Fiona Mozley - Elmet - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473660557
    • Publication date:27 Jul 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473677333
    • Publication date:14 Sep 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473676497
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018

Elmet

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

By Fiona Mozley

  • Paperback
  • £10.99

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

'A quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable' The Economist

'A cleverly constructed rural Gothic fable . . . Elmet is a marvellous achievement' TLS

'Pastoral idyll, political exposé, cosy family saga and horror tale, it reads like a traditional children's story that turns into a gangster film: Hansel and Gretel meets The Godfather' Sunday Times

Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned menacing and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them in the woods with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted.

Cathy was more like their father: fierce and full of simmering anger. Daniel was more like their mother: gentle and kind. Sometimes, their father disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home, he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.

Brutal and beautiful in equal measure, Elmet is a compelling portrayal of a family living on the fringes of contemporary society, as well as a gripping exploration of the disturbing actions people are capable of when pushed to their limits.

Biographical Notes

Fiona Mozley was born in Hackney but grew up in York and studied at Cambridge before moving to Buenos Aires for a year - without speaking any Spanish. After briefly working at a literary agency in London, she moved back to York to complete a PhD in Medieval Studies. She also has a weekend job at The Little Apple Bookshop in York. Elmet is her first novel and has been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473660540
  • Publication date: 10 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: JM Originals
A quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable — The Economist
Elmet is in so many ways a wonder to behold. It is also this year's David among the predictable Goliaths on the Booker list. How thrilling if David were to win against them — Evening Standard
A work of troubling beauty . . . Brutal, bleak, ethereal — New Statesman
Mozley is a gifted writer . . . Pastoral idyll, political exposé, cosy family saga and horror tale, it reads like a traditional children's story that turns into a gangster film: Hansel and Gretel meets The Godfather — Sunday Times
An impressive slice of contemporary noir steeped in Yorkshire legend . . . Elmet possesses a rich and unfussy lyricism — Guardian
Elmet, with its rugged landscape, violence and high emotion, recalls Wuthering Heights written with a wholly new voice. This debut is the start of something big — Stylist
Rhythmic and lilting . . . a rich and earthy tale — Financial Times
At its best, it reminds you of Cormac McCarthy's The Road — Metro
A cleverly constructed rural Gothic fable written in palatably simple prose . . . Elmet is a marvellous achievement — TLS
A novel that straddles the centuries, simultaneously modern and backward-looking, Hardeyesque yet fully engaged with contemporary politics — Literary Review
With subtle colloquial dialogue and vibrant descriptive passages, this is an evocative read, which deserves attention — Sunday Independent
Spellbinding . . . What is so memorable is the sense of utter desolation of this family. They are as outside our world as Lear and Edgar on the Heath — The Spectator, Books of the Year