We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Safe Place

The Safe Place

NO PHONES
NO OUTSIDERS
NO ESCAPE

‘An exciting and compelling new voice, Anna Downes’ The Safe Place is a very accomplished debut’ B.A. Paris, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Dilemma

Rated 4.5 * on NetGalley, this international bestseller is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Lesley Kara and Ruth Ware

A BEAUTIFUL HOME MIGHT HIDE DANGEROUS SECRETS

Emily Proudman has been offered the chance of a lifetime – leave her messy London life, move to a beautiful estate in France and help her boss’ wife take care of their daughter, Aurelia. It seems like the perfect opportunity to start again.

But once there, Emily soon starts to suspect that her charismatic new employers aren’t telling her the whole truth. That there are even dangerous secrets hidden beneath the glamourous facade.

Rather than throwing herself headline into this oasis of wine-soaked days by the pool, Emily can’t help but ask questions. Why have the family been moved to this isolated house so far from home? Why does Aurelia refuse to speak or be touched? Why are there whispers in the night?

The only problem is, the more Emily knows, the less chance there is she will ever be able to leave . . .

PRAISE FOR THE SAFE PLACE

‘Tense and atmospheric with the seemingly idyllic, yet eerie, setting. A truly gripping read’
Karen Hamilton, bestselling author of The Perfect Girlfriend

‘An outstanding debut. The Safe Place is destined to be a book club favourite’
Chris Hammer, award-winning author of Scrublands

‘It’s such a rare thing – a claustrophobic, addictive thriller that lets you actually feel for all of the characters involved’
Gytha Lodge, bestselling author of She Lies in Wait

‘Compellingly disturbing. Anna Downes is a powerful story writer who will lull you into a false sense of security – and then pounce. An author to be watched’
Jane Corry, bestselling author of My Husband’s Wife

‘A brilliantly atmospheric novel that keeps you equally gripped and unsettled from page one. Starkly original and with an alarmingly plausible premise, this is destined to be a bestseller’
J.P. Pomare, bestselling author of Call Me Evie

‘A dark and wonderful debut that lulls you in with beautiful prose and complex, believable characters, then beats you over the head with a killer plot and a thrilling climax. Everyone will be talking about this book!’
Christian White, bestselling author of The Nowhere Child
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 16th July 2020

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781529375107