Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Nocturna

Nocturna

Fates collide and darkness is unleashed in this lush, own-voices Latin-inspired fantasy, perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo and V. E. Schwab.

Magia Para Todos; Magic for all.

To Finnian Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the throat of anyone who crosses her, and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks. As a talented faceshifter, it’s been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that’s exactly how she likes it. But when she gets caught by a powerful mobster, she’s forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan’s royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever.

To Prince Alfehr magic is an escape, but one that comes with a price. First in line for the throne after the disappearance of his older brother, Alfie is desperate to find him and bring him home, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic.

And when Finn and Alfie’s fates collide, they realise magic can be other things too, and the type they accidentally release into the world is something neither expects, or understands.

It’s hungry.

(p)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 2nd May 2019

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781473675957

Reviews

An exhilarating adventure, bursting with lively, inventive magic and characters who charmed me the instant they appeared on the page. If you want to get swept up in a story, pick this one
NYT bestselling author Margaret Rogerson
Utterly amazing . . . The world Maya created is unique and rich, and her vivid take on magic absolutely blew me away. It is so individual and beautiful, a step above the magic we see in so many YA books. Maya's lyrical writing and world-building were reminiscent of Laini Taylor.
Midnight Book Girl
This fantasy set in a Latinx kingdom explores the lasting effects of childhood trauma, the destructive potential of grief, and the redemptive power of love . . . the stakes are high, Finn and Alfie's reluctant attraction rings true, and a gratifying conclusion paves the way for book two.
Publishers Weekly
Nocturna is an exciting debut presenting a unique magic system that is as powerful and flawed as the characters who are granted its usage
British Fantasy Society
A gripping story of unlikely partners and dark magic
Candid Cover
Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes or VE Schwab's A Darker Shade of Magic, Nocturna similarly delivers a richly-imagined world steeped in magic and adventure and it deserves to be embraced by fans of YA fantasy the world over
CultureFly
An interesting premise, likable characters, and high adventure
Kirkus Reviews
Singular and special . . . Cinematic, plentiful action as well as intriguing protagonists will pull many a fantasy reader, and the richly detailed world will keep them reading
Booklist
Fantasy fans will embrace the creative worldbuilding and welcome these flawed and multi-layered characters into their hearts'
Cinda Williams Chima, NYT bestselling author
This searing, magical Latinx-inspired fantasy pulled me in from the first page and did not let me go. I loved adventuring with brave Alfie and brash Finn, and I held my breath until the end. NOCTURNA is a magnificent debut, powerful and true
Julie C. Dao, author of <i>Forest of a Thousand Lanterns</i>