Richard Blake - The Sword of Damascus (Death of Rome Saga Book Four) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848947030
    • Publication date:09 Jun 2011

The Sword of Damascus (Death of Rome Saga Book Four)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The fourth instalment in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

The fourth book of the DEATH OF ROME SAGA is a must-read for those who loved the heroism of Gladiator and Spartacus.

687 AD.
Expansive and triumphant, the Caliphate has stripped Egypt and Syria from the Byzantine Empire. Farther and farther back, the formerly hegemonic Empire has been pushed - once to the very walls of its capital, Constantinople.

But what is all this to old Aelric, now in his nineties, and a refugee from the Empire he's spent his life holding together? No longer the Lord Senator Alaric, Brother Aelric is writing his memoirs in the remote wastes of northern England, and waiting patiently for death. Then a band of northern barbarians turn up outside the monastery - and then another.

Before he can draw another breath, Aelric is a prisoner of unknown forces, and headed straight back into the snake pit of Mediterranean hatreds. What awaits him at the end of his long and dangerous journey is a confrontation that decides the fate of all mankind.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

www.richardblake.me.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444709681
  • Publication date: 16 Feb 2012
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy. — The Morning Star
If you like your Dark Age stories to be, well - particularly dark - then you'll love this. — Historical Novels Review
Blake's plotting is as brilliantly devious as the mind of his sardonic and very earthy hero. — Lancashire Evening Post
The Sword of Damascus is fast-paced and with as much gory action as you could shake a spear at. — Driffield Times
Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Songwoman

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones. Praise for SKIN:'Filled with drama and passion... I was captivated' ANTONIA HODGSON'A visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence' THE SUNDAY TIMES'I am hooked! Ilka is an amazing writer' KAREN MAITLAND'A tale as evocative as it is compelling' STARBURST MAGAZINE'Accomplished, absorbing and powerful' THE HOOPLA

Mulholland Books

The Prometheus Man

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon
Mulholland Books

You Will Pay

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Mulholland Books

Rip Crew

Sebastian Rotella
Authors:
Sebastian Rotella
Hodder Paperbacks

Rosemary

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Hodder Paperbacks

A Girl Of Her Time

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Hodder Paperbacks

Friends and Families

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine

Two girls on different sides of the class divide, living on one street.As a child, fiery and ambitious Josie Ford sees from a distance the affluent lifestyle of young Georgina Hawkins, and is filled with envy. But Georgina is lonely, and longs to experience the warmth of working-class family life. Beneath the shadow of Georgina's domineering father, the two girls meet in secret. From this forbidden friendship grows a bond so strong nothing can break it.And then the men enter their lives. Josie falls unwillingly in love with Nick: as a market trader, surely he can't offer her the lifestyle she now craves? Georgina, an incurable romantic, falls in love with the first man she meets, but the mysterious Dominic breaks her heart.And now both girls need their friendship more than they ever have before.***********Praise for Friends and Families'The story pulls you in and doesn't let you go till the end, a sign of how much warmth this book holds'Kilkenny People'The author brings to life with great skill the emotions of young girls growing up in the 1950s. . . This is a compelling love story, set firmly in the Potteries, and Margaret Kaine moves with ease between the two different worlds. . . It's a feel-good book'Historical Novel Society

Hodder Paperbacks

Roses For Rebecca

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Hodder Paperbacks

Fever

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The first in an exciting new series from 'Iceland's outstanding crime novelist' (Daily Express) Yrsa Sigurdardottir, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.The murder was meant as a punishment - but what sin could justify the method?The only person who might have answers is the victim's seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she's not talking. Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children's House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn't best pleased. But she's determined to keep little Margret safe. It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He's telling a dark and secret story - but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

Hodder Paperbacks

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad

The extraordinary new novel from the incredible author of SOCKPUPPET. Perfect for fans of BLACK MIRROR.Early one morning, blogger Alex Kubelick walks up to a total stranger and slaps him across the face. Hard.He smiles.They've both just earned Emoticoin, in a new, all-consuming game that trades real-life emotions for digital currency. Emoticoin is changing the face of the economy - but someone or something is controlling it for their own, dangerous ends.As Alex picks apart the tangled threads that hold the virtual game together she finds herself on the run from very real enemies. It seems only one person has the answers she seeks. Someone who hides behind the name 'Lucky Ghost'.But Lucky Ghost will only talk to a young hacker called Thimblerig - the online troll who's been harassing Alex for months.Will Lucky Ghost lead Alex and Thimblerig to the answers they seek - or to their deaths? LUCKY GHOST is part of the Martingale cycle, a series of interconnected novels exploring the life of computing pioneer and political radical Elyse Martingale - and her strange afterlife in the 21st century.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

'The Best Thriller Writer Alive' Ken FollettJohn Grisham's newest legal thriller takes you inside a law firm that shouldn't exist.Law students Mark, Todd and Zola wanted to change the world - to make it a better place. But these days these three disillusioned friends spend a lot of time hanging out in The Rooster Bar, the place where Todd serves drinks. As third-year students, they realise they have been duped. They all borrowed heavily to attend a law school so mediocre that its graduates rarely pass the bar exam, let alone get good jobs. And when they learn that their school is one of a chain owned by a shady New York hedge-fund operator who also happens to own a bank specialising in student loans, the three realise they have been caught up in The Great Law School Scam.So they begin plotting a way out. Maybe there's a way to escape their crushing debt, expose the bank and the scam, and make a few bucks in the process. But to do so, they have to leave law school, pretend they are qualified and go into battle with a billionaire and the FBI . . .Ingenious, immersive and page-turning, The Rooster Bar is a John Grisham legal thriller bar none.(P)2017 Random House Audio

Hodder & Stoughton

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley

Sunday Times top thriller read of the year 2016The rich are different. But fate is blind.Down-on-his-luck artist Scott Burroughs would usually take the ferry back to New York from Martha's Vineyard, but he is unexpectedly offered a spare seat on the Bateman family's private jet. Then just minutes after take-off, the plane crashes into the ocean and of the eight passengers and three crew, only Scott and the Batemans' small son, JJ, are left alive.The extraordinary nature of their survival, combined with the fact that David Bateman was CEO of a populist TV news channel, means that Scott will not be returning to anonymity. Along with the orphaned boy, he is engulfed by a maelstrom of speculation, which soon overtakes the official investigation into the tragedy. Who else was on the plane? Was there a bomb, a missile? Who is Scott Burroughs?As the chapters drive towards their heart-stopping conclusion, weaving with ever-increasing suspense between the shocking aftermath of the crash and the intimate backstory of each of the passengers and crew members, Noah Hawley creates a searching, thrilling novel of love, fame, wealth, art, entertainment and power.

Hodder & Stoughton

No Mortal Thing

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

Two young men - Jago and Marcantonio - both studying business and finance:Jago is a kid from a rough part of London who has worked hard to get a job in a bank and is now on a fast-track secondment to the Berlin office. Marcantonio is one of the new generation in the 'Ndrangheta crime families from Calabria, Southern Italy. He is in Germany to learn how to channel their illicit millions towards legitimate businesses all over Europe. When Jago witnesses Marcantonio commit a vicious assault and the police seem uninterested, the Englishman refuses to let the matter drop. But by pursuing the gangster to his grandfather's mountain lair, Jago is stepping into the middle of a delicate surveillance operation, which sets alarm bells ringing in Rome, London and Berlin. It also leads him to Consolata, a young woman who sees in Jago the chance to turn her non-violent protest campaign against the crime families into something altogether more lethal... NO MORTAL THING is novel of relentless power and mounting suspense, a brilliant portrayal of organised crime in Europe and the under-resourced men and women who fight it.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: CONSPIRACIES OF ROME, THE TERROR OF CONSTANTINOPLE AND THE BLOOD OF ALEXANDRIA. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder Paperbacks

Ring Of Clay

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine