Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

The world crossing, boundary breaking fantasy phenomenon for fans of Philip Pullman and Neil Gaiman. Welcome to ELSEWHERE.

‘It’s totally EXCELLENT, EPIC, PERFECT! No words. Certainly one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read!’ Goodreads Reviewer, five stars.

‘WOW. I wish I had written this book.’ Patrick Rothfuss

In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance.

On the one hand, she’s a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family.

Raised half in our world, half in ‘Elsewhere’, she has never understood Brimstone’s dark work – buying teeth from hunters and murderers – nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself.

Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought.

‘Remarkable and beautifully written . . . The opening volume of a truly original trilogy.’ GUARDIAN
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 29th September 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781444722642

Reviews

Northern Lights and Pan's Labyrinth in one.
<i>Stylist</i>
Big things are expected of this, the first in a new fantasy trilogy, and we can see why . . . Imaginative and sexy, we couldn't put this down.
<i>Bella</i>
For once the frenzy over a teen novel is justified. DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE by Laini Taylor is one of those books that blots out reality, so consumed do you become in its fantasy world of chimeras and angels . . . inevitably there is an epic romance but Taylor is a talented writer; this is aeons apart from the usual angels and werewolves dross.
<i>Sunday Telegraph</i>
You don't want this book to end . . . it's cancelling-weekend-plans, stay-up-all-night-addictive.
<i>Easy Living</i>
It's the first in a trilogy and I can't wait for the next instalment.
<i>Sun</i>
WOW. I wish I had written this book.
Patrick Rothfuss
A beautifully written novel, reminiscent of Neil Gaiman . . . It is a wonderfully realised world, with fantastic but completely believable characters . . . It is sure to be a huge, and deserved, success.
<i>We Love This Book</i>
Laini Taylor's imagination is vivid.
<i>Financial Times</i>
'Laini Taylor pushes the boundaries of realism as she weaves in an age-old (fairytale?) story of the war between angels and demons with the world of today. Extremely gripping with the right dose of romance thrown in, this one is an out and out page turner.'
<i>Sunday Guardian</i>'s Essential Reading list, India
DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE is that rare beast: a novel that takes the familiar and makes it appear startling and new. Taylor has embraced the mythology of angels and reworked it in an extraordinary form, so that by the end of this lyrical, haunting book, I wanted to believe in the existence of these violent, tormented beings. I can hardly wait for the next installment.
John Connolly
Thrillingly fresh and new. The smartly plotted, surprising, and fiercely compelling read will hook you from its opening pages. (Seriously, cancel all plans once you begin; you won't want to put it down.)
<i>Entertainment Weekly</i>
Remarkable and beautifully written . . . The opening volume of a truly original trilogy.
<i>Guardian</i>
Mesmerising.
<i>Marie Claire</i>
The world-building descriptions and language stop your heart and then, like a defibrillator, start it up again.
<i>New York Times</i>
Trust us, it's brilliant
<i>Heat</i>
A mesmerising novel on an epic scale.
<i>Glamour</i>
You'll be mesmirised by the twists and turns of the first in this new trilogy.
<i>More</i>

Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy