Jojo Moyes - The Peacock Emporium - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848947498
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2008

The Peacock Emporium

By Jojo Moyes

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A charming and multi-generational novel from the bestselling author of Me Before You and The Girl You Left Behind.

The 2004 novel The Peacock Emporium by Jojo Moyes, the bestselling author of Me Before You and two-time winner of the RNA Novel of the Year award.

'A charming and enchanting read.' - Company

Athene Forster embraced the Sixties like few others. Nicknamed the Last Deb, she was spoiled, beautiful, and out of control. And within two years of her marriage, the rumours had begun again.

Thirty-five years on, Suzanna Peacock finds refuge from her mother's shameful legacy in her shop, the Peacock Emporium. Within its magical walls she discovers not just friendship, and an escape from her troubled marriage, but the first real passion of her life.

But the spectre of her mother still haunts Suzanna, setting in place a series of dramatic events. Only by confronting the past will she finally be able to face the future . . .

Biographical Notes

Jojo Moyes is a novelist and a journalist. Her books include the bestsellers The Girl You Left Behind, The One Plus One, Me Before You and After You and short story collection Paris for One and Other Stories. Her novels have been translated into forty-four languages and have hit the Number One spot in twelve countries. She is one of the few authors to have had three novels on The New York Times bestseller list at the same time.

Me Before You has now sold over twelve million copies worldwide and was adapted into a major film starring Sam Claflin (The Hunger Games) and Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones). Jojo lives in Essex with her husband and their three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340960370
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2008
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
A charming and enchanting read. — Company
Even if the sun isn't shining, this book will make you feel like it is. — Good Housekeeping
Wonderful, romantic and moving. — Daily Mail
Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Christmas has arrived in the little village of Welford. The scent of hot roasted chestnuts is in the air, and a layer of frost sparkles on the ground. This year, vet Mandy Hope is looking forward to the holidays. Her animal rescue centre, Hope Meadows, is up and running - and she's finally going on a date with Jimmy Marsh, owner of the local outward bound centre. The advent of winter sees all sorts of animals cross Mandy's path, from goats named Rudolph to baby donkeys - and even a pair of reindeer! But when a mysterious local starts causing trouble, Mandy's plans for the centre come under threat. She must call on Jimmy and her fellow villagers to put a stop to the stranger's antics and ensure that Hope Meadows' first Christmas is one to remember. One thing's for certain: this Christmas, there'll be animal escapades, kisses under the mistletoe...and plenty of festive cheer for all.Hope Meadows is based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Holly Martin and Cathy Bramley. **Praise for the Hope Meadows series**'A stunning, emotional, beautiful tale... I cannot recommend it highly enough!' Books of All Kinds'An adorable read [with] a real sense of village community' Bookworms and Shutterbugs'Just the right amount of nostalgia... wonderful and very poignant' - The World is a Book Blog'Incredibly lovely' - Rachel's Random Reads'Will leave you feeling cosy and uplifted' - Goodreads 'I had tears in my eyes at the first chapter' - Goodreads'Full of charm' Amazon

Hodder & Stoughton

When You Read This

Mary Adkins
Authors:
Mary Adkins
John Murray

Sight

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass
Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn

'Daniel stared at the white-ish brain matter clinging to the haft and clogging up the eye of the needle. Can it really be as easy as that - to scrape out someone's depression, their melancholy, their anxiety? To scrape out someone's emotions?'Set in Northfield, an understaffed military psychiatric hospital immediately before the NHS is founded, Walking Wounded is the story of a doctor and his patient: David Reece, a young journalist-to be whose wartime experiences in Burma have come back to haunt him violently; and Daniel Carter, one of the senior psychiatrists, a man who is fighting his own battles as well as those of his patients'.Based closely on extensive research and inspired by the author's own experience treating victims of PTSD, this moving and impressive debut explores violence and how much harm it does to those forced to inflict it in the name of war. It also captures the dilemmas of the medics themselves as they attempt to 'fix' their patients, each of whom raise the question of what has happened to their humanity, what can be done to help them, and what we are willing to sacrifice in the name of healing.

Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips
Hodder Paperbacks

Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe: a gorgeously feel-good Christmas romance

Melissa de la Cruz
Authors:
Melissa de la Cruz

Darcy Fitzwilliam simply doesn't have time to fall in love. But this Christmas, a kiss under the mistletoe will change everything...As partner at a major New York hedge fund, Darcy's only serious relationship is with her work cellphone. The truth is, she's too busy being successful and making money to have time for Christmas... let alone to allow romance into her life. But this year Darcy is coming home to Pemberley, Ohio, for the holidays. There, she runs into her old neighbour and high-school foe Luke Bennet - the oldest of five wayward brothers. When Darcy's enmity with Luke is re-opened, along with a hefty dollop of sexual chemistry... well, sparks are sure to fly. Can Darcy fall in love - or will her pride, and Luke's prejudice against big-city girls, stand in their way?This sparkling retelling of Pride and Prejudice will warm your heart over the festive season.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club: the perfect laugh-out-loud romantic comedy

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Two Roads

The Railwayman's Wife

Ashley Hay
Authors:
Ashley Hay
Hodder Paperbacks

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley
Sceptre

Evening Primrose: a heart-wrenching novel for our times

Kopano Matlwa
Authors:
Kopano Matlwa
Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall

The gripping summer read perfect for fans of Megan Abbott's The Fever and Louise O'Neill's Asking For It . 'Prods at the dark underbelly of society.' Red Best Summer Beach ReadsA Prima Best Summer Read'Compelling story characters readers will recognize and come to love and writing that makes it effortless to turn page after page.' Vancouver SunTHE BEST KIND OF PEOPLE is a page-turning Canadian bestseller about a family on the brink of collapse. It gives no easy answers, but once you stay up all night reading it, you'll want to talk about it with everyone you know.What if someone you trusted was accused of the unthinkable?George Woodbury is a teacher at a prestigious Connecticut private school. He is voted Teacher of the Year every year, after he rescued the school from a gunman attack. On his daughter's 17th birthday this beloved husband and father, is arrested for sexual impropriety with teenage girls on a skiing trip. His wife, Joan, vaults between denial and rage as the community she loved turns on her. Their daughter, Sadie, a popular over-achieving high school senior, becomes a social pariah. Their son, Andrew, a lawyer, assists in his father's defense, while wrestling with his own unhappy memories of his teen years coming out as gay. With George awaiting trial, how do the members of his family pick up the pieces and keep living their lives? How do they defend someone they love while wrestling with the possibility of his guilt?'Whittall places the reader right at the centre of their pain. It's the best depiction of female suffering I've read since Jane Smiley eloquently tackled sexual abuse in A Thousand Acres.' Toronto Star

Hodder Paperbacks

The Wind Off the Small Isles and The Lost One

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley
Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale

'Langdale is excellent . . . The Brittle Star is a great beginning to what I hope is a long and productive career' GuardianPerfect for fans of Cormac McCarthy and True Grit, The Brittle Star is the epic story of a young man's unquenchable spirit.When his mother's ranch is attacked, sixteen-year-old John Evert is wounded and left to die. But John Evert is no ordinary young man. He's a frontiersman's son, a rancher who's lived his whole life in the untamed Southern California wilderness of 1860. In a journey that will take him from the bustling young city of Los Angeles to Texas to Missouri and back, to the front lines of the American Civil War and home again, John Evert will learn the cost of vengeance and the price of forgiveness.

Sceptre

Harmless Like You: Shortlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2017

Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Authors:
Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Empathy Problem

Gavin Extence
Authors:
Gavin Extence
Sceptre

Smiley's People

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

The murdered man had been an agent - once, long ago. But George Smiley's superiors at the Secret Service want to see the crime buried, not solved. Smiley will not leave it at that, not when it might lead him all the way to Karla, the elusive Soviet spymaster . . .Smiley's People is a thrilling confrontation between one of the most famous spies in all fiction and his Cold War rival, Karla. Like Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and The Honourable Schoolboy, it is as tense and unforgettable as only le Carré's novels can be.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Honourable Schoolboy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

George Smiley has become chief of the battered British Secret Service. The betrayals of a Soviet double agent have riddled the spy network. Smiley wants revenge. He chooses his weapon: Jerry Westerby, 'The Honourable Schoolboy', a passionate lover and a seasoned, reckless secret agent. Westerby is pointed east, to Hong Kong. So begins the terrifying game ...