Peter Robinson and Peter Robinson - Friend of the Devil - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781844568444
    • Publication date:04 Sep 2008
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444758245
    • Publication date:28 Jun 2012
Books in this series

Friend of the Devil

DCI Banks 17

By Peter Robinson and Peter Robinson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

DCI Banks encounters a chilling character from his past in the 17th novel in the series - a number one bestseller.

When Karen Drew is found sitting in her wheelchair staring out to sea with her throat cut one chilly morning, DI Annie Cabbot, on loan to Eastern Area, gets lumbered with the case. Back in Eastvale, that same Sunday morning, 19-year-old Hayley Daniels is found raped and strangled in the Maze, a tangle of narrow alleys behind Eastvale's market square, after a drunken night on the town with a group of friends, and DCI Alan Banks is called in. Banks finds suspects galore, while Annie seems to hit a brick wall - until she reaches a breakthrough that spins her case in a shocking and surprising new direction, one that also involves Banks.

Then another incident occurs in the Maze which seems to link the two cases in a bizarre and mysterious way. As Banks and Annie dig into the past to uncover the deeper connections, they find themselves also dealing with the emotional baggage and personal demons of their own relationship. And it soon becomes clear that there are two killers in their midst, and that at any moment either one might strike again.

Biographical Notes

Peter Robinson grew up in Yorkshire, and now divides his time between Richmond and Canada. There are twenty-two books in the bestselling DCI Banks series - the critically acclaimed crime novels have won numerous awards in Britain, the United States, Canada and Europe, and are published in translation all over the world.

Peter Robinson's DCI Banks is now a major ITV1 drama by Left Bank productions. Stephen Tompkinson (Wild at Heart, Ballykissangel) plays Inspector Banks, and Andrea Lowe (The Bill, Murphy's Law) plays DI Annie Cabbot. The first series aired in Autumn 2011 with an adaptation of FRIEND OF THE DEVIL, the second in Autumn 2012, and the third will begin filming this year. Peter's recent standalone novel BEFORE THE POISON won the IMBA's 2013 Dilys Award as well as the 2012 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel by the Crime Writers of Canada. This was Peter's sixth Arthur Ellis award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444791969
  • Publication date: 16 Jan 2014
  • Page count: 528
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Watch for those twists - they'll get you every time — Ian Rankin
Robinson once again puts his skills to work in a police procedural that grips like pliers — Independent on Sunday
Classic Robinson: a labyrinthine plot merged with deft characterisation — Observer
Peter Robinson is good at producing ingenious mysteries, and this one does not disappoint — Daily Telegraph
Readers will be on the edge of their seats — Publishers Weekly
If you haven't encountered Chief Inspector Alan Banks before, prepare for a crash course in taut, clean writing and subtle psychology — Ian Rankin
It's neither the setting nor even the characters that makes Robinson's work so satisfying, but the plotting of Swiss-watch precision — Independent
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fool on the Hill

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

Detective Superintendent Banks faces the case of a man found dead on a Yorkshire hill - the only clue a tarot card in his pocket... the card which represents the Fool...

Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping in the Ground

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

The twenty fourth instalment in Peter Robinson's Number One Bestselling Banks Series. A terrible crime. No obvious motive. Banks is on the case.The Alan Banks mystery-suspense novels are the best series on the market. Try one and tell me I'm wrong. - Stephen King'Top-notch police procedure' - Jeffery DeaverA shocking mass murder occurs at a wedding in a small Dales church and a huge manhunt follows. Eventually, the shooter is run to ground and things take their inevitable course.But Banks is plagued with doubts as to exactly what happened outside the church that day, and why. Struggling with the death of his first serious girlfriend and the return of profiler Jenny Fuller into his life, Banks feels the need to dig deeper into the murders, and as he does so, he uncovers forensic and psychological puzzles that lead him to the past secrets that might just provide the answers he is looking for. When the surprising truth becomes clear, it is almost too late.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Whistler

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

The most corrupt judge in US history.A young investigator with a secret informant.The electrifying new thriller. Lacy Stoltz never expected to be in the firing line. Investigating judicial misconduct by Florida's one thousand judges, her cases so far have been relatively unexciting. That's until she meets Greg Myers, an indicted lawyer with an assumed name, who has an extraordinary tale to tell.Myers is representing a whistle blower who knows of a judge involved in organised crime. Along with her gangster associates this judge has facilitated the building of a casino on an Indian reservation. At least two people who opposed the scheme are dead. Since the casino was built, the judge has made several fortunes off undeclared winnings. She owns property around the world, hires private jets to take her where she wishes, and her secret vaults are overflowing with rare books, art and jewels.No one has a clue what she's been doing - until now.Under Florida law, those who help the state recover illegally acquired assets stand to gain a large percentage of them. Myers and his whistle blower friend could make millions.But first they need Lacy to start an investigation. Is she ready to pit herself against the most corrupt judge in American history, a judge whose associates think nothing of murder?'The best thriller writer alive' Ken Follett

