Mick Herron - Real Tigers - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473621244
    • Publication date:20 Oct 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473621237
    • Publication date:11 Feb 2016
Books in this series

Real Tigers

Jackson Lamb Thriller 3

By Mick Herron

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The new novel in the CWA Gold Dagger-winning Jackson Lamb series

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLDSBORO GOLD DAGGER AND THE IAN FLEMING STEEL DAGGER

SHORTLISTED FOR THE THEAKSTON OLD PECULIAR CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR

'If you read one spy novel this year, read Real Tigers' The Spectator

'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on Sunday

Catherine Standish knows that chance encounters never happen to spooks.

She's worked in the Intelligence Service long enough to understand treachery, double-dealing and stabbing in the back.

What she doesn't know is why anyone would target her: a recovering drunk pushing paper with the other lost causes in Jackson Lamb's kingdom of exiles at Slough House.

Whoever it is holding her hostage, it can't be personal. It must be about Slough House. Most likely, it is about Jackson Lamb.

And say what you like about Lamb, he'll never leave a joe in the lurch.

He might even be someone you could trust with your life . . .

Biographical Notes

Mick Herron's first Jackson Lamb novel - the Steel-Dagger nominated Slow Horses - was described as the 'most enjoyable British spy novel in years' by the Mail on Sunday. The second Jackson Lamb novel, Dead Lions, won the 2013 CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger, and was picked by the Sunday Times as one of the best twenty-five crime novels of the past five years. Mick was born in Newcastle upon Tyne and now lives in Oxford.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473674202
  • Publication date: 27 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: John Murray
Herron's Slough House novels are the finest new crime series this Millennium — Mail on Sunday
If you read one spy novel this year, read Real Tigers. Better still, read the whole series — Andrew Taylor, The Spectator
Real Tigers has revitalised the spy thriller genre — Sunday Express
Surely among the finest British spy fiction of the past 20 years — Metro
A thriller that moves Herron close to the class of Graham Greene — Daily Mail
Herron fills a gap that has been yawning ever since Len Deighton retired — Daily Telegraph
A pulsating spy thriller — Daily Express
Think Le Carre with fewer posh people and laugh-out-loud funny. Mick Herron is the real deal — Irish Times
Sardonically funny and pleasingly complex — Independent
Rather as if Philip Larkin or Alan Bennett had had a go at spy fiction — Sunday Times
What a find! . . . I think Herron's is the next big name in crime fiction — Literary Review
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Robinson 11

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
John Murray

This is What Happened

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Mulholland Books

New psychological thriller

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The annual thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.Charlie Parker aids the police when a buried, semi-mummified body of a woman is discovered. She apparently died of childbirth. Parker has to find out who she was and what happened to the child.

Hodder & Stoughton

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Mulholland Books

Her Watchful Eye

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin

The GRIPPING new thriller, from the author of What Goes Around.Do you ever feel that prickle on the back of your neck, as though someone's watching you?Someone is watching Hannah.Her name is Ruby, and her job as CCTV operative means she can follow Hannah everywhere she goes.It's against the law, but Ruby is willing to do whatever is necessary to keep Hannah safe.And there's no harm in just watching.Until just watching isn't enough . . .So the next time you get that feeling, and you think you're alone . . . think again.

John Murray

London Rules

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

London Rules might not be written down, but everyone knows rule one.Cover your arse.Regent's Park's First Desk, Claude Whelan, is learning this the hard way. Tasked with protecting a beleaguered prime minister, he's facing attack from all directions himself: from the showboating MP who orchestrated the Brexit vote, and now has his sights set on Number Ten; from the showboat's wife, a tabloid columnist, who's crucifying Whelan in print; from the PM's favourite Muslim, who's about to be elected mayor of the West Midlands, despite the dark secret he's hiding; and especially from his own deputy, Lady Di Taverner, who's alert for Claude's every stumble.Meanwhile, the country's being rocked by an apparently random string of terror attacks, and someone's trying to kill Roddy Ho.Over at Slough House, the crew are struggling with personal problems: repressed grief, various addictions, retail paralysis, and the nagging suspicion that their newest colleague is a psychopath. But collectively, they're about to rediscover their greatest strength - that of making a bad situation much, much worse.It's a good job Jackson Lamb knows the rules. Because those things aren't going to break themselves.

Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping?And how far would someone go to get revenge?The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

Hodder & Stoughton

Iron Gold

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown

Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Mulholland Books

The Deaths of December

Susi Holliday
Authors:
Susi Holliday
Hodder & Stoughton

Ghosts of the Past

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still linger with the stains on the city walls.The anniversary of the flood brings with it a new case for Inspector Bordelli. A local wealthy industrialist - fiercely loved and respected by everyone he knew - has been found murdered in his grand villa in the Fiesole hills, and the killer has left no trace.With no obvious leads to follow, Bordelli is patiently retracing the victim's last days when he encounters an old friend from the war. Inviting the frail man into his home, Bordelli doesn't realise that it is this very friend will lead him ever closer to the secrets at the heart of the mystery . . .

Mulholland Books

The Cleaner

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

The Killing Hour

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Blood Men

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

The Laughterhouse

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

'A modern equivalent of James Ellroy's Los Angeles of the 1950s, a discordant symphony of violence and human weakness' Publishers Weekly. Theodore Tate never forgot his first crime scene - ten-year-old Jessica found dead in "the Laughterhouse," an old abandoned slaughterhouse with the S painted over. The killer was found and arrested. Justice was served. Or was it? Fifteen years later, a new killer arrives in Christchurch, and he has a list of people who were involved in Jessica's murder case, one of whom is the unfortunate Dr. Stanton, a man with three young girls. If Tate is going to help them, he has to find the connection between the killer, the Laughterhouse, and the city's suddenly growing murder rate. And he needs to figure it out fast, because Stanton and his daughters have been kidnapped, and the doctor is being forced to make an impossible decision: which one of his daughters is to die first.

Mulholland Books

Joe Victim

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Five Minutes Alone

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
John Murray

The List

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

Twenty-five years ago, Major Franklin Trapper became a national icon when he lead a handful of survivors to safety after the bombing of a Dallas hotel. For years, he gave frequent speeches and interviews but then suddenly dropped out of the public eye, shunning all media. Now, ambitious TV journalist Kerra Bailey is determined to get an exclusive with the Major - even if she has to wrangle an introduction from his estranged son, former ATF agent John Trapper.Trapper wants no association with the Major, but despite himself, he agrees to the meet. But when the interview goes catastrophically awry - with unknown assailants targeting his father and Kerra - Trapper starts a hunt to track down the gunmen . . . and finally discover who was responsible for the Dallas bombing.Kerra is wary of a man so charming one moment and dangerous the next, and she knows Trapper is withholding evidence from his ATF investigation into the bombing. But having no one else to trust and enemies lurking closer than they know, Kerra and Trapper join forces to expose a sinuous network of lies and conspiracy - and uncover who would want a national hero dead.