Lisa McInerney - The Blood Miracles - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444798913
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473651968
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017

The Blood Miracles

By Lisa McInerney

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

The second novel from the author of the Baileys Prize-winning The Glorious Heresies

The second novel from the author of the Baileys Prize-winning The Glorious Heresies

'Fast paced, compelling, and thrilling, Lisa McInerney writes the type of fiction that is both beautifully crafted and immensely enjoyable' Louise O'Neill

'The Blood Miracles has all the brio, street smarts and vicious linguistic verve of The Glorious Heresies, but with this follow up Lisa McInerney also reminds us just how brilliantly accomplished and ruthlessly focused a storyteller she is' Colin Barrett

Like all twenty-year-olds, Ryan Cusack is trying to get his head around who he is.

This is not a good time for his boss to exploit his dual heritage by opening a new black market route from Italy to Ireland. It is certainly not a good time for his adored girlfriend to decide he's irreparably corrupted. And he really wishes he hadn't accidentally caught the eye of an ornery grandmother who fancies herself his saviour.

There may be a way clear of the chaos in the business proposals of music promoter Colm and in the attention of the charming, impulsive Natalie. But now that his boss's ambitions have rattled the city, Ryan is about to find out what he's made of, and it might be that chaos is in his blood.

Biographical Notes

Lisa McInerney's work has featured in Winter Papers, Stinging Fly, Granta and on BBC Radio 4, and in the anthologies Beyond The Centre, The Long Gaze Back and Town and Country. Her debut novel, The Glorious Heresies, won the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2016 and the Desmond Elliott Prize. Her second novel, The Blood Miracles, was published by John Murray in April 2017.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444798890
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: John Murray
The narration is brisk and slick, the dialogue fizzing with acerbic wisecracking — Literary Review
Lisa Mcinerney is a writer busily combining the traditions of hardcore Irish crime writing with the kind of fast-talking foul-mouthed wit and gentle good humour that readers will recall from the work of Roddy Doyle, and producing popular state-of-the-nation novels as a consequence — Times Literary Supplement
If you like Trainspotting, Peaky Blinders, Guy Ritchie and Quentin Tarantino then this is a rackety, kinetic, hold-your-attention-at-gunpoint book — The Times
An addictive read — Guardian
Trainspotting meets Goodfellas . . . McInerney writes with delicious irreverence and her fiction in this book has a fast, filmic quality — Evening Standard
McInerney writes with enviable verve, swagger and humour — Mail on Sunday
Delectable and vigorously entertaining — Irish Independent
Lively, entertaining, salty and funny — Irish Examiner
Vivid, compelling and moving — Observer
The plot's a slippery snake of dodgy deals and deadly double crosses, with a series of handbrake turns at the end. It's standard gangster stuff, spiked into originality by the chemical kick of McInerney's prose — The Spectator
A hard-edged, gritty novel with terrific tempo and good characterisation . . . McInerney is a pacy storyteller at the top of her game — Daily Express
Lisa McInerney is a preposterously gifted writer, Amis-like, almost Shakespearean, in her ability to riff, refresh and amuse — New Statesman
An exuberant noirish romp that also speaks of the sad fallout of a loveless childhood — Financial Times
This summer I can wholeheartedly recommend Lisa McInerney's novel The Blood Miracles, the devastatingly brilliant follow-up to her prize-winning debut The Glorious Heresies. In my inexpert opinion, McInerney's hero Ryan Cusack is quickly becoming one of Irish fiction's iconic protagonists — Sally Rooney, Irish Times
An exuberant noirish romp that also speaks of a loveless childhood — Financial Times, Books of the Year
Hodder & Stoughton

Broken Things

Lauren Oliver
Authors:
Lauren Oliver
Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips
John Murray

Untitled Novel 1

John Simpson
Authors:
John Simpson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre

'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, FranceWerner Zilch was adopted as an infant, and knows nothing of his biological family. But when, in 1970s New York, he meets the family of Rebecca, the woman he has fallen in love with, a mysterious link means he must uncover the truth of his past, or run the risk of losing her. Spanning 1945 Dresden, the Bavarian Alps and uncovering Operation Paperclip, this is a riveting novel of family and love that seamlessly blends fact with fiction.

Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser
Sceptre

Before Everything

Victoria Redel
Authors:
Victoria Redel
Sceptre

In Every Moment We Are Still Alive

Tom Malmquist
Authors:
Tom Malmquist
Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall
John Murray

Speak No Evil

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, DC, he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer - an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except his best friend, Meredith - the one person who seems not to judge him. When his father accidentally finds out, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding towards a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed. Speak No Evil is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people.

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness: The International Bestseller

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin

Sceptre

The Barrowfields

Phillip Lewis
Authors:
Phillip Lewis

'A beautiful, evocative novel with an amazing sense of place and an understated, dark sensibility. A brilliant debut. I loved it!' Jenni Fagan, author of The PanopticonMesmeric in its prose and mythic in its sweep, THE BARROWFIELDS is an extraordinary debut about the darker side of devotion, the limits of forgiveness, and the reparative power of shared pasts.Just before Henry Aster's birth, his father, a frustrated novelist and lawyer, reluctantly returns to the remote North Carolina mountains in which he was improbably raised and installs his young family in a gothic mansion - nicknamed 'the vulture house' - worthy of his hero Edgar Allan Poe. There, Henry grows up under the desk of this fierce and brilliant man. But when a death in the family tips his father toward a fearsome unravelling, what was once a young son's reverence is poisoned, and Henry flees, not to return until years later when he, too, must go home again.

Hodder Paperbacks

Here We Are Now

Jasmine Warga
Authors:
Jasmine Warga

'Funny and heartfelt... fans of Sarah Dessen or Rainbow Rowell will adore this novel' - Culturefly 'Fans of High Fidelity and Nick + Nora, get your hands on this book ASAP' - PopsugarDespite sending him letters ever since she was thirteen, Taliah Abdallat never thought she'd ever really meet Julian Oliver. But one day, while her mother is out of the country, the famed rock star from Staring Into the Abyss shows up on her doorstep. This makes sense - kinda - because it turns out Julian Oliver is Taliah's father... When Julian asks her to go with him to his hometown to meet the family she has never known, Taliah embarks on a three-day voyage of discovery - of her father, of the past her mother has never shared with her, and of herself.From the bestselling author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES, this is a beautiful and heartwarming novel of music, family, and friendship.

Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King
Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
John Murray

No Dominion

Louise Welsh
Authors:
Louise Welsh

'A vivid, action-packed journey through a post-apocalyptic world. Terrifying and touching in equal measure, the novel is a love story, an adventure, a road movie, a family drama and a murder mystery rolled into one' The Times Scotland'No Dominion gripped me and broke my heart in equal measure' Val McDermidIt is seven years since the Sweats wiped out most of the world's population. But for those who survived the outbreak, life has gone on. Stevie Flint and Magnus McFall are now part of a small community on the Orkney Islands, without mobile phones or TV, without antibiotics or fuel, who are trying to rebuild the rudiments of democratic civilisation.When three strangers arrive on the islands, however, they upset the fragile community, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface. Realising that a number of the islands' young are missing, Stevie and Magnus set off on a journey to the mainland to get them back - a mainland swarming with outlaw gangs, and where self-appointed autocrats and religious fanatics hold sway . . . Thrilling and breathless, No Dominion asks what happens when the scaffolding of civilisation collapses, and how far we'd go to preserve our humanity.

John Murray

A History of Running Away

Paula McGrath
Authors:
Paula McGrath
Hodder & Stoughton

Small Great Things

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

'The best books make you see differently. This is one of them. The eye-opening new novel from Jodi Picoult with the biggest of themes: birth, death, and responsibility.''To Kill a Mockingbird for the 21st Century' Reader ReviewWhen a newborn baby dies after a routine hospital procedure, there is no doubt about who will be held responsible: the nurse who had been banned from looking after him by his father. What the nurse, her lawyer and the father of the child cannot know is how this death will irrevocably change all of their lives, in ways both expected and not.Small Great Things is about prejudice and power; it is about that which divides and unites us. It is about opening your eyes.Praise for Small Great Things:'No book could be more timely in its message than Small Great Things . . . The story prodded me to take a good, hard look at my own biases and preconceptions' (Metro)'A thought-provoking and unputdownable novel about race and prejudice that shows Picoult at her very best' (Woman & Home)'The narrative rips along at a great pace, she writes dialogue like a pro, and her suspenseful control of the courtroom scenes is masterfully done' (Independent)

Hodder & Stoughton

Bertie's Gift: the perfect feel-good read!

Hannah Coates
Authors:
Hannah Coates
John Murray

Beasts of No Nation

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala