Patricia Robins - The Foolish Heart - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Foolish Heart

By Patricia Robins

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1956 and now available for the first time in eBook.

Mary Bradbourne's aunt brought her up after her parents died. When she was ten, her aunt had a son, Jackie, who was left with a mental handicap as the result of an accident. Unselfish and affectionate, Mary has dedicated her life to caring for him.

But then she meets Dr Paul Deal. As her feelings for him intensify, she is faced with a dilemma. How will she be able to care for her cousin when she knows that she must follow her heart?

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1956 and now available for the first time in eBook.

Biographical Notes

Patricia Robins wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Patricia served on secret duties, she started her highly-successful and prolific career as a romantic novelist. Patricia also writes magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444752809
  • Publication date: 20 Nov 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

What Happens in Paradise

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Secret lives and new loves emerge in the bright Caribbean sunlight . . .A year ago, Irene Steele had the shock of her life: her loving husband, father to their grown sons and successful businessman, was killed in a plane crash. But that wasn't Irene's only shattering news: he'd also been leading a double life on the island of St. John, where another woman loved him, too. Now Irene and her sons are back on St. John, determined to learn the truth about the mysterious life - and death - of a man they thought they knew. Along the way, they're about to learn some surprising truths about their own lives, and their futures. Lush with the tropical details, romance and drama, What Happens in Paradise is another immensely satisfying page-turner from one of the world's most beloved and engaging storytellers.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Gift in December

Jenny Gladwell
Authors:
Jenny Gladwell
Hodder & Stoughton

Three Days in Florence

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

The new hilariously funny summer romance from the bestselling author of SEVEN SUNNY DAYS.'Manby's novels are made for holidays' Glamour*****Can a few days in Italy change your life forever?Kathy Courage has never visited the famous Italian city before, so she's thrilled to get the chance to visit with her boyfriend Neil - even if it is for his work conference...But when Kathy finds herself unexpectedly stranded in the city after a mix-up with her flights, she decides to embrace the unexpected and stay for an extra week on her own.What follows is a life-changing few days in the Tuscan sun, as Kathy begins to question the choices that have led her here. Could Italy hold the answers to her future happiness? Or is Kathy destined to return to her old routine?

Hodder Paperbacks

Before I Find You

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight

PERFECT FOR FANS OF KILLING EVE, THE GUILTY WIFE AND FRIEND REQUEST'A sharp, witty psychological suspense with a difference. Be prepared for a fast ride and an unexpected destination' Jane Corry, Sunday Times Bestselling author of The Dead ExMaggie is a husband watcher. A snooper, a marriage doctor, a killer of happy-ever-afters. She runs her own private detective agency specialising in catching out those who cheat. And she's very good at it. Until Helene walks through her door.Helene is a husband catcher. A beautiful wife, a doting stepmother, a dazzling presence at parties. She counts herself lucky to have married one of the most eligible men in town - Gabe Moreau. Until she sees something that threatens her little family of three.Alice is a perfect daughter. Apple of her father's eye, a kind stepchild to Helene, a tragic daughter of a dead mother. She lives a sheltered but happy life. Until she finds a handwritten note on her father's desk: 'You owe me. I'm not going away.'All three women suspect Gabe Moreau of keeping secrets and telling lies. But not one of them suspects that the truth could result in murder . . .'Ridiculously addictive and compelling - I tore through this crisp, taut character-driven delight in one day!' Angela Clarke, Sunday Times bestselling author of Follow Me, Watch Me and Trust Me'Fabulously whip-smart and twisty with a feisty female lead who crackles off the page' Eve Chase, author of The Vanishing of Audrey WildePRAISE FOR ALI KNIGHT'Crackles from first page to last' Daily Mail'A suspenseful Hitchcockian tale . . . [one of the] top ten crime books to take on holiday' Telegraph'Tightly-plotted, high-pitched psychological thriller . . . what Ali Knight does so successfully is broach the great divide between public and private space' Daily Mirror'A clever thriller . . . a gripping read' Sunday Mirror'Pacey and disquieting, Knight's debut hints she might be a successor to Sophie Hannah's queen of suspense crown' Stylist'A really enjoyable read' Number one bestselling author, Martina Cole'Top notch suspense!' Number one bestselling author, Lisa Gardner'Like The Girl on the Train, brilliantly twisty and compulsive' Elizabeth Fremantle, author of The Poison Bed

Two Roads

Queenie Malone's Paradise Hotel

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder & Stoughton

Girls of Paper and Fire

Natasha Ngan
Authors:
Natasha Ngan

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Selection in this stunning YA fantasy novel. Perfect for fans of Renée Ahdieh, Laini Taylor and Sabaa Tahir. 'A timely reminder that, in the right hands, the fantasy genre has things to say about injustice and abuse of power in the real world' GUARDIANEach year, eight beautiful girls are chosen as Paper Girls to serve the king. It's the highest honour they could hope for...and the most demeaning. This year, there's a ninth. And instead of paper, she's made of fire.Lei is a member of the Paper caste, the lowest and most persecuted class of people in Ikhara. Ten years ago, her mother was snatched by the royal guards, and her fate remains unknown. Now, the guards are back and this time it's Lei they're after - the girl with the golden eyes, whose rumoured beauty has piqued the king's interest.Over weeks of training in the opulent but oppressive palace, Lei and eight other girls learn the skills and charm that befit a king's consort. There, Lei does the unthinkable - she falls in love. Her forbidden romance becomes enmeshed with an explosive plot that threatens her world's entire way of life. Lei, still the wide-eyed country girl at heart, must decide how far she's willing to go for justice and revenge.

Hodder & Stoughton

To the Stars

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

The Uncertain Joy

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1966 and now available for the first time in eBook.For Dick and Tammy, life is a struggle. Although Dick's family are wealthy, Dick wants to prove to himself that he is capable of supporting his wife and two children himself...but it's his marriage which takes the strain as Dick wears himself thin trying to please everyone.With both finances and marriage failing, Tammy turns to a family friend, Adam, for support when she realises that her baby, Richard, is not responding as he should. After visiting the doctor, all three are devastated to learn that baby Richard is severely deaf. Will this be the final straw, or will love for their son keep Dick and Tammy together?

Hodder & Stoughton

Where Duty Lies

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1957 and now available for the first time in eBook.The minute Charlotte sees Meridan Avebury, it causes such strong, passionate feelings that she believes it must be love at first sight. But Meridan is already engaged to Phillipa, who is dangerously ill. And while they don't deny their feelings for each other, Charlotte and Meridan are unwilling to take happiness at Phillipa's expense.

Hodder & Stoughton

With All My Love

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1963 and now available for the first time in eBook.It's 1962 and Jacqueline is fighting the temptation to ignore moral standards and conventions with her fiance, Chris. Confused by her conflicting feelings, she accepts the offer of a three-week working holiday in Switzerland. Away from home and the steadying influence of Chris, she finds herself attracted to the handsome Antoine...

Hodder & Stoughton

Forever

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1967 and now available for the first time in eBook.Until she met the handsome staff psychiatrist, Bill Aden, Noni Brisbane had been content with her loveless marriage to Philip, a top-flight surgeon. Then, through Bill, she learned that real love was possible forever, despite tragedy and hardship.

Hodder & Stoughton

There Is But One

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

Topaz Island

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

Sapphire in the Sand

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

See No Evil

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

So This Is Love

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

No Stone Unturned

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

Play Fair with Love

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

Return to Love

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

The Runaways

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins