Claire Lorrimer - Deception - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Deception

By Claire Lorrimer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A tale of lifelong friendship in Victorian England from bestselling romance author Claire Lorrimer.

Charlotte had resigned herself to a life of poverty and drudgery in London after her father's imprisonment for fraud. But then Charlotte's childhood friend, Verity Conniston, rescues her from her miserable London existence and takes her to live on the beautiful Conniston estate. How long can this idyllic life last before her family's past returns to haunt her? Perhaps there are still some dreams that she can never hope to come true.

Biographical Notes

Claire Lorrimer wrote her first book at the age of twelve, encouraged by her mother, the bestselling author Denise Robins. After the Second World War, during which Claire served on secret duties, she started her career as a romantic novelist under her maiden name, Patricia Robins. In 1970 she began writing her magnificent family sagas and thrillers under the name Claire Lorrimer. She is currently at work on her seventy-first book. Claire lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444750799
  • Publication date: 13 Feb 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

Snowflakes over Moon Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

It's Christmas-time in the little Yorkshire village of Welford, and the first snowflakes are just starting to fall. As far as Susan Collins is concerned, this Christmas is all about quality time with her family, especially her son Jack. After a string of terrible dates, she's given up on love. And with the class of schoolchildren she teaches making regular trips to local animal rescue centre Hope Meadows, Susan's certainly got plenty to keep her busy. That is, until she meets handsome children's author Douglas Macleod. He might be the opposite of Susan's usual type with his dishevelled appearance and bright red hair, but an undeniable spark soon lights up between them. But then Michael Chalk, Susan's ex and Jack's father, turns up on the scene wanting Jack (and Susan back) - and Susan finds herself torn between the two men. With snow settling on the ground and the big day fast approaching, who will Susan and Jack be choosing to spend Christmas at Moon Cottage with this year? Hope Meadows is based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Heidi Swain and Cathy Bramley.*****Praise for the Hope Meadows series**'Incredibly lovely' - Rachel's Random Reads'A stunning, emotional, beautiful tale of friendship and love' Books of All Kinds'Just the right amount of nostalgia... wonderful and very poignant' - The World is a Book Blog'Heartwarming and endearing... a gorgeous story filled with hope, joy, sweetness and light combined with the honesty of real life' - Amazon Reviewer'Full of friendship, community spirit and some heart-breaking moments that will leave you wanting to stay curled up on the sofa until it is complete' - Amazon Reviewer'Will leave you feeling cosy and uplifted' - Goodreads'An adorable read [with] a real sense of village community' Bookworms and Shutterbugs'Full of charm' Amazon Reviewer

Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Four

Andy Jones
Authors:
Andy Jones
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of the Shackdwellers

Lena Kennedy
Authors:
Lena Kennedy
Hodder & Stoughton

How Do You Like Me Now?

Holly Bourne
Authors:
Holly Bourne

'Turning thirty is like playing musical chairs. The music stops, and everyone just marries whoever they happen to be sitting on.'The blisteringly funny, honest and fearless debut adult novel from bestselling author Holly Bourne.Who the f*ck is Tori Bailey?There's no doubt that Tori is winning the game of life. A straight-talking, bestselling author, she's inspired millions of women around the world with her self-help memoir. And she has the perfect relationship to boot.But Tori Bailey has been living a lie.Her long-term boyfriend won't even talk about marriage, but everyone around her is getting engaged and having babies. And when her best friend Dee - the only person who understands the madness - falls in love, suddenly Tori's in danger of being left behind.When the world tells you to be one thing and turning thirty brings with it a loud ticking clock, it takes courage to walk your own path.It's time for Tori to practice what she's preached, but the question is: is she brave enough? The debut adult novel by bestselling author Holly Bourne is a blisteringly funny and honest exploration of love, friendship and navigating the emotional rollercoaster of your thirties.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Springtime at Wildacre: a gorgeously uplifting, feel-good romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERSOON TO BE A MAJOR FILM PRODUCED BY JULIA ROBERTSNothing is as permanent as it appears...Denver, 1962Kitty Miller has come to terms with her unconventional single life. She loves the bookshop she runs with her best friend, Frieda, and enjoys complete control over her day-to-day existence.Then the dreams begin.Denver, 1963Katharyn Andersson is married to Lars, the love of her life. They have beautiful children, an elegant home, and good friends. It's everything Kitty Miller once believed she wanted - but it only exists when she sleeps. Convinced that these dreams are simply due to her overactive imagination, Kitty enjoys her nighttime forays into this alternate world.But with each visit, the more irresistibly real Katharyn's life becomes.Can she choose which life she wants? If so, what is the cost of staying Kitty, or becoming Katharyn?A hauntingly powerful novel that freshly considers the timeless question - 'What if?'

