Yrsa Sigurdardottir - The Silence of the Sea - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444734478
    • Publication date:27 Feb 2014
Books in this series

The Silence of the Sea

Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6

By Yrsa Sigurdardottir

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

An abandoned yacht, a young family missing - chilling crime from the queen of Nordic Noir.

WINNER OF THE 2015 PETRONA AWARD

The most chilling novel yet from the Queen of Nordic Noir, not to be missed for fans of Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson.

'Mummy dead.' The child's pure treble was uncomfortably clear. It was the last thing Brynjar - and doubtless the others - wanted to hear at that moment. 'Daddy dead.' It got worse. 'Adda dead. Bygga dead.' The child sighed and clutched her grandmother's leg. 'All dead.'

A luxury yacht arrives in Reykjavik harbour with nobody on board. What has happened to the crew, and to the family who were on board when it left Lisbon?

Thora Gudmundsdottir is hired by the young father's parents to investigate, and is soon drawn deeper into the mystery. What should she make of the rumours saying that the vessel was cursed, especially given that when she boards the yacht she thinks she sees one of the missing twins? Where is Karitas, the glamorous young wife of the yacht's former owner? And whose is the body that has washed up further along the shore?

Biographical Notes

Author of the bestselling Thora Gudmundsdottir crime series and several stand-alone thrillers, Yrsa Sigurdardottir was born in Reykjavik, Iceland, in 1963 and works as a civil engineer. She made her crime fiction debut in 2005 with LAST RITUALS, the first instalment in the Thora Gudmundsdottir series, and has been translated into more than 30 languages. Her work stands 'comparison with the finest contemporary crime writing anywhere in the world' according to the Times Literary Supplement. The second instalment in the Thora Gudmundsdottir series, MY SOUL TO TAKE, was shortlisted for the 2010 Shamus Award. In 2011 her stand-alone horror novel I REMEMBER YOU was awarded the Icelandic Crime Fiction Award and was nominated for The Glass Key. Her novel THE SILENCE OF THE SEA won the Petrona Award in 2015.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444734485
  • Publication date: 26 Mar 2015
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Iceland's answer to Stieg Larsson. — Daily Telegraph
Yrsa is one of the most exciting new voices in the crime thriller world. — Peter James
A corker of a locked-room mystery, with one of the most dramatic twists in recent crime fiction. — The Sunday Times
A gripping thriller with enough mystery and horror to keep you sitting on the edge of your seat while you try to work out what happened. — Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
John Murray

Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions

Mario Giordano
Authors:
Mario Giordano

'Alive with a tang of lemons to set the senses zinging' The SpectatorAuntie Poldi can think of no finer place to wait for death than Sicily. All she asks is a sea view, fine wine (and plenty of it), and her family close around.When death instead takes her handsome young friend Valentino - and under mysterious circumstances at that - Poldi will not take it lying down.Perhaps it's in her blood (her father was a detective chief inspector); perhaps it's a diverting excuse to spend more time with men in uniform; or perhaps it's just the promise she makes to Valentino while holding his poor dead hand.But Auntie Poldi's hunting instincts have never felt more alive. Justice must be served - if it's the last thing she does . . .

Mulholland Books

The Last Cut

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay

Hodder Paperbacks

Holding

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The first in an exciting new series from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.The murder was meant as a punishment - but what sin could justify the method?The only person who might have answers is the victim's seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she's not talking. Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children's House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn't best pleased. But she's determined to keep little Margret safe. It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He's telling a dark and secret story - but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

John Murray

Spook Street

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Two Roads

A Dying Breed

Peter Hanington
Authors:
Peter Hanington

'HANINGTON EXCELS... AN IMPRESSIVE DEBUT' The Sunday Times'THOUGHTFUL, ATMOSPHERIC AND GRIPPINGLY PLOTTED' Guardian'HANINGTON HAS TRUE TALENT' The Times'TREMENDOUS' William Boyd'ENTHRALLING' Michael Palin'AMAZINGLY GRIPPING' Melvyn Bragg'A BELTING GOOD READ' A.L. Kennedy'I LOVED EVERY MINUTE IN THIS BOOK'S COMPANY' Fi Glover'A NATURAL STORYTELLER' John Humphrys'DEEPLY INTELLIGENT' Will GompertzKabul, Afghanistan.In a brilliantly plotted contemporary thriller with echoes of Graham Greene and John le Carré, William Carver, a veteran but unpredictable BBC hack, is thrown into the unknown when a bomb goes off killing a local official. Warned off the story from every direction, Carver won't give in until he finds the truth.Patrick, a young producer, is sent out on his first foreign assignment to control the wayward Carver, but as the story unravels it looks like the real story lies between the shadowy corridors of the BBC, the perilous streets of Kabul and the dark chambers of Whitehall.Set in a shadowy world of dubious morality and political treachery, A Dying Breed is a gripping novel about journalism in a time of war, about the struggle to tell the stories that need to be told - even if it is much easier not to.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The eleventh book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by writer Jill Paton Walsh - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there.The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Hodder & Stoughton

Rise the Dark

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder & Stoughton

Why Did You Lie?

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Mulholland Books

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Undesired

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder Paperbacks

Plague Land

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ties That Bind

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

Could a soul, once sold, truly be redeemed?Luke is a true crime writer in search of a story. When he flees to Brighton after an explosive break-up, the perfect subject lands in his lap: reformed gangster Joss Grand. Now in his eighties, Grand once ruled the Brighton underworld with his sadistic sidekick Jacky Nye - until Jacky washed up by the West Pier in 1968, strangled and thrown into the sea. Though Grand's alibi seems cast-iron, Luke is sure there's more to the story than meets the eye, and he convinces the criminal-turned-philanthropist to be interviewed for a book about his life. Luke is drawn deeper into the mystery of Jacky Nye's murder. Was Grand there that night? Is he really as reformed a character as he claims? And who was the girl in the red coat seen fleeing the murder scene? Soon Luke realises that in stirring up secrets from the past, he may have placed himself in terrible danger.

Mulholland Books

The Saint around the World

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris
Mulholland Books

Call for the Saint

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

In these two novellas, crooked charity collectors and bent boxing promoters attract the Saint's attention... and will wish they hadn't.

Mulholland Books

Saint Errant

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris
Hodder Paperbacks

Envy the Night

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

It's been seven years since Frank discovered his father's dark secret: that he was a U.S. Marshal, a contract killer who committed suicide to avoid prosecution. Now Devin Matteson, the man who betrayed his father - drawing him into the killing game and then handing him over to the FBI - is coming home to the Wisconsin lake that was once hallowed ground for both families. But this is a homecoming Frank knows he cannot allow.But when Frank arrives at Matteson's old cabin he finds only a strange, beautiful woman and a nervous man with a gun; Matteson is nowhere to be seen. When a pair of deadly assassins arrive on the scene, the sensible thing would be for Frank to contact the police, but Frank's father was nothing if not a good teacher, and his son a willing pupil . . .

Mulholland Books

The Saint on Guard

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

In these two wartime stories, the Saint finds himself on the side of the angels and up against Americans who are undermining the war effort for their own gain. In The Black Market, a shipment of iridium is stolen and the Saint hatches a scheme to recover the goods - but then one of his prime leads is murdered and he's framed for the crime. Soon after, in The Sizzling Saboteur, his attempt to find a man who has been sabotaging weapons factories is frustrated when his suspect turns up burnt to a crisp. Simon has to contend with the local police, a trio of mysterious men and a beautiful Russian while he tries to uncover the truth and bring the criminals to justice.

Hodder Paperbacks

Busman's Honeymoon

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers