Richard Blake - The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848948280
    • Publication date:21 Jan 2010

The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The second book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

If you loved Gladiator and Spartacus, you'll love the second book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

610 AD.
Invaded by Persians and barbarians, the Byzantine Empire is tearing itself apart in civil war. Phocas, the maniacally bloodthirsty Emperor, holds Constantinople by a reign of terror. The uninvaded provinces are turning one at a time to the usurper, Heraclius.

Just as the battle for the Empire approaches its climax, Aelric of England turns up in Constantinople. Blackmailed by the Papacy to leave off his career of lechery and market-rigging in Rome, he thinks his job is to gather texts for a semi-comprehensible dispute over the Nature of Christ. Only gradually does he realise he is a pawn in a much larger game.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340951156
  • Publication date: 21 Jan 2010
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Vivid characters, devious plotting and buckets of gore are enhanced by his unfamiliar choice of period. Nasty, fun and educational. — Daily Telegraph
He knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed. — Mail on Sunday
A rollicking and raunchy read . . . Anyone who enjoys their history with large dollops of action, sex, intrigue and, above all, fun will absolutely love this novel. — Historical Novels Review
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Hodder Paperbacks

The Trespasser

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French
Sceptre

Mercury

Margot Livesey
Authors:
Margot Livesey
Hodder & Stoughton

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth: An 'alarming, compelling and coolly funny debut'

Lindsey Lee Johnson
Authors:
Lindsey Lee Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Likeness

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French
Hodder & Stoughton

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs
Authors:
Elizabeth Cobbs

Love Hamilton: An American Musical? You'll adore The Hamilton Affair.THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWar will bring them together. Peace will tear them apart. History will make them immortal . . .Born a bastard and raised an orphan in the slavery-ridden Caribbean, Alexander Hamilton must prove his worth on the bloody battlefields of the American Revolution. A wealthy child of privilege, Elizabeth Schuyler has never wanted for anything, yet she longs for a life of so much more. When fate brings them together, a passionate, life-long love affair begins. But to Alexander, burdened by his tragic origins, matters of honour can never be forgotten. As he risks everything for the future of his bold new country, this extraordinary marriage will be tested like no other - and become forever immortalised in hearts and minds.Praise for THE HAMILTON AFFAIR:'The Hamilton novel that immediately leaps to the top of the list' Joseph J. Ellis 'A portrait of a love so deep it was able to survive betrayal and a devastatingly public scandal'Booklist'Cobbs' depiction of Hamilton will endear him in the hearts of readers' Publishers Weekly

Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Sister

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley

Sunday Times top thriller read of the year 2016The rich are different. But fate is blind.Down-on-his-luck artist Scott Burroughs would usually take the ferry back to New York from Martha's Vineyard, but he is unexpectedly offered a spare seat on the Bateman family's private jet. Then just minutes after take-off, the plane crashes into the ocean and of the eight passengers and three crew, only Scott and the Batemans' small son, JJ, are left alive.The extraordinary nature of their survival, combined with the fact that David Bateman was CEO of a populist TV news channel, means that Scott will not be returning to anonymity. Along with the orphaned boy, he is engulfed by a maelstrom of speculation, which soon overtakes the official investigation into the tragedy. Who else was on the plane? Was there a bomb, a missile? Who is Scott Burroughs?As the chapters drive towards their heart-stopping conclusion, weaving with ever-increasing suspense between the shocking aftermath of the crash and the intimate backstory of each of the passengers and crew members, Noah Hawley creates a searching, thrilling novel of love, fame, wealth, art, entertainment and power.

Mulholland Books

The Exiled

Christopher Charles
Authors:
Christopher Charles

Can we ever truly run from our past?Fifteen years ago, Detective Wes Raney was a New York City Narcotics Detective with a growing drug habit of his own. While working undercover, he made decisions that ultimately cost him not only his career, but also his family. Disgraced, Raney fled New York - but his past is finally catching up with him.For more than a decade, Raney has been living in exile, the sole murder detective covering a two-hundred mile stretch of desert in New Mexico. His solitude is his salvation - but it ends when a brutal drug deal gone wrong results in a triple murder. Staged in a locked underground bunker, the crime reawakens Raney's haunted and violent past.THE EXILED follows Raney in a brilliant dual narrative that takes the reader from the crime-ridden streets of New York City in the 1980s, when crack was king, to the vast, open spaces of the American west. In both places, the only sure thing is that the choices you make will haunt you somewhere down the line...