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: the perfect feel-good summer read!

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

**Order Springtime at Wildacre - the new book in the Hope Meadows series - now**'A stunning, beautiful tale of friendship and love... I laughed and I cried, and cannot recommend it highly enough!' Books of All Kinds Newly qualified vet Mandy Hope is leaving Leeds - and her boyfriend Simon - to return to the Yorkshire village she grew up in, where she'll help out with animals of all shapes and sizes in her parents' surgery.But it's not all plain sailing: Mandy clashes with gruff local Jimmy Marsh, and some of the villagers won't accept a new vet. Meanwhile, Simon is determined that Mandy will rejoin him back in the city. When tragedy strikes for her best friend James Hunter, and some neglected animals are discovered on a nearby farm, Mandy must prove herself. When it comes to being there for her friends - and protecting animals in need - she's prepared to do whatever it takes...This gorgeous and heartwarming novel, based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series, is perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde. Read what everyone's saying about Hope Meadows:'An adorable read [with] a real sense of village community' Bookworms and Shutterbugs'Just the right amount of nostalgia... wonderful and very poignant' - The World is a Book Blog'Heartwarming and endearing... a gorgeous story filled with hope, joy, sweetness and light combined with the honesty of real life' - Amazon'An incredibly lovely story' - Rachel's Random Reads'The summer read of 2017!' Goodreads 'Will leave you feeling cosy and uplifted' Goodreads 'I loved every minute' Amazon'I had tears in my eyes at the first chapter' - Goodreads'Full of charm; the perfect feel-good summer read' Amazon'One of the best books I've read!' Amazon

Hodder Paperbacks

Georgia

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

There Is But One

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

Gina and Charles Martin are young and passionately in love. Theirmarriage is perfect until Gina learns that she cannot have children.Her husband's failure to understand the effect this has on her causesher need for a baby to grow into an obsession. Gradually the youngcouple's relationship deteriorates until they are little more thanstrangers and their intense love little more than a memory.Gina hopes first to adopt a baby, then to foster a child, before indesperation seeking a solution outside the law...A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, firstpublished in 1965 and now available for the first time in eBook.

Hodder Paperbacks

Lost Lake

Sarah Addison Allen
Authors:
Sarah Addison Allen
Hodder & Stoughton

The Night is Thine

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

Everything had to be arranged well in advance for Lucy's husband - even their love making. But now she was in love with Geoff - himself married to a hopeless alcoholic - and was living through all the joyand agony that only forbidden love can cause.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Constant Heart

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fair Deal

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins
Hodder & Stoughton

The Faithful Heart

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer

Clare and Mark Bainbury, married for four years, are gradually becoming aware that life may not turn out exactly as they might like. Mark's career is not as lucrative as he had hoped and Clare's growing obsession for a child creates a distance between them that neither is certain how to breach. When Mark meets glamorous starlet Diane Derry, Clare retreats even further from their marriage. Increasingly it seems that they love which once consumed them both maynot be strong enough to survive these troubled times.

Hodder & Stoughton

Emotions

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Truth to Tell

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer
Hodder & Stoughton

Infatuation

Claire Lorrimer
Authors:
Claire Lorrimer