Claire Lorrimer - The Garden - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Garden

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A compelling short story from the bestselling novelist Claire Lorrimer.

A compelling short story from the bestselling Claire Lorrimer

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444751475
  • Publication date: 30 Jan 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Danse Macabre

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

It was not long after Halloween when Stephen King received a telephone call from his editor. 'Why don't you do a book about the entire horror phenomenon as you see it? Books, movies, radio, TV, the whole thing.'The result is this unique combination of fantasy and autobiography, of classic horror writing honed to an unforgettable edge by the bestselling master of the genre.DANSE MACABRE ranges across the whole spectrum of horror in popular culture from the seminal classics of Dracula and Frankenstein. It is a charming and fascinating book, replete with pertinent anecdote and observation, in which Stephen King describes his ideas on how horror works on many levels and how he brings it to bear on his own inimitable novels.There is a reason why Stephen King is one of the bestselling writers in the world, ever. Described in the Guardian as an author who 'knows how to engage the deepest sympathies of his readers', Stephen King writes books that draw you in and are impossible to put down.(P)2010 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Long Walk

Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Bachman

In the near future, where America has become a police state, one hundred boys are selected to enter an annual contest where the winner will be awarded whatever he wants for the rest of his life. The game is simple - maintain a steady walking pace of four miles per hour without stopping. Three warnings, and you're out - permanently.(P)2009 Penguin Audio

Hodder & Stoughton

Apt Pupil

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

All-American high school student Todd Bowden discovers a Nazi war criminal living in his neighbourhood under the assumed name Arthur Denker. Todd blackmails Arthur into revealing the evil atrocities he once committed, in exchange for his silence. The two begin a dangerous relationship which spirals out of control and produces fatal results.(P)2009 Penguin Audio

Hodder & Stoughton

The Body

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Breathing Method

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Roadwork

Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Bachman

A lone man takes on the wheels of progress in a showdown of cataclysmic proportions. When a highway project puts him out of work and threatens to destroy his home, he has more than enough time on his hands to plot his revenge. Driving his wife and friends away with his growing obsession, he pushes the powers-that-be to the limit, taking a stand against what he sees as a criminal act in progress. Building to a shattering climax, this is a suspenseful tale you won't soon forget.(P)2010 Penguin Audio

Hodder & Stoughton

The Running Man

Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Bachman
Hodder & Stoughton

Nightmares and Dreamscapes Volume III

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
JM Originals

The Bed Moved

Rebecca Schiff
Authors:
Rebecca Schiff

A New Yorker, trying not to be jaded, accompanies a cash-strapped pot grower to a 'Clothing Optional Resort' in California. A nerdy high schooler has her first sexual experience at geology camp. On the night of her father's funeral, a college student watches an old video of her Bat Mitzvah, hypnotized by the image of the girl she used to be . . . Frank and irreverent, these stories offer a singular view of growing up (or not) and finding love (or not) in today's uncertain landscape.

JM Originals

Blind Water Pass

Anna Metcalfe
Authors:
Anna Metcalfe
Hodder Paperbacks

You Never Know

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
John Murray

Dinosaurs on Other Planets

Danielle McLaughlin
Authors:
Danielle McLaughlin

'An exquisite collection from an exciting new voice in short fiction' LadyA woman battles bluebottles as she plots an ill-judged encounter with a stranger; a young husband commutes a treacherous route to his job in the city, fearful for the wife and small daughter he has left behind; a mother struggles to understand her nine-year-old son's obsession with dead birds and the apocalypse.In Danielle McLaughlin's stories, the world is both beautiful and alien. Men and women negotiate their surroundings as a tourist might navigate a distant country: watchfully, with a mixture of wonder and apprehension. Here are characters living lives in translation, ever at the mercy of distortions and misunderstandings, striving to make sense both of the spaces they inhabit and of the people they share them with.

Hodder & Stoughton

Night Music: Nocturnes 2

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

'On the Anatomization of an Unknown Man (1637) by Frans Mier' won the CWA Dagger for best short story.'The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book Depository' won the 2014 Anthony award for best short story.Fans of THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS and NOCTURNES will be delighted with this superbly crafted collection - with two award-winning stories - of the supernatural from John Connolly.A decade after NOCTURNES first terrified and delighted readers, John Connolly, bestselling author of thirteen acclaimed thrillers featuring private investigator Charlie Parker, gives us a second volume of tales of the supernatural. From stories of the monstrous for dark winter nights to fables of fantastic libraries and haunted books, from a tender narrative of love after death to a frank, personal and revealing account of the author's affection for myths of ghosts and demons, this is a collection that will surprise, delight - and terrify.NIGHT MUSIC also contains two novellas: the multi-award-winning THE CAXTON PRIVATE LENDING LIBRARY & BOOK DEPOSITORY, and THE FRACTURED ATLAS, featuring The Wanderer in Unknown Realms, previously published as an ebook, developed here into a five-part novella.NIGHT MUSIC: NOCTURNES 2 is a masterly collection to be read with the lights on - menace has never been so seductive.'An addictive and meticulously rendered collection of eerie, amusing and achingly beautiful short stories.' Sunday Business Post

JM Originals

An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to One Who Saw It

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass

WINNER OF THE EDGE HILL SHORT STORY PRIZE 2016SHORTLISTED FOR THE SUNDAY TIMES/PFD YOUNG WRITER OF THE YEAR AWARD 2016'Greengrass is undoubtedly that rare thing, a genuinely new and assured voice in prose. Her work is precise, properly moving, quirky and heartfelt' A. L. KennedyThe twelve stories in this startling collection range over centuries and across the world.There are stories about those who are lonely, or estranged, or out of time. There are hauntings, both literal and metaphorical; and acts of cruelty and neglect but also of penance.Some stories concern themselves with the present, and the mundane circumstances in which people find themselves: a woman who feels stuck in her life imagines herself in different jobs - as a lighthouse keeper in Wales, or as a guard against polar bears in a research station in the Arctic.Some stories concern themselves with the past: a sixteenth-century alchemist and doctor, whose arrogance blinds him to people's dissatisfaction with their lives until he experiences it himself.Finally, in the title story, a sailor gives his account - violent, occasionally funny and certainly tragic - of the decline of the Great Auk.

Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Where Duty Lies

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

Topaz Island

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

When Phillida Bethel takes her first holiday job as her mother's help tobeautiful Suzanne Kingley, she never guesses what lies in store for heron the exotic Topaz Island. Danger, romance, adventure and excitementare to come her way in full measure.Inexperienced as she is, she has no yardstick by which to assess thefascinating American boy, Jeff Aymon. But it is the English student,Greg Somerville, who seems the only safe haven when this world of beautysuddenly becomes sinister...A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, firstpublished in 1965 and now available for the first time in eBook.

Hodder & Stoughton

See No Evil

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

Evelyn, Gay and Margaret are sisters. When their widowed mother dies,the caring Evelyn is thrust into looking after Margaret, who was bornblind. Gay, always pursuing her own interests, is happy to be taken outby the rich Gordon de Verriland, leaving Evelyn wondering if she willever meet someone herself.When Nicky March comes into Evelyn's life, could he be the one for her?Or will Gay's selfishness ruin her hope of love?A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, firstpublished in 1945 and now available for the first time in eBook.

Hodder Paperbacks

Ortolans

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Ortolans, a magnificent stately home that holds a mysterious grip on all those who live in it, hides a secret that has lain undiscovered for four hundred years. Three passionate, remarkable women play a vital part in the long, violent history of the house. In the 18th Century there is Eleanor, forced into an unhappy marriage with a ruthless adventurer plotting to take over the property. In the 19th Century there is hot-headed Sophia, prepared to risk everything to save it. And in the 20th Century there is Emma, who loves Ortolans but refuses to sacrifice her career for its sake, even if it means letting it fall into ruins. But just when it seems all is lost, the house finally gives up its incredible secret...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Silver Link

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

A sweeping historical tale of family, passion and love from bestselling novelist Claire Lorrimer.Until her father died, Adela Carstairs had lived in a secure and loving home. Then happiness was shattered when her mother remarries a cruel, hard-drinking man. With her younger brother and sister, Adela is forced to flee his drunken rages and they escape to London where they seek refuge in the squalor of the back streets. Addie's desperate hope is that her childhood companions, the Mallory twins, will find and rescue them. When all three find themselves caught up in the danger and terror of revolutionary France, the twins prove invaluable. It was to be an experience which would test their friendship, and love, to the limit.