We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Don’t chase fate. Let fate chase you.

‘Clever, creative, and exquisitely written’ Stephanie Garber

For generations, deadly storms have ravaged Mina’s homeland. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curse them with death and despair. To appease him, each year a maiden is thrown into the sea, in the hopes that one day the ‘true bride’ will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe Shim Cheong – Mina’s brother’s beloved – to be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is sacrificed, Mina’s brother follows her, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong’s stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina finds the Sea God, trapped in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man and a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits, Mina sets out to wake him and bring an end to the storms once and for all.

But she doesn’t have much time: a human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking . . .

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a magical feminist retelling of a classic Korean legend, perfect for fans of Uprooted and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away.

‘A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling’ Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes

‘A true jewel of a story’ Janella Angeles, bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend

Reviews

With its captivating world-building, fast-paced story and cast of memorable characters, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will charm, delight and surprise readers
Juliet Marillier, award-winning author of the Warrior Bards series
A clever, creative, and exquisitely written tale of sacrifice, love, and fate
Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval and Once Upon a Broken Heart
A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling I wish I'd had when I was growing up . . . A heartfelt tale that I will be recommending for years to come
Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes
A true jewel of a story that shines in the world of fantasy . . . This beautifully woven tale brimming with heart, spirit, and love is a dream you'll never want to end
Janella Angeles, bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend
Shim Cheong is Korea's most famous legend and one I've heard all my life, but as a feminist it has always been my least favorite. Axie's book retells the fairy tale and empowers the girl protagonist while still preserving the beloved classic tale, set in a fantastical world so unique and fascinating. I absolutely loved every word!
Ellen Oh, author of Prophecy and co-founder of We Need Diverse Books
A sumptuous fairytale world to dive into full of whimsy and heart. Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli!
Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire
[A] majestic magical marvel of a book
Buzzfeed
Nicely paced and beautifully written, this engrossing fantasy is packed with memorable characters, starting with the headstrong Mina, and including the mysterious Shin, with whom she becomes inexplicably tied . . . A perfect for fit readers who love Spirited Away
Booklist
Oh weaves an intricate and engaging tale . . . Captivated readers will long to be pulled deeper into the story. A fantastical world to get lost in
Kirkus
A luscious and beautiful experience
Bookish Brews
Get ready to be swept into a world of gods, spirits, surprising twists, and mingled destinies. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a breathtaking cinematic fairy tale with a courageous heroine at its heart
Traci Chee, New York Times bestselling author of A Thousand Steps into Night
Axie Oh's The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a beautifully written fantasy inspired by Spirited Away and steeped in Korean mythology. Lyrical prose, incredible world building, and a heroine worth rooting for - this story is everything and then some. A stunning feat of storytelling and an un-put-downable read. I wish I could read it again for the first time. Absolutely exquisite!
Kalynn Bayron, bestselling author of Cinderella is Dead and This Poison Heart