Claire Lorrimer - Relentless Storm - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Relentless Storm

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A haunting tale of love and fear from bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer.

While skiing in the French Alps, a wild mountain storm forces art student Rory Howes and his friend Knut Olsen to seek refuge at the remote Abbaye St Christophe. They are offered hospitality by the beautiful and enigmatic Baroness Inez Leyresse.

Rory finds himself attracted to Alex, the English au pair, while the Baroness' passion for the young artist becomes obsessive and disturbing. Conscious of this uneasy love tangle, Rory is aware of something far more sinister - the aura of evil, which surrounds the abbey and its inhabitants.

Gradually, they all realise that the centuries-old curse carried by generations of the Leyresse family is gaining a terrifying relevance.

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444751260
  • Publication date: 13 Feb 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant
Hodder Paperbacks

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy thriller 2017, and the #1 ebook bestseller

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel

**THE #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER**PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE HBO SERIES SHARP OBJECTS'Darkly sexy and compelling' HEAT'Fans of The Girls will love this' RED ONLINE'You'll be gripped' RICHARD MADELEY'One of the best books I've read' REBECCA DONE'This book is stunning. Wow' CRESSIDA MCLAUGHLIN***EVERYONE WANTS TO BE A ROANOKE GIRL. BUT YOU WON'T WHEN YOU KNOW THE TRUTH.The girls of the Roanoke family - beautiful, rich, mysterious - seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them that's never spoken. Either the girls run away... or they die.Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?***FOR FANS OF SWEET LITTLE LIES, GOOD ME BAD ME AND THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR, THIS IS THE MOST SHOCKING THRILLER YOU'LL READ ALL YEAR.***'A must-have' SUNDAY EXPRESS'A mini-masterpiece' JUDY FINNIGAN'One of the most unsettling and thought-provoking books I've read... stunning and gripping' LISA CUTTS'You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secrets' LAURA MCHUGH'Deliciously written...pulls you relentlessly into its twisted heart' AVA MARSH'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it' SARAH HILARY'One of the most disturbingly gripping books I have ever read' RUTH DUGDALL

Hodder Paperbacks

You Never Know

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

An epic, deeply moving wartime novel from the bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer, available in ebook and paperback for the first time. Georgia Driffield is passionate, wilful, resourceful, intelligent but often foolhardy, as she grows from girl to woman in the years between the two wars. It is not until she discovers the extraordinary life of her great, great grandmother, Chantal, that she finds a way which will reconcile her to her adoption, reunite her with her adoptive parents and, unexpectedly, discover the true meaning of love.During these highly eventful years, Georgia becomes inextricably involved not only in the rising horrors of Nazi Germany, and the possible death of her best friend fighting in the Spanish Civil War, but also finds herself in terrible danger.

Hodder & Stoughton

Where Duty Lies

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1957 and now available for the first time in eBook.The minute Charlotte sees Meridan Avebury, it causes such strong, passionate feelings that she believes it must be love at first sight. But Meridan is already engaged to Phillipa, who is dangerously ill. And while they don't deny their feelings for each other, Charlotte and Meridan are unwilling to take happiness at Phillipa's expense.

Hodder & Stoughton

To the Stars

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

The Uncertain Joy

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

With All My Love

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1963 and now available for the first time in eBook.It's 1962 and Jacqueline is fighting the temptation to ignore moral standards and conventions with her fiance, Chris. Confused by her conflicting feelings, she accepts the offer of a three-week working holiday in Switzerland. Away from home and the steadying influence of Chris, she finds herself attracted to the handsome Antoine...

Hodder & Stoughton

Forever

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1967 and now available for the first time in eBook.Until she met the handsome staff psychiatrist, Bill Aden, Noni Brisbane had been content with her loveless marriage to Philip, a top-flight surgeon. Then, through Bill, she learned that real love was possible forever, despite tragedy and hardship.

Hodder & Stoughton

There Is But One

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

Topaz Island

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

Sapphire in the Sand

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

See No Evil

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

Evelyn, Gay and Margaret are sisters. When their widowed mother dies,the caring Evelyn is thrust into looking after Margaret, who was bornblind. Gay, always pursuing her own interests, is happy to be taken outby the rich Gordon de Verriland, leaving Evelyn wondering if she willever meet someone herself.When Nicky March comes into Evelyn's life, could he be the one for her?Or will Gay's selfishness ruin her hope of love?A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, firstpublished in 1945 and now available for the first time in eBook.

Hodder & Stoughton

So This Is Love

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

Sheridan Adams, young, attractive, but saddened by disillusionment, istotally unlike the fat, smiling, middle-aged housekeeper Richard Haydenhas in mind when he advertises in the local paper. A young widower, leftalone with his small son Dick, he badly needs someone to look after hishome.Sherry, though she may not be quite the person he has pictured, suitsthe post admirably. Having found a home for herself and her littledaughter Anne, she is able to forget her troubles for a time.But her tranquillity is short-lived and it is only after manymisunderstandings that Sherry can find true happiness.A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, firstpublished in 1953 and now available for the first time in eBook.

Hodder Paperbacks

Frost in the Sun

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Casilda Montero is the beautiful and hot-blooded daughter of a wealthy Spanish aristocrat. Sent from the family hacienda in Southern Spain to an English boarding school, she befriends Joscelin Howard, a shy, serious English girl. As both girls find themselves swept up in the dramatic events unfolding in 1930s Europe, this enduring friendship is the one constant in their lives. From the carefree glamour of London high society to the devastation of the battlefields in Spain, Casilda, Joscelin and their families are tragically linked by passion and bloodshed.

Hodder & Stoughton

Return to Love

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

None But He

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

When Mandy's boyfriend dies in a motorbike accident, she is left alone with a young child and little money. So when her son's uncle Jon offers her a job as his receptionist - as well as a home with him and his beautiful but spoilt wife, Gillian - she gratefully accepts. But Mandy soon becomes aware of Jon's unhappiness, as well as her own growing love for him. Perhaps if she accepts the attentions of Mike Sinclair, an attractive Irish bachelor, it will help her to keep her true feelings hidden...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Runaways

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

When Judith and Rocky elope to Gretna Green they sincerely believe marriage will solve all their problems. But the elopement proves to be the beginning of an entirely new set of difficulties... Rocky begins to wonder if his parents were right - is he even in love? Were they too young after all? And in the background Gavin, Judith's boss, watches her disillusionment with a concern which is growing into something more.

Hodder & Stoughton

No Stone Unturned

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

When a body turns up drowned in the quiet English village of Ashwyck, reporter Bob Rudgely's attempt to the identify the man leads him to discover more about the sleepy village then her ever imagined. As the case unfolds, Bob's loving relationship with the art teacher Sandie White seems to unravel in almost parallel proportions. It looks as if Sandie will even turn to another man who's in love with her - golf pro Bill Wells - for consolation as Bob becomes more and more absorbed in the mystery of Ashwyck.

Hodder & Stoughton

Play Fair with Love

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

When Harriet Rothman's father dies suddenly leaving her penniless, the chance of renting out the family house, Swallow Grange, seems a temporary soulution to her immediate financial problems. But by renting Swallow Grange to young widower Martin Blake, Harriet exposes herself to Blake's private, tormented world - and that of his autistic son, Peter. Unlike Martin's sister-in-law, Molly, Harriet has a way with Peter and she willingly postpones her university studies to care for the boy. But Molly's jealousy, Martin's worry and Peter's needs weigh heavily upon her, as do the expectations of Justin, her husband to be...