Richard Blake - The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848948280
    • Publication date:21 Jan 2010

The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The second book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

If you loved Gladiator and Spartacus, you'll love the second book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

610 AD.
Invaded by Persians and barbarians, the Byzantine Empire is tearing itself apart in civil war. Phocas, the maniacally bloodthirsty Emperor, holds Constantinople by a reign of terror. The uninvaded provinces are turning one at a time to the usurper, Heraclius.

Just as the battle for the Empire approaches its climax, Aelric of England turns up in Constantinople. Blackmailed by the Papacy to leave off his career of lechery and market-rigging in Rome, he thinks his job is to gather texts for a semi-comprehensible dispute over the Nature of Christ. Only gradually does he realise he is a pawn in a much larger game.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340951156
  • Publication date: 21 Jan 2010
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Vivid characters, devious plotting and buckets of gore are enhanced by his unfamiliar choice of period. Nasty, fun and educational. — Daily Telegraph
He knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed. — Mail on Sunday
A rollicking and raunchy read . . . Anyone who enjoys their history with large dollops of action, sex, intrigue and, above all, fun will absolutely love this novel. — Historical Novels Review
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Hodder & Stoughton

The Castle on the Hill

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Coronet

Red Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict
Two Roads

A Well-Behaved Woman

Therese Anne Fowler
Authors:
Therese Anne Fowler
Mulholland Books

The Shadows We Hide

Allen Eskens
Authors:
Allen Eskens
Two Roads

Frieda

Annabel Abbs
Authors:
Annabel Abbs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller
Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

A hot beach. A young family on holiday. A fatal moment of inattention...And now Dave Jepsom is in their lives.Dave Jepsom, with his muscles, his pale eyes, his expressionless face.He saved their child. How can they ever repay him? Especially as what he seems to want in return is everything.He's in the streets they walk down. He's at the office where they work. He's at their front door, leaning on the bell...If only they could go back. Back to when the lies were still hidden. Before the holiday, before the beach, before the moment that changed everything.Before Dave.But it's never how it starts that matters. It's always how it ends.'This class act of a novel is unputdownable.' Heat'Fabulous stuff from one of our finest thriller writers' Sunday Mirror'Sabine Durrant doesn't mess around: she's a cool, confident writer who knows exactly how to get into your psyche. Need a reminder of what makes thrillers great? Read this.' Emerald Street'An ingeniously plotted drama with an ending you won't see coming.' Good Housekeeping'I absolutely LOVED it - it's her best yet.' India Knight

Hodder & Stoughton

The Moscow Deception

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

Action-packed, fact-paced thriller perfect for fans of KAREN ROSE and the RED SPARROW movie. Clever. Cunning. Highly skilled. There's only one Bianca St. Ives. And for her enemies, that's one too many.'Move over, James Bond and Jack Reacher . . . ' Kingdom BooksBianca St. Ives - a highly skilled con-woman and thief - is in trouble. A revelation about her past has left her reeling, as well as making her the target of a network of assassins. Bianca was raised a fighter. She'll try and outsmart her pursuers, but if it's kill or be killed, she's got her finger flush against the trigger. But then Bianca's father loops her in on a job that might just do the trick: recovering a collection of heavily guarded, priceless artifacts stolen during World War II, and return it to Germany. The price paid if she succeeds - intel that could finally bring down the shadowy forces seeking to bury her for good. Faced with threats that circle closer with every move she makes, she knows the stakes have never been higher, but when you're already living on borrowed time, you have to hustle if you want to live to see tomorrow.ORDER THE NEXT IN THE SERIES, THE FIFTH DOCTRINE, NOW

Hodder & Stoughton

Phoebe

Paula Gooder
Authors:
Paula Gooder
John Murray

Codename Villanelle

Luke Jennings
Authors:
Luke Jennings

The basis for KILLING EVE, now a major BBC TV series, starring Sandra Oh, directed by Phoebe Waller-Bridge'Gloriously exciting' MetroShe is the perfect assassin.A Russian orphan, saved from the death penalty for the brutal revenge she took on her gangster father's killers.Ruthlessly trained. Given a new life. New names, new faces - whichever fits.Her paymasters call themselves The Twelve. But she knows nothing of them. Konstantin is the man who saved her, and the one she answers to.She is Villanelle. Without conscience. Without guilt. Without weakness.Eve Polastri is the woman who hunts her. MI5, until one error of judgment costs her everything.Then stopping a ruthless assassin becomes more than her job. It becomes personal.Originally published as ebook singles: Codename Villanelle, Hollowpoint, Shanghai and Odessa.Villanelle: No Tomorrow is available for pre-order now!Praise for Killing Eve TV series'A dazzling thriller . . . mightily entertaining' Guardian 'Entertaining, clever and darkly comic' New York Times

Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Mother

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: CONSPIRACIES OF ROME, THE TERROR OF CONSTANTINOPLE AND THE BLOOD OF ALEXANDRIA. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

Golden Son

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown

Ender's Game meets The Hunger Games in this, the second in an extraordinary trilogy from an incredible new voice.'I'm still playing games. This is just the deadliest yet.' Darrow is a rebel forged by tragedy. For years he and his fellow Reds worked the mines, toiling to make the surface of Mars inhabitable. They were, they believed, mankind's last hope. Until Darrow discovered that it was all a lie, and that the Red were nothing more than unwitting slaves to an elitist ruling class, the Golds, who had been living on Mars in luxury for generations. In RED RISING, Darrow infiltrated Gold society, to fight in secret for a better future for his people. Now fully embedded amongst the Gold ruling class, Darrow continues his dangerous work to bring them down from within. It's a journey that will take him further than he's ever been before - but is Darrow truly willing to pay the price that rebellion demands?Hic sunt leones.A life-or-death tale of vengeance with an unforgettable hero at its heart, Golden Son guarantees Pierce Brown's continuing status as one of fiction's most exciting new voices.

Hodder & Stoughton

Afraid

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller
Hodder Paperbacks

Our Lizzie

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

They say you only regret the things you don't do . . .Lizzie Kershaw is an independent spirit; ever since her father's death she has had to be a survivor. Home life is harsh, though, and desperate to escape it, she makes an ill-advised marriage. But she discovers all-too-quickly that she's married a selfish and violent man. His beatings never seem to stop and she soon comes to a decision: she must run far, far away.With the help of some suffragettes she escapes to Manchester, where she finds work in a munitions factory - she is finally the independent woman she has always longed to be. But her husband, whose cruelty knows no bounds, tracks her down and drag her back home to more beatings than ever.But when his violence causes her to lose the one thing she's always wanted, Lizzie knows she must find the strength to make the changes in her life that are so sorely needed.*******************What readers are saying about OUR LIZZIE'I'd recommend this book to all saga lovers' - 5 stars'Another fantastic read . . . It made me laugh and it made me cry . . . Another page turner' - 5 stars'Brilliant series of books. Lovely stories. Lovely characters' - 5 stars