Peter Robinson and Peter Robinson - Bad Boy - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848946811
    • Publication date:05 Aug 2010
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848946309
    • Publication date:05 Aug 2010
Books in this series

Bad Boy

DCI Banks 19

By Peter Robinson and Peter Robinson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

DCI Banks finds the crime too close to home in the 19th novel in the series - a number one bestseller.

Banks isn't back, and that's the problem.

If DCI Alan Banks had been in his office when his old neighbour came calling, perhaps it would have turned out differently.

Perhaps an innocent man would still be alive.

And perhaps Banks's daughter wouldn't be on the run with a wanted man.

But Banks is on holiday, blissfully unaware of the terrible chain of events set in motion by the discovery of a loaded gun in a young woman's bedroom, and his daughter's involvement with the ultimate bad boy . . .

Biographical Notes

Peter Robinson grew up in Yorkshire, and now divides his time between Richmond and Canada. There are nineteen books in the bestselling Inspector Banks series - the critically acclaimed crime novels have won numerous awards and are published in translation all over the world.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340836972
  • Publication date: 28 Apr 2011
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
It's neither the setting nor even the characters that makes Robinson's work so satisfying, but the plottning of Swiss-watch precision — Independent
Superbly cinematic from the beginning to the explosive finale, this would be a thrilling movie — Joesph Wambaugh
Riveting — The Times
'Brilliant! . . . Gut-wrenching plotting, alongside heart-wrenching portraits of the characters who populate his world, not to mention the top-notch police procedure.' — Jeffery Deaver
Brilliant! . . . Gut-wrenching plotting, alongside heart-wrenching portraits of the characters who populate his world, not to mention the top-notch police procedure — Jeffery Deaver
'Superbly cinematic from the beginning to the explosive finale, this would be a thrilling movie.' — Joseph Wambaugh
'Riveting' — Marcel Berlins, The Times
'A masterclass in the organisation of narrative' — Barry Forshaw, Independent
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fool on the Hill

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

Detective Superintendent Banks faces the case of a man found dead on a Yorkshire hill - the only clue a tarot card in his pocket... the card which represents the Fool...

Hodder Paperbacks

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King

Mulholland Books

Jackrabbit Smile

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

'Reading Joe R. Lansdale is like listening to a favorite uncle who just happens to be a fabulous storyteller' Dean KoontzHap and Leonard are an unlikely pair - Hap, a self-proclaimed white trash rebel, and Leonard, a tough-as-nails black gay Vietnam vet and Republican - but they're the closest friend either of them has in the world. Hap is celebrating his wedding to his longtime girlfriend, when their backyard barbecue is interrupted by a couple of Pentecostal white supremacists. They're not too happy to see Leonard, and no one is happy to see them, but they have a problem and they want Hap and Leonard to solve it.Judith Mulhaney's daughter, Jackrabbit, has been missing for five years. That is, she's been missing from her family for five years, but she's been missing from everybody, including the local no-goods they knew ran with her, for a few months. Despite their misgivings, Hap and Leonard take the case. It isn't long until they find themselves mixed up in a revivalist cult believing that Jesus will return flanked by an army of lizard-men, and solving a murder to boot. With Lansdale's trademark humour, sharp dialogue, and plenty of righteous beatdowns, you won't want to miss Hap and Leonard's latest.

Hodder & Stoughton

Cold Feet: The Lost Years

Carmel Harrington
Authors:
Carmel Harrington
Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad
Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping in the Ground

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

The twenty fourth instalment in Peter Robinson's Number One Bestselling Banks Series. A terrible crime. No obvious motive. Banks is on the case.The Alan Banks mystery-suspense novels are the best series on the market. Try one and tell me I'm wrong. - Stephen King'Top-notch police procedure' - Jeffery DeaverA shocking mass murder occurs at a wedding in a small Dales church and a huge manhunt follows. Eventually, the shooter is run to ground and things take their inevitable course.But Banks is plagued with doubts as to exactly what happened outside the church that day, and why. Struggling with the death of his first serious girlfriend and the return of profiler Jenny Fuller into his life, Banks feels the need to dig deeper into the murders, and as he does so, he uncovers forensic and psychological puzzles that lead him to the past secrets that might just provide the answers he is looking for. When the surprising truth becomes clear, it is almost too late.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Whistler

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

Fever

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder Paperbacks

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Mulholland Books

Expecting to Die

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The eleventh book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by writer Jill Paton Walsh - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. When his sexton finds a corpse in the wrong grave, the rector of Fenchurch St Paul asks Lord Peter Wimsey to find out who the dead man was and how he came to be there.The lore of bell-ringing and a brilliantly-evoked village in the remote fens of East Anglia are the unforgettable background to a story of an old unsolved crime and its violent unravelling twenty years later.'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

Hodder Paperbacks

The Edge of the Shadows

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Whidbey Island is ablaze.Late summer on Whidbey Island after nine weeks of no rain and fire season has arrived . . . along with a fire starter who soon begins tormenting the residents of this peaceful Pacific Northwest idyll with fires that escalate in intensity. Becca King and her friends Jenn and Derric are with her at the county fair when the third fire starts in a shed housing animals. The shed is destroyed, some of the animals are killed, and Becca hears from the nearby forest the 'whispers' of the fire starter who has remained to watch the havoc. More fires ensue and the situation escalates until someone dies. Becca thinks she knows who's behind it all, but only with the help of her friends and the development of her own incipient psychic talents can the perpetrator be brought to justice.

John Murray

Slow Horses

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

'The new king of the spy thriller' Mail on SundaySlough House is a dumping ground for members of the intelligence service who've screwed up: left a service file on a train, say, blown a surveillance, or become drunkenly unreliable. They're the service's poor relations - the slow horses - and most bitter among them is River Cartwright, whose days are spent transcribing mobile phone conversations.But when a young man is abducted, and his kidnappers threaten to behead him live on the internet, River sees an opportunity to redeem himself. But is the victim who he first appears to be? And what's the kidnappers' connection with a disgraced journalist? As the clock ticks on the execution, River finds that everyone involved has their own agenda . . .

Mulholland Books

Never Die Alone

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

NEVER DROP YOUR GUARD. NEVER CLOSE YOUR EYES. OR YOU'LL NEVER SEE HIM COMING ...Fans of Karen Rose and Karin Slaughter will be left chilled by this latest thriller from New York Times bestseller Lisa Jackson.The murders are planned in exquisite detail and the victims are always twins. When Zoe and Chloe Denning went out to celebrate their twenty-first birthday they never made it home. For Brianna Hayward, their disappearance is proof that the '21 Killer' has reached New Orleans. Reporter Jason Bridges is intrigued by a story that could make his career. But both he and Brianna have secrets to hide. Detective Rick Bentz always had his doubts about the '21' conviction and now he fears the real murderer may be loose in his backyard. As Bentz and his partner Reuben Montoya desperately follow the trail, the killer prepares to unite Zoe and Chloe in death forever ...

Hodder & Stoughton

No Cure For Love

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

Before you discovered DCI Banks, Dectective Arvo Hughes was on the case in this vintage standalone crime thriller from Peter Robinson.In 1990s Los Angeles, the beautiful star of a hit TV cop show is being sent strange letters.At first, Sarah Broughton dismisses the letters as the ramblings of a lonely fan. But when the letters take on a disturbing tone and Sarah discovers a body in the sand outside her Malibu beach house, the experts are brought in.Working as a detective in the LAPD Threat Management Unit, Arvo Hughes has seen it all before: stalkers, love obsessionals, erotomaniacs - willing to kill themselves and their supposed love objects over their devotion. He knows the language they use and the patterns they follow.But there is no pattern to follow here. Dealing with a highly unpredictable but extremely violent killer, Arvo feels certain Sarah's stalker must have met her before. But with the squeaky-clean star doing all she can to keep memories of a shady history locked away, Arvo must delve into her past himself.(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder Paperbacks

Abattoir Blues

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Coronet

There's Something I've Been Dying to Tell You

Lynda Bellingham
Authors:
Lynda Bellingham
Mulholland Books

Tell Me

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Kill Room

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs will do anything to uncover the truth, so they must enter The Kill Room. 'THE KILL ROOM is full of his trademark twists, breathless suspense and ironic humour. It is a thriller of 'bits, scraps, observations (and) 180 degree changes in direction' which never cheats the reader, so that the only response can be sighs of satisfaction and admiration.' - The Evening StandardA sniper shot from a near-impossible distance. Evidence that the order came from the highest levels of US government. A New York DA who won't let it go.Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs will risk everything to uncover the truth. But there is no crime scene investigation, no evidence, and no co-operation from the local Bahamian police.No strangers to controversy, their reputation for seeing what others miss is unparalleled, and ambitious attorney Nance Laurel knows they will risk everything - even their lives - to seek the truth . . .But first, they must enter The Kill Room.

Hodder Paperbacks

Piece of My Heart

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson