Richard Blake - The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848948280
    • Publication date:21 Jan 2010

The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The second book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

If you loved Gladiator and Spartacus, you'll love the second book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

610 AD.
Invaded by Persians and barbarians, the Byzantine Empire is tearing itself apart in civil war. Phocas, the maniacally bloodthirsty Emperor, holds Constantinople by a reign of terror. The uninvaded provinces are turning one at a time to the usurper, Heraclius.

Just as the battle for the Empire approaches its climax, Aelric of England turns up in Constantinople. Blackmailed by the Papacy to leave off his career of lechery and market-rigging in Rome, he thinks his job is to gather texts for a semi-comprehensible dispute over the Nature of Christ. Only gradually does he realise he is a pawn in a much larger game.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340951156
  • Publication date: 21 Jan 2010
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Vivid characters, devious plotting and buckets of gore are enhanced by his unfamiliar choice of period. Nasty, fun and educational. — Daily Telegraph
He knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed. — Mail on Sunday
A rollicking and raunchy read . . . Anyone who enjoys their history with large dollops of action, sex, intrigue and, above all, fun will absolutely love this novel. — Historical Novels Review
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

Mulholland Books

Her Beautiful Monster

Adi Tantimedh
Authors:
Adi Tantimedh
Mulholland Books

Red Right Hand

Chris Holm
Authors:
Chris Holm

NOMINATED FOR THE 2017 ANTHONY AWARD FOR BEST NOVELWhen the good guys can't save you, call a bad guy.A family's holiday video goes viral when it captures the moment of a terrorist attack...In the background, it reveals a witness long thought dead.The organisation the man agreed to testify against will stop at nothing to silence him, but Special Agent Charlie Thompson won't let that happen. Charlie turns to Michael Hendricks. He has history with those threatening the witness's life and getting involved will lead him right to them. All he has to do is enter an active crime scene and find someone with good reason to hide. With his skills, he figures it'll be easy. But nothing about this story is what it seems... Praise for THE KILLING KIND'Roaring tough guy fun' The Sunday Times'A one-sitting, extravagant, mind-blowing reading pleasure' David Baldacci'Pure joy' New York Times Book Review

Hodder Paperbacks

The Edge of the Light

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Becca's ability to hear the broken thoughts of others has not turned out to be a fabulous gift after all. It has got in the way of her being able to function in the world normally. More seriously, it makes her think she knows things that she doesn't know at all. Becca's friends are also dealing with stressful situations and coming to terms with troubling discoveries about themselves. Seth Darrow's learning disability makes him vulnerable. The girl he loves is not what she appears to be. His grandfather might lose his property and be thrust into care. Jenn has to come to terms with her sexuality, while Derric finds out that the cover-up he has engaged in for the last ten years was never necessary in the first place. Acclaimed author Elizabeth George brings her extraordinary talents to this intriguing story that blends mystery and myth. In this final book in the Edge of Nowhere series, Becca and her friends do their best to navigate a difficult world and come to a resolution - and acceptance - of their futures.

Hodder Paperbacks

Betrayal: The Centurions I

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder Paperbacks

The Foreigner

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Daughter

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

BLOOD DAUGHTER sees the Miller sisters' loyalties put to the ultimate test in a gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Mandasue Heller. They say blood is thicker than water. That's not going to stop it being spilled. Life hasn't been easy for the Miller family. Finally, mum Babs has had one bit of luck. She plans to share the profits with her daughters. She thought they'd be pleased... But money always causes trouble, especially when it's desperately needed. Jen wants to make a better life for her kids. Tiff owes a lot of bad men a lot of money. And Dee is worried that her husband is getting back into the criminal life. As the sisters fall out, a gold bullion heist brings more opportunities - and many more dangers. None of them are giving up without a fight...

Mulholland Books

The Alienist

Caleb Carr
Authors:
Caleb Carr

The internationally bestselling historical thriller, soon to be a TV series starring Luke Evans, Dakota Fanning and Daniel Brühl.Some things never change.New York City, 1896. Hypocrisy in high places is rife, police corruption commonplace, and a brutal killer is terrorising young male prostitutes.Unfortunately for Police Commissioner Theodore Roosevelt, the psychological profiling of murderers is a practice still in its infancy, struggling to make headway against the prejudices of those who prefer the mentally ill - and the 'alienists' who treat them - to be out of sight as well as out of mind.But as the body count rises, Roosevelt swallows his doubts and turns to the eminent alienist Dr Laszlo Kreizler to put a stop to the bloody murders - giving Kreizler a chance to take him further into the dark heart of criminality, and one step closer to death.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy Book Club thriller 2017

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel

**THE COMPULSIVE AND PROVOCATIVE THRILLER THAT EVERYONE IS RAVING ABOUT - NOW A RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK**'Utterly gripping' - RICHARD AND JUDY'A must-have' - SUNDAY EXPRESS'I loved it' - SARAH HILARY'Roanoke girls never last long around here. In the end, we either run or we die.'The girls of the Roanoke family - beautiful, rich, mysterious - seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them that's never spoken. Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?This twisty, addictive novel is perfect for fans of Into the Water, The Girls and He Said/She Said.***'Fans of The Girls will love this' - RED'Remarkably assured' THE SUNDAY TIMES'A provocative thriller' TELEGRAPH'Darkly sexy' HEAT'Twisting and revelatory' WATERSTONES'Addictive' LISA HALL'SO compelling' CLAIRE DOUGLAS'Utterly captivating' KATERINA DIAMOND'Not for the faint-hearted' PRIMA'Haunting and riveting' LAURA MCHUGH'One of the best books I've read' REBECCA DONE'Stunning and gripping' LISA CUTTS'Disturbing and delicious' AVA MARSH

Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad

The extraordinary new novel from the incredible author of SOCKPUPPET. Perfect for fans of BLACK MIRROREarly one morning, blogger Alex Kubelick walks up to a total stranger and slaps him across the face. Hard.He smiles.They've both just earned Emoticoin, in a new, all-consuming game that trades real-life emotions for digital currency. Emoticoin is changing the face of the economy - but someone or something is controlling it for their own, dangerous ends.As Alex picks apart the tangled threads that hold the virtual game together she finds herself on the run from very real enemies. It seems only one person has the answers she seeks. Someone who hides behind the name 'Lucky Ghost'.But Lucky Ghost will only talk to a young hacker called Thimblerig - the online troll who's been harassing Alex for months.Will Lucky Ghost lead Alex and Thimblerig to the answers they seek - or to their deaths?

Hodder & Stoughton

Persephone

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs
Authors:
Elizabeth Cobbs

Love Hamilton: An American Musical? You'll adore The Hamilton Affair.THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWar will bring them together. Peace will tear them apart. History will make them immortal . . .Born a bastard and raised an orphan in the stifling heat of the Caribbean, Alexander Hamilton must prove his worth on the bloody battlefields of the American Revolution. A wealthy child of privilege, Elizabeth Schuyler has never wanted for anything, yet she longs for a life of so much more. When fate brings them together, a passionate, life-long love affair begins. But to Alexander, burdened by his tragic origins, matters of honour can never be forgotten. As he risks everything for the future of his bold new country, this extraordinary marriage will be tested like no other - and become forever immortalised in hearts and minds.Praise for THE HAMILTON AFFAIR:'The Hamilton novel that immediately leaps to the top of the list' Joseph J. Ellis 'A portrait of a love so deep it was able to survive betrayal and a devastatingly public scandal'Booklist'Cobbs' depiction of Hamilton will endear him in the hearts of readers' Publishers Weekly

Sceptre

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

The enduring novel by one of our greatest storytellers.George Smiley, who is a troubled man of infinite compassion, is also a single-mindedly ruthless adversary as a spy.The scene which he enters is a Cold War landscape of moles and lamplighters, scalp-hunters and pavement artists, where men are turned, burned or bought for stock. Smiley's mission is to catch a Moscow Centre mole burrowed thirty years deep into the Circus itself.

Sceptre

Smiley's People

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré
Hodder & Stoughton

The Honourable Schoolboy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

George Smiley has become chief of the battered British Secret Service. The betrayals of a Soviet double agent have riddled the spy network. Smiley wants revenge. He chooses his weapon: Jerry Westerby, 'The Honourable Schoolboy', a passionate lover and a seasoned, reckless secret agent. Westerby is pointed east, to Hong Kong. So begins the terrifying game ...