Jojo Moyes - The Peacock Emporium - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848947498
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2008

The Peacock Emporium

By Jojo Moyes

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A charming and multi-generational novel from the bestselling author of Me Before You and The Girl You Left Behind.

The 2004 novel The Peacock Emporium by Jojo Moyes, the bestselling author of Me Before You and two-time winner of the RNA Novel of the Year award.

'A charming and enchanting read.' - Company

Athene Forster embraced the Sixties like few others. Nicknamed the Last Deb, she was spoiled, beautiful, and out of control. And within two years of her marriage, the rumours had begun again.

Thirty-five years on, Suzanna Peacock finds refuge from her mother's shameful legacy in her shop, the Peacock Emporium. Within its magical walls she discovers not just friendship, and an escape from her troubled marriage, but the first real passion of her life.

But the spectre of her mother still haunts Suzanna, setting in place a series of dramatic events. Only by confronting the past will she finally be able to face the future . . .

Biographical Notes

Jojo Moyes is a novelist and a journalist. Her books include the bestsellers The Girl You Left Behind, The One Plus One, Me Before You and After You and short story collection Paris for One and Other Stories. Her novels have been translated into forty-four languages and have hit the Number One spot in twelve countries. She is one of the few authors to have had three novels on The New York Times bestseller list at the same time.

Me Before You has now sold over twelve million copies worldwide and was adapted into a major film starring Sam Claflin (The Hunger Games) and Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones). Jojo lives in Essex with her husband and their three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340960370
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2008
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
A charming and enchanting read. — Company
Even if the sun isn't shining, this book will make you feel like it is. — Good Housekeeping
Wonderful, romantic and moving. — Daily Mail
Mulholland Books

New psychological thriller

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Sceptre

Claudia

Anthony Trevelyan
Authors:
Anthony Trevelyan

When Samson Glaze - former wild-haired nomad, now head of a multi-million pound solar power corporation - turns up in Claudia Talwar's office in Manchester after fifteen years, she has to quash the impulse to jump into his arms. Unexpected father figure throughout her precarious childhood, he was the only friend she's ever known - only person she's ever loved. So when Samson asks her to help him find his son Reggie, Claudia agrees. But it turns out that Reggie has joined a group - a cult? - called Tarantula. And as Dia presses further into Tarantula's mazy interior, events take stranger and stranger turns, and it soon becomes clear that the web she finds herself in is being spun by sinister forces...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Identicals

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
John Murray

Falling Short

Alexandra Coulton
Authors:
Alexandra Coulton

Pilgrim's father disappeared without trace when she was five.Now, her mother is slipping away, and she is starting to feel herself vanishing too.She needs to talk to somebody. Ideally, to Jackson: fellow teacher, confidante, dedicated hedonist, erstwhile best friend.Only they haven't spoken since what happened between them that night in the summer.And here she is, at thirty-bloody-nine, surrounded by school-girls, with their sugary perfume and flying pony-tails, breathless with money and freedom and the unmarked years ahead of them.And there is so much that is missing, so much that needs to be found . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Moscow Deception

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

From Twinkle, With Love

Sandhya Menon
Authors:
Sandhya Menon

The next heartwarming YA romcom from Sandhya Menon, author of the hotly anticipated When Dimple Met Rishi.'Menon wrote an utterly delightful novel and broke my heart by writing an ending because I want nothing more than to keep reading about Dimple and Rishi forever . . . I'm looking forward to it being a huge hit of 2017.' Book Riot on When Dimple Met RishiSandhya Menon's joyfully refreshing and uplifting writing is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon.

Hodder Paperbacks

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood

IT'S NEVER TOO LATE TO BLOOMPeople aren't sure what to make of Susan Green - family and colleagues find her prickly and hard to understand, but Susan makes perfect sense to herself, and that's all she needs. At forty-five, she thinks her life is perfect, as long as she avoids her feckless brother, Edward - a safe distance away in Birmingham. She has a London flat which is ideal for one; a job that suits her passion for logic; and a personal arrangement providing cultural and other, more intimate, benefits. Yet suddenly faced with the loss of her mother and, implausibly, with the possibility of becoming a mother herself, Susan's greatest fear is being realised: she is losing control.When she discovers that her mother's will inexplicably favours her brother, Susan sets out to prove that Edward and his equally feckless friend Rob somehow coerced this dubious outcome. But when problems closer to home become increasingly hard to ignore, she finds help in the most unlikely of places.This sparkling debut is a breath of fresh air with real heart and a powerful emotional punch. In Susan we find a character as exasperating and delightful as The Rosie Project's Don Tillman. An uncompromising feminist and a fierce fighter, it's a joy to watch her bloom.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell
Hodder Paperbacks

Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe: a gorgeously feel-good Christmas romance

Melissa de la Cruz
Authors:
Melissa de la Cruz
Sceptre

Evening Primrose

Kopano Matlwa
Authors:
Kopano Matlwa

A powerful and timely novel from 'South Africa's Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie' (Bookseller) .'Heart-wrenching' Grazia .With urgency and tenderness Evening Primrose explores issues of race, gender and the medical profession through the eyes of a junior doctor.When Masechaba finally achieves her childhood dream of becoming a doctor, her ambition is tested as she faces the stark reality of South Africa's public healthcare system. As she leaves her deeply religious mother and makes friends with the politically-minded Nyasha, Masechaba's eyes are opened to the rising xenophobic tension that carries echoes of apartheid.Battling her inner demons, she must decide if she should take a stand to help her best friend, even it comes at a high personal cost.'The best kind of political novel, its turns of emotion are virtuosic. Matlwa's voice is one we need.' Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of Harmless Like You'Slices straight to the heart, deft and clean' Laura Jane Williams, author of Becoming 'A daring and uniquely South African story' Marie Claire, South Africa on Coconut

John Murray

Yuki Means Happiness

Alison Jean Lester
Authors:
Alison Jean Lester

Diana is young and uneasy in a new relationship when she leaves America and moves halfway around the world to Tokyo seeking adventure. In Japan she takes a job as a nanny to two-year-old Yuki Yoshimura and sets about adapting to a routine of English practice, ballet and swimming lessons, and Japanese cooking.But as Diana becomes increasingly attached to Yuki she also becomes aware that everything in the Yoshimura household isn't as it first seemed. Before long, she must ask herself if she is brave enough to put everything on the line for the child under her care, confronting her own demons at every step of the way. Yuki Means Happiness is a rich and powerfully illuminating portrait of the intense relationship between a young woman and her small charge, as well as one woman's journey to discover her true self.

Sceptre

A Man Called Ove

Fredrik Backman
Authors:
Fredrik Backman

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US.New York Times bestseller'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the YearAt first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...

Hodder Paperbacks

This Beautiful Life: the uplifting page turner of the summer

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: the perfect escapist read for hot, sunny days

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

Gentian Hill

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Unable to bear the prospect of a life at sea, young Anthony O'Connell deserts his ship at Torquay and escapes into the Devonshire countryside under a new name. When Stella Sprigg, adopted daughter of a local farmer, encounters 'Zachary', the pair instantly know they are destined to be together. Intertwined with the local legend of St. Michael's Chapel, Stella and Zachary's story takes them from the secluded Devonshire valley to the perilous Mediterranean seas and finally to the poverty and squalor of eighteenth-century London.

Hodder & Stoughton

Towers in the Mist

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

Winter Storms

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Gather under the mistletoe for one last round of carolling with the Quinn family in this heartwarming conclusion to Elin Hilderbrand's bestselling Winter Street Trilogy.Some of the stormy weather of the past few seasons seems to have finally lifted for the Quinns. Kevin is about to tie the knot with Isabelle, and there's hopeful news about Bart, who has been captured by enemy forces in Afghanistan.That doesn't mean there aren't a few dark clouds on the horizon as the family juggle health scares and love triangles. But if there's one holiday that brings the Quinn family together, it's Christmas. And this year promises to be a celebration unlike any other as they prepare to host Kevin and Isabelle's wedding at the inn.But as the special day approaches, a historic once-in-a-century blizzard bears down on Nantucket, threatening to keep the Quinns away from the place - and the people - they love most. Before the snow clears, the Quinns will have to survive enough upheavals to send anyone running for the spiked eggnog, in this touching novel that proves that when the holidays roll around, you can always go home again.

Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas on Nantucket

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand