Related to: 'Half a World Away'

Chinese with Mike

Click here to find out more.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Man I Think I Know

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

As seen on ITV in the Zoe Ball Book Club'What a beautiful, tender, unexpected story. It uplifted me a lot. It was LOVELY' Marian Keyes'Mike Gayle is the king of touching, human stories, and this big-hearted book is his best yet' Heat, 5* This is the stunning new novel from bestselling author Mike Gayle, for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. A powerful and bittersweet story of an unexpected male friendship and an unlikely love story, a thought provoking storyline told with Mike's distinctive wit and insight, touching on issues which affect us all. This uplifting tale reminds us of the simple courage at the heart of every human being. Ever since The Incident, James DeWitt has stayed on the safe side. He likes to know what happens next. Danny Allen is not on the safe side. He is more past the point of no return. The past is about to catch up with both of them in a way that which will change their lives forever, unexpectedly. But redemption can come in the most unlikely ways. *******************Praise for The Man I Think I Know'Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming...reminds us that the everyday things we take for granted without realising how precious they are, can be snatched away in an instant with catastrophic consequences' Ruth Hogan'That rarest of things; a moving, beautifully written novel about male friendship...I absolutely loved it' Lisa Jewell'Mike is always wise and wonderful, but this is a whole new departure for him - read it!' Jenny ColganYou'll be both laughing and on the edge of tears with this brilliant read' Fabulous magazine*******************Readers are raving about this book!'This is one of those books that is tugging on your heartstrings one moment and has you laughing out loud the next - another stunning plot line and narrative from Mike Gayle.''I loved the narrative and I left this novel feeling totally uplifted . . . I now feel like there is some hope in the world!''This book is sad, funny, quirky, touching, heartbreaking but - and this is going to sound totally cliched and corny - life affirming.'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Hope Family Calendar

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Other People

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

'A corker ... A warm, witty read.' CloserJoe Clarke is about 78% sure he's just had an affair. Well, that is the beautiful office intern in bed next to him...But, if Joe really has just cheated, why can't he remember anything about it? Confused but mortified Joe vows to be a better husband and father. Until his wife Penny puts two and two together and leaves him.Devastated, Joe will do anything to win his family back. But when he realises that the key to saving his marriage lies in the hands of the mean-spirited ghost of his least favourite ex-girlfriend, Joe knows he's in real trouble. SEEING OTHER PEOPLE is a hilarious and bittersweet novel about love, parenthood and fidelity and how easy it is to get lost on the way to your own happy ending.From My Legendary Girlfriend to Turning Forty, Mike Gayle's bestselling novels have taken his millions of readers through many key times for the modern man - friendship, courtship, stag weekends, marriage, work, holidays, significant birthdays - but SEEING OTHER PEOPLE is perhaps his most heart-warming, heart-stopping, heartbreaking novel yet.

Hodder & Stoughton

Turning Forty

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

How to turn forty:1. Set yourself a personal challenge.2. Clear wardrobe of all age inappropriate clothing.3. Relax.How not to turn forty:1. Have a complete meltdown . . .High flier Matt Beckford's sole ambition is to turn forty with his life sorted. And with a Porsche on the drive and a job that requires him to spend more time in BA's club lounge than his own lounge, it looks like things are going in the right direction. But when Matt's wife unexpectedly calls time on their marriage, a chain of events is set in motion that very quickly sees him facing forty broke, homeless and completely alone.But all is not lost because Matt has a plan . . .Wise, witty and wonderful . . . a triumph! Jenny Colgan

Hodder & Stoughton

His 'n' Hers

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Brand New Friend

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Life and Soul of the Party

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

A brilliant romantic comedy about a year in the lives of three couples from number one bestselling author Mike Gayle.Meet Melissa and Paul: Five years after they split up he's still looking for love in all the wrong places while she wants the one thing she can't have: Paul.Meet Chris and Vicky: They're so in tune they even brush their teeth in time with each other. So what is Chris doing risking it all for a meaningless affair?Meet Cooper and Laura: He wants to settle down, she wants to take a grown-up gap year but can their relationship really survive a year apart?Set across a year of leaving dos, birthday parties and anniversary celebrations, Life and Soul of the Party is a warm, funny and moving tale celebrating love, life and those special moments we've all spent in the kitchen at parties.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Stag and Hen Weekend

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

The Stag and Hen Weekend is the story of Phil and Helen, a couple in their thirties about to commit their lives to one another . . . that is of course if they can just manage to get through their respective stag and hen weekends (his: Amsterdam; hers: a country house and day spa in the Peak District) without falling apart. Told in the unique form of two separate stories that have common characters as well as themes and conclusion, The Stag and Hen Weekend can be read from front to back or from back to front putting the reader in the driver's seat as to which story they wish to read first. Feisty, fun and thought provoking.

