Melanie McGrath - Pie and Mash Down the Roman Road - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473641983
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473641976
    • Publication date:07 Feb 2019

Pie and Mash Down the Roman Road

100 years of love and life in one East End market

By Melanie McGrath

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

This is the story of the Roman Road, an East End pie and mash shop and the lives and loves of the people who have worked and eaten there.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA NON-FICTION CROWN 2018

'Filled with hearty goodness and packed together with care, this will go down a treat' Evening Standard

'Rich and compelling' Spectator

'an accomplished social history ... lively and absorbing' Who Do You Think You Are?

The fascinating history of an iconic East End institution from the bestselling author of Silvertown, Melanie McGrath.

G Kelly's Pie and Mash has been run by the same family in the Roman Road in Bow for nearly a hundred years; an East End institution and the still point of a turning world. Outside its windows the Roman Road has seen an extraordinary revolution - from women's liberation and industrialisation to wars and immigration - and yet at its heart it remains one of the last traditional market roads of London.

Pie and Mash down the Roman Road is the biography of that shop and of the people - customers, suppliers, employees, owners - who passed through it, and continue to do so. Through vivid tales of ordinary lives the book tells the extraordinary story of the community living around the oldest trading route in Britain, and the true heart of the East End.

Biographical Notes

Melanie McGrath was born in Essex, and is the author of critically acclaimed, bestselling non-fiction (Silvertown and The Long Exile) and won the John Llewelyn-Rhys/Mail on Sunday award for Best New British and Commonwealth Writer under 35, for her first book Motel Nirvana. She writes for the national press and is a regular broadcaster on radio. She writes fiction as M.J. McGrath, and her first novel in the Edie Kiglatuk series: White Heat was longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger Award and was followed by The Boy in the Snow. The Bone Seeker is the third book in the series. Melanie lives and works in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473641969
  • Publication date: 22 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Two Roads
Filled with hearty goodness and packed together with care, this book will go down a treat. — Evening Standard
Her empathetic ability to inhabit vanished streets and catch authentic voices - at a point when you wonder how much longer they will be around - is rich and compelling — Spectator
An emotional encounter with Bow's very tumultuous history — Roman Road LDN
A still point in a turning world . . . a shop front onto the past — Mail on Sunday
an accomplished social history ... lively and absorbing — Who Do You Think You Are? magazine
John Murray

The Invention of Nature

Andrea Wulf
Authors:
Andrea Wulf
Sceptre

Dandy in the Underworld

Sebastian Horsley
Authors:
Sebastian Horsley
Hodder & Stoughton

Girl in the Cellar - The Natascha Kampusch Story

Allan Hall, Michael Leidig
Authors:
Allan Hall, Michael Leidig
Two Roads

The End of Your Life Book Club

Will Schwalbe
Authors:
Will Schwalbe

'A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them.' - Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie'a true meditation on what books can do.' - Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber EyesMary Anne Schwalbe is waiting for her chemotherapy treatments when Will casually asks her what she's reading. The conversation they have grows into tradition: soon they are reading the same books so they can have something to talk about in the hospital waiting room. Their choices range from classic (Howards End) to popular (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), from fantastic (The Hobbit) to spiritual (Jon Kabat-Zinn), with many in between. We hear their passion for reading and their love for each other in their intimate and searching discussions. A profoundly moving testament to the power of love between a child and parent, and the power of reading in our lives.

John Murray

Patrick Leigh Fermor

Artemis Cooper
Authors:
Artemis Cooper
Coronet

The Art of the Loophole

Nick Freeman
Authors:
Nick Freeman
Hodder & Stoughton

A Street Cat Named Bob

James Bowen
Authors:
James Bowen

The moving, uplifiting true story of an unlikely friendship between a man on the streets and the ginger cat who adopts him and helps him heal his life.When James Bowen found an injured, ginger street cat curled up in the hallway of his sheltered accommodation, he had no idea just how much his life was about to change. James was living hand to mouth on the streets of London and the last thing he needed was a pet.Yet James couldn't resist helping the strikingly intelligent tom cat, whom he quickly christened Bob. He slowly nursed Bob back to health and then sent the cat on his way, imagining he would never see him again. But Bob had other ideas.Soon the two were inseparable and their diverse, comic and occasionally dangerous adventures would transform both their lives, slowly healing the scars of each other's troubled pasts.A Street Cat Named Bob is a moving and uplifting story that will touch the heart of anyone who reads it.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz

Denis Avey, Rob Broomby
Authors:
Denis Avey, Rob Broomby

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, After Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes the extraordinary true story of a British soldier who marched willingly into Buna-Monowitz, the concentration camp known as Auschwitz III.In the summer of 1944, Denis Avey was being held in a POW labour camp, E715, near Auschwitz III. He had heard of the brutality meted out to the prisoners there and he was determined to witness what he could. He hatched a plan to swap places with a Jewish inmate and smuggled himself into his sector of the camp. He spent the night there on two occasions and experienced at first-hand the cruelty of a place where slave workers, had been sentenced to death through labour. Astonishingly, he survived to witness the aftermath of the Death March where thousands of prisoners were murdered by the Nazis as the Soviet Army advanced. After his own long trek right across central Europe he was repatriated to Britain. For decades he couldn't bring himself to revisit the past, but now Denis Avey feels able to tell the full story - a tale as gripping as it is moving - which offers us a unique insight into the mind of an ordinary man whose moral and physical courage are almost beyond belief.

Hodder & Stoughton

The King Maker eBook

Geordie Greig
Authors:
Geordie Greig
John Murray

The Secret Lives of Somerset Maugham

Selina Hastings
Authors:
Selina Hastings

For nearly sixty years Somerset Maugham (1874-1965) was one of the most famous writers in the world. An enormously successful playwright and the author of over a hundred short stories and twenty-one novels - several of which are now established classics - Maugham expertly concealed a private life. Predominantly homosexual, and deeply in love with the charming but dissolute Gerald Haxton, he made a disastrous marriage to Syrie Wellcome which he would escape by travelling and writing extensively in the Far East. A talented linguist, during both world wars Maugham worked for British Intelligence. In between he moved in literary and theatrical circles in London, New York and Hollywood and entertained lavishly at his luxurious villa in the south of France. Outwardly his life was richly rewarding, but privately he suffered anguish from an unrequited love affair and a shocking final betrayal.Acclaimed biographer Selina Hastings has had access to Maugham's extensive private correspondence as well as to important family testimony, which sheds a fascinating new light on this complex and extraordinary man.

Hodder Paperbacks

Escobar

Roberto Escobar
Authors:
Roberto Escobar
Hodder Paperbacks

My Stroke of Insight

Jill Bolte Taylor
Authors:
Jill Bolte Taylor
Hodder Paperbacks

A Friend Like Henry

Nuala Gardner
Authors:
Nuala Gardner
Hodder Paperbacks

Imagine This

Julia Baird
Authors:
Julia Baird

'Honest and poignant' THE SUNThe honest and revealing story of John Lennon's childhood by his sister Julia. Through her own personal journey, Julia reveals the battle between two strong, self-willed women - John's mother and his Aunt Mimi - to have custody of John in his early years. It was Aunt Mimi who finally won and removed John from his mother at the age of five. But as John grew up, he would frequently return home - spending time with his mother and half-sisters, Julia, Jackie and Ingrid, learning his love of music from his mother, and hanging out, playing guitar with his childhood friend Paul McCartney.Julia is candid about the sadness as well as the joy of their broken family life. She details the devestating loss of their mother Julia in a road accident - and describes the painful legacy for the entire family, especially John as he moves into a life of stratospheric fame with the Beatles.

John Murray

Seize the Hour

Margaret MacMillan
Authors:
Margaret MacMillan
Hodder Paperbacks

Unbeaten

Kim Woodburn
Authors:
Kim Woodburn
Hodder Paperbacks

Bring on the Empty Horses

David Niven
Authors:
David Niven

Here is Niven at his best. He and Errol Flynn were filming The Charge of the Light Brigade for a director, Michael Curtiz, 'whose Hungarian-orientated English was a joy to us all'. High on the rostrum he decided the moment had come to order the arrival on the scene of a hundred riderless chargers. "Okay," he yelled into a megaphone, "Bring on the empty horses!" 'BRING ON THE EMPTY HORSES is the second part of David Niven's internationally bestselling autobiography, following the superbly entertaining THE MOON'S A BALLOON. Both books were highly acclaimed by the critics and remain as wonderful reminders of a much-loved actor who epitomised, for many, the essential British gent, even when surrounded by the stars of Hollywood.

Sceptre

Room Full of Mirrors

Charles R. Cross
Authors:
Charles R. Cross
Hodder Paperbacks

So Me

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Coronet

Captain James Cook

Richard Hough
Authors:
Richard Hough

In Cook's relatively short and adventurous life (1728-79) he voyaged to the eastern and western seaboards of North America, the North and South Pacific and the Arctic and Antarctic bringing about a new comprehension of the world's geography and its people's. He was the linking figure between the grey specualtion of the early eighteenth century and the industrial age of the first half of the nineteenth century.Richard Hough's biograpahy is full of new insights and interpretations of one of the world's greatest mariners.