Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Ghosts of the Past

Ghosts of the Past

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series – perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.

Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still linger with the stains on the city walls.

The anniversary of the flood brings with it a new case for Inspector Bordelli. A local wealthy industrialist – fiercely loved and respected by everyone he knew – has been found murdered in his grand villa in the Fiesole hills, and the killer has left no trace.

With no obvious leads to follow, Bordelli is patiently retracing the victim’s last days when he encounters an old friend from the war. Inviting the frail man into his home, Bordelli doesn’t realise that it is this very friend will lead him ever closer to the secrets at the heart of the mystery . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 19th April 2018

Price: £18.99

ISBN-13: 9781473613829

Reviews

'A real find for anyone who likes their crime novels atmospheric, discursive, humorous and thought-provoking.'
<i>Guardian</i>
'Over the course of his police procedurals, Vichi shows us ever more secret and dark sides to an otherwise sunny and open city. But his happiest creation, in my opinion, remains the character of Inspector Bordelli, a disillusioned anti-hero who is difficult to forget.'
Andrea Camilleri
'Vichi's stellar first in a new mystery series introduces endearingly melancholic Inspector Bordelli . . . [and] delivers a plausible solution worthy of a golden age crime novel. Readers will look forward to seeing more of this flawed hero.'
<i>Publishers Weekly</i>, starred review for DEATH IN AUGUST
'[Italian] writers are justifiably growing in popularity here: Marco Vichi deserves to be among them . . . [Bordelli] is stubborn, womanless, cynical and impatient, but strangely appealing.'
Marcel Berlins, <i>The Times</i>
Vichi is a splendid, thoughtful novelist who wanders and wonders, and who pulls the crime novel to the limits of its potential.
TLS