Jojo Moyes - The Ship of Brides - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848947474
    • Publication date:07 Jul 2010

The Ship of Brides

By Jojo Moyes

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The moving and gorgeously written 2005 novel from Jojo Moyes, author of the bestsellers Me Before You and The Girl You Left Behind. Based on a true story.

The 2005 novel The Ship of Brides by Jojo Moyes, the bestselling author of Me Before You and two-time winner of the RNA Novel of the Year award.

'A scintillating novel of friendship, family and love.' - Woman & Home

Australia, 1946. 650 brides are departing for England to meet the men they married in wartime. But instead of the luxury liner they were expecting, they find themselves aboard an aircraft carrier, alongside a thousand men.

On the sun-baked decks, old loves and past promises become distant memories, and tensions are stretched to the limit as brides and husbands change their minds. And for Frances Mackenzie, one bride in particular, it soon becomes clear that sometimes the journey is more important than the destination.

Biographical Notes

Jojo Moyes is a novelist and a journalist. Her books include the bestsellers The Girl You Left Behind, The One Plus One, Me Before You and After You and short story collection Paris for One and Other Stories. Her novels have been translated into forty-four languages and have hit the Number One spot in twelve countries. She is one of the few authors to have had three novels on The New York Times bestseller list at the same time.

Me Before You has now sold over twelve million copies worldwide and was adapted into a major film starring Sam Claflin (The Hunger Games) and Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones). Jojo lives in Essex with her husband and their three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340960387
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2008
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Wonderfully romantic and moving. — Daily Mail
Gloriously entertaining. — Mirror
A scintillating novel of friendship, family and love. — Woman & Home
Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Paperbacks

Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe: Christmas comes to Pemberley in this sparkling feel-good novel

Melissa de la Cruz
Authors:
Melissa de la Cruz
Hodder Paperbacks

Winter Storms

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth

Lindsey Lee Johnson
Authors:
Lindsey Lee Johnson
Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards

CITY OF CIRCLES is an entrancing love story between Danu and Morrie, two circus performers, and Danu's Lewis Carroll-esque odyssey through the magical city of Matryoshka, that ends with a heart-warming yet bittersweet twist. Danu is a tightrope walker who is mourning her parents, after a disease has ravaged the circus where she grew up. Her mother has entrusted her with a locket that hides a secret. Over the years, Danu pushes away her grief and develops elaborate and successful high-wire acts with Morrie, a charismatic hunchback who wants to marry her. When the circus returns to Danu's birthplace, Matryoshka, Danu is enchanted by the temples, spice mists, and pleasure seekers within the intoxicating outer circle district. Here, she finally gains the courage to open her mother's locket, and discovers the name of a stranger who lives behind the locked gate of the Inner Circle. Fated to remain in Matryoshka, Danu attempts to resolve this mystery . . .Will she and Morrie ever be reunited, or will something far more unexpected be waiting for her in the mysterious heart of the city?

Hodder Paperbacks

Green Dolphin Country

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
John Murray

Yuki Means Happiness

Alison Jean Lester
Authors:
Alison Jean Lester
Hodder Paperbacks

Towers in the Mist

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

When Faithful Crocker, an impoverished young man with a love of learning, travels to Oxford in the hope of becoming a scholar, he is offered a home with Canon Leigh and his eccentric family.As Faithful begins to fulfil his academic dream, the Leigh family navigate the tricky waters of first love, uncover shocking secrets and experience devastating loss.A charming tale of hope and love, set amid the dreaming spires of Elizabethan Oxford.

Hodder Paperbacks

This Beautiful Life: the gripping and emotional summer page-turner from the #1 bestseller

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
Hodder Paperbacks

When Dimple Met Rishi

Sandhya Menon
Authors:
Sandhya Menon

A New York Times bestseller 'Get ready to fall in love with Dimple Shah and Rishi Patel' (HelloGiggles)The arranged marriage YA romcom you didn't know you wanted or needed... Meet Dimple.Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.Meet Rishi.He's rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she's got other plans...Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works even harder to prove itself in the most unexpected ways. As joyfully refreshing as Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi is a frothy, funny contemporary romance told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists. While Dimple is fighting her family traditions, Rishi couldn't be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents - could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?'Menon wrote an utterly delightful novel and broke my heart by writing an ending because I want nothing more than to keep reading about Dimple and Rishi forever . . . I'm looking forward to it being a huge hit of 2017.' (Book Riot)

Hodder Paperbacks

Holding

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Hodder & Stoughton

Gentian Hill

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Unable to bear the prospect of a life at sea, young Anthony O'Connell deserts his ship at Torquay and escapes into the Devonshire countryside under a new name. When Stella Sprigg, adopted daughter of a local farmer, encounters 'Zachary', the pair instantly know they are destined to be together. Intertwined with the local legend of St. Michael's Chapel, Stella and Zachary's story takes them from the secluded Devonshire valley to the perilous Mediterranean seas and finally to the poverty and squalor of eighteenth-century London.

Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Sceptre

How Much the Heart Can Hold

Carys Bray, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Bernardine Evaristo, Grace McCleen, Donal Ryan, Nikesh Shukla, D.W. Wilson
Authors:
Carys Bray, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Bernardine Evaristo, Grace McCleen, Donal Ryan, Nikesh Shukla, D.W. Wilson

'Nobody has ever measured, not even poets, how much the heart can hold.' Zelda FitzgeraldLove is not a singular concept. In this collection, seven award-winning authors explore seven concepts of love: from Philautia, self-love, to Agape, love for humanity; and from Storge, a natural affection for family, to Mania, a frenzied, obsessive love. Seven authors; seven short stories; seven flashes of love. The publication of How Much the Heart Can Hold is heralded by a Sceptre short story competition. The winning story, based on a concept of love, will be published in the paperback edition.

Hodder & Stoughton

Sting

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Acts of Love

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley
Hodder Paperbacks

A Life Without You: An addictive and emotional story of love and family secrets

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh

'A heart-clangingly powerful stunner of a novel' - Isabelle Broom, Heat. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lisa Jewell and Jodi Picoult.Can you ever outrun the past?It's Zoe's wedding day. She's about to marry Jamie, the love of her life. Then a phone call comes out of the blue, with the news that her mum Gina has been arrested. Zoe must make an impossible decision: should she leave her own wedding to help?Zoe hasn't seen Gina for years, blaming her for the secret that she's been running from ever since she was sixteen. Now, Gina is back in her life, but she's very different to the mum Zoe remembers. Slowly but surely, Gina is losing her memory.As she struggles to cope with Gina's illness, can Zoe face up to the terrible events of years ago and find her way back to the people she loves?A Life Without You is a stirring and poignant novel about the power of the past - and the possibilities of the future.**What readers are saying about A Life Without You:**'A story that will evoke every emotion that lurks within your heart and pull each string firmly. Devastating is the perfect word, yet it is also beautiful and passionate and exquisitely written.' 'Superbly written. Tender & poignant. Five star read.''I loved A Life Without You! Snotty tears, but a smile on my face and also in my heart. Just perfect.' 'Katie Marsh has touched my heart. She is a hidden gem within the world of fiction and I cannot recommend her books enough. I will be shouting about this book to everyone who will listen. A Life Without You is not to missed.''It made me sob, and it made me smile. Gorgeous, just gorgeous, beautiful and evocative novel about love, hope and forgiveness.''Makes you feel warm inside, but also absolutely breaks your heart... totally beautiful and uplifting.''A stunning and compassionate story of family, forgiveness and unconditional love... will remain forever in my heart'

Hodder Paperbacks

My Everything: the uplifting #1 bestseller

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh

'Devastatingly good - wonderfully warm, heartbreakingly real and completely uplifting' Miranda DickinsonOn the day Hannah is finally going to tell her husband she's leaving him, he has a stroke . . . and life changes in an instant.Tom's only 32. Now he can't walk or cut up his own food, let alone use his phone or take her in his arms. And Hannah's trapped. She knows she has to care for her husband, the very same man she was ready to walk away from.But with the time and fresh perspective he's been given, Tom re-evaluates his life, and becomes determined to save his marriage. Can he once again become the man his wife fell in love with, or has he left it too late?My Everything is an unputdownable debut novel. It will make you cry, laugh, and stop to think about what's really important in life.

Hodder Paperbacks

Before I Fall

Lauren Oliver
Authors:
Lauren Oliver