Hodder & Stoughton

Men at Work - Quick Read

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

The Importance of Being a Bachelor

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

The To-Do List

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

My Legendary Girlfriend

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder Paperbacks

Wish You Were Here

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

A brilliant romantic comedy exploring beach basics for the broken-hearted from number one bestselling author Mike Gayle.Their holiday brochure said 18-30 . . . But they've just turned 35.After ten years together Charlie Mansell has been dumped by his live-in girlfriend, Sarah. All he wants to do is wallow in misery, but mates Andy and Tom have a better idea: a week of sun, sea and souvlaki in Malia, party capital of the Greek islands.But Charlie and his mates aren't eighteen any more. Or even under thirty. And it shows.It isn't the cheap beer, the late nights or even the fast-food that's the problem. It's girls. And life. And most of all . . . each other. WISH YOU WERE HERE is a heart-warming, funny and wise tale about love and friendship and how seven days in the sun can change your life forever.

Hodder Paperbacks

Dinner for Two

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

A witty and touching novel for fans of Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby.Thirty-two-year-old music journalist Dave Harding has got a nice house, a cushy job and in Izzy, his partner, the ideal companion for an intimate dinner for two. But when friends of Dave announce they're having a baby the biological clock he never knew existed starts ticking. Loudly. When the magazine Dave works for folds he is forced to take the worst job in journalism - Agony Uncle for Teen Scene. Suddenly cooler-than-cool Dave is knee deep in the adolescent outpourings of his teenage readership. One letter out of thousands, however, turns his life upside down. Thirteen-year-old Nicola O'Connell doesn't want advice about boys - she wants to know about Dave because she's convinced that Dave Harding is her dad. And she's got the facts to prove it.

Hodder & Stoughton

Turning Thirty

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Mr Commitment

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

Number One bestselling author Mike Gayle returns with this wickedly observed novel about modern relationships: does Mr Irresponsible have what it takes to become Mr Commitment?Duffy is engaged. He accepted Mel's proposal. But the trips to IKEA, dinner parties for couples and talk of babies are giving him itchy feet and now he's not sure if he can say goodbye to his extended adolescence and face up to that final walk down the aisle.How does he know if she's The One? Can he cope with responsibility? Does he have what it takes to become Mr Commitment? Because if he doesn't, he may just find that he's lost Mel - forever...

Anna Jacobs

Anna Jacobs grew up in Lancashire and emigrated to Australia, but still visits the UK regularly to see her family and do research, something she loves. She is addicted to writing and figures she'll have to live to be 120 at least to tell all the stories that keep popping up in her imagination and nagging her to write them down. She's also addicted to her own hero, to whom she's been happily married for many years.She is the bestselling author of over eighty novels and has been shortlisted for several awards, and Pride of Lancashire won the Australian Romantic Book of the Year Award in 2006.You can find out more on her website, www.annajacobs.com or on her Facebook page, www.facebook.com/Anna.Jacobs.Books.

Anne Buist

Anne Buist is chair of Women's Mental Health at the University of Melbourne and author of the psychological thrillers, Medea's Curse, Dangerous to Know and This I Would Kill For. annebuist.comfacebook.com/anneebuist@anneebuist

Chris Ryan

Former SAS corporal and the only man to escape death or capture during the Bravo Two Zero operation in the 1991 Gulf War, Chris Ryan turned to writing thrillers to tell the stories the Official Secrets Act stops him putting in his non-fiction. His novels have gone on to inspire the Sky One series Strike Back. Born near Newcastle in 1961, Chris Ryan joined the SAS in 1984. During his ten years there he was involved in overt and covert operations and was also sniper team commander of the anti-terrorist team. During the Gulf War, Chris Ryan was the only member of an eight-man unit to escape from Iraq, where three colleagues were killed and four captured. It was the longest escape and evasion in the history of the SAS. For this he was awarded the Military Medal. He wrote about his experiences in the bestseller The One That Got Away, which was adapted for screen, and since then has written three other works of non-fiction, over twenty bestselling novels and a series of childrens' books.

Chrissie Manby

Chrissie Manby is the author of twenty romantic comedies including A PROPER FAMILY HOLIDAY, THE MATCHBREAKER and SEVEN SUNNY DAYS. She has had several Sunday Times bestsellers and her novel about behaving badly after a break-up, GETTING OVER MR RIGHT, was nominated for the 2011 Melissa Nathan Award. Chrissie was raised in Gloucester, in the west of England, and now lives in London. Contrary to the popular conception of chick-lit writers, she is such a bad home-baker that her own father threatened to put her last creation on www.cakewrecks.com. She is, however, partial to white wine and shoes she can't walk in. You can follow her on Twitter @chrissiemanby, or visit her website www.chrissiemanby.co.uk to find out more.