Claire Lorrimer - The Garden - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Garden

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A compelling short story from the bestselling novelist Claire Lorrimer.

A compelling short story from the bestselling Claire Lorrimer

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444751475
  • Publication date: 30 Jan 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Everything's Eventual

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

Nothing is quite as it seems.Expect the unexpected in this veritable treasure trove of enthralling, witty, dark tales that could only come from the imagination of the greatest storyteller of our time.In this eerie, enchanting compilation, Stephen King takes readers down a road less travelled (for good reason) in the blockbuster e-book 'Riding the Bullet'. Terror becomes deja vu all over again when you get 'That Feeling, You Can Only Say What It Is in French'. 'LT's Theory of Pets' will make you stop and think before giving a dog to a loved one. And there are eleven more stories that will keep you awake until dawn.Narrated by Becky Ann Baker, John Cullum, Boyd Gaines, Peter Gerety, Josh Hamilton, Arliss Howard, Judith Ivey, Stephen King, Justin Long, Oliver Platt, and Jay O. Sanders.(P) 2002 Simon & Schuster Inc.

Hodder & Stoughton

Danse Macabre

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Long Walk

Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Bachman

In the near future, where America has become a police state, one hundred boys are selected to enter an annual contest where the winner will be awarded whatever he wants for the rest of his life. The game is simple - maintain a steady walking pace of four miles per hour without stopping. Three warnings, and you're out - permanently.(P)2009 Penguin Audio

Hodder & Stoughton

Apt Pupil

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Body

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Breathing Method

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Roadwork

Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Hodder & Stoughton

The Running Man

Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Hodder & Stoughton

Nightmares and Dreamscapes Volume III

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
JM Originals

The Bed Moved

Rebecca Schiff
Authors:
Rebecca Schiff

A New Yorker, trying not to be jaded, accompanies a cash-strapped pot grower to a 'Clothing Optional Resort' in California. A nerdy high schooler has her first sexual experience at geology camp. On the night of her father's funeral, a college student watches an old video of her Bat Mitzvah, hypnotized by the image of the girl she used to be . . . Frank and irreverent, these stories offer a singular view of growing up (or not) and finding love (or not) in today's uncertain landscape.

JM Originals

Blind Water Pass

Anna Metcalfe
Authors:
Anna Metcalfe

Anna Metcalfe's stories are about communication and miscommunication - between characters and across cultures. Whether about a blithely entitled English teacher in a poor Beijing school, an immigrant female taxi driver in Paris, or a young Chinese girl spouting made-up Confucian phrases to please tourists, the stories examine the assumptions we make about other people, and about ourselves.Blind Water Pass is an auspicious debut by a superb young writer.

Hodder Paperbacks

You Never Know

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

The incredible autobiography from Claire Lorrimer, bestselling romance novelist and daughter of 'Queen of Romance' Denise Robins.You Never Know is former WAAF officer and bestselling novelist Claire Lorrimer's autobiography, containing a graphic description of the six years she spent doing vitally secret work as a WAAF in the Fighter Command Filter Rooms in World War Two. It is the fascinating story of a life overflowing with adventure, humour, tragedy, love, joy and disasters. Claire paints vivid images of her childhood when her mother, the famous author Denise Robins, entertained pre-and post-war literati at her weekend country house parties. Armed with an old typewriter, a vivid imagination and a passion for life, Claire started writing books during the war. She has had a remarkable career and You Never Know is the intriguing story of a long and extraordinary life.

John Murray

Dinosaurs on Other Planets

Danielle McLaughlin
Authors:
Danielle McLaughlin

A woman battles bluebottles as she plots an ill-judged encounter with a stranger; a young husband commutes a treacherous route to his job in the city, fearful for the wife and small daughter he has left behind; a mother struggles to understand her nine-year-old son's obsession with dead birds and the apocalypse.In Danielle McLaughlin's stories, the world is both beautiful and alien. Men and women negotiate their surroundings as a tourist might navigate a distant country: watchfully, with a mixture of wonder and apprehension. Here are characters living lives in translation, ever at the mercy of distortions and misunderstandings, striving to make sense both of the spaces they inhabit and of the people they share them with.

Hodder & Stoughton

Night Music: Nocturnes 2

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

'On the Anatomization of an Unknown Man (1637) by Frans Mier' won the CWA Dagger for best short story.'The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book Depository' won the 2014 Anthony award for best short story.Fans of THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS and NOCTURNES will be delighted with this superbly crafted collection - with two award-winning stories - of the supernatural from John Connolly.A decade after NOCTURNES first terrified and delighted readers, John Connolly, bestselling author of thirteen acclaimed thrillers featuring private investigator Charlie Parker, gives us a second volume of tales of the supernatural. From stories of the monstrous for dark winter nights to fables of fantastic libraries and haunted books, from a tender narrative of love after death to a frank, personal and revealing account of the author's affection for myths of ghosts and demons, this is a collection that will surprise, delight - and terrify.NIGHT MUSIC also contains two novellas: the multi-award-winning THE CAXTON PRIVATE LENDING LIBRARY & BOOK DEPOSITORY, and THE FRACTURED ATLAS, featuring The Wanderer in Unknown Realms, previously published as an ebook, developed here into a five-part novella.NIGHT MUSIC: NOCTURNES 2 is a masterly collection to be read with the lights on - menace has never been so seductive.'An addictive and meticulously rendered collection of eerie, amusing and achingly beautiful short stories.' Sunday Business Post

Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

An epic, deeply moving wartime novel from the bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer, available in ebook and paperback for the first time. Georgia Driffield is passionate, wilful, resourceful, intelligent but often foolhardy, as she grows from girl to woman in the years between the two wars. It is not until she discovers the extraordinary life of her great, great grandmother, Chantal, that she finds a way which will reconcile her to her adoption, reunite her with her adoptive parents and, unexpectedly, discover the true meaning of love.During these highly eventful years, Georgia becomes inextricably involved not only in the rising horrors of Nazi Germany, and the possible death of her best friend fighting in the Spanish Civil War, but also finds herself in terrible danger.

Hodder & Stoughton

Where Duty Lies

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

To the Stars

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1944 and now available for the first time in eBook.Jonquil Mathews had lived a sheltered life with her parents in their luxurious home, until the day her fiancé Simon, an RAF pilot, was killed at Dunkirk. Prompted by Simon's best friend, Adrian Hepworth, Jonquil was determined to do her bit for the war effort, and joined the WAAF. Adrian had fallen in love with Jonquil, and as she went through her training, made new friends and learned her trade, he kept a watchful eye on her, always hoping that despite the dangers of wartime, they would eventually be together...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Uncertain Joy

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1966 and now available for the first time in eBook.For Dick and Tammy, life is a struggle. Although Dick's family are wealthy, Dick wants to prove to himself that he is capable of supporting his wife and two children himself...but it's his marriage which takes the strain as Dick wears himself thin trying to please everyone.With both finances and marriage failing, Tammy turns to a family friend, Adam, for support when she realises that her baby, Richard, is not responding as he should. After visiting the doctor, all three are devastated to learn that baby Richard is severely deaf. Will this be the final straw, or will love for their son keep Dick and Tammy together?

Hodder & Stoughton

With All My Love

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1963 and now available for the first time in eBook.It's 1962 and Jacqueline is fighting the temptation to ignore moral standards and conventions with her fiance, Chris. Confused by her conflicting feelings, she accepts the offer of a three-week working holiday in Switzerland. Away from home and the steadying influence of Chris, she finds herself attracted to the handsome Antoine...

Hodder & Stoughton

Forever

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins