Related to: 'The Invention of Nature'

John Murray

The Adventures of Alexander von Humboldt

Andrea Wulf
Authors:
Andrea Wulf
Sceptre

Outskirts

John Grindrod
Authors:
John Grindrod
Coronet

Science and Spiritual Practices

Rupert Sheldrake
Authors:
Rupert Sheldrake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Great Mystery

Alister McGrath
Authors:
Alister McGrath

There is currently huge interest in the question of human nature and identity, and what the human future might look like. Who are we? Why are we here? What is our future? Are we alone? And what can religion bring, alongside biology and anthropology, to these important and exciting questions?The Great Mystery focuses on this fascinating field of study. Alister McGrath, bestselling author and Andreas Idreos Professor of Science and Religion at Oxford University, explores the question of human nature from both scientific and religious perspectives, and weaves together the results to open up and explore some of the deepest and most important questions about who we are, why we matter, and what our future might be. A follow-up to his critically acclaimed Inventing the Universe, in The Great Mystery Alister McGrath once again brings together science with religion to yield an enriched vision of reality, along with rigorous and thoroughly up-to-date scholarship and intellectual accessibility.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Poison Tree

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

By the end of that summer, two people would be dead... Fans of In A Dark Dark Wood and Disclaimer will love this twisty thriller. I have given up so much and done so many terrible things already for the sake of my family that I can only keep going. I do not know what is going to happen to us. I am frightened, but I feel strong. I have the strength of a woman who has everything to lose.In the sweltering summer of 1997, strait-laced, straight-A student Karen met Biba - a bohemian and impossibly glamorous aspiring actress.She was quickly drawn into Biba's world, and for a while life was one long summer of love.But every summer must end. By the end of theirs, two people were dead - and now Karen's past has come back to haunt her . . .

Teach Yourself

Complete Serbian Beginner to Intermediate Book and Audio Course

David Norris, Vladislava Ribnikar
Authors:
David Norris, Vladislava Ribnikar
Hodder Paperbacks

Charles Manson: Coming Down Fast

Simon Wells
Authors:
Simon Wells
Teach Yourself

Freud: The Key Ideas

Ruth Snowden
Authors:
Ruth Snowden
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Work It Out

Sandra Krebs Hirsh
Authors:
Sandra Krebs Hirsh
Davies-Black

Make It Work

Joe Frodsham
Authors:
Joe Frodsham
Intercultural Press

Vietnam Today

Mark A. Ashwill
Authors:
Mark A. Ashwill
Intercultural Press

Exploring the Greek Mosaic

Benjamin J. Broome
Authors:
Benjamin J. Broome
Intercultural Press

Experiential Activities for Intercultural Learning

H. Ned Seelye
Authors:
H. Ned Seelye
Intercultural Press

Intercultural Sourcebook Vol 1

Monica Mumford, Sandie Fowler
Authors:
Monica Mumford, Sandie Fowler

Alister McGrath

Alister McGrath is the Andreas Idreos Professor of Science and Religion at Oxford University, and Fellow of Harris Manchester College, Oxford. After initial academic work in the natural sciences, Alister turned to the study of theology and intellectual history, while occasionally becoming engaged in broader cultural debates about the rationality and relevance of the Christian faith. He is the author of many academic and theological works, as well as the bestselling The Dawkins Delusion and, most recently, his acclaimed C. S. Lewis - A Life.

Graham Lawton

After a degree in biochemistry and a MSc in science communication, both from Imperial College, Graham Lawton landed at New Scientist, where he has been for almost all the 21st century, first as features editor and now as executive editor. His writing and editing have won a number of awards.

Jennifer Daniel

Jennifer Daniel is the author of SPACE! a picture book explaining the universe through unusual visual forms. Her graphics have been translated into over ten languages and featured on NPR's Morning Edition, Sweden's Dagens Nyheter and in The New York Times. Jennifer has been recognised by many fancy design, illustration, and journalism awards including D&AD's Gold Pencil (London), Art Directors Club Gold Cube (New York), and Society of Publication Design Gold Medal (New York). She speaks about journalism and design for organisations such as Society of News Design, SXSW, and Creative Mornings. She lives in Oakland California, with her husband and two children.Follow her on Twitter @jenniferdaniel

John Grindrod

John Grindrod grew up on 'the last road in London' on Croydon's New Addington housing estate, surrounded by the Green Belt. He is the author of Concretopia: A Journey Around the Rebuilding of Postwar Britain, described by the Independent on Sunday as 'a new way of looking at modern Britain'. He has written for the Guardian, Financial Times, Big Issue and The Modernist and has worked as a bookseller and publisher for over twenty-five years. He runs the popular website dirtymodernscoundrel.com and can be contacted on Twitter @Grindrod.

Rupert Sheldrake

Dr Rupert Sheldrake is a biologist and author of more than eighty technical papers and ten books, including A New Science of Life. He was a Fellow of Clare College, Cambridge, where he was Director of Studies in cell biology, and was also a Research Fellow of the Royal Society. From 2005-2010 he was the Director of the Perrott-Warrick Project for research on unexplained human abilities, funded from Trinity College, Cambridge. He is currently a Fellow of the Institute of Noetic Sciences in California, and a Visiting Professor at the Graduate Institute in Connecticut. He is married, has two sons and lives in London. Follow Rupert on Twitter @RupertSheldrake. His web site is www.sheldrake.org

Stephen Hawking

Stephen Hawking is the former Lucasian Professor of Mathematics at the University of Cambridge and author of A Brief History of Time which was an international bestseller. He is now the Dennis Stanton Avery and Sally Tsui Wong-Avery Director of Research at the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics and Founder of the Centre for Theoretical Cosmology at Cambridge.