Lex Coulton - Falling Short - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473669581
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018

Falling Short

By Lex Coulton

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A witty, charming and moving novel about finding things where you least expect them

School-teacher Frances Pilgrim's father vanished when she was five, and since then other things have been going missing too: car-keys, promotions, an endless roster of unsuitable boyfriends . . . And now here she is, thirty-bloody-nine and still losing things.

Frances needs someone to talk to. Ideally to Jackson: fellow teacher, dedicated hedonist, erstwhile best friend. Only they haven't spoken since that night last summer where they had too many glasses of Merlot (oh, large, please . . .) and things got complicated.

But now she has a much more pressing problem. Her mother Mary, whose odd behaviour Frances has long put down to eccentricity, is slowly yielding to Alzheimer's, leaving Frances with some disturbing questions about her father's disappearance, and the family history she's always believed in.

As the new school year begins, and Mary's behaviour becomes more and more erratic, Frances realises that she might just have a chance to find something for once. But will it be what she's looking for?

Biographical Notes

Lex Coulton studied English, and later Creative Writing, at Oxford. She spent fourteen years teaching English in secondary schools before taking a sabbatical year in Paris, to focus on her writing. She has recently been awarded the Literature Works First Page Prize (2015) and the Thresholds International Feature Writing Prize (2016), and her short fiction is due to appear this year in the Bath Flash Fiction Anthology, the literary magazine Shooter and the London Journal of Fiction. Lex grew up in Herefordshire, and has recently returned to live there with her husband, John, and their dogs Bazil and Sadie.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473669604
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Picoult

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder & Stoughton

The Single Ladies of the Jacaranda Retirement Village

Joanna Nell
Authors:
Joanna Nell
Sceptre

Varina

Charles Frazier
Authors:
Charles Frazier

The new novel from the number one bestselling author of Cold Mountain - a stunning portrait of the devastation left by the American Civil War, as seen through the eyes of a woman who played a part at the heart of it.With her marriage prospects ruined in the wake of her father's financial decline, teenage Varina Howell decides her best option is to wed the much-older widower Jefferson Davis, with whom she expects a life of security as a Mississippi landowner. When he instead pursues a career in politics and is appointed President of the Confederacy, it puts Varina at the white-hot centre of one of the darkest moments in American history - culpable regardless of her intentions.As the Confederacy prepares to surrender and she finds herself friendless and alone, Varina and her children escape Richmond. With her marriage in tatters and the country divided, they travel south, now fugitives with 'bounties on their heads, an entire nation in pursuit'.

Hodder & Stoughton

Four

Andy Jones
Authors:
Andy Jones
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rest of Me

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards
Hodder & Stoughton

Go Ask Fannie Farmer

Elisabeth Hyde
Authors:
Elisabeth Hyde
Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser

Drinks in hand, a group of neighbourhood women gather around a fire pit to enjoy a rare child-less Saturday night. Giddy with freedom, they drink too much, share secrets they wish, perhaps, they hadn't, and enjoy getting to know each other better. The single newcomer. The imperfect mom. The new-born parents. The military wife. The almost divorcee. Come Monday morning, one of them is gone. As a police investigation launches, the women will band together and ask whether they should have noticed that something was amiss. But how well can you really know your neighbours, when appearances can be so deceiving? As long as you believe that what you see is what you get, I get to stay this way. Poised. Devoted. Alive.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Sceptre

The End of Loneliness: The International Bestseller

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
Hodder Paperbacks

The New World

Scott K. Andrews
Authors:
Scott K. Andrews
Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale
Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall

The gripping summer read perfect for fans of Megan Abbott's The Fever and Louise O'Neill's Asking For It . 'Prods at the dark underbelly of society.' Red Best Summer Beach ReadsA Prima Best Summer Read'Compelling story characters readers will recognize and come to love and writing that makes it effortless to turn page after page.' Vancouver SunTHE BEST KIND OF PEOPLE is a page-turning Canadian bestseller about a family on the brink of collapse. It gives no easy answers, but once you stay up all night reading it, you'll want to talk about it with everyone you know.What if someone you trusted was accused of the unthinkable?George Woodbury is a teacher at a prestigious Connecticut private school. He is voted Teacher of the Year every year, after he rescued the school from a gunman attack. On his daughter's 17th birthday this beloved husband and father, is arrested for sexual impropriety with teenage girls on a skiing trip. His wife, Joan, vaults between denial and rage as the community she loved turns on her. Their daughter, Sadie, a popular over-achieving high school senior, becomes a social pariah. Their son, Andrew, a lawyer, assists in his father's defense, while wrestling with his own unhappy memories of his teen years coming out as gay. With George awaiting trial, how do the members of his family pick up the pieces and keep living their lives? How do they defend someone they love while wrestling with the possibility of his guilt?'Whittall places the reader right at the centre of their pain. It's the best depiction of female suffering I've read since Jane Smiley eloquently tackled sexual abuse in A Thousand Acres.' Toronto Star

Hodder & Stoughton

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The annual thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series. It is deep winter. The darkness is unending.The private detective named Jaycob Eklund has vanished, and Charlie Parker is dispatched to track him down. Parker's employer, Edgar Ross, an agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, has his own reasons for wanting Eklund found. Eklund is no ordinary investigator. He is obsessively tracking a series of homicides and disappearances, each linked to reports of hauntings. Now Parker will be drawn into Eklund's world, a realm in which the monstrous Mother rules a crumbling criminal empire, in which men strike bargains with angels, and in which the innocent and guilty alike are pawns in a game of ghosts . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Holding

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton

'A considerable achievement ... one of the more authentic debuts I've read in recent years ... in such an understated manner, eschewing linguistic eccentricity ... in favour of genuine characters and tender feeling...this is a fine novel.' John Boyne, Irish Times'Poised and perceptive' the Sunday Times'It's funny and wonderfully perceptive' Wendy Holden'It is beautiful and yet devastatingly sad' Daily Express'Deeply accomplished...brilliantly observed' Good Housekeeping'An undercurrent of black comedy accompanies the ripples that ensue - but with a pathos that makes this deftly plotted story as moving as it is compelling.' Sunday Mirror'Strenuously charming...surprisingly tender' Metro 'Heartwarming and observant' StylistThe remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama; and yet its inhabitants are troubled. Sergeant PJ Collins hasn't always been this overweight; mother of­ two Brid Riordan hasn't always been an alcoholic; and elegant Evelyn Ross hasn't always felt that her life was a total waste.So when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke - a former­ love of both Brid and Evelyn - the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated PJ struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.Darkly comic, touching and at times profoundly sad. Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore - with searing honesty - the complexities and contradictions that make us human. Graham Norton's masterful debut is an intelligently crafted story of love, secrets and loss.

Sceptre

Harmless Like You: Shortlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2017

Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Authors:
Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
John Murray

The Good Guy

Susan Beale
Authors:
Susan Beale
Hodder Paperbacks

A Life Without You: a gripping and emotional page-turner about love and family secrets

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh

'This novel made me sob, and it made me smile. It's a gorgeous, beautiful and evocative novel about love, hope and forgiveness.' - Amazon reader, 5 starsCan you ever outrun the past?It's Zoe's wedding day. She's about to marry Jamie, the love of her life. Then a phone call comes out of the blue, with the news that her mum Gina has been arrested. Zoe must make an impossible decision: should she leave her own wedding to help?Zoe hasn't seen Gina for years, blaming her for the secret that she's been running from ever since she was sixteen. Now, Gina is back in her life, but she's very different to the mum Zoe remembers. Slowly but surely, Gina is losing her memory.As she struggles to cope with Gina's illness, can Zoe face up to the terrible events of years ago and find her way back to the people she loves?A Life Without You is a stirring and poignant novel about the power of the past - and the possibilities of the future. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Amanda Prowse. *What readers are saying about A Life Without You:*'A story that will evoke every emotion that lurks within your heart and pull each string firmly. Devastating is the perfect word, yet it is also beautiful and passionate and exquisitely written.' 'Superbly written. Tender & poignant. Five star read.''I loved A Life Without You! Snotty tears, but a smile on my face and also in my heart. Just perfect.' 'Katie Marsh has touched my heart. She is a hidden gem within the world of fiction and I cannot recommend her books enough. I will be shouting about this book to everyone who will listen. A Life Without You is not to missed.''It made me sob, and it made me smile. Gorgeous, just gorgeous, beautiful and evocative novel about love, hope and forgiveness.''Makes you feel warm inside, but also absolutely breaks your heart... totally beautiful and uplifting.''A stunning and compassionate story of family, forgiveness and unconditional love... will remain forever in my heart''Very touching... I couldn't put it down!'