Related to: 'Our Lizzie'

Hodder & Stoughton

One Perfect Family

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

High Street

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trader's Reward

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

The Trader's Gift

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Bram Deagan has a thriving trading business, a growing family - and a gift for matchmaking. His dearest wish is to see his friends Dougal and Mitchell happily married too.In England, Eleanor Prescott has been widowed and often thinks of Dougal McBride, the ship's captain who was a true friend to her. Does she dare return to Western Australia to find him?Jacinta Blacklea is also a widow, desperate to protect her young son. When she hears of a man in Australia looking for a wife, she determines to grasp Mitchell Nash's invitation with both hands. But the troubles of her old life can't be easily left behind.Both Eleanor and Jacinta bravely set off for Australia. But is it worth taking such a huge risk on the chance of happiness?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Trader's Dream

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

The Trader's Sister

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Ismay Deagan has one wish in the world - to leave Ireland and join her brother, Bram, in Australia. But her father has other ideas and orders her to marry their vicious neighbour Rory Flynn - a man she loathes. One day, Rory brutally attacks her and Ismay realises she has no choice but to run away.Disguising herself as an impoverished young widow, she sets sail for Australia, hoping to be reunited with her brother. When she meets Adam Treagar on the ship, she finally starts to believe her dreams of future happiness may come true. But before they even reach their destination they are flung into adventures in Suez, Ceylon and Singapore . . .Can Ismay tell Adam the truth about who she really is? What secrets is Adam himself hiding? And will Ismay's past catch up with her and threaten her new life in Australia, before it has even begun?**************What readers are saying about THE TRADER'S SISTER'I was hooked on this story right from the first page to the very end' - 5 stars'The Trader series are some of the best books I have read in many a year' - 5 stars'Another enthralling book . . . Fantastic!' - 5 stars'Can't put these books down' - 5 stars'Excellent as always from Anna Jacobs' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

The Trader's Wife

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Singapore in the 1860s is exotic and yet terrifying for Isabella Saunders, a penniless Englishwoman, alone and vulnerable after her mother's death. Too pretty to obtain a governess's job, she accepts an offer from Mr Lee, a Singapore merchant, to teach him English and live with his family.Two years later Bram Deagan arrives in the country, determined to make his fortune as a trader. Mr Lee sees a way to expand his business connections and persuades Isabella to marry Bram, and she bravely sets sail for a new land and life. But the past casts a long shadow and together they face unexpected dangers. Will they ever be able to achieve their dreams - and find happiness together along the way?*******************What readers are saying about THE TRADER'S WIFE'This is women's fiction at its very best' - 5 stars'I loved this book' - 5 stars'Fantastic, couldn't put it down' - 5 stars'I love Anna Jacobs books and never want them to end' - 5 stars'Like all her books, excellent' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

Spinners Lake

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

**The final installment in the beautifully heartwarming Gibson Family series, perfect for fans of 'Call the Midwife', Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson**Lancashire, 1860. In the mill town of Bilsden, Annie Hallam's husband Frederick is dying. On top of that, a spurned suitor of her sister Joanie is determined to have her, whatever the cost. And he is not the only one who wants to harm the Gibson family. Meanwhile, times are hard in Bilsden and unemployment is rife. Annie has to rebuild her life after the worst happens and plans to create Spinners Lake, an extraordinary project that will keep her workers from destitution and assuage her own grief. And then a ghost from her past returns from the American Civil War . . . Can the secret plans that Frederick made for Annie on his deathbed bring her hope and happiness once again?**************Praise for Anna Jacobs:'Catherine Cookson fans will cheer!' - Peterborough Evening Telegraph'Anna Jacobs' books have an impressive grasp of human emotions' - Sunday Times'Anna Jacobs' books are deservedly popular. She is one of the best writers of Lancashire sagas around' - Historical Novels Reviews

Hodder & Stoughton

Our Mary Ann

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

She thought the worst was behind her . . . Life is tough in Lancashire in 1905 - and especially so for fifteen-year-old Mary Ann, who was born out of wedlock. When her new stepfather begins to abuse her, Mary Ann doesn't know how much more she can take - until the worst happens and she is sent away to bear his child. After the birth, she manages to escape to Blackpool with the help of her new friend Gabriel.Years later, the Great War brings Mary Ann many new opportunities, and brings Gabriel back into her life - but circumstances mean they can never be together. When her mother dies, Mary Ann decides it's finally time to return to Lancashire and uncover the secrets of her past. But an unknown danger threatens both her and the child she thought she'd lost forever . . . Will history repeat itself - or will Mary Ann's courage win her the happiness she deserves?************************What readers are saying about OUR MARY ANN'Spellbinding' - 5 stars'I couldn't put this book down. A tale of a strong woman who managed to keep her head and heart up against adversity' - 5 stars'First class!' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

Twopenny Rainbows

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Freedom's Land

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Calico Road

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Threepenny Dreams

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Recently widowed, Hannah Firth is still young - young enough to dream of a new life. When her spiteful daughter-in-law uses her as an unpaid servant, Hannah tries to leave, but she is unaware of the depths that Patty's spite will lead her to.Nathaniel King's life is ruined when his landlord's son lays waste to his market garden for a prank - and the resulting feud puts Nathaniel's livelihood at stake. Hannah has only a few coins and dreams of a happier future to sustain her as she tramps the roads and evades pursuit. When she meets Nathaniel, the attraction between them cannot be denied and they join forces. But their enemies have money and powerful allies on their side and will stop at nothing to get rid of them.

Hodder Paperbacks

A Pennyworth of Sunshine

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder Paperbacks

Our Eva

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

She thought she could trust him . . .Eva Kershaw thought she would never marry, and is happy living a quiet life with her dear friend Alice. But Alice is ill, and her nephew, Gus, has thrust himself into their household. Alice's dearest wish is that Eva should not make the same mistakes she did, and she alters her will so that Eva and Gus are strongly compelled to marry. Eva obliges to fulfil her dead friend's wishes.But Gus is not all he seems to be: he is not Alice's kind nephew, but a robber, confidence trickster, and not even Gus Blake. And Eva is in terrible danger . . .*********************What readers are saying about OUR EVA'Yet another fantastic story in the Kershaw Sisters series . . . Anna Jacobs is an amazing author' - 5 stars'Another fantastic book you won't want to put down' - 5 starsA great read from great writer' - 5 stars

Hodder & Stoughton

Lancashire Legacy

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Our Polly

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

There is no love like a mother's for her child . . .Little Billy, Polly's son, is the light of her life. It's for his sake that she puts up with an unkind mother-in-law and life on an isolated farm. When Billy is knocked down by a car, his father is killed attempting to save his life, and Polly, cast off by her husband's family, is left with a child who may never walk or talk again.Polly turns to her own family, the Kershaws, for support, but they are unable to outmaneuver the malicious Dr Browning-Baker, who is determined to have Billy taken away from his mother, depriving him of the exercises and stimulation that are his only hope. Forced to flee to the Fylde coast, Polly and Billy find that their future may lie with another damaged family - an ex-Army captain whose First World War marriage was a terrible mistake, and his daughter, who has never recovered from the hostility of the mother she loves.But danger threatens their fragile happiness . . .*******************What readers are saying about OUR POLLY'Yet another great story by the wonderful Anna Jacobs . . . so realistic' - 5 stars'I could not put it down' - 5 stars'Once again Anna has excelled, a fabulous story with great characters. A definite page turner. Make sure you have your tissues ready!' - 5 stars

Hodder Paperbacks

Lancashire Lass

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Ridge Hill

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

Salem Street

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs