Rebecca Mascull - The Wild Air - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473604421
    • Publication date:04 May 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473658158
    • Publication date:04 May 2017

The Wild Air

By Rebecca Mascull

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A heart-warming, exhilarating novel about one young woman's determination to follow her dreams of becoming a pilot in the early 20th century.

In Edwardian England, aeroplanes are a new, magical invention, while female pilots are rare indeed.

When shy Della Dobbs meets her mother's aunt, her life changes forever. Great Auntie Betty has come home from Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, across whose windswept dunes the Wright Brothers tested their historic flying machines. Della develops a burning ambition to fly and Betty is determined to help her.

But the Great War is coming and it threatens to destroy everything - and everyone - Della loves.

Uplifting and page-turning, THE WILD AIR is a story about love, loss and following your dreams against all odds.

Biographical Notes

Rebecca Mascull is the author of THE VISITORS and SONG OF THE SEA MAID. She has previously worked in education, has a Masters in Writing and lives by the sea in the east of England. Visit her website rebeccamascull.tumblr.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473604452
  • Publication date: 07 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Just loved it! What a wonderful and inspiring story. — Jill Mansell
What a stunning book . . . beautifully written, impeccably researched, and utterly addictive. — Louise Beech, author of How to Be Brave
Della Dobbs is a wonderfully feisty and ambitious heroine and I cheered her all the way. Although the novel is packed with adventure and peril, at its heart there is a quiet tenderness which I found very poignant. — Juliet West, author of Before The Fall
The writing flies off the page and into the heart. — Louise Walters, author of Mrs Sinclair's Suitcase
I loved this book, riveting and compelling, original and wonderfully written — Rowan Coleman
Hodder & Stoughton

The Swap

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

***The second novel from Fiona Mitchell, author of the stunning The Maid's Room***When two strangers, Tess and Annie, undergo IVF at an American clinic, their embryos are mixed up and each woman gives birth to the wrong child.The women only discover the devastating error three years later. Tess wants to swap the children back; Annie doesn't. As the pair wrangle, neither of them expect what unfolds.Two women. Two children. One thought-provoking novel.*******PRAISE FOR THE MAID'S ROOM'A modern-day The Help' - Emerald Street'Passionate . . . powerful' - Daily Mail'Exquisite writing . . . a shocking and powerful story line that had me gripped and moved until the uplifting conclusion . . . A fascinating read about survival and the strength and resilience of the human heart' - Katie Marsh, author of A Life Without You and This Beautiful Life

Hodder & Stoughton

The Quickening

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley
Hodder & Stoughton

Broken Things

Lauren Oliver
Authors:
Lauren Oliver
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Picoult

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

Hodder Paperbacks

The School at the Top of the Dale

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn
Hodder & Stoughton

The Orphanage of Gods

Helena Coggan
Authors:
Helena Coggan

A magical, thrilling stand-alone novel from teenage writing sensation Helena Coggan who has been hailed as 'the next J. K. Rowling' (Today Programme, USA)************Praise for Helena Coggan's 'The Catalyst''This year's Divergent' - Sun 'A phenomenal achievement . . . assured, frightening, action-packed' - Observer'A pulsing, labyrinthine, emotionally visceral plot' - Metro

John Murray

Villanelle: No Tomorrow

Luke Jennings
Authors:
Luke Jennings

In a hotel room in Venice, where she's just completed a routine assassination, Villanelle receives a late-night call. Eve Polastri has discovered that a senior MI5 officer is in the pay of the Twelve, and is about to debrief him. As Eve interrogates her subject, desperately trying to fit the pieces of the puzzle together, Villanelle moves in for the kill. The duel between the two women intensifies, as does their mutual obsession, and when the action moves from the high passes of the Tyrol to the heart of Russia, Eve finally begins to unwrap the enigma of her adversary's true identity.

Hodder Paperbacks

Almost Missed You

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser

Violet and Finn are 'meant to be'.A happy couple seemingly brought together by the hand of fate, they have a gorgeous son, and are enjoying their first family holiday in Florida.Until Violet returns to the hotel room to discover that her husband has left without a trace; and he's taken their child with him. Caitlin and Finn have been best friends since the first day of college.But friends don't ask you to hide their kidnapped son, threatening to reveal a secret which could destroy your family if you don't.Do they?Told through the viewpoints of Violet, Caitlin and Finn, Almost Missed You is a powerful story of love, betrayal, and secrets that maybe shouldn't be kept. . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Four

Andy Jones
Authors:
Andy Jones
Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
John Murray

Days of the Dead

Tim Glencross
Authors:
Tim Glencross
Sceptre

A Shout in the Ruins

Kevin Powers
Authors:
Kevin Powers

Following his hugely celebrated debut novel, The Yellow Birds, Kevin Powers returns to the battlefield and its aftermath, this time in his native Virginia, just before and during the Civil War and ninety years later. The novel pinpoints with unerring emotional depth the nature of random violence, the necessity of love and compassion, and the fragility and preciousness of life. It will endure as a stunning novel about what we leave behind, what a life is worth, what is said and unsaid, and the fact that ultimately what will survive of us is love.

Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser
Sceptre

Spaceman of Bohemia

Jaroslav Kalfar
Authors:
Jaroslav Kalfar

'An incredible experience... I can honestly say I loved every page. Every sentence. Spaceman of Bohemia is unforgettable: a work of breathtaking scope and heart, and a reflection of humanity that's raw and strange and profound and true.' Lisa McInerney, Baileys-Prize-winning author of The Glorious Heresies Set in the near-distant future, Spaceman follows a Czech astronaut as he launches into space to investigate a mysterious dust cloud covering Venus, a suicide mission sponsored by a proud nation. Suddenly a world celebrity, Jakub's marriage starts to fail as the weeks go by, and his sanity comes into question. After his mission is derailed he must make a violent decision that will force him to come to terms with his family's dark political past.An extraordinary vision of the endless human capacity to persist-and risk everything-in the name of love and home, by a startlingly talented young debut novelist.

Hodder Paperbacks

Baby Boom!

Helen Wallen
Authors:
Helen Wallen

No one said the journey to motherhood was easy . . .Increased face-girth, back acne and gagging every time she's in the presence of vegetables isn't quite the beautiful start Emily had planned for her unborn baby . . . Molly's unexpected pregnancy somehow turns her boyfriend into the poncy-vegan-nut-milk-enforcer, but she breezes it, as she breezes everything. (Including still being able to eat avocados much to Emily's annoyance.)Liz quickly realises if she's to move her life on, she needs to get rid of the married man she's in love with - especially now she's realised he's been hiding more than his wedding ring . . .It's a story about becoming parents, but most of all it's a story about love, laughter and chatting to your best friends about your fanny on WhatsApp.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

he

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

Crimson and Bone: a dark and gripping tale of love and obsession

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato

'A rich jewel of a story, full of desire and danger' - Julie Cohen. A dark tale of love and obsession, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for - she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted from her home and pregnant. On the night she plans to cast herself from Waterloo Bridge into the icy waters of the Thames, her life is saved by Francis Maybrick Gill, a talented pre-Raphaelite painter - and her world is changed forever.Francis takes Annie as his artist's muse, elevating her from fallen woman to society's darling. With her otherworldly beauty now the toast of London, her dark past is left far behind. But Annie's lavish new life is not all it seems - and there are some who won't let her forget where she came from...'A thrilling tale of love, lust and revenge' The Lady'A captivating gothic blend of mystery and romance' Sunday Mirror'Exquisite...this is historical fiction at its best' - Book Literarti Reviews'Gothic, dark [and] rich with atmosphere' - Louise Loves books'A glorious story of art and passion' - Tea Party Princess'Dazzling' Goodreads Reviewer'Captivating' Goodreads Reviewer

John Murray

The Blood Miracles

Lisa McInerney
Authors:
Lisa McInerney

The second novel from the author of the Baileys Prize-winning The Glorious Heresies'Fast paced, compelling, and thrilling, Lisa McInerney writes the type of fiction that is both beautifully crafted and immensely enjoyable' Louise O'Neill'The Blood Miracles has all the brio, street smarts and vicious linguistic verve of The Glorious Heresies, but with this follow up Lisa McInerney also reminds us just how brilliantly accomplished and ruthlessly focused a storyteller she is' Colin BarrettLike all twenty-year-olds, Ryan Cusack is trying to get his head around who he is. This is not a good time for his boss to exploit his dual heritage by opening a new black market route from Italy to Ireland. It is certainly not a good time for his adored girlfriend to decide he's irreparably corrupted. And he really wishes he hadn't accidentally caught the eye of an ornery grandmother who fancies herself his saviour. There may be a way clear of the chaos in the business proposals of music promoter Colm and in the attention of the charming, impulsive Natalie. But now that his boss's ambitions have rattled the city, Ryan is about to find out what he's made of, and it might be that chaos is in his blood.

Hodder Paperbacks

Song of the Sea Maid

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull