Jojo Moyes - Silver Bay - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848947467
    • Publication date:03 Sep 2009

Silver Bay

By Jojo Moyes

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Shortlisted for the 2007 RNA Novel of the Year award, the author of the bestselling SHIP OF BRIDES returns with a stunning and emotionally fulfilling novel.

The 2007 novel Silver Bay by Jojo Moyes, the bestselling author of Me Before You and two-time winner of the RNA Novel of the Year award.

Liza McCullen will never escape her past. But the unspoilt beaches and tight-knit community of Silver Bay offer the freedom and safety she craves - if not for herself, then for her young daughter, Hannah.

Until Mike Dormer arrives as a guest in her aunt's hotel, and the peace of Silver Bay is shattered. The mild-mannered Englishman with his too-smart clothes and disturbing eyes could destroy everything Liza has worked so hard to protect: not only the family business and the bay that harbours her beloved whales, but also her conviction that she will never love - never deserve to love - again.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340895931
  • Publication date: 24 Jan 2008
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Moyes is a romantic, and there is a gloriously happy ending, but the story is also surprising and genuinely moving. — The Times
Impossible to put down. — Daily Express
Romance doesn't get much more topsy-turvy than this whale of a tale. — Daily Mirror
Unashamedly romantic. — Elle
Hodder & Stoughton

Lean On Me

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

Whatever happens to those kids at school who are always being tipped to be stars in adult life?It's a question all of us find ourselves asking at some time and Mike Gayle's powerful, poignant novel answers it with regard to Danny Morgan and James McManus - rivals for top honours in everything throughout their school years in Birmingham.Whatever their friends and teachers might have expected, neither Danny nor James is currently running the country.Depressed and unemployed, Danny is facing an ultimatum from his girlfriend Maya: if he doesn't get out and get a job, she's leaving.It was an accident that changed James's life and now he is looked after affectionately by his parents. But his sister Martha believes that the role of full-time carers is destroying their lives - and infantilising her brother.She suggests that James should go into a respite home while her parents take a break.The respite home, as it turns out, where Danny has just got a job.What is the path that has brought these two people to this unexpected place, and where will it take them next?This is the story of Danny and James, but also of the families who love them and of the women they love. It is a story of many surprising twists, by turns funny and sad, painful and uplifting, and marks a brilliant new stage in the writing career of one of Britain's favourite novelists.

Sceptre

Spaceman of Bohemia

Jaroslav Kalfar
Authors:
Jaroslav Kalfar
John Murray

Sight

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass
Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

he

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Two Roads

Gonzo Girl

Cheryl Della Pietra
Authors:
Cheryl Della Pietra
Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: an uplifting, feel-good read set in the countryside

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

The first novel in the heartwarming, Yorkshire-set Hope Meadows series, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Cathy Woodman and Katie Fforde.Based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Newly-qualified vet Mandy Hope is leaving Leeds - and her fiancé Simon - to return to the Yorkshire village she grew up in. There, she will help out in her parents' surgery whilst they're short-staffed. Mandy's life has always revolved around her work with rescued animals, and Welford offers an opportunity to work with creatures of all sizes, from hedgehogs and puppies to farm stock and even wild deer. But rural Yorkshire is very different to the hustle and bustle of a big city. Mandy must work hard to be accepted by the close-knit village community, and convince them of her abilities as a vet - especially Jimmy Marsh, the gruff owner of the local Outward Bound business, with whom she just can't seem to get along. When some long-neglected animals are discovered in a critical state on a nearby farm, Mandy is determined to prove herself as a confident and fearless vet. When it comes to protecting animals in need, she's prepared to do whatever it takes...

Hodder Paperbacks

I'm Still Here

Clélie Avit
Authors:
Clélie Avit

A modern-day Sleeping Beauty story of love and hope, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes. 'A rare and beautiful novel' (Daily Mail)Elsa has been in a coma for five months. With all hope of reviving her gone, her family must face the devastating fact that it might be time to turn off her life support.What they don't know is that in the past few weeks Elsa has regained partial consciousness - she just has no way of telling them.Thibault is in the same hospital visiting his brother and, seeking a retreat, finds his way into Elsa's room. When he begins to talk to her, he doesn't realise she can hear every word - and that he is giving her a reason to wake up.And so begins a love story that might just save both their lives...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Hodder & Stoughton

These Dividing Walls

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper
Hodder & Stoughton

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

You don't want to be left in the dark. Twisty, gripping and thought-provoking, HE SAID/SHE SAID is the suspense novel everyone is lining up to read and rave about. 'Deliciously tense and twisty' - Sharon Bolton, author of Daisy in Chains'A tour de force - a gripping, twisting, furiously clever read that asks all the right questions and keeps you guessing until the very end.' Ruth Ware, author of The Woman in Cabin 10 'I'm calling it: THIS is the book I wish I'd written' Clare Mackintosh, author of I See You In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack. She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, four lives change forever. Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear. And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, she also knows that you can never see the whole picture: something is always hidden... something she never could have guessed. 'Superbly twisty and readable' Jenny Colgan, author of The Summer Seaside Kitchen'Keeps you guessing to the very last page' Adele Parks, author of The Stranger in My Home'Twisted, atmospheric and perfectly plotted. Her best yet.' Jenny Blackhurst, author of How I Lost You

John Murray

The Blood Miracles

Lisa McInerney
Authors:
Lisa McInerney
Hodder & Stoughton

Gentian Hill

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Meet Stella Sprigg, adopted daughter of the Sprigg family and follow her story of love and hope in a time where is hardly exists. GENTIAN HILL transports the reader from a secluded Devonshire valley, to perilous Mediterranean naval battles to the poverty stricken prisons of 18th century London.

Hodder & Stoughton

Towers in the Mist

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Sceptre

The Valentine House

Emma Henderson
Authors:
Emma Henderson

In June 1914, Sir Anthony Valentine, a keen mountaineer, arrives with his family to spend the summer in their chalet, high in the French Alps. There, for the first time, fourteen-year-old foundling Mathilde starts work as one of the 'uglies' - village girls employed as servants and picked, it is believed, to ensure they don't catch Sir Anthony's roving eye. For Mathilde it is the start of a life-long entanglement with les anglais - strange, exciting people, far removed from the hard grind of farming. Except she soon finds the Valentines are less carefree than they appear, with a curiously absent daughter no one talks about. It will be decades - disrupted by war, accidents and a cruel betrayal - before Mathilde discovers the key to the mystery. And in 1976, the year Sir Anthony's great-great grandson comes to visit, she must decide whether to use it. Vividly evoking the dramatic landscape that so enthrals the Valentines, this deeply involving, intriguing novel tells the story of an English family through the generations and a memorable French woman, whose lives seem worlds apart yet which become inextricably connected.

Hodder Paperbacks

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley
Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls: the most shocking novel you'll read this year

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
John Murray

Untitled Iweala Novel

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala
Sceptre

The Crime Writer

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson