Related to: 'How to Hold a Grudge'

14th June 2013

Mulholland Newsletter

Here at Mulholland, we're busy gearing up for the publication of a very exciting book indeed. Lexicon is the new novel from Max Barry, the author of cult hit Jennifer Government, and has been described by SciFi Now as "highly entertaining and engrossing". It follows Emily Ruff as she enters into an elite organisation of 'poets': masters of manipulation who use language to warp others to their will, as well as Wil Parke who doesn't know why he's immune to their powers, only that he has to run from them. You can read tor.com's review of Lexicon here: Say the Magic Word: Lexicon by Max Barry As you can imagine, the power of words is the main theme of Lexicon, and this is illustrated brilliantly by intriguing excerpts scattered throughout the book. You can read a selection of them on Facebook, in handy picture form that are perfect for sharing. Words Are Weapons on Facebook To see if she's good enough to become a Poet, Emily is asked a series of strange questions. We'd love to see how you'd answer them, so take a look at the link below. Could you become a Poet? on Facebook Lexicon publishes in hardback on the 20th June and we are going to be shouting about it for all of next week. An excerpt will be available on the Mulholland Uncovered Facebook page on Monday, so we hope you check it out!

Hodder & Stoughton

Haven't They Grown

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

The new standalone from the 'Queen of psychological suspense' - with a disturbingly impossible situation. '[One] of the great unmissables of the genre - intelligent, classy and with a wonderfully gothic imagination' The Times*********All Beth has to do is drive her son to his Under-14s away match, watch him play, and bring him home.Just because she knows her ex-best friend lives near the football ground, that doesn't mean she has to drive past her house and try to catch a glimpse of her.Why would Beth do that, and risk dredging up painful memories? She hasn't seen Flora for twelve years. She doesn't want to see her today, or ever again.But she can't resist.She parks outside the open gates of Newnham House, watches from across the road as Flora and her children Thomas and Emily step out of the car. Except...There's something terribly wrong. Flora looks the same, only older. As Beth would have expected.It's the children. There's something wrong with the children. Twelve years ago, Thomas and Emily were five and three years old. Today, they look precisely as they did then. They are still five and three. They are Thomas and Emily without a doubt - Hilary hears Flora call them by their names - but they haven't changed at all. They are no taller, no older... Why haven't they grown?

Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

The Narrow Bed

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

A must-read for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.'Sophie Hannah is genuinely Christie's heir' The Scotsman'Hugely entertaining, full of uncomfortable truths' London Evening StandardWhat if having a best friend was the most dangerous thing you could do?A killer that the police are calling 'Billy Dead Mates' is murdering pairs of best friends, one by one. Before they die, each victim is given a small white book... For months, detectives have failed to catch Billy, or work out what the white books mean. And then a woman, scared by what she's seen on the news, comes forward.Stand-up comedian Kim Tribbeck has one of Billy's peculiar little books. A stranger gave it to her at a gig she did a year ago. Was he Billy, and does he want to kill her? Kim has no friends and trusts no one, so how - and why - could she possibly be Billy Dead Mates' next target?This is the next chilling novel from the queen of psychological crime - a literary puzzle set to unlock the dark side of the mind . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

A Game for All the Family

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Pictures Or It Didn't Happen

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

Would you trust a complete stranger?After Chloe and her daughter Freya are rescued from disaster by a man who seems too good to be true, Chloe decides she must find him again to thank him. But instead of meeting her knight in shining armour, she comes across a woman called Nadine Caspian who warns her to stay well away from him. The man is dangerous, Nadine claims, and a compulsive liar. Alarmed, Chloe asks her what she means, but Nadine will say no more. Chloe knows that the sensible choice would be to walk away - after all, she doesn't know anything about this man. But she is too curious. What could Nadine have meant? And can Chloe find out the truth without putting herself and her daughter in danger?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Telling Error

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's mysteries, as well as Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins, the ninth psychological thriller from Sophie Hannah is a literary mystery and a puzzle that's impossible to solve . . . 'Fiendishly clever' Sunday Express'Exceptional' Elle Knowing the secret will kill you.All she wanted to do was take her son's forgotten sports kit to school.So why does Nicki Clements drive past the home of controversial newspaper columnist Damon Blundy eight times in one day? Blundy has been murdered, and the words 'HE IS NO LESS DEAD' daubed on his wall - in red paint, not blood. And, though Blundy was killed with a knife, he was not stabbed. Why?Nicki, called in for questioning, doesn't have any of the answers police are looking for. Nor can she tell them the truth, because although she is not guilty of murder, she is far from innocent. And the words on the wall are disturbingly familiar to her, if only she could remember where she has heard them before . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Sophie Hannah Collection 1-3

