Mick Herron - This is What Happened - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473657328
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473657335
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018

This is What Happened

By Mick Herron

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

From CWA Gold Dagger winner Mick Herron comes a shocking, twisted novel of psychological suspense about one woman's attempt to be better than ordinary

Twenty-six-year-old Maggie Barnes is someone you would never look at twice. Living alone in a month-to-month sublet in the huge city of London, with no family but an estranged sister, no boyfriend or partner, and not much in the way of friends, Maggie is just the kind of person who could vanish from the face of the earth without anyone taking notice.

Or just the kind of person MI5 needs to infiltrate the establishment and thwart an international plot that puts all of Britain at risk.

Now one young woman has the chance to be a hero - if she can think quickly enough to stay alive.

Biographical Notes

Mick Herron is a novelist and short story writer whose books include the Jackson Lamb series, the first of which - the Steel-Dagger nominated Slow Horses - has been described as the 'most enjoyable British spy novel in years'. The second Jackson Lamb novel, Dead Lions, won the 2013 CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger, and was picked by the Sunday Times as one of the best 25 crime novels of the past five years. Mick was born in Newcastle upon Tyne, and now lives in Oxford.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473660304
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson
Hodder & Stoughton

Lincoln Rhyme thriller

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Number one bestselling author and master of suspense Jeffery Deaver returns with a new Lincoln Rhyme thriller. Rhyme and Amelia Sachs' latest case: catching a terrifying killer targeting couples...

Hodder & Stoughton

Missing Person

Sarah Lotz
Authors:
Sarah Lotz
John Murray

London Rules

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder & Stoughton

Never Go There: a gripping psychological thriller with a twist that'll shock you to the core

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

What if you found out that you'd been married to a stranger? NEVER GO THERE is a gripping, chilling psychological thriller debut perfect for fans of Louise Jensen's THE SISTER, Jenny Blackhurst's BEFORE I LET YOU IN, Katerina Diamond and Linda Green.'Never go there, Nuala. Please, never go there.'Nuala knows nothing of her husband James's past. He made her swear that she would never contact his family and never, EVER visit the place he was from.But now James is dead, and Nuala is alone. Grieving and desperate, she decides to ignore his warning.Nuala is about to find out that some secrets are better left buried - and that uncovering the truth about the man she married will have terrible consequences...Gripping, disturbing and utterly addictive, NEVER GO THERE's twists will shock you to the very core.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Coronet

Shadow Kill

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

Held up by rebel forces in a brutal siege, John Porter is tested to the limit in the African jungle. Strikeback hero John Porter is sent on a mission with Regimental scallywag John Bald. Where Porter plays it by the book, Bald will always want to break the rules.They are sent to Sierra Leone to extract Ronald Soames, a former CO of the Regiment and now right-hand man to the President. But when Porter and Bald arrive the Englishman has disappeared, leaving a trail of destruction in his wake. Rebels are threatening to take over the country and its diamond mines - and to massacre all foreigners.Porter and Bald find themselves fighting shoulder to shoulder with the Regiment psychopath who is already embedded in the country.But it soon becomes clear that the Firm has lied to them about the true nature of the mission.What seems at first to be a battle to control Sierra Leone's diamond mines will turn out to about a much greater evil - and with a trail that leads back to both Westminster and the Kremlin.

Hodder & Stoughton

New Legal Thriller

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

Worldwide bestseller and master of the legal thriller John Grisham will keep you on the edge of your seat with his most suspenseful thriller yet.Praise for John Grisham:'A superb, instinctive storyteller' The Times'A giant of the thriller genre' Time Out'John Grisham has perfected the art of cooking up convincing, fast-paced thrillers' Telegraph'No one does it better than Grisham' Daily Telegraph

John Murray

Spook Street

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
John Murray

The List

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

Dieter Hess, an aged spy, is dead, and John Bachelor, his MI5 handler, is in deep, deep trouble. Death has revealed that the deceased had been keeping a secret second bank account - and there's only ever one reason a spy has a secret second bank account. The question of whether he was a double agent must be resolved, and its answer may undo an entire career's worth of spy secrets.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Dark Net

Benjamin Percy
Authors:
Benjamin Percy
Hodder & Stoughton

The Whistler

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

The Likeness

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French
Hodder & Stoughton

Takedown

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

A heart-pounding new standalone thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather. 'He has the uncanny knack of producing plots that are all too real, and this is no exception' (Daily Mail on First Response)When a British Special Forces soldier goes rogue, carrying out an attack at a US army base in Syria leading to the death of two men, ex-MI5 controller Charlotte Button is hired to take him down.Charlotte puts her best man on the case - hitman Lex Harper. It's up to Lex to assemble a crack team and get to the soldier before he carries out what could be a massive terrorist attack. But Charlotte might require Lex's help with a more personal problem too . . .As ex-MI5, Charlotte holds information on thousands of the agency's dirty operations, and keeps a store of those secrets in three flash drives hidden in separate safety deposit vaults. Now someone is taking extraordinary measures to recover the secrets through Hatton Garden-style robberies. So far two vaults have been raided, and two flash drives have gone. If the third is stolen, Charlotte's life will be in jeopardy. While it's down to Lex to prevent a potential terrorist attack on British soil, Charlotte must work out who is after her and what they want.

John Murray

Reconstruction

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

'Masterful . . . superior entertainment that makes most other novels of suspense appear dull and slow-witted by comparison' Publishers WeeklyWhen a gunman breaks into South Oxford Nursery School and takes a group of hostages, teacher Louise Kennedy fears the worst. But Jaime Segura isn't there on a homicidal mission, and he's just as scared as those whose lives he holds as collateral. As an armed police presence builds outside the school's gates, the only person Jaime will talk to is Ben Whistler, an MI6 accountant who worked with Jaime's lover, Miro. Miro's gone missing, along with a quarter of a billion pounds allotted for reconstruction work in Iraq. Jaime refuses to believe that Miro is a thief - though he's always had his secrets. But then, so does Louise, so do the other hostages - and so do some people on the outside, who'd much rather Jaime was silenced.

John Murray

Nobody Walks

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

'A first-rate modern thriller' Daily MailShortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger AwardTom Bettany is working at a meat processing plant in France when he gets a voicemail from an Englishwoman he doesn't know telling him that his estranged 26-year-old son is dead - Liam Bettany fell from his London balcony, where he was smoking pot.Now for the first time since he cut all ties years ago, Bettany returns home to London to find out the truth about his son's death. Maybe it's the guilt he feels about losing touch with Liam that's gnawing at him, or maybe he's actually put his finger on a labyrinthine plot, but either way he'll get to the bottom of the tragedy, no matter whose feathers he has to ruffle. But more than a few people are interested to hear Bettany is back in town, from incarcerated mob bosses to those in the highest echelons of MI5. He might have thought he'd left it all behind when he first skipped town, but nobody ever really walks away.

John Murray

Why We Die

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

'Herron is a stylish writer with a mordant sensibility and a deadly wit. He s also a tricky plotter' New York Times Book ReviewWhen Zoë Boehm agrees to track down the gang who knocked over Sweeney's jewellery shop, she's just hoping to break even in time for tax season. She certainly doesn't expect to wind up in a coffin. But she's about to become entangled with a strange collection of characters, starting with suicidal Tim Whitby, who's dedicating what's left of his life to protecting the pretty, battered Katrina Blake from her late husband's sociopathic brothers, Arkle and Trent.Unfortunately for Zoë, Arkle has a crossbow, Tim has nothing left to lose, and even Katrina has her secrets. And death, like taxes, can't be avoided forever.

John Murray

Smoke and Whispers

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

'This is one of these novels where you read it, not just to see what happens at the end, but to see what happens on the very next page' BooklistWhen a body is hauled from the River Tyne, Sarah Tucker heads to Newcastle for a closer look. She identifies the dead woman as private detective Zoë Boehm, but putting a name to the corpse only raises further questions. Did Zoë kill herself, or did one of her old cases come back to haunt her? Why was she wearing the jacket a murderer had stolen years before? And what's brought Sarah's former sparring partner Gerard Inchon to the same broken-down hotel where she's staying? Coincidence is an excuse that soon appears pretty unconvincing. Sarah can't leave until she's found the answers to her questions, however dangerous they might turn out to be.

John Murray

Real Tigers

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLDSBORO GOLD DAGGER AND THE IAN FLEMING STEEL DAGGER SHORTLISTED FOR THE THEAKSTON OLD PECULIAR CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR'If you read one spy novel this year, read Real Tigers' The Spectator'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on SundayCatherine Standish knows that chance encounters never happen to spooks.She's worked in the Intelligence Service long enough to understand treachery, double-dealing and stabbing in the back.What she doesn't know is why anyone would target her: a recovering drunk pushing paper with the other lost causes in Jackson Lamb's kingdom of exiles at Slough House.Whoever it is holding her hostage, it can't be personal. It must be about Slough House. Most likely, it is about Jackson Lamb.And say what you like about Lamb, he'll never leave a joe in the lurch.He might even be someone you could trust with your life . . .

John Murray

Down Cemetery Road

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder Paperbacks

Almost Dead

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

Cissy Cahill's world is unravelling fast. One by one, her family are dying. Cissy's right to be afraid but not for the reasons she thinks. The truth is much more terrifying.Hidden in the shadows of the Cahill familys twisted past is a shocking secret a secret that will only be satisfied by blood. And Cissy must uncover the deadly truth before its too late for herself and her innocent baby son.