Guy Gavriel Kay - The Summer Tree - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Summer Tree

Book One of the The Fionavar Tapestry

By Guy Gavriel Kay

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first volume in Guy Gavriel Kay's stunning fantasy masterwork.

Five men and women find themselves flung into the magical land of Fionavar, First of all Worlds. They have been called there by the mage Loren Silvercloak, and quickly find themselves drawn into the complex tapestry of events. For Kim, Paul, Kevin, Jennifer and Dave all have their own part to play in the coming battle against the forces of evil led by the fallen god Rakoth Maugrim and his dark hordes.Guy Gavriel Kay's classic epic fantasy plays out on a truly grand scale, and has already been delighting fans of imaginative fiction for twenty years.

Biographical Notes

Guy Gavriel Kay has published twelve novels which have been translated into more than 25 languages and have appeared on bestseller lists around the world. He is also the author of the acclaimed poetry collection, Beyond This Dark House. His most recent work is River of Stars and his newest novel is CHILDREN OF EARTH AND SKY. Before beginning his career as a novelist, Kay was retained by the Estate of J.R.R. Tolkien to assist in the editorial construction of The Silmarillion, the first and best-known of the posthumously published Tolkien works. Called to the Bar of Ontario in 1980, he has also been principal writer and associate producer for the CBC's award-winning crime-drama series, The Scales of Justice. Kay has twice won the Aurora Award, is a multiple World Fantasy Award nominee, and won that award in 2008 for Ysabel. He also won the Sunburst and Les Chevaux Célestes awards for Under Heaven, and is the recipient of the International Goliardos Prize, presented in Mexico City, for his contributions to the literature of the fantastic. In 2014 he was invested with the Order of Canada, the country's highest civilian honour. Kay's authorized website may be found at www.brightweavings.com. Guy Gavriel Kay lives in Toronto with his wife and two sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473649224
  • Publication date: 15 Sep 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
The only fantasy I know which does not suffer by comparison with The Lord of the Rings — INTERZONE
I'm not just impressed by THE SUMMER TREE - I'm overwhelmed! — Marion Zimmer Bradley
A lovingly detailed work of fantasy ... a classic of the genre — Fantasy Review
Engrossingly worthwhile — Asimov's Science Fiction and Fantasy Magazine
Hodder Paperbacks

The Sun's Domain

Rebecca Levene
Authors:
Rebecca Levene
Hodder & Stoughton

Early Riser

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde
Hodder & Stoughton

Songwoman

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke

A thrilling historical novel and the sequel to Skin, perfect for fans of Outlander and Game of Thrones. Praise for SKIN:'Filled with drama and passion... I was captivated' ANTONIA HODGSON'A visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence' THE SUNDAY TIMES'I am hooked! Ilka is an amazing writer' KAREN MAITLAND'A tale as evocative as it is compelling' STARBURST MAGAZINE'Accomplished, absorbing and powerful' THE HOOPLA

Hodder & Stoughton

Legendary

Stephanie Garber
Authors:
Stephanie Garber

The spellbinding sequel to Sunday Times bestselling Caraval, told from the point of view of Scarlett's sister.

Coronet

The Cloven

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling
Hodder & Stoughton

The Memory of Fire

Callie Bates
Authors:
Callie Bates

Magic. Romance. Revolution. The sequel to the bold and gorgeous The Waking Land.'Bates is an author well worth watching' Robin HobbJahan Korakides is the hero who saved the life of the crown prince in battle, helped win the revolution in Eren and earned the heart of Elanna, the legendary Wildegarde reborn.But Jahan Korakides is also broken; haunted by memories of the woman who experimented on him and his brothers as children.So when the empire threatens war in retribution for Elanna's illegal sorcery, Jahan leaves Eren to negotiate with the emperor on Queen Sophy's behalf. But the world he left has changed - riots rock the city of Ida, his brother is missing and the crown prince refuses to speak to him.Jahan's only hope of success seems to lie with the rebels in Ida. Yet, if he joins them, he will merely spur on the war he's desperate to avoid, and risk revealing himself as a sorcerer.And then the witch hunters arrive at court, bringing Elanna in chains.

Hodder Paperbacks

Strange the Dreamer

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor
Hodder & Stoughton

Clockwork City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley
Hodder Paperbacks

Caraval: the mesmerising Sunday Times bestseller

Stephanie Garber
Authors:
Stephanie Garber
Hodder & Stoughton

The Witchwood Crown

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Thirty years ago Ineluki, the Storm King, was destroyed and his armies scattered. Osten Ard has been at peace ever since, ruled by Simon Snowlock, kitchen boy made king, and Miriamele, King Elias' only child. But now age weighs upon their reign. Simon's dreams have deserted him, old allies die and betrayal and assassination threaten. His son and heir John Josua is years dead and his grandson, Morgan, is a wastrel. A journey of redemption and discovery beckons in the darkening world.And in the frozen North, in Nakkiga, the mountain fortress, Ineluki's ally, the Norn Queen, wakes from her deep, decades-long sleep and tells her followers that she will sleep no more. Humanity must be destroyed. Her sorcerers will bring a demon back from death, her warriors will seek the world for living dragon's blood...And finally the greatest artefact of all, the Witchwood Crown, will be hers. With a cast of hundreds - humans, giants, dragons, trolls, Sithi and Norn - The Witchwood Crown is epic fantasy as it used to be: classic, grand and sweeping and evidence that Tad Williams is the greatest living writer of the form.

Coronet

The Science of Game of Thrones

Helen Keen
Authors:
Helen Keen

A myth-busting, mind-blowing, jaw-dropping and fun-filled expedition through the world of Game of Thrones.Do dragons actually exist? Is it possible to crush a person's head with your bare hands?What really happened when royal families interbreed? How does wildfire win wars? Can you really kill someone with molten gold?Award-winning comedian and popular-science writer Helen Keen uncovers the astounding science behind the world's most popular television show. Join Helen as she sifts the fact from fantasy, discovers the truth beneath the togas, and reveals a world more fantastical than Daenerys Targaryen's wildest dreams. So pour yourself a bowl of brown, climb on your beast of burden, and prepare yourself for an amazing adventure. It's time to see the Seven Kingdoms as you have never seen them before.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Waking Land

Callie Bates
Authors:
Callie Bates

'Jump on the wagon now, because I think Bates is an author well worth watching' Robin HobbIt's been fourteen years, since King Antoine took Elanna hostage. Fourteen years since her father's rebellion failed. Fourteen years spent being raised by the man who condemned her people to misery. A man she's come to love as a father.Now 20, Elanna is about to be taken prisoner once again... but this time by her father's mysterious righthand man.Her father wants to reignite his rebellion, this time using Elanna as figurehead. He will tell his followers she is the legendary Wildegarde reborn, a sorceress who could make the very earth tremble.But what no one knows is that magic really does flow through Elanna's veins. Now she must decide which side she's on, and whether she'll use her powers for mercy... or revenge. A bold and gorgeous fantasy featuring a brilliant heroine on the cusp of womanhood, The Waking Land is the first of a trilogy that will delight fans of The Red Queen, Six of Crows, and Court of Thorns and Roses.~*~*~Wildegarde came bearing a flame in her heart and her hair crowned with the pale light of stars. Where she placed her feet, the earth trembled. Where she raised her hand, mountains moved.~*~*~

Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Flame in the Mist

Renée Ahdieh
Authors:
Renée Ahdieh
Coronet

Night of Sorrows

Graham Hancock
Authors:
Graham Hancock

Cortés and his small army of Conquistadors enter Tenochtitlan, the island city of the Aztecs, as guests of the psychotic emperor Moctezuma who plans to trap them there and kill them all. In a stunning coup, Cortés acts first, taking the emperor hostage and ruling the Aztecs through him. All of Mexico seems about to fall into his hands until a report comes from the coast of the arrival of a new force of Spaniards with more than three times his numbers, sent not to strengthen him but to attack him and wrest the conquest from him. Faced with the choice of abject surrender or war with fellow Spaniards Cortés chooses war and marches out to do battle but, in so doing he fatally weakens his garrison in Tenochtitlan and throws open the doors of Hell.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Book of Lost Things Illustrated Edition

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Coronet

The Erstwhile

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling

The Vorrh is a vast unmapped and very mysterious jungle in Africa. No-one comes out of it in one piece. Survivors report strange, mind-bending phenomena and horrific monsters. It is rumoured that the Garden of Eden still exists somewhere in the middle of it. In The Erstwhile it transpires that some angels have escaped Eden and the Vorrh and are living in hiding in London, some in disguise as lunatics in Bedlam. It's also revealed that William Blake, a character in these novels, is interacting with these angels. Good and evil angels and humans, including William Blake, are heading towards a final, Miltonic apocalyptic battle for the soul of humanity.The Erstwhile is the second book in the Vorrh trilogy.

Hodder & Stoughton

Frostblood

Elly Blake
Authors:
Elly Blake

'Fast-paced and brimming with magic and intrigue.' - Lori M. Lee. The first in an addictive fantasy series perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass.Enter a world where fire and ice are mortal enemies...Ruby is a Fireblood. In a land ruled by frost, her very existence is a crime. She's spent her whole life in hiding. Until the day Frostblood soldiers raid her village and kill her mother. The day she swears to avenge her people.She must travel deep into the heart of the enemy, to the court of the Frost King, with only the mysterious warrior Arcus - a Frostblood rebel - by her side. But with alliances between flame and ice strictly forbidden, is Arcus friend or foe?Ruby will only have one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who took everything from her. But she has no idea just how hot her fire will burn...(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Sea of Silver Light

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams

Bestselling author Tad Williams broke new ground in 1996 with his wonderfully imaginative novel CITY OF GOLDEN SHADOW: OTHERLAND BOOK 1. An incredibly complex and detailed virtual reality, Otherland is home to the wildest dreams and darkest nightmares of its users and creators. The conspiracy threatens to sacrifice our Earth for the promise of this far more exclusive place. And, somehow, Otherland is claiming the Earth's most valuable source, its children. Now, in SEA OF SILVER LIGHT: OTHERLAND 4, Tad Williams' epic saga reaches a magnificent conclusion.

Hodder & Stoughton

Children of Earth and Sky

Guy Gavriel Kay
Authors:
Guy Gavriel Kay