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

The Carrier

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

Something Untoward: Six Tales of Domestic Terror

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Kind of Cruel

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

Hurting Distance

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Lasting Damage

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

A Room Swept White

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

Critically acclaimed queen of psychological crime Sophie Hannah's fifth suspense novel - a must-read for those who love Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.'Beautifully written' Daily Express'Terrifying' Heat Murder begins at home . . . TV producer Fliss Benson receives an anonymous card at work. The card has sixteen numbers on it, arranged in four rows of four - numbers that mean nothing to her.On the same day, Fliss finds out she's going to be working on a documentary about miscarriages of justice involving cot-death mothers wrongly accused of murder. The documentary will focus on three women: Helen Yardley, Sarah Jaggard and Rachel Hines. All three women are now free, and the doctor who did her best to send them to prison for life, child protection zealot Dr Judith Duffy, is under investigation for misconduct. For reasons she has shared with nobody, this is the last project Fliss wants to be working on. And then Helen Yardley is found dead at her home, and in her pocket is a card with sixteen numbers on it, arranged in four rows of four . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Other Half Lives

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

The fourth psychological suspense novel from the phenomenal word-of-mouth bestselling Sophie Hannah. A must-read for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins. 'Utterly gripping' The Times'Thrilling' Sunday TelegraphWhy would anyone confess to a murder that never happened?Ruth Bussey knows what it means to be in the wrong and to be wronged. She once did something she regrets, and her punishment nearly destroyed her. Now Ruth is rebuilding her life, and has found a love she doesn't believe she deserves: Aidan Seed. Aidan is also troubled by a past he hates to talk about, until one day he decides he must confide in Ruth. He tells her that years ago he killed someone: a woman called Mary Trelease.Ruth is confused. She's certain she's heard the name before, and when she realises why it sounds familiar, her fear and confusion deepen - because the Mary Trelease that Ruth knows is very much alive . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Point of Rescue

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder Paperbacks

Little Face

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

Andrew Miller

Andrew Miller's first novel, Ingenious Pain, was published by Sceptre in 1997 and greeted as the debut of an outstanding new writer. It won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and the Grinzane Cavour Prize for the best foreign novel published in Italy.It has been followed by Casanova, Oxygen, which was shortlisted for the both the Booker Prize and the Whitbread Novel of the Year Award in 2001, The Optimists, One Morning Like A Bird, Pure, which won the Costa Book of the Year Award 2011, and The Crossing.Andrew Miller's novels have been published in translation in twenty countries. Born in Bristol in 1960, he has lived in Spain, Japan, France and Ireland, and currently lives in Somerset.

Andy Cope

Andy describes himself as an author, happiness expert, qualified teacher and learning junkie. He has spent 10 years researching 'positive psychology' culminating in a 'PhD in Happiness' from Loughborough University. He has developed a series of keynotes and courses centreing on themes of happiness and flourishing, which he delivers in businesses and schools across the world. Andy has written several best-selling personal development books, including The Art of Being Brilliant, and is also a best-selling children's author. His Spy Dog series has enjoyed huge global success.

Andy Riley

Andy Riley is the author/artist of the Bunny Suicides books, Great Lies to Tell Small Kids, Selfish Pigs, D.I.Y. Dentistry, Roasted, Wine Makes Mummy Clever, Beer Makes Daddy Strong and lots of other stuff. His scriptwriting work includes Black Books, The Great Outdoors, Little Britain, Hyperdrive, Armstrong and Miller, Smack the Pony, Gnomeo and Juliet, and The Armando Ianucci Shows.For more information and cartoons, or if you want to talk to him, go to www.misterandyriley.com

Benedict Wells

Benedict Wells was born in 1984 in Munich. At the age of six, he started his journey through three Bavarian boarding schools. Upon graduating school in 2003, he moved to Berlin, where he decided against an academic education and instead started to dedicate his time to writing. In 2016 he won the European Union Prize for Literature for his third novel, The End of Loneliness, which has been in the German bestseller list for over a year. After years of living in Barcelona, Wells has recently returned to Berlin.