Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Songwoman: a stunning historical novel from the acclaimed author of 'Skin'

Songwoman: a stunning historical novel from the acclaimed author of 'Skin'

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to the critically acclaimed Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones.

One woman’s quest to defend her culture.

Haunted by the Roman attack that destroyed her home, Ailia flees to the remote Welsh mountains in search of the charismatic war king, Caradog, who is leading a guerrilla campaign against the encroaching army.
Ailia proves herself an indispensable advisor to the war king, but as the bond between them deepens, she realises the terrible role she must play to save the soul of her country.

Set in Iron-Age Britain, Songwoman is a powerful exploration of the ties between people and their land and what happens when they are broken.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 4th October 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781473616462

Reviews

'I am hooked! [Ilka] is an amazing writer'
Karen Maitland
Praise for Skin: 'A visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence
The Sunday Times
A convincing world... [Readers will] enjoy Tampke's skill in weaving the otherworld with this one
The Times
'A tale as evocative as it is compelling'
Starburst
A mesmerising read, set in a distant past that feels both real and magical. Filled with drama and passion, it is also an intensely soulful story about courage, sacrifice and belonging. I was captivated
Antonia Hodgson
'A tender, lyrical novel'
S Magazine
A thrilling debut, it throbs with the passions of a young woman's sexual awakening and paints a brutal world teeming with enticing detail... those who root for Game of Thrones' Daenerys Targaryen will find much to love
New Daily, AU
Engaging and thrilling...a subtle blend of reality, fantasy, romance and action, Ilka Tampke's first novel is a beautiful read. She has created a mystical world that's certain to charm most readers
Sci-Fi Now
I am in awe of Ilka's ability to recreate a Britain of AD43... a great book
Cecilia Ekback
'A page-turning novel of transcendence and change
Guardian