Hodder & Stoughton

Fever

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder Paperbacks

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Two Roads

A Trick of the Light

David Ashton
Authors:
David Ashton
Hodder Paperbacks

The Edge of the Shadows

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Whidbey Island is ablaze.Late summer on Whidbey Island after nine weeks of no rain and fire season has arrived . . . along with a fire starter who soon begins tormenting the residents of this peaceful Pacific Northwest idyll with fires that escalate in intensity. Becca King and her friends Jenn and Derric are with her at the county fair when the third fire starts in a shed housing animals. The shed is destroyed, some of the animals are killed, and Becca hears from the nearby forest the 'whispers' of the fire starter who has remained to watch the havoc. More fires ensue and the situation escalates until someone dies. Becca thinks she knows who's behind it all, but only with the help of her friends and the development of her own incipient psychic talents can the perpetrator be brought to justice.

Hodder & Stoughton

No Cure For Love

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder Paperbacks

Abattoir Blues

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Coronet

The Extremist

Roger Pearce
Authors:
Roger Pearce
Hodder & Stoughton

Children of the Revolution

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

A disgraced college lecturer is found murdered with £5,000 in his pocket on a disused railway line near his home. Since being dismissed from his job for sexual misconduct four years previously, he has been living a poverty-stricken and hermit-like existence in this isolated spot.The suspects range from several individuals at the college where he used to teach to a woman who knew the victim back in the early '70s at Essex University, then a hotbed of political activism. When Banks receives a warning to step away from the case, he realises there is much more to the mystery than meets the eye - for there are plenty more skeletons to come out of the closet . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Harry's Game

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

A British cabinet minister is gunned down on a London street by an IRA assassin. In the wake of national outcry, the authorities must find the hitman. But the trail is long cold, the killer gone to ground in Belfast, and they must resort to more unorthodox methods to unearth him. Ill prepared and poorly briefed, undercover agent Harry Brown is sent into the heart of enemy territory to infiltrate the terrorists.But when it is a race against the clock, mistakes are made and corners cut. For Harry Brown, alone in a city of strangers, where an intruder is the subject of immediate gossip and rumour, one false move is enough to leave him fatally isolated...

Hodder Paperbacks

False Friends

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Colours of Darkness

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Watching the Dark

Peter Robinson, Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson, Peter Robinson
Hodder Paperbacks

Before the Poison

Peter Robinson, Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson, Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Madam, Will You Talk?

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey through a dangerous and deadly Provence in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent'The terrible thirsty heat of the Provençal summer, the noise of the cicadas, the dust of the country buses . . . an excellent tale of mystery' The TimesIt sounds idyllic: a leisurely drive through the sun-drenched landscape of Provence. But Charity's dream holiday turns into a nightmare when she becomes embroiled in a sinister plot to kidnap a young boy. She soon finds herself in a deadly pursuit and must uncover who to trust . . . and who to fall for. Whenever I look back now on the strange and terrifying events of that holiday in Southern France, I remember the minutes I spent gazing at the golden arches of the Roman aqueduct over the Gardon... the last brief lull before the thunder.'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

Hodder Paperbacks

My Brother Michael

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

Piece of My Heart

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

As volunteers clean up after a huge outdoor rock concert in Yorkshire in 1969, they discover the body of a young woman wrapped in a sleeping bag. She has been brutally murdered. The detective assigned to the case, Stanley Chadwick, is a hard-headed, strait-laced veteran of the Second World War. He could not have less in common with - or less regard for - young, disrespectful, long-haired hippies, smoking marijuana and listening to the pulsing sounds of rock and roll. But he has a murder to solve, and it looks as if the victim was somehow associated with the up-and-coming psychedelic pastoral band the Mad Hatters.In the present, Inspector Alan Banks is investigating the murder of a freelance music journalist who was working on a feature about the Mad Hatters for MOJO magazine. This is not the first time that the Mad Hatters, now aging rock superstars, have been brushed by tragedy. Banks finds he has to delve into the past to find out exactly what hornets' nest the journalist inadvertently stirred up.

Hodder Paperbacks

Nine Coaches Waiting

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart