David Nicholls - Sweet Sorrow - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £20.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444715408
    • Publication date:11 Jul 2019

Sweet Sorrow

By David Nicholls

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The major new novel from David Nicholls.

One life-changing summer
Sixteen-year-old Charlie meets Fran...

8 million copies
since STARTER FOR TEN first introduced us to his
incomparable talent for making us laugh, cry
and wince with recognition in the space of a single sentence;
ten years
after ONE DAY became the iconic love story for a generation;
five years
since the journey of US took him to the Man Booker Prize long-list;
DAVID NICHOLLS has written a major new novel, SWEET SORROW:
a hymn to the tragicomedy of ordinary lives, a celebration of the reviving power of friendship and that brief, blinding explosion of first love that perhaps can only be looked at directly once it has burned out.


'Nicholls writes with such tender precision about love'
The Times

'There is a sharp empathetic intelligence to his writing that makes his characters real . . . the clear writing often dazzles with truth . . . sad funny, soulful'
Observer

'A sublime talent for illuminating the murky causeway that most of us have to navigate between darkness and light'
Donal Ryan

'Nicholls' ability to create and then subvert the traditional plot for comedy is the secret of his success. It makes us confront the gap between what we expect from storytelling and what happens in real life'
Spectator

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444715439
  • Publication date: 11 Jul 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Praise for David Nicholls — -
Nicholls's gift is character. There is a sharp empathetic intelligence to his writing that makes his characters real . . . the clear writing often dazzles with truth . . . sad funny, soulful — Observer
David has a sublime talent for illuminating the murky causeway that most of us have to navigate between darkness and light — Donal Ryan
Nicholls writes with such tender precision about love — The Times
Hodder & Stoughton

A Gift in December

Jenny Gladwell
Authors:
Jenny Gladwell
Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Silver Dale

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

The perfect Christmas romance for 2019 - featuring the original characters in the much loved Animal Ark series!Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Trisha Ashley. **Summer Days at Sunrise Farm, the new book in the Animal Ark revisited series, is currently available for pre-order!**

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker

Joanna Nell
Authors:
Joanna Nell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Vanished Bride

Bella Ellis
Authors:
Bella Ellis
Two Roads

All the Water in the World

Karen Raney
Authors:
Karen Raney
Two Roads

How It Was

Janet Ellis
Authors:
Janet Ellis
Hodder Paperbacks

The Scarlet Nightingale

Alan Titchmarsh
Authors:
Alan Titchmarsh
Sceptre

Starling Days

Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Authors:
Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
John Murray

The Aunt Who Wouldn't Die

Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay
Authors:
Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay

At eighteen, Somlata married into the Mitras: a once noble Bengali household whose descendants have taken to pawning off the family gold to keep up appearances. When Pishima, the embittered matriarch, dies, Somlata is the first to discover her aunt-in-law's body - and her sharp-tongued ghost. First demanding that Somlata hide her gold from the family's prying hands, Pishima's ghost continues to wreak havoc on the Mitras. Secrets spilt, cooking spoilt, Somlata finds herself at the centre of the chaos. And as the family teeter on the brink of bankruptcy, it looks like it's up to her to fix it. The Aunt Who Wouldn't Die is a frenetic, funny and fresh novel about three generations of Mitra women, a jewellery box, and the rickety family they hold together.

Hodder & Stoughton

Three Days in Florence

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Two Roads

The House by the Loch

Kirsty Wark
Authors:
Kirsty Wark
Hodder & Stoughton

Summer of '69

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

Half a World Away

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

The incredibly moving and uplifting new novel from the author of The Man I Think I Know.Kerry Hayes knows exactly who she is: a single mum, a cleaner and Mariah Carey's biggest fan.Noah Martineau thinks he knows who he is: a successful barrister, with a wife, daughter and big house in Primrose Hill.Strangers with nothing in common.Strangers living worlds apart.But it wasn't always this way...and Noah and Kerry are about to discover just who they really are.

Hodder & Stoughton

Theodore Boone: The Accomplice

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Two Roads

A Single Source

Peter Hanington
Authors:
Peter Hanington

'Topical, authoritative and gripping' Charles Cumming 'Tight, pacy and strong on atmosphere' Michael Palin 'Completely unputdownable - gripping' Seb Emina 'Compelling' Mishal Husain 'Draws you in from the first line and keeps you guessing until, literally, the very last' Allan Little 'Thrilling' Dame Ann Leslie 'The real deal' Kirsty Wark 'Gut-wrenching' Edward StourtonVeteran BBC reporter William Carver is in Cairo - bang in the middle of the Arab Spring. 'The only story in the world' according to his editor. But it isn't - there's another story, more significant and potentially more dangerous, and if no one else is willing to tell it . . . then Carver will, whatever the consequences.A Single Source tells two stories, which over a few tumultuous months come together to prove inextricably linked. There are the dramatic, world-changing events across North Africa and the Middle East, as protests led by a new generation of tech-savvy youngsters challenge the established order. Then there are two Eritrean brothers, desperate to make their way up from the Horn of Africa across the continent to a better life in Europe. The horrors they endure at the hands of people traffickers and others along the way test their endurance and humanity to its limit.William Carver spots the Arab Spring early, aided by one of the infamous 'Listeners' at the BBC monitoring station in Caversham. He and his producer, Patrick, chase the story across North Africa before arriving in Egypt where the battle between the corrupt old order and the new will be both bloody and potentially definitive.The world is watching, but its attention span is increasingly short. Carver knows the story is a complex one and, in the age of Facebook, Twitter and rolling news, difficult stories are getting harder to tell. If everyone is a reporter, then who do you believe? *Praise for Peter Hanington's A Dying Breed, which first featured William Carver*'Wholly compelling and shrewdly wise' William Boyd 'A belting good read' A.L. Kennedy'I look forward to more of Hanington's work with great expectations' Melvyn Bragg'Enthralling' Michael Palin 'Thoughtful, atmospheric and grippingly plotted' Guardian'Hanington has true talent' The Times(P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

The Swap

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell
Sceptre

The Language of Birds

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson

A hypnotic and thought-provoking novel inspired by the sensational Lord Lucan case, by the Orange Prize-shortlisted author of Fred & Edie.In the summer of 1974, Mandy River arrives in London to make a fresh start and begins working as nanny to the children of one Lady Morven. She quickly finds herself in the midst of a bitter custody battle and the house under siege: Lord Morven is having his wife watched. According to Lady Morven, her estranged husband also has a violent streak, yet she doesn't seem the most reliable witness. Should Mandy believe her? As Mandy tries to shield her young charges from harm, her friend Rosemary watches from the wings - an odd girl with her own painful past and a rare gift. This time, though, she misreads the signs.Drawing on the infamous Lord Lucan affair, this compelling novel explores the roots of a shocking murder from a fresh perspective and brings to vivid life an era when women's voices all too often went unheard.

Two Roads

M for Mammy

Eleanor O’Reilly
Authors:
Eleanor O’Reilly

'M for Magnificent! Heart-breaking, heart-warming, and hilarious . . . a glorious debut' Ruth Hogan, bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things'Lovely, sharp, compassionate, well-observed writing' Felicity Hayes-McCoy, author of The Library at the Edge of the World'Channelling the warm heart and good cheer of Marian Keyes . . . very amusing' Irish Independent'Rambunctious' Irish Times'A cracking good read' The Book ScoopMeet the Augustts: a loving, Irish family who, like all families, are a bit complicated. They are bound together by their love for each other, but each expresses themselves in a very different way. When misfortune strikes the family, they must learn to understand each other anew. Sometimes, in a family as complicated as the Augustts, it's not always what is spoken that makes the most sense.Everything is shaken up when Granny Mae-Anne moves in and takes charge. A force of nature, full of stern words and no-nonsense common sense, it is she who must try and hold the family together.M for Mammy is an uplifting story about the unique comfort of home, the language we can find when the words aren't there, and the power of a family to heal itself.

Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh

A fascinating character study and portrait of a small community that will leave you questioning all of your assumptions.You don't know what's going on in Sara's house...Or in her head.Sara is lonely. No one talks to her - not even her bad-tempered workaholic husband or her two beloved sons. Her solace is her house, the biggest in the village, hidden away behind high hedges.Then she strikes up a friendship with Katie, a college student living nearby, and a new world opens up. Her neighbours have been dying to get to know her, and they rush to help when Sara is devastated by a terrible accident.But nothing is quite what it seems. And when new betrayals and shocking revelations disturb her peace, Sara realises she has no choice: she must act to protect the safety of those she loves.(P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand