Richard Blake - The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848948280
    • Publication date:21 Jan 2010

The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The second book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

If you loved Gladiator and Spartacus, you'll love the second book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

610 AD.
Invaded by Persians and barbarians, the Byzantine Empire is tearing itself apart in civil war. Phocas, the maniacally bloodthirsty Emperor, holds Constantinople by a reign of terror. The uninvaded provinces are turning one at a time to the usurper, Heraclius.

Just as the battle for the Empire approaches its climax, Aelric of England turns up in Constantinople. Blackmailed by the Papacy to leave off his career of lechery and market-rigging in Rome, he thinks his job is to gather texts for a semi-comprehensible dispute over the Nature of Christ. Only gradually does he realise he is a pawn in a much larger game.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340951156
  • Publication date: 21 Jan 2010
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Vivid characters, devious plotting and buckets of gore are enhanced by his unfamiliar choice of period. Nasty, fun and educational. — Daily Telegraph
He knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed. — Mail on Sunday
A rollicking and raunchy read . . . Anyone who enjoys their history with large dollops of action, sex, intrigue and, above all, fun will absolutely love this novel. — Historical Novels Review
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Mulholland Books

The Prometheus Man

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon

A man with no identity... hunting a man without limits.When a pile of bodies is found in Paris, CIA Agent Tom Blake hustles his way onto a major case: tracking a man with enhanced abilities, the test subject of a secret government program. There's just one problem: the man using Agent Blake's identity is not Agent Blake. He's Tom Reese. Reese is searching for his brother's killer. He stole Agent Blake's identity two months ago and has bluffed his way onto the team investigating his only lead. But his time as a CIA agent is accelerating toward its expiration date. Soon the CIA will find out that Agent Blake is in two places at once. Soon the augmented man will come looking for him. And soon both will discover that Tom Reese carries a secret even he doesn't know about.He is the last test subject of Project Prometheus.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs
Authors:
Elizabeth Cobbs
Hodder & Stoughton

Why Did You Lie?

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Sister

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Book 1 in a series following one family over forty years on an East London estate, BLOOD SISTER is non-stop drama, perfect for fans of Jessie Keane and Mandasue Heller. 'A gripping and thrilling read by a wonderful lady and fab author' Kimberley ChambersThere are two ways out of Essex Lane Estate, better known as The Devil. You make good, or you turn bad. Jen Miller is determined not to make the same mistakes her mother did. She's waiting to find herself a good job and a decent man. Her younger sister Tiff is running errands for a gangster and looking for any opportunity for fun and profit. But she might just be in over her head...The choices you make and the plans you have don't always turn out like you expect. Especially if you live on The Devil's Estate. When their paths cross with the unstoppable Dee - a woman with her own agenda - Jen and Tiff will learn that lesson the hard way.At least they can rely on each other. Can't they?

Hodder & Stoughton

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

When the body of a young girl is found in a remote countryside lane, evidence suggests she was drugged, abused and thrown from a moving van - before being beaten to death. While DI Annie Cabbot investigates the circumstances in which a 14-year-old could possibly fall victim to such a crime, newly promoted Detective Superintendent Alan Banks must do the same - but the crime Banks is investigating is the coldest of cases. Fifty years ago Linda Palmer was attacked by celebrity entertainer Danny Caxton, yet no investigation ever took place. Now Caxton stands accused at the centre of a historical abuse investigation and it's Banks's first task as superintendent to find out the truth.As more women step forward with accounts of Caxton's manipulation, Banks must piece together decades-old evidence. With his investigation uncovering things from the past that would rather stay hidden, he will be led down a path even darker than the one he set out to investigate . . .

Two Roads

The Words In My Hand

Guinevere Glasfurd
Authors:
Guinevere Glasfurd
Coronet

Hellfire

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder Paperbacks

A Time to Remember

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

1945 - the war in Europe is over. It should be a time of utter joy and celebration.Most women can't wait for their men to return, but in the small town of Rivenshaw in Lancashire, Judith Crossley fears having her husband back in the house. He'd grown into a bully and a drunkard, and on the occasions he'd come home from leave, he'd hit her. He wasn't a good father, either. Luckily Judith has found an unlikely ally, a friend to turn to - Maynard Esher, from an old aristocratic family on the other side of town. But Judith knows that when her husband returns, she and her children will be back in the firing line again. She decides that for the children's sake, she must leave her husband. But with the house rented in his name and other accommodation scarce, where on earth can they go...?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: CONSPIRACIES OF ROME, THE TERROR OF CONSTANTINOPLE AND THE BLOOD OF ALEXANDRIA. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: THE SWORD OF DAMASCUS, THE GHOSTS OF ATHENS and THE CURSE OF BABYLON. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder & Stoughton

Finders Keepers

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Theodore Boone: The Fugitive

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

Settling Accounts: In at the Death

Harry Turtledove
Authors:
Harry Turtledove

In the fourth volume of the Settling Accounts sequence it is 1945, and the war between the northern and southern American states that began in 1861 ends at last, as the most inventive and enthralling alternate-history series of our time comes to its surprising conclusion.Victory seems assured as the United States of America drive deep into Confederate States territory, uncovering shocking death camps as they go. But both sides in this war have been working on unimaginably powerful new weapons. Can a new kind of bomb save the Confederate States from defeat at the eleventh hour?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Eagle's Vengeance: Empire VI

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Mulholland Books

What Ever Happened to Baby Jane?

Henry Farrell
Authors:
Henry Farrell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Mulholland Books

Under Your Skin

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

This morning, I found a body.Soon the police will arrest me for murder.And after that my life will fall apart.Gaby Mortimer is the woman who has it all. But everything changes when she finds a body on the common near her home. Because the evidence keeps leading back to her. And the police seem sure she's guilty...UNDER YOUR SKIN is an unpredictable, exquisitely twisty story, which proves that there are only three rules in life that mean anything: Assume nothingBelieve no oneCheck everything

Coronet

Chris Ryan Extreme: Hard Target

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

The first book in the Chris Ryan Extreme series. Former SAS Warrant Officer Joe Gardner has fought the Regiment's deadliest enemies, in some of the most desolate places on earth. And he's always won. Now he's about to face his toughest challenge yet. After losing his hand whilst on a covert operation in Afghanistan, Gardner is forced to stand down from active duty. Now he lives off the grid. But trouble finds him in the shape of a phone call from an old friend. Ex-Regiment legend John Bald is trapped in a bullet-ridden favela in Rio de Janeiro and a violent gang is out to kill him. Unless Gardner helps, Bald is a dead man. What begins as a simple rescue mission soon descends into a desperate struggle for survival as Gardner finds himself caught up in a conceit that stretches from the slums of Brazil to the frozen steppes of Siberia. Stalked by elusive MI6 agents and ruthless ex-Blades, Gardner must draw on all his training and instincts to hunt down the hardest target of all - before disaster strikes... The Chris Ryan Extreme books take you even further into the heart of the mission with more extreme action, more extreme language and more extreme pace. Like Call of Duty or Medal of Honor, you'll feel part of the team. Chris Ryan Extreme: Hard Target has previously been published as four separate shorter missions. Now in one ebook to keep you at the centre of the action.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wolf's Gold: Empire V

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder Paperbacks

The Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King