Marcus Sedgwick - Mister Memory - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444752014
    • Publication date:26 Jan 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444752007
    • Publication date:14 Jul 2016

Mister Memory

By Marcus Sedgwick

  • Hardback
  • £17.99

In Paris, at the end of the nineteenth century, a man with a perfect memory murders his wife. But that is only the start of the story... A dazzling literary mystery from prizewinning author Marcus Sedgwick.

In Paris, at the end of the nineteenth century, a man with a perfect memory murders his wife. But that is only the start of the story... A dazzling literary mystery from prizewinning author Marcus Sedgwick.

Paris, 1899. Marcel Després is arrested for the murder of his wife and transferred to the famous Salpêtrière asylum. And there the story might have stopped.

But the doctor assigned to his care soon realises this is no ordinary patient: Marcel Després, Mister Memory, is a man who cannot forget. And the policeman assigned to his case soon realises that something else is at stake: for why else would the criminal have been hurried off to hospital, and why are his superiors so keen for the whole affair to be closed?

This crime involves something bigger and stranger than a lovers' fight - something with links to the highest and lowest establishments in France. The policeman and the doctor between them must unravel the mystery... but the answers lie inside Marcel's head. And how can he tell what is significant when he remembers every detail of every moment of his entire life?

For fans of Scarlett Thomas, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Patrick Suskind, this is a captivating literary mystery about memory, history and fate.

Biographical Notes

Marcus Sedgwick is a widely admired, prizewinning author of YA fiction. His books have been shortlisted for over thirty awards, including the Carnegie Medal (five times), the Edgar Allan Poe Award (twice) and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize (four times). He won the Branford Boase award for his debut novel, Floodland, and the Booktrust Teenage Prize for My Swordhand is Singing. His first novel for adults, A LOVE LIKE BLOOD, was published in 2014.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444751987
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
Brilliantly maintains tension and mystery on every page of this highly original story — Daily Mail
A cut above the usual crime novel...a beautifully written tale of the limitlessness of memory and the boundaries placed on love — Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill
Brilliantly maintains tension and mystery on every page of this highly original story — Daily Mail
A cut above the usual crime novel...a beautifully written tale of the limitless of memory and the boundaries placed on love — Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill
This macabre fantasy follows a trail of blood across Europe over 50 years...Stylish, thrilling and fast, you needn't be a horror fan to enjoy this. — Sunday Mirror on A LOVE LIKE BLOOD
Classy, elegant and gripping... A novel for a chilly night with a cup of tea and a warm blanket where you start reading and then go on and on, unable to stop. — John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In on A LOVE LIKE BLOOD