Rebecca Mascull - The Wild Air - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473604421
    • Publication date:04 May 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473658158
    • Publication date:04 May 2017

The Wild Air

By Rebecca Mascull

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A heart-warming, exhilarating novel about one young woman's determination to follow her dreams of becoming a pilot in the early 20th century.

In Edwardian England, aeroplanes are a new, magical invention, while female pilots are rare indeed.

When shy Della Dobbs meets her mother's aunt, her life changes forever. Great Auntie Betty has come home from Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, across whose windswept dunes the Wright Brothers tested their historic flying machines. Della develops a burning ambition to fly and Betty is determined to help her.

But the Great War is coming and it threatens to destroy everything - and everyone - Della loves.

Uplifting and page-turning, THE WILD AIR is a story about love, loss and following your dreams against all odds.

Biographical Notes

Rebecca Mascull is the author of THE VISITORS and SONG OF THE SEA MAID. She has previously worked in education, has a Masters in Writing and lives by the sea in the east of England. Visit her website rebeccamascull.tumblr.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473604452
  • Publication date: 07 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Just loved it! What a wonderful and inspiring story. — Jill Mansell
What a stunning book . . . beautifully written, impeccably researched, and utterly addictive. — Louise Beech, author of How to Be Brave
Della Dobbs is a wonderfully feisty and ambitious heroine and I cheered her all the way. Although the novel is packed with adventure and peril, at its heart there is a quiet tenderness which I found very poignant. — Juliet West, author of Before The Fall
The writing flies off the page and into the heart. — Louise Walters, author of Mrs Sinclair's Suitcase
I loved this book, riveting and compelling, original and wonderfully written — Rowan Coleman
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Coronet

The Cloven

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling

In the tradition of China Miéville, Michael Moorcock and Alasdair Gray, B. Catling's The Vorrh is literary dark fantasy which wilfully ignores boundaries, crossing over into surrealism, magic-realism, horror and steampunk.The Cloven is the final book in the Vorrh trilogy.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin

'We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because we ARE the bad sort . . .''This newspaper has taken note that the past month has been remarkable for the prevalence of cases where men, women and children are declared missing. Scarcely a week passes without the occurrence of an incident of this type' - The Morning Herald, Tuesday 13 September 1831Down the murky alleyways of London, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and the city's vulnerable poor are disappearing from the streets. Out of these shadows comes Hester White, a bright young woman who is desperate to escape the slums by any means possible.When Hester is thrust into the world of the aristocratic Brock family, she leaps at the chance to improve her station in life under the tutelage of the fiercely intelligent and mysterious Rebekah Brock. But whispers from her past slowly begin to poison her new life and both she and Rebekah are lured into the most sinister of investigations, dragging them into the blackest heart of a city where something more depraved than either of them could ever imagine is lurking. . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Jericho's War

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Two Roads

The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night

Jen Campbell
Authors:
Jen Campbell
John Murray

Devil's Day

Andrew Michael Hurley
Authors:
Andrew Michael Hurley
JM Originals

A Kind of Freedom

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
Authors:
Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

Evelyn is a Creole woman who comes of age in New Orleans at the height of World War II. Her family inhabits the upper echelon of Black society, and when she falls for no-account Renard, she is forced to choose between her life of privilege and the man she loves.In 1982, Evelyn's daughter, Jackie, is a frazzled single mother grappling with her absent husband's drug addiction. Just as she comes to terms with his abandoning the family, he returns, ready to resume their old life.Jackie's son, T.C., loves the creative process of growing marijuana more than the weed itself. He was a square before Hurricane Katrina, but the New Orleans he knew didn't survive the storm. Fresh out of a four-month stint for drug charges, T.C. decides to start over-until an old friend convinces him to stake his new beginning on one last deal.For Evelyn, Jim Crow is an ongoing reality, and in its wake new threats spring up to haunt her descendants. A Kind of Freedomis an urgent novel that explores the legacy of racial disparity in the South through a poignant and redemptive family history.

Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reluctant Contact

Stephen Burke
Authors:
Stephen Burke

The Svalbard archipelago, 1977, Norwegian territory, yet closer to the north pole. Russian engineer Yuri arrives on the last boat to the Soviet mining outpost of Pyramiden, as the Arctic sun disappears for the winter. Yuri still plays by Stalin-era rules: Don't trust anyone; Keep your head down; Look after number one. Yet when a co-worker is found dead deep in the mine, the circumstances appear strange. Against his better judgement, Yuri breaks his own rules, and decides to investigate. At the same time, he begins a stormy love affair with the volatile, brooding Anya. She has come to Pyramiden to meet someone who has not shown himself in three months, if he exists at all. While the whole island is frozen in twenty-four-hour darkness, Yuri enters a dangerous world of secrets and conflicting agendas, where even the people closest to you are not always what they seem.

Hodder & Stoughton

Persephone

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story - Julian Stockwin returns with the next installment of action from Captain Sir Thomas Kydd.November 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd must sail to Lisbon to aid the Portuguese Royal Family's evacuation in the face of Napoleon's ruthless advance through Iberia. In the chaos of the threatened city an old passion is reawakened when he meets Persephone Lockwood, a beautiful and determined admiral's daughter from his past. But the Royal Family's destination is Brazil, Perspehone's England, and it seems Kydd's chance has gone again. Only later he discovers Persephone has another suitor - and that, if he wants to win her hand, he must enter the highest echelons of London society.Mixing with aristocracy and royalty brings other responsibilities. The Prince of Wales asks him to take temporary command of the Royal Yacht. Sailing to Yarmouth, Kydd realises they are being stalked by French privateers. The terrible threat of a prince of the blood being captured sees Kydd call on daring seamanship of the highest order.'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' (Guardian)

Sceptre

The Barrowfields

Phillip Lewis
Authors:
Phillip Lewis
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The annual thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series. It is deep winter. The darkness is unending.The private detective named Jaycob Eklund has vanished, and Charlie Parker is dispatched to track him down. Parker's employer, Edgar Ross, an agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, has his own reasons for wanting Eklund found. Eklund is no ordinary investigator. He is obsessively tracking a series of homicides and disappearances, each linked to reports of hauntings. Now Parker will be drawn into Eklund's world, a realm in which the monstrous Mother rules a crumbling criminal empire, in which men strike bargains with angels, and in which the innocent and guilty alike are pawns in a game of ghosts . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Cat of Yule Cottage

Lili Hayward
Authors:
Lili Hayward
Hodder Paperbacks

Marston Moor

Michael Arnold
Authors:
Michael Arnold

The Sixth in The Civil War Chronicles featuring Major Stryker - 'the Sharpe of the Civil War'FIVE ARMIES FORTY-SIX THOUSAND MEN ONE CROWNTHE BIGGEST BATTLE OF THE AGE2 July 1644. Five armies converge outside York. It will be a battle for honour, glory, and the fate of three kingdoms. And it will pit two great leaders - Oliver Cromwell and Prince Rupert - directly against one another for the first time. It is a day that will change the course of history.Into the cannon fire and musket smoke marches Major Innocent Stryker, battle-scarred hero of the Royalist cause. He must not only lead his men through the bloody horror and outwit his Parliamentary enemies, but uncover foul treachery on his own side. He will need every shred of experience and determination to survive.Marston Moor will be the decisive turning point in the British Civil Wars.This is the thrilling and shocking story of that battle.

Hodder & Stoughton

Song of the Sea Maid

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Hodder & Stoughton

The Visitors

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Hodder & Stoughton

Tai-Pan

James Clavell
Authors:
James Clavell

Set in the turbulent days of the founding of Hong Kong in the 1840s, Tai-Pan is the story of Dirk Struan, the ruler - the Tai-Pan - of the most powerful trading company in the Far East. He is also a pirate, an opium smuggler, and a master manipulator of men. This is the story of his fight to establish himself and his dynasty as the undisputed masters of the Orient.

Hodder Paperbacks

Requiem

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

The epic conclusion to the million-selling Brethren trilogy. A stunning, epic novel of war, savagery and the fall of the Templars in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Manda Scott.It is 1295. The Christian empire in the Holy Land lies in ruins and Will Campbell has barely escaped with his life.After years of fighting in the desert sun - and secretly working for peace with the Brethren - Will returns to Scotland to find his homeland under attack by King Edward I of England.Soon caught up in a bloody conflict, Will is unaware that an even more ominous threat is rising. A warrior king on the throne of France has a desire for supremacy and will stop at nothing to fulfil his twisted ambitions.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Imperial Banner

Nick Brown
Authors:
Nick Brown