Eleanor O’Reilly - M for Mammy - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473672383
    • Publication date:21 Mar 2019
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473672352
    • Publication date:21 Mar 2019
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473672376
    • Publication date:03 Oct 2019

M for Mammy

By Eleanor O’Reilly
Read by Aoife McMahon

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

For fans of Roddy Doyle and Marian Keyes, a heartwarming and funny debut of an Irish family, the Augustts, all bound together with love and language. There's a son who doesn't speak, a mother who has a stroke, a granny who talks enough for all of them and a daughter who is writing it all down.

'M for Magnificent! Heart-breaking, heart-warming, and hilarious . . . a glorious debut' Ruth Hogan, bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things

'Channelling the warm heart and good cheer of Marian Keyes . . . very amusing' Irish Independent

'Rambunctious' Irish Times

Meet the Augustts: a loving, Irish family who, like all families, are a bit complicated.

They are bound together by their love for each other, but each expresses themselves in a very different way. When misfortune strikes the family, they must learn to understand each other anew. Sometimes, in a family as complicated as the Augustts, it's not always what is spoken that makes the most sense.

Everything is shaken up when Granny Mae-Anne moves in and takes charge. A force of nature, full of stern words and no-nonsense common sense, it is she who must try and hold the family together.

M for Mammy is an uplifting story about the unique comfort of home, the language we can find when the words aren't there, and the power of a family to heal itself.

Biographical Notes

Eleanor O'Reilly is a teacher of English and Classical Studies who has just completed an MA in Creative Writing, at Manchester Metropolitan University.

Having first started writing five years ago, she has received several literary prizes, including the 2015 RTE Francis McManus Radio Short Story Award and the 2013 William Trevor International Short Story Award, and has been shortlisted for several others, including the 2016 Colm Toibin Literary Award.

She lives in Ireland with her husband Brian Kelly, their daughter Ella Kelly, and a whole menagerie of pets. M for Mammy is her debut novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473672390
  • Publication date: 21 Mar 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Two Roads
M is for Mammy. It's also for Magnificent! What a wonderful story - in turns heart-breaking, heart-warming, and hilarious (which is not an easy combination to pull off). Also, Granny Mae-Anne is a FABULOUS creation . . . Eleanor, it's a glorious debut. — Ruth Hogan
Rambunctious — 2019 highlights, Irish Times
Channelling the warm heart and good cheer of Marian Keyes, this debut novel from O'Reilly . . . tells the very amusing story of the Augustt family. We meet the son who doesn't speak, the mother who's had a stroke, the granny who talks enough for the lot of them - and the daughter who's decided to write it all down. — Irish Independent
Lovely, sharp, compassionate, well-observed writing — Felicity Hayes-McCoy, author of the Finfarran series
A cracking good read . . . more characters like the formidable, feisty Granny, please! LOVED HER. — The Book Scoop