Richard Blake - The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340951170
    • Publication date:17 Feb 2011

The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three)

By Richard Blake

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The third of seven books in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

The third book of the DEATH OF ROME SAGA, perfect for readers of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.

612 AD.
Aelric of England has become the Lord Senator Alaric and the trusted Legate of the Emperor Heraclius. He's now in Alexandria, to send Egypt's harvest to Constantinople, and to force the unwilling Viceroy to give land to the peasants. But the city, with its factions and conspirators - thwarts him at every turn. And when an old enemy from Constantinople arrives, supposedly on a quest for a religious relic that could turn the course of the Persian war, the ensuing chaos may be enough to rip Egypt - and Aelric - apart.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

www.richardblake.me.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444711530
  • Publication date: 10 Jun 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
As always, Blake writes with immense historical and classical erudition, while displaying an ability to render 1500-year-old conversations in realistically colloquial English. — C4SS
If you like your Dark Age stories to be, well - particularly dark - then you'll love this. - — Historical Novels Review
It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy. — The Morning Star
Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot ... I enjoyed it very much. — Derek Jacobi, star of, I, Claudius and Gladiator
Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Songwoman

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones. Praise for SKIN:'Filled with drama and passion... I was captivated' ANTONIA HODGSON'A visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence' THE SUNDAY TIMES'I am hooked! Ilka is an amazing writer' KAREN MAITLAND'A tale as evocative as it is compelling' STARBURST MAGAZINE'Accomplished, absorbing and powerful' THE HOOPLA

Mulholland Books

The Prometheus Man

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon
Mulholland Books

You Will Pay

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Mulholland Books

Rip Crew

Sebastian Rotella
Authors:
Sebastian Rotella

Maverick agent Valentine Pescatore is back and investigating a brutal killing that leads him across borders and reveals a vast conspiracy of wealth and power terrifyingly close to home.Valentine Pescatore, the former U.S. agent, finds himself back on American soil, investigating the merciless killing of a group of women in a motel room. At first, the crime seems to be a straightforward case of gangsters battling for territory. Soon, however, the motive is revealed to be much deeper and more sinister: a single witness who knows too much is being hunted.From an author who has been praised for his "pounding action scenes [and] ferocious prose style" (Marilyn Stasio, NYTBR), RIP CREW races at breakneck speed as Pescatore finds himself face-to-face with his most terrifying assignment yet.

Hodder Paperbacks

Rosemary

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Hodder Paperbacks

A Girl Of Her Time

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Hodder Paperbacks

Friends and Families

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Hodder Paperbacks

Roses For Rebecca

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine

Orphaned and homeless, Rebecca Lawson, is forced to return to London to live and work with her aunt and uncle at their pub in the East End. Then one fateful day, Ian Beresford walks into the bar and eighteen-year-old Rebecca, longing for security and a home of her own, falls deeply in love. But Ian disappears and Rebecca discovers to her horror that she's pregnant. Frantic with worry, she travels to his family home in Stoke-on-Trent to find him. But awaiting her is the shocking news of an appalling tragedy. Will Rebecca keep her baby, and finally find the happiness she's been seeking?***********Praise for Roses For Rebecca'A sensitive and well crafted portrayal of a young, unmarried girl . . . How true to life it seemed'Historical Novels Association'A touching and genuinely moving novel with a cast of brilliant characters'Maureen Lee'[Kaine] has a real gift for characterisation and for making the various people who bring her tales to vivid life totally believable'Leicester Mercury

Hodder Paperbacks

Fever

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer

'UK readers, you have a nice surprise coming. No, not Brexit, FEVER, by Deon Meyer. Reminiscent of THE STAND and THE PASSAGE. Great stuff' STEPHEN KINGI want to tell you about my Father's murder.I want to tell you who killed him and why.This is the story of my life.And the story of your life and your world too, as you will see.Nico Storm and his father drive across a desolate South Africa, constantly alert for feral dogs, motorcycle gangs, nuclear contamination. They are among the few survivors of a virus that has killed most of the world's population. Young as he is, Nico realises that his superb marksmanship and cool head mean he is destined to be his father's protector.But Willem Storm, though not a fighter, is a man with a vision. He is searching for a place that can become a refuge, a beacon of light and hope in a dark and hopeless world, a community that survivors will rebuild from the ruins. And so Amanzi is born. Fever is the epic, searing story of a group of people determined to carve a city out of chaos.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

'The sheer impetus of his storytelling is damned hard to resist' Sunday ExpressSunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather's latest edge-of-your-seat thriller.*****A standalone thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather that takes us into the world of the London Fire Brigade's elite Investigations Unit.Vicky Lewis is a force to be reckoned with: not yet thirty and already Crew Manager in the London Fire Brigade, she's destined for great things.But when she enters a burning building to save a man's life and leaves it with catastrophic injuries, all that changes. She's shunted over to the Fire Investigation Unit, where she's forced to team up with cantankerous veteran Des Farmer, aka the Grouch.When Vicky stumbles across the Grouch's off-the-books investigation into the fiery deaths of a series of young, blonde women, she decides to join him in his search for the truth. The answer is close - perhaps too close. Vicky's already been burnt once, and now she's playing with fire . . .(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

The author of the bestselling Empire sequence continues his new trilogy: the epic story of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 69. The Rhine frontier has exploded into all-out war. The Batavi cohorts, so recently proud soldiers of Rome, have returned to their homeland, summoned by their new leader Kivilaz: they will be the spearhead of an audacious assault on Roman power. Humbled by the rebels in a battle they should have won, the Romans retreat to their northern stronghold, the Old Camp, to lick their wounds. The 5th and 15th Legions grimly prepare to defend an undermanned fortress against both the Batavi and thousands of barbarian warriors intoxicated by a charismatic priestess's vision of their victory. Four centurions who once fought in the same army find themselves on opposite sides of a vicious civil war. For the Batavi, the prize could be freedom from Roman rule. For the Romans, the choices are victory or the most humiliating defeat their empire has ever known. And for one Batavi soldier, the greatest prize is simply survival in a battle with a cornered, desperate enemy.

Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad

The extraordinary new novel from the incredible author of SOCKPUPPET. Perfect for fans of BLACK MIRROREarly one morning, blogger Alex Kubelick walks up to a total stranger and slaps him across the face. Hard.He smiles.They've both just earned Emoticoin, in a new, all-consuming game that trades real-life emotions for digital currency. Emoticoin is changing the face of the economy - but someone or something is controlling it for their own, dangerous ends.As Alex picks apart the tangled threads that hold the virtual game together she finds herself on the run from very real enemies. It seems only one person has the answers she seeks. Someone who hides behind the name 'Lucky Ghost'.But Lucky Ghost will only talk to a young hacker called Thimblerig - the online troll who's been harassing Alex for months.Will Lucky Ghost lead Alex and Thimblerig to the answers they seek - or to their deaths?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The first in an exciting new series from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.The murder was meant as a punishment - but what sin could justify the method?The only person who might have answers is the victim's seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she's not talking. Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children's House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn't best pleased. But she's determined to keep little Margret safe. It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He's telling a dark and secret story - but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

Hodder & Stoughton

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley
Hodder & Stoughton

No Mortal Thing

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: CONSPIRACIES OF ROME, THE TERROR OF CONSTANTINOPLE AND THE BLOOD OF ALEXANDRIA. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: THE SWORD OF DAMASCUS, THE GHOSTS OF ATHENS and THE CURSE OF BABYLON. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder Paperbacks

Ring Of Clay

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine