Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Emily Eternal

Emily Eternal

Meet Emily – she can solve advanced mathematical problems, unlock the mind’s deepest secrets and even fix your truck’s air con, but unfortunately, she can’t restart the Sun.

Emily Eternal feels like hope in the face of the end of the world’CultureFly

Emily is an artificial consciousness, designed in a lab to help humans process trauma, which is particularly helpful when the sun begins to die 5 billion years before scientists agreed it was supposed to.

So, her beloved human race is screwed, and so is Emily. That is, until she finds a potential answer buried deep in the human genome. But before her solution can be tested, her lab is brutally attacked, and Emily is forced to go on the run with two human companions – college student Jason and small-town Sheriff, Mayra.

As the sun’s death draws near, Emily and her friends must race against time to save humanity. But before long it becomes clear that it’s not only the species at stake, but also that which makes us most human.

PRAISE FOR EMILY ETERNAL

‘A visionary work of science fiction’ Blake Crouch, author of DARK MATTER

A top-class, high-tech thriller. Emily is a true heroine: warm, funny, brilliant and more human than a lot of humans. You’ll be cheering for her to the end’ Daily Mail

‘Remarkably clever and engrossing . . . It’s hard not to be won over by Emily’s benign narrative voice and thrilled by the race-against-time plot, even as the book explores weighty questions of self and soul’ Financial Times

‘Sparsely drawn, but vivid and likeable . . . M.G. Wheaton writes his lead character with charming warmth’ SFX

‘Captivating . . . a unique portrayal of the end of the world and a taste of what comes after it. If this is all we see of Emily it will be a bittersweet disappointment’ British Fantasy Society
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 23rd April 2019

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781473681989

Reviews

Fast paced, exciting and incredibly thought provoking . . . you absolutely have to pick this one up
The Bibliophile Chronicles
A top-class, high-tech thriller. Emily is a true heroine: warm, funny, brilliant and more human than a lot of humans. You'll be cheering for her to the end
Daily Mail
A visionary work of science fiction
Blake Crouch, author of DARK MATTER
Captivating . . . a unique portrayal of the end of the world and a taste of what comes after it. If this is all we see of Emily it will be a bittersweet disappointment
British Fantasy Society
Beautifully drawn . . . I thoroughly enjoyed Emily Eternal
For Winter Nights
An intriguing, engaging and cinematic book . . . Emily Eternal feels like hope in the face of the end of the world
CultureFly
Fast-paced chase scenes, double-crosses, and the pall of imminent doom . . . a quirky mix of melancholy, irreverence, and romance. Wheaton renders a new twist on humanity's survival in this bittersweet post-apocalyptic novel
Kirkus Reviews
Fast-paced and full of heart, Emily Eternal is a standout debut . . . Author M.G. Wheaton and Emily herself deserve to be household names
ReaderDad
Sparsely drawn, but vivid and likeable . . . M.G. Wheaton writes his lead character with charming warmth
SFX
Fast-paced action that constantly kept me thinking. A read to be devoured. Scarily clever!
Tale at a Time
Emily Eternal is cleverly written, with sci-fi concepts that are accessible to nonreaders of the genre. Fans of Andy Weir and Blake Crouch will enjoy the wit and action of Emily's story
Booklist
The most fascinating AI character is recent memory
Entertainment Weekly
A fast-paced, well-written science fiction thriller
New York Journal of Books
A great story . . . Drenched in some deeply thought-provoking moral and ethical dilemmas, Emily Eternal manages to deliver a message of hope
The Nerd Daily
Remarkably clever and engrossing . . . It's hard not to be won over by Emily's benign narrative voice and thrilled by the race-against-time plot, even as the book explores weighty questions of self and soul'
<i>Financial Times</i>
I loved this. Something different and highly engaging but also thought provoking
Liz Loves Books