Mulholland Books

The Alice Quentin Collection 1-3

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes
Hodder & Stoughton

A Time for Renewal

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

The second instalment in the best-selling Rivenshaw series, by beloved saga author Anna Jacobs. In the wake of World War Two, the whole country is desperate for houses, with very little money available to rebuild. In the town of Rivenshaw in Lancashire, Mayne Esher has no choice but to turn Esherwood, the war-damaged stately home which has been in his family for generations, into flats. Rebuilding Esherwood won't be easy but with Judith Crossley by his side, Mayne hopes to restore it to its former glory. First, he must open it up to some of his long-suffering army friends... and it soon becomes clear that the house isn't the only thing which needs rebuilding.Victor is fighting his late wife's rich and arrogant mother for custody of his daughter Betty. Ros has been cheated out of her money and has nowhere to go now she's been demobbed from the army. Daniel is still unsettled after his wartime experiences. He's waiting for his divorce to go through and has family problems that take him away from Rivenshaw. Francis hasn't even been in touch. On top of these troubles, saving Esherwood proves to be a difficult undertaking for Mayne and Judith. And certain people will stop at nothing to prevent it happening. In this time of renewal, will the group find a way to rebuild their lives, and the old house, as planned?A heartwarming saga of strong-spirited, resilient women in post-war Lancashire.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: CONSPIRACIES OF ROME, THE TERROR OF CONSTANTINOPLE AND THE BLOOD OF ALEXANDRIA. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

A Time to Remember

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

The Fifth Season

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
Mulholland Books

The Winter Foundlings

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

Getting into the mind of a killer isn't for the faint of heart... Psychologist Alice Quentin is running out of time to save a kidnapped child, in this thrilling novel for fans of Nicci French and Ruth Rendell. Ella Williams is ten years old. She loves her granddad and her sister and her shiny new red shoes. She's just been abducted by a killer - someone who kidnaps young girls, holds them for a few weeks then returns their bodies clothed in white foundling dresses. The crimes are clearly linked to notorious child murderer Louis Kinsella, locked away in a high-security hospital. Is it a copycat? Or is he giving someone direct orders from behind bars? To save Ella's life, psychologist Alice Quentin must form a relationship with Kinsella. But he is slow to give up his secrets, and all the while, time is running out...

Mulholland Books

The Happy Highwayman

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

In this collection of nine short stories the Saint encounters a clever detective who isn't, a well-meaning mayor, a man who likes ants and a producer who turns out, much to the Saint's surprise, to be actually quite smart.

Mulholland Books

The Saint in Miami

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris
Mulholland Books

The Saint Goes West

Leslie Charteris
Authors:
Leslie Charteris

In these three stories set in the American west, the Saint finds ways to get into his usual trouble. He travels to Arizona in pursuit of a Nazi scientist who wants to take over a ranch to mine the mercury underneath, goes to Palm Springs and gets hired as the bodyguard to an alcoholic millionaire, and almost becomes a movie star in Hollywood.

Hodder & Stoughton

It

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOVIE IN 2017 directed by Andres Muschietti and starring Bill Skarsgard as the story's central villain, Pennywise, and an ensemble of young actors including Finn Wolfhard (Stranger Things)To the children, the town was their whole world. To the adults, knowing better, Derry Maine was just their home town: familiar, well-ordered for the most part. A good place to live.It is the children who see - and feel - what makes the small town of Derry so horribly different. In the storm drains, in the sewers, IT lurks, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one's deepest dread. Sometimes IT reaches up, seizing, tearing, killing . . .Time passes and the children grow up, move away and forget. Until they are called back, once more to confront IT as IT stirs and coils in the sullen depths of their memories, reaching up again to make their past nightmares a terrible present reality.