Jojo Moyes - The Ship of Brides - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848947474
    • Publication date:07 Jul 2010

The Ship of Brides

By Jojo Moyes

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The moving and gorgeously written 2005 novel from Jojo Moyes, author of the bestsellers Me Before You and The Girl You Left Behind. Based on a true story.

The 2005 novel The Ship of Brides by Jojo Moyes, the bestselling author of Me Before You and two-time winner of the RNA Novel of the Year award.

'A scintillating novel of friendship, family and love.' - Woman & Home

Australia, 1946. 650 brides are departing for England to meet the men they married in wartime. But instead of the luxury liner they were expecting, they find themselves aboard an aircraft carrier, alongside a thousand men.

On the sun-baked decks, old loves and past promises become distant memories, and tensions are stretched to the limit as brides and husbands change their minds. And for Frances Mackenzie, one bride in particular, it soon becomes clear that sometimes the journey is more important than the destination.

Biographical Notes

Jojo Moyes is a novelist and a journalist. Her books include the bestsellers The Girl You Left Behind, The One Plus One, Me Before You and After You and short story collection Paris for One and Other Stories. Her novels have been translated into forty-four languages and have hit the Number One spot in twelve countries. She is one of the few authors to have had three novels on The New York Times bestseller list at the same time.

Me Before You has now sold over twelve million copies worldwide and was adapted into a major film starring Sam Claflin (The Hunger Games) and Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones). Jojo lives in Essex with her husband and their three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340960387
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2008
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Wonderfully romantic and moving. — Daily Mail
Gloriously entertaining. — Mirror
A scintillating novel of friendship, family and love. — Woman & Home
Hodder & Stoughton

Broken Things

Lauren Oliver
Authors:
Lauren Oliver
John Murray

Untitled Novel 1

John Simpson
Authors:
John Simpson

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser
John Murray

Speak No Evil

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips

'Funny, bittersweet and touching. Will resonate with anyone who is "trying"' - MARIAN KEYES*********Written by Grazia magazine's Features Director, this is a novel about a woman who is trying, and so far failing, to conceive.A hugely funny, searingly honest comedy about to expect when you're not expecting.Olivia and Felix are trying for a baby. They even moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby? This is standout, intelligently written commercial fiction for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Dawn O'Porter's The Cows and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You. (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

A Farewell to France

Noel Barber
Authors:
Noel Barber

Sonia Riccardi, impetuous and sensual, is a woman no man could resist. And Larry Astell, heir to a champagne fortune, knows their passion is the most important part of his life. Until war places in jeopardy all they held dear - love, family and country.From the Left Bank of the 1930s to Nazi-occupied Paris, A FAREWELL TO FRANCE is a magnificent epic, played out against the tumultuous background of the time: a decadent French government, the life of a foreign correspondent, the grandeur of the champagne regions and the glory of the French Resistance.

Hodder Paperbacks

Here We Are Now

Jasmine Warga
Authors:
Jasmine Warga
Hodder Paperbacks

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

'Davis's prose is a lively joy, and Flavia's Rome is sinister and gloriously real' The Times on SaturdayFlavia Albia's day-old marriage is in trouble - her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds. So when Palace officials ask her to expose a traitor in their midst she is ready for the task. Ever since the Emperor Nero committed suicide in AD 68, Rome has been haunted by reports that he is actually alive and ready to reclaim his throne. Two Nero pretenders have emerged from the East and met grisly fates. But now a new pretender has been smuggled into Rome by the traitor. Flavia must negotiate with spies, dodge assassins and reveal this third Nero before he can make his move. Will she act in time or will Rome once more be plunged into civil war?

Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King

In this spectacular father/son collaboration, Stephen King and Owen King tell the highest of high-stakes stories: what might happen if women disappeared from the world of men?All around the world, something is happening to women when they fall asleep; they become shrouded in a cocoon-like gauze. If awakened, if the gauze wrapping their bodies is disturbed, the women become feral and spectacularly violent...In the small town of Dooling, West Virginia, the virus is spreading through a women's prison, affecting all the inmates except one. Soon, word spreads about the mysterious Evie, who seems able to sleep - and wake. Is she a medical anomaly or a demon to be slain? The abandoned men, left to their increasingly primal devices, are fighting each other, while Dooling's Sheriff, Lila Norcross, is just fighting to stay awake.And the sleeping women are about to open their eyes to a new world altogether...

Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

*A Richard & Judy Book Club Pick 2017 - 'One of the most charming novels either of us has read. Don't lose it. Keep it' Richard & Judy**The perfect holiday read, recommended by thousands of readers**One of the Mail on Sunday's 'Best books for the beach this summer'*Meet the 'Keeper of Lost Things'...Once a celebrated author of short stories now in his twilight years, Anthony Peardew has spent half his life collecting lost objects, trying to atone for a promise broken many years before.Realising he is running out of time, he leaves his house and all its lost treasures to his assistant Laura, the one person he can trust to fulfil his legacy and reunite the thousands of objects with their rightful owners.But the final wishes of the 'Keeper of Lost Things' have unforeseen repercussions which trigger a most serendipitous series of encounters...'The first book I read in 2017 - and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I'll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles' Daily MailAnd if you loved The Keeper of Lost Things, don't miss Ruth Hogan's second novel The Particular Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes, now available for pre-order

John Murray

No Dominion

Louise Welsh
Authors:
Louise Welsh

'A vivid, action-packed journey through a post-apocalyptic world. Terrifying and touching in equal measure, the novel is a love story, an adventure, a road movie, a family drama and a murder mystery rolled into one' The Times Scotland'No Dominion gripped me and broke my heart in equal measure' Val McDermidIt is seven years since the Sweats wiped out most of the world's population. But for those who survived the outbreak, life has gone on. Stevie Flint and Magnus McFall are now part of a small community on the Orkney Islands, without mobile phones or TV, without antibiotics or fuel, who are trying to rebuild the rudiments of democratic civilisation.When three strangers arrive on the islands, however, they upset the fragile community, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface. Realising that a number of the islands' young are missing, Stevie and Magnus set off on a journey to the mainland to get them back - a mainland swarming with outlaw gangs, and where self-appointed autocrats and religious fanatics hold sway . . . Thrilling and breathless, No Dominion asks what happens when the scaffolding of civilisation collapses, and how far we'd go to preserve our humanity.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall
Sceptre

Before Everything

Victoria Redel
Authors:
Victoria Redel
John Murray

A History of Running Away

Paula McGrath
Authors:
Paula McGrath

Book of the Year in the Irish Times'A wonderful storyteller' Joseph O'ConnorIn 1982 Jasmine wants to box, but in 1980s Ireland boxing is illegal for girls.In 2012 a gynaecologist agonises about a job offer which would mean escape from the increasingly fraught atmosphere of her Dublin hospital. But what about her mother, stuck in a nursing home?And in Maryland Ali, whose mother has recently died, hooks up with a biker gang to escape from grandparents she didn't know she had.Gradually revealing the unexpected connections between the three women, A History of Running Away is a brilliantly written novel about running away, growing up and finding out who you are.

Sceptre

In Every Moment We Are Still Alive

Tom Malmquist
Authors:
Tom Malmquist
Hodder Paperbacks

Small Great Things

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Sceptre

The Barrowfields

Phillip Lewis
Authors:
Phillip Lewis

'A beautiful, evocative novel with an amazing sense of place and an understated, dark sensibility. A brilliant debut. I loved it!' Jenni Fagan, author of The PanopticonMesmeric in its prose and mythic in its sweep, THE BARROWFIELDS is an extraordinary debut about the darker side of devotion, the limits of forgiveness, and the reparative power of shared pasts.Just before Henry Aster's birth, his father, a frustrated novelist and lawyer, reluctantly returns to the remote North Carolina mountains in which he was improbably raised and installs his young family in a gothic mansion - nicknamed 'the vulture house' - worthy of his hero Edgar Allan Poe. There, Henry grows up under the desk of this fierce and brilliant man. But when a death in the family tips his father toward a fearsome unravelling, what was once a young son's reverence is poisoned, and Henry flees, not to return until years later when he, too, must go home again.