Anthony DeCurtis - Lou Reed - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £25.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444794588
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473631458
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444794601
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018

Lou Reed

A Life

By Anthony DeCurtis

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The essential biography of the Velvet Underground singer and New York legend

As lead singer and songwriter for the Velvet Underground and a renowned solo artist, Lou Reed invented alternative rock. His music, at once the height of sanctity and perversity, transcended a genre, speaking to millions of listeners, inspiring a new generation of musicians, and forever changing the way we think of that iconic era of sex, drugs, and rock 'n' roll.

Throughout his five-decade career, Reed embodied artistic self-awareness and captured the beauty, paranoia, and vivacity of his time into an array of hit songs, experimental albums, and a larger-than-life persona. With such masterpieces as 'Sweet Jane' and 'Walk on the Wild Side', Reed exerted an influence on popular music rivaled only by the likes of Bob Dylan and the Beatles and is recognized to this day as one of the greatest musicians of the 20th century.

Now, just a few years after Reed's death, comes the thrilling, provocative story of his complex life. An acclaimed Rolling Stone contributor, Anthony DeCurtis interviewed Reed extensively and knew him well. With unparalleled access to Reed's friends, family, and dozens of other intimate relations, DeCurtis brings Reed's story compellingly alive and deepens our understanding of his indelible music. We travel deep into the underground artist clubs, listen along in the studio as the Velvet Underground record their signature work, and revel in Reed's relationship with legendaries like Andy Warhol, Patti Smith, and David Bowie. Insightful, revelatory, and intimate, Lou Reed is a gripping tribute to a quintessential American icon.

Biographical Notes

Anthony DeCurtis is a contributing editor for Rolling Stone, where his work has appeared for more than 35 years, and a Distinguished Lecturer in the Creative Writing Program at the University of Pennsylvania. He is the author of In Other Words and Rocking My Life Away, the co-writer of Clive Davis's autobiography, The Soundtrack of My Life, a New York Times bestseller, and the editor of Blues & Chaos: The Music Writing of Robert Palmer and Present Tense: Rock & Roll and Culture. DeCurtis is a Grammy Award winner and has served as a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominating committee for more than 20 years. He holds a Ph.D. in American Literature and lives in New York City.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444794595
  • Publication date: 05 Oct 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
I'm not the first musician to pledge allegiance to Lou and the Velvets, and I won't be the last. Read this book, and explore the f*cking genius that was Lou Reed — Peter Buck, co-founder and lead guitarist of R.E.M.
Anthony DeCurtis captures the soul and the essence of Lou Reed in his terrific new biography of the brilliant, culture-shaping musician. DeCurtis' great gift of storytelling gives fascinating insight and perspective to Reed's complex personality and cutting-edge musical talent. This is a must read — Clive Davis
How did a middle-class suburban boy grow up to be king of Manhattan's wild side? Thanks to this groundbreaking biography, now we know . . . A must-read for fans of rock and roll, New York City, or sex — Ada Calhoun, author of St. Marks is Dead
Lou Reed was one of music's most brilliant and complicated figures-an explorer, a provocateur, and always a true artist. With grace and grit, Anthony DeCurtis has delivered a revelatory and insightful chronicle of this most challenging rock & roll icon, and Lou Reed gets the biographer he deserves — Alan Light, author of The Holy or the Broken
Lou Reed is Lou Reed! — Iggy Pop
A brilliant artist has found a biographer with the insight to, as Lou said, 'pass through the fire' and be a definitive interpreter of both his music and his life — Sting
An eloquent account of a harrowing life transformed by love in the end. Anthony DeCurtis does a brilliant job of synthesizing the disparate parts of Lou Reed's life into an insightful, moving narrative. I highly recommend it — Suzanne Vega
Anthony DeCurtis was one of the few music critics Lou Reed read and whose company he enjoyed. After reading this sublime and subtle book, the mystery of Lou's respect for Anthony is revealed. Anthony is a great story teller, a writer's writer, turning pain into beauty the way Lou did in his songs — Bono
There were, [DeCurtis] states in the introduction, "aspects of his sex life, his drug use, and his cruelty" that Reed would "have loved to erase" - yet, while less prurient than other recent biographers, DeCurtis recognises that an airbrushed portrait would be a travesty of a life — Sunday Times
John Murray

This Book Will Blow Your Mind

Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

By the Costa Award-winning author of PURE, a stunning historical novel with the grip of a thriller, written in richly evocative, luminous prose. One rain-swept February night in 1809, an unconscious man is carried into a house in Somerset. He is Captain John Lacroix, home from Britain's disastrous campaign against Napoleon's forces in Spain.Gradually Lacroix recovers his health, but not his peace of mind - he cannot talk about the war or face the memory of what happened in a village on the gruelling retreat to Corunna. After the command comes to return to his regiment, he sets out instead for the Hebrides, with the vague intent of reviving his musical interests and collecting local folksongs. Lacroix sails north incognito, unaware that he has far worse to fear than being dragged back to the army: a vicious English corporal and a Spanish officer are on his trail, with orders to kill. The haven he finds on a remote island with a family of free-thinkers and the sister he falls for are not safe, at all.

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

The new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine, the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

Sceptre

How Are You Going To Save Yourself

J M Holmes
Authors:
J M Holmes

Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young

In this sweeping epic novel, which can be read as a completely standalone story or as the sequel to SONS OF THE BLOOD, the New World Rising series opens out into the pageant and power of renaissance Europe.

Two Roads

Girl on the Line

Alice Vinten
Authors:
Alice Vinten
Two Roads

How to Survive the End of the World (When it's in Your Own Head)

Aaron Gillies
Authors:
Aaron Gillies
Hodder & Stoughton

The Man I Think I Know

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Death and the Olive Grove

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Sceptre

Factfulness

Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, Anna Rosling Rönnlund
Authors:
Hans Rosling, Ola Rosling, Anna Rosling Rönnlund

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

50 Business Classics

Tom Butler-Bowdon
Authors:
Tom Butler-Bowdon

From Michael Porter to Lazslo Bock, from The Five Dysfunctions of a Team to Creativity Inc., here are the 50 most important titles on organizational and personal success. 50 Business Classics presents the key ideas from classic texts such as My Years with General Motors and Michael Gerber's The E-Myth Revisited to contemporary business ideas such as the rise of the tech giants like Google, Apple and Amazon. It contains revealing biographies of luminaries like Steve Jobs and Katherine Graham as well as lesser-known stories including creation of publishing giant Penguin and Chinese behemoth Alibaba. Here you'll find the texts and ideas that matter in:· Entrepreneurship· Leadership· Management· Strategy· Business history· Personal development· Technology and innovation Summarising the smartest thinking for today's professional success this book will provide inspiration and insights for entrepreneurs, executives and students of business and management alike.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing US

Fusion

Denise Lee Yohn
Authors:
Denise Lee Yohn

In Fusion, Denise Lee Yohn examines some of the world's greatest organizations and reverse-engineers their greatness - specifically how they've integrated what's on the inside (culture) with what's on the outside (brand) for remarkable results. Through detailed case studies, interviews with industry leaders, findings from respected academic research and drawing on her own experience working with extraordinary brands across a broad range of sectors, Denise shows how great companies achieve the brand-culture fusion that creates extraordinary results and growth. Fusion is for those with responsibility and oversight for the core operations of their business (C-Suite and line managers) who also set the tone and direction for their companies. The book includes access to Denise's proprietary online assessment for determining how close to or how far from brand/culture integration a company is and a blueprint for achieving brand-culture fusion.

John Murray Learning

Human Origins

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness: The International Bestseller

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
John Murray

Reinventing Capitalism in the Age of Big Data

Viktor Mayer-Schonberger, Thomas Ramge
Authors:
Viktor Mayer-Schonberger, Thomas Ramge

Hodder & Stoughton

Eastern Horizons

Levison Wood
Authors:
Levison Wood
Hodder & Stoughton

Back to the Boy

James Arthur
Authors:
James Arthur

THE MOST POWERFUL AND REFRESHINGLY HONEST AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF THE YEAR. A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER.'I got very lost. I was still a lost little boy and I didn't know how to cope'There are many things people don't know about me and maybe when they read about those things they will have an understanding of the journey I have been on and why I've made the mistakes I have. Nothing that has happened in my adult life makes much sense if you don't know what life was like for me growing up. I have to go back to the boy, because he can tell you a lot more than I can...In this book James shares his struggles with mental health issues which led to drug-abuse, and how he dealt with the feelings of intense pressure and loneliness that accompanied his sudden rise to fame. Back to the Boy gives an insight into the life of one of the most exciting musicians of today, and how his experiences are reflected in the blend of raw emotion and passion in his music. This is a story of hope and self-discovery to inspire those who have ever hit rock-bottom and managed to pick themselves up again.

Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
John Murray

Bad Choices

Ali Almossawi
Authors:
Ali Almossawi
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Co-Active Coaching

Henry Kimsey-House, Karen Kimsey-House, Phillip Sandahl, Laura Whitworth
Authors:
Henry Kimsey-House, Karen Kimsey-House, Phillip Sandahl, Laura Whitworth