton

A Damned Serious Business

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

Gwendy's Button Box

Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Chizmar

'A resonant novella set in one of King's signature locales: the small town of Castle Rock, Maine' Washington PostThe small town of CASTLE ROCK, MAINE has witnessed some strange events and unusual visitors over the years, but there is one story that has never been told...until now.There are three ways up to Castle View from the town of Castle Rock: Route 117, Pleasant Road, and the Suicide Stairs. Every day in the summer of 1974 twelve-year-old Gwendy Peterson has taken the stairs, which are held by strong (if time-rusted) iron bolts and zig-zag up the cliffside.At the top of the stairs, Gwendy catches her breath and listens to the shouts of the kids on the playground. From a bit farther away comes the chink of an aluminum bat hitting a baseball as the Senior League kids practice for the Labor Day charity game.One day, a stranger calls to Gwendy: 'Hey, girl. Come on over here for a bit. We ought to palaver, you and me.'On a bench in the shade sits a man in black jeans, a black suit coat, and a white shirt unbuttoned at the top. On his head is a small neat black hat. The time will come when Gwendy has nightmares about that hat...Journey back to Castle Rock in this chilling new novella by Stephen King, bestselling author of The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, and Richard Chizmar, award-winning author of A Long December.

Hodder & Stoughton

Jericho's War

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

'He now writes better endings than anyone else, and the extended finale is particularly brilliantly orchestrated.' The Sunday Times, Thriller of the MonthIn a moment of nerve shredding suspense that will affect many thousands of lives, a handful of men and women will converge on a barren stretch of Yemeni desert. Each of them will need spirit, courage and immense luck to survive the next forty-eight hours.Corrie Rankin is already a legend at MI6 when he is called back with little regard for the horrors of his recent past. Corrie is sent to take advantage of a chance to take down a high value player in the war against Al Qaeda - and, a chance for the Brits to succeed without begging help from the Americans.The sniper and his spotter who will go with Corrie are less than top team, but the best that can be found if the mission is to stay 'deniable'.And once the three misfits are in-country, they must rely on intelligence brought to them by a young British Jihadi - on the ground and close to the target - and now turned. And, close to him, is an archaeologist digging in the ruins of the Queen of Sheba' civilisation who will be their cut-out contact point.The mission is the brain-child of an apparently old, fat fool in a striped cricket blazer, a sweating figure of fun among the ex-pat community across the border in Muscat. This is Jericho ... not as old or fat or foolish as he appears, nor as harmless.This is Jericho's War. The weapons it deploys, the brutal aims it pursues, are state of the art. The fear it breeds and the raw bravery it demands are as timeless as the desert itself.

John Murray

Dead Lions

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder & Stoughton

No Mortal Thing

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

Two young men - Jago and Marcantonio - both studying business and finance and a woman who knows where evil lives.Jago is a kid from a rough part of London who has worked hard to get a job in a bank and is now on a fast-track secondment to the Berlin office. Marcantonio is one of the new generation in the 'Ndrangheta crime families from Calabria, Southern Italy. He is in Germany to learn how to channel their illicit millions towards legitimate businesses all over Europe. When Jago witnesses Marcantonio commit a vicious assault and the police seem uninterested, the Englishman refuses to let the matter drop. But by pursuing the gangster to his grandfather's mountain lair, Jago is stepping into the middle of a delicate surveillance operation, which sets alarm bells ringing in Rome, London and Berlin. It also leads him to Consolata, a young woman who sees in Jago the chance to turn her non-violent protest campaign against the crime families into something altogether more lethal... NO MORTAL THING is novel of relentless power and mounting suspense, a brilliant portrayal of organised crime in Europe and the under-resourced men and women who fight it.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Undesired

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

A chilling modern horror novel from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award - perfect for fans of Let the Right One In.Aldis hates working in a juvenile detention centre in rural Iceland. The boys are unruly, the owners are unpleasant, and there are strange noises at night. And then two of the inmates die...Decades later, single father Odinn is looking into alleged abuse at the centre. The more he finds out, though, the more it seems the odd events of the 1970s are linked to the accident that killed his ex-wife. Was her death something more sinister?Yrsa Sigurdardottir is a huge European bestseller both with her crime and horror novels. You might want to sleep with the light on after reading THE UNDESIRED . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Afraid

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller
Hodder Paperbacks

Traitor's Kiss

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

An English trawler strays into Russian waters. When it returns, the captain has a package to deliver to British intelligence. For the next four years a high-ranked Russian naval officer, Viktor Archenko, passes valuable information to MI6. Suddenly the flow of information stops. His contacts in London know nothing about him - but they know that he's under suspicion. The time has come to get him out.But the new breed now playing the spy game have no interest in irrelevant Cold War sparring or the risk of a scandal. There are deals to be done, alliances to be made. They would rather leave Archenko to fend for himself. Only one veteran agent realises that there is much more at stake than one man's life. Only he dares ask the question: if the war is over, who will fight the peace?

Hodder Paperbacks

Rat Run

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

Timebomb

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour