Tom Harper - Zodiac Station - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444731439
    • Publication date:19 Jun 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444731446
    • Publication date:19 Jun 2014

Zodiac Station

By Tom Harper

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

An extraordinary thriller set at the frozen edge of the world, perfect for fans of Dan Simmons, Michael Crichton and Dan Brown.

A lone skier, half-dead with cold, emerges out of the deadly cold of the Arctic Circle. He's nearly frozen to death, and there's blood on his clothing, and what looks like a bullet hole though his jacket. But he hasn't been shot...

His name is Tom Anderson, and he is the only survivor of a disaster at Zodiac Station, a scientific research base deep in the Arctic Circle. He tells an incredible story of scientists and spies, of lust and greed, of jealousy, mayhem and murder. But his tale simply doesn't add up. Whose blood is smeared across his clothes? Why is that jacket labelled with someone else's name?

It's clear that more was going on at Zodiac Station than Anderson is telling. And someone else may have survived the disaster, as well... someone who has killed before, and who is willing to kill again.

Biographical Notes

Tom Harper was born in West Germany in 1977 and grew up in Germany, Belgium and America. He studied history at Lincoln College, Oxford, worked for a while in the glamorous world of pensions services, and now writes full time. He lives in York with his wife and two sons. His novels have been sold into twenty languages, from Brazil to China. In 2001 Tom Harper's debut, The Blighted Cliffs, was the runner up for the CWA Debut Dagger Award. He can be found online at www.tom-harper.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444731408
  • Publication date: 19 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
'Tom Harper has been writing elaborate thrillers that marry ironclad narrative skills with some of the most elegantly understated writing in the field; he's the thinking person's Dan Brown. Actually, Harper deserves the latter's success -- and more, as Harper is comfortably the better writer.' — Barry Forshaw, author of The Rough Guide to Crime Writing.
'Harper effortlessly draws the reader into an unfamiliar time, bringing alive the characters and their motivations' — Publishers Weekly
Coronet

Strikeback 4

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder Paperbacks

Shepherd 15

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Leather 1

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Hodder & Stoughton

New Legal Thriller

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Mulholland Books

The Forbidden Place

Susanne Jansson
Authors:
Susanne Jansson

A young woman returns to the place she grew up, the village on the edge of the mire. Something seems to be driving her there - perhaps a last chance to confront the terrible tragedy of her childhood. But her arrival coincides with an attack on a young man she has feelings for, a grave is dug in the mire which vanishes a day later, and then the bodies start surfacing. Is the mire calling out for sacrifices, or is it an all-too human evil?

Two Roads

Journeys to the Other Side of the World

David Attenborough
Authors:
David Attenborough

Following the success of the original Zoo Quest expeditions, in the late 1950s onwards a young David Attenborough embarked on further expeditions in a very different part of the world. From Madagascar and New Guinea to the Pacific Islands and the Northern Territory of Australia, he and his team were not just searching for rare animals, but were aiming to record the way of life of some of the tribes of these regions, whose traditions and ways of life had never been seen by most of the British public before.From the land divers of Pentecost Island and the sing-sings of New Guinea, to a Royal Kava ceremony on Tonga and the ancient art of the Northern Territory - the place where, it has since been discovered, humanity has existed the longest - it is a journey like no other. Along the way, he encounters paradise birds, lemurs, sifakas, and many more animals in areas that are home to some of the most unique wildlife on the planet.Written with David Attenborough's characteristic charm, humour and humanity, Journeys to the Other Side of the World is unique, and inimitable, adventure among people, places and the wildest of wildlife.

Mulholland Books

The Pandora Equation

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon

In The Prometheus Man, Reese hunted down his brother's killers - and destroyed any chance at a normal life. He stole the identity of a CIA agent, exposed a grisly stem cell experiment to enhance the human body, and made himself an enemy of the United States. Now Tom lives on the run with the woman he loves, knowing he'll lose her one day because a life with him is a life without a future. Thousands of miles away, in an abandoned oil rig off the Alaskan coast, a new Prometheus lab operates in secret. When the test subjects - all death-row inmates - revolt and slaughter their way out, the entire world is shocked and terrified. Knowing authorities will hunt them to the ends of the earth, they crash the power grid in half the continental U.S., and 100 million people are thrown into chaos. As a nation collapses on itself, Tom is offered a deal: help bring in the men responsible, and he can come home. He signs on for a recon mission, but finds that it will take him to places and force him to do things far darker than he ever imagined.

Coronet

Head Hunters

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

This is a fact: Ryan Summers walked into Three Rivers College and killed thirteen women, then himself. But no one can say why. The question is one that cries out to be answered - by Ryan's mother, Moira; by Ishbel, the mother of Abigail, the first victim; and by DI Helen Birch, put in charge of the case on her first day at her new job. But as the tabloids and the media swarm, as the families' secrets come out, as the world searches for someone to blame... the truth seems to vanish.A stunningly moving novel from an exciting new voice in crime, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS will cause you to question your assumptions about the people you love, and reconsider how the world reacts to tragedy.

Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Early Riser

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde
Coronet

The Cloven

Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling
Hodder & Stoughton

Record of a Spaceborn Few

Becky Chambers
Authors:
Becky Chambers
Mulholland Books

Some Die Nameless

Wallace Stroby
Authors:
Wallace Stroby

An ex-mercenary and an embattled journalist find themselves unlikely allies against a corrupt defense contractor. Ray Devlin is retired, living a simple life off the grid in Florida, when a visit from an old colleague stirs some bad memories - and ends with a gunshot. Soon Devlin is forced to again face a past he'd hoped to leave behind, as a member of a mercenary force that helped put a brutal South American dictator into power.Tracy Quinn is an investigative reporter at a struggling Philadelphia newspaper decimated by layoffs and cutbacks. Then one day what appears to be a straightforward homicide - a body left in an abandoned rowhouse - draws her and Devlin together, and ultimately enmeshes both in a conspiracy that stretches over twenty years and reaches to the highest levels of the U.S. government.Before long, they're both the targets of a ruthless assassin haunted by his own wartime experiences. For Devlin, it could all mean a last shot at redemption. For Tracy, the biggest story of her career might just cost her life.

Sceptre

Suicide Club

Rachel Heng
Authors:
Rachel Heng
Mulholland Books

The Banker's Wife

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger
Hodder & Stoughton

The Moscow Deception

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

THE BRAND NEW EDGE-OF-YOUR-SEAT THRILLER FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR KAREN ROBARDSClever. Cunning. Highly skilled. There's only one Bianca St. Ives. And for her enemies, that's one too many.Bianca St. Ives - a highly skilled con-woman and thief - is in trouble. A revelation about her past has left her reeling, as well as making her the target of a network of assassins. Bianca was raised a fighter. She'll try and outsmart her pursuers, but if it's kill or be killed, she's got her finger flush against the trigger. But then Bianca's father loops her in on a job that might just do the trick: recovering a collection of heavily guarded, priceless artifacts stolen during World War II, and return it to Germany. The price paid if she succeeds - intel that could finally bring down the shadowy forces seeking to bury her for good. Faced with threats that circle closer with every move she makes, she knows the stakes have never been higher, but when you're already living on borrowed time, you have to hustle if you want to live to see tomorrow.

Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. 'Compellingly told, with a striking sting in the tail' Daily Mail'Elsa is an unforgettable central character, damaged but determined . . . A perfect, deeply satisfying thriller that grips right to the end' Jane Casey, author of Let the Dead Speak********************** A girl missingA woman, searchingA killer, planning...FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.She knows how it feels to be lost...Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly. With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa's skin. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself...and return to the darkness she's been hiding from for years.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

'The Best Thriller Writer Alive' Ken FollettJohn Grisham's newest legal thriller takes you inside a law firm that shouldn't exist.Law students Mark, Todd and Zola wanted to change the world - to make it a better place. But these days these three disillusioned friends spend a lot of time hanging out in The Rooster Bar, the place where Todd serves drinks. As third-year students, they realise they have been duped. They all borrowed heavily to attend a law school so mediocre that its graduates rarely pass the bar exam, let alone get good jobs. And when they learn that their school is one of a chain owned by a shady New York hedge-fund operator who also happens to own a bank specialising in student loans, the three realise they have been caught up in The Great Law School Scam.So they begin plotting a way out. Maybe there's a way to escape their crushing debt, expose the bank and the scam, and make a few bucks in the process. But to do so, they have to leave law school, pretend they are qualified and go into battle with a billionaire and the FBI . . .Ingenious, immersive and page-turning, The Rooster Bar is a John Grisham legal thriller bar none.