Richard Blake - The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848948280
    • Publication date:21 Jan 2010

The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two)

By Richard Blake

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The second book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

If you loved Gladiator and Spartacus, you'll love the second book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

610 AD.
Invaded by Persians and barbarians, the Byzantine Empire is tearing itself apart in civil war. Phocas, the maniacally bloodthirsty Emperor, holds Constantinople by a reign of terror. The uninvaded provinces are turning one at a time to the usurper, Heraclius.

Just as the battle for the Empire approaches its climax, Aelric of England turns up in Constantinople. Blackmailed by the Papacy to leave off his career of lechery and market-rigging in Rome, he thinks his job is to gather texts for a semi-comprehensible dispute over the Nature of Christ. Only gradually does he realise he is a pawn in a much larger game.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340951156
  • Publication date: 21 Jan 2010
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Vivid characters, devious plotting and buckets of gore are enhanced by his unfamiliar choice of period. Nasty, fun and educational. — Daily Telegraph
He knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed. — Mail on Sunday
A rollicking and raunchy read . . . Anyone who enjoys their history with large dollops of action, sex, intrigue and, above all, fun will absolutely love this novel. — Historical Novels Review
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Hodder & Stoughton

Trembling Hills Whitney

Phyllis Whitney
Authors:
Phyllis Whitney
Hodder & Stoughton

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The first in an exciting new series from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.The murder was meant as a punishment - but what sin could justify the method?The only person who might have answers is the victim's seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she's not talking. Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children's House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn't best pleased. But she's determined to keep little Margret safe. It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He's telling a dark and secret story - but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Hodder Paperbacks

A Banquet of Consequences

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Inspector Lynley investigates the London end of an ever more darkly disturbing case, with Barbara Havers and Winston Nkata looking behind the peaceful façade of country life to discover a twisted world of desire and deceit.The suicide of William Goldacre is devastating to those left behind. But what was the cause of his tragedy and how far might the consequences reach? Is there a link between the young man's leap from a Dorset cliff and a horrific poisoning in Cambridge?Following various career-threatening misdemeanours, Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers is desperate to redeem herself. So when a past encounter with bestselling feminist writer Clare Abbott and her pushy personal assistant Caroline Goldacre gives her a connection to the Cambridge murder, Barbara begs DI Thomas Lynley to let her pursue the crime.Full of shocks, intensity and suspense from first page to last, A Banquet of Consequences reveals both Lynley and Havers under pressure, and author Elizabeth George writing at the very height of her exceptional powers.

Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Forces

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Sceptre

Now is the Time

Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg
Sceptre

The Fortunes

Peter Ho Davies
Authors:
Peter Ho Davies

Ah Ling: son of a prostitute and a white 'ghost', dispatched from Hong Kong as a boy to make his way alone in 1860s California. Anna May Wong: the first Chinese film star in Hollywood, forbidden to kiss a white man on screen. Vincent Chin: killed by a pair of Detroit auto workers in 1982 simply for looking Japanese.John Ling Smith: a half-Chinese writer visiting China for the first time, to adopt a baby girl.Inspired by three figures who lived at pivotal moments in Chinese-American history, and drawing on his own mixed-race experience, Peter Ho Davies plunges us into what it is like to feel, and be treated, like a foreigner in the country you call home.Ranging from the mouth of the Pearl River to the land of golden opportunity, this remarkable novel spans 150 years to tell a tale of familial bonds denied and fragmented, of tenacity and pride, of prejudice and the universal need to belong.

Hodder & Stoughton

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
John Murray

Slow Horses

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Coronet

The One You Trust

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington
Coronet

The One You Fear

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington

The gripping sequel to the million-downloaded The One You Love.Emma Holden and her friends are trying to move on from the horrific events surrounding Dan's kidnap, when a shocking revelation drags them back into the nightmare and forces them to question everything they once believed to be true. More secrets will be revealed, more lies will be told, and more lives under threat.An extended version of the self-published novella, with more secrets, more tension and more drama

Coronet

The One You Love

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington

Days before their wedding, during their last separate nights of hard-partying singledom, Emma Holden's fiance has gone missing. Not only has Dan disappeared without a trace, his brother is found beaten and left for dead, and may not wake up from a coma. Without any evidence, suspicion for the attempted murder falls on Dan - but Emma refuses to believe his guilt. When crime scene photos get splashed across the pages of London tabloids, Emma knows that someone is following her. Watching her. It is an old, familiar feeling, though no less terrifying. A long-hidden family secret seems to unite Emma's troubled past with her dangerous present. As time runs out her trust in her family, her friends -- and Dan -- faces an ultimate test.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

615 AD. A vengeful Persian tyrant prepares the final blow that will annihilate the Empire.Aelric - the young adventurer from England - is now almost as powerful as the Emperor. Seemingly without opposition, he dominates the vast and morally bankrupt city of Constantinople. One step at a time, in his fortified palace, he is pushing forward reforms that are the Roman Empire's only hope of survival, and perhaps restoration to wealth and greatness. But his domestic enemies are only waiting for their moment to strike back. And the world's most terrifying military machine is assembling in secret beyond the mountains of the eastern frontier. The plot to destroy the English upstart begins with an ancient and apparently accursed Babylonian treasure - and continues with kidnap, revolution and a brutal invasion. Can Aelric overcome his greatest challenge yet? Can he call on new and unexpected forces to save the Empire? And can he find a personal happiness that has so far eluded him?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Ghosts of Athens (Death of Rome Saga Book Five)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

The fifth book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA is an exhilarating thriller and perfect for readers of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.612 AD. No longer the glorious cradle of all art and science, Athens is a ruined provincial city in one of the Byzantine Empire's less vital provinces. The Emperor has diverted Aelric's ship home from Egypt to send him there, but surely there is more important business in Constantinople. Isn't Aelric needed to save the Empire's finances? Is Aelric on a high level mission to save the Empire or has he been set up to fail? The only certainty is that Aelric finds himself in a derelict palace of dark and endless corridors that Martin, his cowardly secretary, assures him pulse will an ancient evil.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Tommyknockers

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

There is a reason why Stephen King is one of the bestselling writers in the world, ever. Described in the Daily Express as 'a fabulous teller of stories', Stephen King writes books that draw you in and are impossible to put down.Everything is familiar. But everything has changed.Coming back to the little community is like walking into a nightmare for Jim Gardener, poet, drunk, potential suicide.It all looks the same, the house, the furniture, Jim's friend Bobbi, her beagle (though ageing), even the woods out at the back.But it was in the woods that Bobbi stumbled over the odd, part-buried object and felt a peculiar tingle as she brushed the soft earth away.Everything is familiar. But everything is about to change.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Sword of Damascus (Death of Rome Saga Book Four)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder Paperbacks

The Blood of Alexandria (Death of Rome Saga Book Three)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake