Luke Jennings - Codename Villanelle - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473666405
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
Books in this series

Codename Villanelle

The basis for Killing Eve, now a major BBC TV series

By Luke Jennings

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Jason Bourne meets The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in an outrageously entertaining thriller

The basis for KILLING EVE, now a major BBC TV series, starring Sandra Oh

'Gloriously exciting' Metro

She is the perfect assassin.

A Russian orphan, saved from the death penalty for the brutal revenge she took on her gangster father's killers.

Ruthlessly trained. Given a new life. New names, new faces - whichever fits.

Her paymasters call themselves The Twelve. But she knows nothing of them. Konstantin is the man who saved her and the one she answers to.

She is Villanelle. Without conscience. Without guilt. Without weakness.

Eve Polastri is the woman who hunts her. MI5, until one error of judgment costs her everything.

Then stopping a ruthless assassin becomes more than her job. It becomes personal.

Originally published as ebook singles: Codename Villanelle, Hollowpoint, Shanghai and Odessa.

No Tomorrow, the second book in the Killing Eve series, is available now!

Praise for Killing Eve TV series

'A dazzling thriller . . . mightily entertaining' Guardian

'Entertaining, clever and darkly comic' New York Times

Biographical Notes

Luke Jennings is a London-based author and journalist who has written for the Observer, Vanity Fair, the New Yorker and Time. He is the author of Blood Knots, shortlisted for the Samuel Johnson and William Hill prizes, and Atlantic.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473666412
  • Publication date: 06 Sep 2018
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: John Murray
A short howitzer of a novel . . . Jennings writes at supersonic speed, packing in an impressive number of violent set pieces and sex scenes. The breakneck pace is undeniably addictive but he also displays an offbeat sense of humour — Metro
A memorable protagonist . . . there is an extra sheen of glamour that makes Villanelle more a James Bond than a mere killer — Daily Mail
Exciting and fun — Daily Express
Like Ian Fleming, Jennings is at once tongue-in-cheek and serious . . . His version of 007 is great fun — Sunday Times
Reads a little like Terry Hayes's I Am Pilgrim in miniature . . . the final pages are thrilling — The Spectator
Racy in several senses and gripping from the word go, you can also see why BBC America commissioned a television version of Jennings's sensational thriller — Radio Times
Topples the typical spy-action thriller as these two fiercely intelligent women, equally obsessed with each other, go head to head in an epic game of cat and mouse — Sunday Express
Hodder & Stoughton

New Legal Thriller

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

This is Gomorrah

Tom Chatfield
Authors:
Tom Chatfield
Teach Yourself

Russian Script Hacking

Judith Meyer
Authors:
Judith Meyer
Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards
Hodder & Stoughton

Battle Sight Zero

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
John Murray

No Tomorrow

Luke Jennings
Authors:
Luke Jennings

The basis for KILLING EVE, now a major BBC TV series, starring Sandra Oh SUNDAY TIMES Thriller of the MonthIn a hotel room in Venice, where she's just completed a routine assassination, Villanelle receives a late-night call. Eve Polastri has discovered that a senior MI5 officer is in the pay of the Twelve, and is about to debrief him. As Eve interrogates her subject, desperately trying to fit the pieces of the puzzle together, Villanelle moves in for the kill. The duel between the two women intensifies, as does their mutual obsession, and when the action moves from the high passes of the Tyrol to the heart of Russia, Eve finally begins to unwrap the enigma of her adversary's true identity.Codename Villanelle, the first of the Killing Eve series, is out now! Praise for Killing Eve TV series'A dazzling thriller . . . mightily entertaining' Guardian 'Entertaining, clever and darkly comic' New York Times

Hodder & Stoughton

The Outsider

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Yellow Kite

Kilted Yoga

Finlay Wilson
Authors:
Finlay Wilson
Hodder Paperbacks

Why Did You Lie?

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The Sunday Times top crime read of the year. A journalist on the track of an old case attempts suicide. An ordinary couple return from a house swap in the states to find their home in disarray and their guests seemingly missing. Four strangers struggle to find shelter on a windswept spike of rock in the middle of a raging sea. They have one thing in common: they all lied.And someone is determined to punish them...WHY DID YOU LIE is a terrifying tale of long-delayed retribution from Iceland's Queen of Suspense.

Mulholland Books

Lie With Me

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

The truth is, we all tell lies... take a deep breath and dive into the book everyone's raving about. 'If you've had a hole in your literary life since finishing Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, this is the book to fill it' GraziaIt starts with a lie. The kind we've all told - to a former acquaintance we can't quite place but still, for some reason, feel the need to impress. The story of our life, embellished for the benefit of the happily married lawyer with the kids and the lovely home.And the next thing you know, you're having dinner at their house, and accepting an invitation to join them on holiday - swept up in their perfect life, the kind you always dreamed of...Which turns out to be less than perfect. But by the time you're trapped and sweating in the relentless Greek sun, burning to escape the tension all around you - by the time you start to realise that, however painful the truth might be, it's the lies that cause the real damage...... well, by then, it could just be too late.

Coronet

War With Russia

General Sir Richard Shirreff
Authors:
General Sir Richard Shirreff
Hodder & Stoughton

Morning Star

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown
Mulholland Books

Honky Tonk Samurai

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale

Hap and Leonard are not your typical private eyes. But what they lack in experience they make up with perseverance. Hap, a former 60s activist and self-proclaimed white trash rebel, and Leonard, a tough black, gay Vietnam vet, have finally decided to make their detective work official. Their first client: a mean old woman looking for her missing granddaughter. The girl used to work for a car dealership in town... but it seems like cars weren't the only things on offer. The mystery thickens to include blackmail, revenge, and an inbred family of hillbilly assassins who eliminate any threats to the operation. Only Hap and Leonard could turn a simple missing person case into a life-threatening showdown, and only Joe Lansdale could tell this story. Filled with hilarious dialogue, relentless pacing, and unorthodox characters, Honky Tonk Samurai is a rambunctious thrill ride by one hell of a writer.

Coronet

The A-Z of Pointless

Alexander Armstrong, Richard Osman
Authors:
Alexander Armstrong, Richard Osman

Journey from A-Z, playing 26 rounds of Pointless with family and friends and enjoy facts, banter and musings from Alexander Armstrong and Richard Osman. Inside you'll find hundreds of questions for all the family from TV's most popular quiz show, Pointless. (You will also find thousands of answers, which is very handy.) Taking you on a journey from A to Z you will learn amazing facts, from Agincourt and Andy Warhol to Zinedine Zidane and Zimbabwe, and everything in between.As an added bonus Alexander Armstrong and Richard Osman, also reveal their exclusive A to Z of behind the scenes gossip and Pointless secrets, all written with their trademark wit, alongside exclusive drawings by Moose Allain.Everyone you know will love this book. Except maybe for that couple you met on holiday, and, be honest, you didn't really like them anyway. I mean, she was alright, but what was up with him?

Mulholland Books

Shanghai Redemption

Qiu Xiaolong
Authors:
Qiu Xiaolong
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game for All the Family

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Mulholland Books

Crooked

Austin Grossman
Authors:
Austin Grossman
Mulholland Books

A Killing of Angels

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

Getting into the mind of a killer isn't for the faint of heart... Psychologist Alice Quentin must track down a murderer in the City, in this thrilling novel for fans of Nicci French and Ruth Rendell. At the height of a summer heatwave, a killer stalks the City of London.The avenging angel leaves behind a scattering of feathers with each body - but why these victims? What were their sins? Psychologist Alice Quentin only agrees to help out on the case because she owes Detective Don Burns a favour. But soon she finds herself deep in the toxic heart of the Square Mile - a place where money means more than life, and no one can be counted innocent. With fascinating characters and a page-turning plot, Kate Rhodes's novels are perfect for fans of Nicci French and Val McDermid.

Mulholland Books

Crossbones Yard

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

Crossbones Yard was a burial ground once. Now it's wasteland, tucked away in the back streets of Borough beneath the shadow of the Shard. The perfect place to leave a body...Alice Quentin finds the murder victim lying there - the woman's hand outstretched, as if begging for her help. A psychologist who sometimes works with the Metropolitan police, Alice is no stranger to sick minds. But this case is worse than anything she's seen before, and the killer is determined to make it personal.