Rory Gleeson - Rockadoon Shore - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473634091
    • Publication date:12 Jan 2017

Rockadoon Shore

By Rory Gleeson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Six Young Friends. One Watchful Neighbour. Two Days Alone. What Could Possibly Go Wrong?

'Rockadoon Shore is terrific' Roddy Doyle

'One of the most exciting Irish storytellers to have emerged in years' Gavin Corbett

Cath is worried about her friends. DanDan is struggling with the death of his ex, Lucy is drinking way too much and Steph has become closed off. A weekend away is just what they need so they travel out to Rockadoon Lodge, to the wilds in the west of Ireland.

But the weekend doesn't go to plan. JJ is more concerned with getting high than spending time with them, while Merc is humiliated and seeks revenge. And with long-ignored tensions now out in the open, their elderly neighbour Malachy arrives on their doorstep with a gun in his hands . . .

Honest, moving and human, Rockadoon Shore is a novel about friendship and youth, about missed opportunities and lost love, and about the realities of growing up and growing old in modern-day Ireland. Highly energetic and tensely humorous, it heralds a new and exciting voice in contemporary Irish fiction.

Biographical Notes

Rory Gleeson was born in Dublin in 1989. He has a BA in Psychology from Trinity College Dublin and an MA in Creative Writing from UEA. He lives in Toronto.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473634107
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: John Murray
Rockadoon Shore is terrific. It's full of surprises and sharp writing, great belts of dialogue, and a gang of characters who manage to be likeable and unlikeable, clever and thick, loud and vulnerable, entertaining and very, very real — Roddy Doyle
Fresh in its unpredictability . . . gutsy and ambitious — Guardian
Crackling with wit and fine writing . . . An exuberant dispatch from the front line of youthful narcissism and despair — Mail on Sunday
Rockadoon Shore, a saga about young people traversing the early years of adulthood and the decisions we make in life, is very much built to fit into the Irish literary-fiction domain where Donal Ryan and Lisa McInerney dwell — Irish Sunday Independent
Think early Big Brother meets Friends, with a sprinkling of fish-out-of-water countryside farce à la Withnail & I . . . it hints at a keen and socially attentive writerly sensibility, which will hopefully be more expansively showcased in due course — Irish Times
Gleeson is particularly good at skewering the unspoken tensions between his characters as the weekend falls apart spectacularly . . . This is an uncomfortable read that's like being in a slow, but mesmerising, train crash — Daily Mail
Boisterous and energetic — Irish Independent
Gleeson has energy and enthusiasm; he is a talent to watch — Sunday Business Post
Rory Gleeson brilliantly nails the self-obsession of the young and entitled in this sharply observed tale of sex, drugs and Rockadoon Shore. A brand new and welcome voice speaking for the disenchanted and disaffected — Liz Nugent
Fierce, funny, vivid, and compelling from the first line. Rory Gleeson is one of the most exciting Irish storytellers to have emerged in years — Gavin Corbett
Rory Gleeson's debut novel reads like A Midsummer Night's Dream by way of Trainspotting, all moonlight and MDMA . . . Savage comedy and inevitable tragedy are unflinchingly and dauntlessly intermingled in this impressive debut, which has a flawless sense of place — Sunday Times
Sharply funny — Sunday Express
Gleeson is in fact remarkable not for his voice but for his voices: among other things, Rockadoon Shore is an accomplished act of ventriloquism. Gleeson giving the narrative reins to each of his characters in turn and thus extending his and our sympathy towards them all — Times Literary Supplement
Hodder & Stoughton

Go Ask Fannie Farmer

Elisabeth Hyde
Authors:
Elisabeth Hyde
Hodder & Stoughton

An Impossible Marriage

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

This Bed They Centre

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Hodder & Stoughton

The Holiday Friend

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Resort

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder Paperbacks

Never Go There: a gripping psychological thriller with a twist that'll shock you to the core

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

What if you found out that you'd been married to a stranger? 'Never go there, Nuala. Please, never go there.'Nuala knows nothing of her husband James's past. He made her swear that she would never contact his family and never, EVER visit the place he was from.But now James is dead, and Nuala is alone. Grieving and desperate, she decides to ignore his warning.Nuala is about to find out that some secrets are better left buried - and that uncovering the truth about the man she married will have terrible consequences...Compulsive, disturbing and utterly addictive, NEVER GO THERE is a thrilling psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Linda Green, Louise Jensen and Jenny Blackhurst.

Hodder & Stoughton

Nightblood

Elly Blake
Authors:
Elly Blake

Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre: a gorgeously uplifting, feel-good romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

The Blink of an Eye

Rikke Schmidt Kjaergaard
Authors:
Rikke Schmidt Kjaergaard
Teach Yourself

The Survival Manual

Jason Polley
Authors:
Jason Polley

Every year, more than 40,000 people climb Mount Kilimanjaro. Millions head for the greatoutdoors every weekend, and the concept of the Great Outdoors has never been morepopular. If you are one of them, would you know what to do if you got stranded or hurt?"How to Survive Outdoors" gives essential, practical advice for situationsthat aren't in any way implausible. It starts with ten life-saving tips, then outlinesthe crucial components - water, food, shelter and so on. It covers scenarios any one of uscould encounter, including plane crashes and sinkings.

Two Roads

Two Steps Forward

Graeme Simsion, Anne Buist
Authors:
Graeme Simsion, Anne Buist
Hodder & Stoughton

Ships of Mercy

Don Stephens
Authors:
Don Stephens
Hodder & Stoughton

Finding Sisu

Katja Pantzar
Authors:
Katja Pantzar
Two Roads

Pie and Mash on the Roman Road

Melanie McGrath
Authors:
Melanie McGrath

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Defining You

Fiona Murden
Authors:
Fiona Murden

Yellow Kite

WTF Should I Eat?

Mark Hyman
Authors:
Mark Hyman

No 1 New York Times bestselling author Dr Mark Hyman sorts through the conflicting research on food to give us the truth on what we should be eating and why. Did you know that porridge isn't actually a healthy way to start the day? That milk doesn't build bones, and eggs aren't the devil? In WTF Should I eat? - Dr Hyman looks at every food group and explains what we've gotten wrong, revealing which foods nurture our health and which pose a threat. He also explains the crucial role food plays in functional medicine and how food systems and policies affect our environmental and personal health.With myth-busting insights, easy-to-understand science, and delicious, wholesome recipes in every chapter, WTF Should I Eat? is an invaluable resource for cooking, eating and living well.'Dr Mark Hyman's WTF Should I Eat? offers a masterpiece of truth-telling, a subversive reproach to the industrial systems that threaten our very health - and how each of us can flourish by making better food choices. This could be the most useful book you will read.' - Daniel Goleman

Hodder & Stoughton

The Paras

Max Arthur
Authors:
Max Arthur
JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017'A quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable' The Economist'A cleverly constructed rural Gothic fable . . . Elmet is a marvellous achievement' TLS'Pastoral idyll, political exposé, cosy family saga and horror tale, it reads like a traditional children's story that turns into a gangster film: Hansel and Gretel meets The Godfather' Sunday TimesDaniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned menacing and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them in the woods with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. Cathy was more like their father: fierce and full of simmering anger. Daniel was more like their mother: gentle and kind. Sometimes, their father disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home, he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.Brutal and beautiful in equal measure, Elmet is a compelling portrayal of a family living on the fringes of contemporary society, as well as a gripping exploration of the disturbing actions people are capable of when pushed to their limits.

Hodder & Stoughton

Done

Jacques Peretti
Authors:
Jacques Peretti

'A revelatory book' John Lewis-Stempel'The book to read' GQPraise for The Billion Dollar Deals and How They're Changing Our World, the TV documentary which accompanies the book:'So brilliant, you want to take notes... It's a brilliant concept brilliantly executed.' Lucy Mangan, Guardian What if the way we understand our world is wrong? What if it isn't politicians and events that shape our lives, but secret deals made by people you've never heard of?This book tells the story of the secret deals that are changing the world, and revolutionizing everything we do, including money, the food we eat, what we buy, and the drugs we take to stay well. These deals never make the news: they are made high up in boardrooms, on golf courses, and in luxury cars: each sealed by world-changing handshakes. This is the story of those handshakes.