Meg Hutchinson - A Penny Dip - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340837580
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2006

A Penny Dip

By Meg Hutchinson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Number One bestselling storyteller Meg Hutchinson now tells her own story in this, a loving portrait of a Black Country girlhood.

One of five sisters, Margaret Rose Astbury grew up in Wednesbury during the first half of the twentieth century. Despite the constant struggle to make ends meet, and the hardship and worry of wartime, life in the Black Country was not all doom and gloom. In the crowded terraced houses and teeming communal yards, there was love and laughter aplenty.

Meg was no angel, and was often up to her armpits in mischief. But she knew she could rely on her sisters to stick up for her and her mom and dad were too soft-hearted to punish any of their beloved daughters.

With all the humour and narrative skill that have made her novels bestsellers, Meg Hutchinson paints a loving portrait of family life in a more innocent age.

Biographical Notes

Meg Hutchinson lived for sixty years in Wednesbury, where her parents and grandparents spent all their lives. Her passion for storytelling reaped dividends, with her novels regularly appearing in bestseller lists. She was the undisputed queen of the clogs and shawls saga. Passionate about history, her meticulous research provided an authentic context to the action-packed narratives set in the Black Country. She died in February 2010.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444718621
  • Publication date: 10 Mar 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Seal

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Journalist Kate Mallory is covering a routine case of vandalism in a local churchyard when she comes across a mysterious foreign banknote and a drawing of an ancient talisman, the Seal of Ashmedai, used in rituals of black magic. At the same time, Richard Torrey is haunted by a young woman, dressed in white, who begs his help. But why can no one else see or hear her? Together, Kate and Richard decide to investigate a possible connection between these random events. They do not expect to find themselves embroiled in an attempt to create the havoc of war in the Middle East, large-scale currency counterfeiting - and devil worship.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Hitch-Hiker

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Philip Bartley stops to pick up a hitch-hiker one rainy night, hoping for sexual favours in return. But when the car crashes into a hedge, the slender, blonde figure with the seductive tongue is nowhere to be seen . . .Reverend Peter Darley has a mortal sin on his conscience, and as he struggles with his faith, he finds that even the church cannot provide sanctuary from his impure thoughts . . .A whiff of perfume, a pair of hyacinth blue eyes are oddly familiar to James Connor. Will they cause the Deputy Police Commissioner to lose his head?That is just the beginning. There are three men with one woman in common. Now that woman, Anna, is dead. Her lover Richard Torrey is determined to get at the bottom of her brutal murder and bring her killers to justice. But his investigations, helped by journalist Kate Mallory and Inspector Bruce Daniels, are hampered by a series of inexplicable events.

Hodder Paperbacks

Friendship's Bond

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

He claimed to be a man of God. But he did the devil's work.Thomas Thorpe hides his carnal desires under the mask of a pious lay preacher. When Ann Spencer rejects his advances, he evicts her from her home, claiming she is living in sin with a young man not her blood relative. But Alec is a ward, not a lover. And Ann has made a promise to her dead father that she will protect the Russian boy with her life.Taken in by kind-hearted Leah Marshall, Ann and Alec repay her by working in the dairy. The two young people become substitutes for the children Leah has lost. But Thomas Thorpe will not leave them in peace. Playing on the paranoia engendered by the Great War, he sows seeds of doubt among the good people of Wednesbury about the foreigner in their midst. Once Ann becomes an outcast, he will be able to claim her unwilling body for his evil purposes.

Hodder & Stoughton

Abel's Daughter

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

A dramatic tale of a wronged woman who rises above adversity to grasp love and happiness at last. For fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson.Shocked beyond measure at her wrongful imprisonment, Phoebe Pardoe finds it hard to adjust to the harshness of life in the infamous Handsworth Prison. Abused and beaten, she struggles to maintain her unconquered spirit, little suspecting that her arrest is the work of her jealous Aunt Annie.Phoebe has a guardian angel in the form of Sir William Dartmouth, who eventually engineers her release. But even so, cruelly disinherited, Phoebe must strive to make a living for herself in a man's world. Especially as Annie has not given up her perverse quest for revenge...

Hodder & Stoughton

For The Sake Of Her Child

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Handful of Silver

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Banished from her father's sight and home since the age of four, wheelchair-bound Esther Kerral is horrified when Jos Kerral forces her into an arranged marriage with Morgan Cosmore, the son of a local factory owner. Both fathers hope the union will save their ailing businesses; little do they know that each is as bankrupt as the other. But Morgan's inclinations have long lain in another, perverse, direction and poor Esther must struggle as best she can not only to survive a loveless marriage, but also to build up a business of her own in a man's world.

Hodder & Stoughton

Child of Sin

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Sister's Tears

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Step Too Far

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

All is Not Enough

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

With mounting disbelief, Regan Trent realises that the death of her beloved mother has left her totally at her stepfather's mercy. But mercy is a foreign concept to Sherwyn Huntley. To this ruthless man, Regan is simply an obstacle between him and the Trent fortune. Denied a place at her mother's funeral, cruelly separated from her younger brother, promised in marriage to a sadistic pervert, Regan prefers to take her chance in the wide world. But Huntley will stop at nothing to achieve his cruel ambitions . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Wanton Redhead

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

Devil's Own Daughter

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

For The Love Of A Sister

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Ties of Love

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

'Don't go, Amber, don't leave Denny an' me alone, I be feared of this house.'If only she had heeded her ten-year-old sister's words! But Amber Neale returns from India to the devastating news of Bethany's death and her brother's disappearance. The man she holds responsible is mine-owner Uriah Buckley, a powerful man in Darlaston, and Amber knows he will make her life a living hell if crossed. But loyalty to her siblings prevails, and she determines to seek out the truth. Amber's only ally is Rani, the gentle Indian girl who owes Amber her life. Together they create a line of floral face creams and cosmetics, and go on to found a successful beauty salon. But wealth and success do not fill the heart. Amber still aches with the loss of her beloved family, and demons from her life in India haunt her dreams. Meanwhile the vile Uriah Buckley waits in the wings, determined to despoil the innocent girl rather than see her uncover his vicious secret.

Hodder & Stoughton

Pauper's Child

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Heritage of Shame

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Sixpenny Girl

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Coronet

The Deverell Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson

Maura Deverell is a young Irish peasant girl whose mother is dying of consumption. Their cruel landlord threatens to throw them out of their cottage unless Maura agrees to marry his young son, Liam Riordan. But before Maura can decide, she is brutally raped by Liam's brother Padraig, who gloats that once she is under their roof, Maura will be at his mercy - his sexual slave.Weak though she is, Maura's mother does not let this vicious act go unavenged. She curses the Riordans and then, on her deathbed, makes Maura promise to leave Ireland for good. Maura ends up in Birmingham, after many narrow escapes from rape and death. Even when she makes staunch friends, and discovers a protector in the shape of Aiden Shanley, she longs to go home, stopped only by her promise to her mother. Eventually the wicked Riordans meet a well deserved sticky end and Maura is persuaded to return and marry Liam after all.

Hodder Paperbacks

No Place for a Woman

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson
Hodder Paperbacks

A Love Forbidden

Meg Hutchinson
Authors:
Meg Hutchinson